Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 94 R

A professional grass trimmer that combines performance, portability and innovation.

FS 94 R
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 59reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not buy I have owned this fs94 for 1 1/2 years and it's been in the shop 4 times. I have only used the expensive trufuel in it. I have already had the carb replaced by warranty and you can still only use it at about 1/2 throttle. This product is way too expensive for the quality. I wouldn't waste your money on it. I will never buy another stihl trimmer again. January 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight with wide power band. I've used the FS 94 R for almost a year now professionally. The FS 94 R leaves you with a linear and highly adaptable power band. Its been great for delicate work as well as wide open throttle situations, whereas a lot of string trimmers are usually top end focused. Weight and ergonomics have been great as well. I haven't had much experience in cooler weather, but in 100 F+ heat I've never had any overheating issues and it cools down quickly. Fuel efficiency has been great as well. All that being said, I wouldn't choose the 94R for heavy string trimming, I feel it excels as a maintenance trimmer and not for clearing. Finally, the adjustment wheel is nice, but I never use it. December 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Trimmer, Must have got a lemon Let me start by saying I love this trimmer. But, soon after I purchased it I found fuel mix sludge building up on my muffler. It was so bad that it clogged my spark arrestor. I had it serviced and cleaned, but still I have build up in the muffler. I use the same mix in all of my equipment without this problem. It recently stopped running full out. I guess I will put it back in the shop to see if they can remedy.The weight to power ratio is excellent. I just wish I could resolve the mess. The other thing I noticed is there are no directions in the manual for lubricating the gear box and shaft. I do not think it is listed in the maintenance schedule October 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Light weight and powerful I have had this unit for about 9 months. I have had it worked on three times already. Each time they have had to replace the paws/dogs on the starter. I really like this model it is very light weight and powerful. It is really aggravating when you go to use it and it will not start when it is only 9 months old.I am not the only one having this problem in fact I have a friend who keeps extra parts with him to fix it when it breaks. September 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good For What It Is This is a good professional trimmer for light, detail work. It is lightweight and easy to handle. But don't expect the torque and power you get from other professional trimmers. For mainstream jobs, stick to the FS90 and up.As for the Ecospeed wheel, it's really not of much use in a professional setting other than maybe training a rookie operator. Otherwise, you likely will never use it as you trigger finger controls the speed.A good trimmer for light work but not really suited for the day to day grind of a professional lawn crew. August 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding love the power This is the best weed trimmer I ever had, the power is outstanding! The motor just keeps going, easy starting! the four stroke motor WHAT an engineering masterpiece!My kids even like to trim the grass with it !Just moved into a foreclosure with an acre of property overgrown weeds no regular trimmer from any big box store would be able to last one season in this yard. I needed something with Quality and durability and power, just through my experience I reached all of my goals with this product! STIHL is definitely top-of-line.thank you: BILLY G July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid piece of equipment I purchased the 94 trimmer with detachable accessories. I've used the hedge trimmer attachment to trim holly trees and other trees around my house and it has eliminated the ladder! Also used it to trim fencerows. The trimmer runs great and a perfect balance power and performance. Plus it's a decent workout! July 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl Products are reliable I have several stihl products and like the dependability. I also like them because they are made in the U.S.A. July 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally back, 2 stroke power. I do edges mostly and had a fs90r. Lots of power and great for banks and clearing but it was idle or full throttle. Got the 94 and love it like the old stihl. I can feather the throttle around flower beds and sidewalks. July 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy! Most of my trimming is around the house and I know that I didn't need to get a pro version Stihl. But,, for the price difference between a regular home unit and this pro unit,, I couldn't pass it up.I also will need it and have already used it once at the hunt camp. Lots of tall weeds all over,, and this trimmer just ate it up.Love the easy start and it starts after two pulls. So far its been great!I was also impressed how well and easy it fed line out. July 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by its not worth the money buy a 90R I have 3 90R, 1 break down with a lot of attachments 2 straight shaft 90R. Compared to the 90R the 90R great trimmer, plenty power for thickest tallest stuff. The FS 94R bogs down in only 8 inch grass where the 90R no has no problem. my 90Rs are over 2 years old and out performs the 94r. the 94r burns way more fuel, were getting with 94r 1.5 yards vs 8 yards with the 90r. Now don't get me wrong I own a ton of commercial Stihl stuff and this is the only piece of equipment I dis like. the rest has been awesome, the place I got it from was talking all kinds of great things about this trimmer and I really don't see it. I wish I could trade it in on a 90R. The 94R is only 3 weeks old, I cant even say this would be great for someone starting out in the business because it cost more then a 90R... Now the 94R is running perfect, idles right top end right just no umf in tall grass. had mine checked twice in 2 weeks, and only being 3 weeks old not good. my 90R(s) have never been in the shop not once.... June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look no further I worked golf course maintenance years ago running big stihl trimmersNow just take care of a few lawns and a few hours trimming weekly on my property. After replacing cheap straight shaft weed eaters every couple yr. Decided to spend the money and upgrade to real thing like my chainsaw and never made a better purchase this is the lightest most powerful well balanced trimmer with almost no vibration to hands. I'm so amazed that there is such a perfect trimmer June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Light weight, easy starting,very easy to handle wish I had bought one a long time ago May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by making the switch first Stihl iv owned, wont be my last. great unit, great power, short warm up time.ill be changing over from red to all orange by next season. May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the perfect trimmer!!! I live on acreage, and I've gone through 3 trimmers in the last 7 years. Homeowner quality products just don't last trying to maintain my property. This trimmer is easy to start, and has plenty of power to cut through whatever I throw at it. I love this trimmer, so much that I can't wait to use it. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great weed eater excellent performance ,light weight and easy to use May 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by finally a light weight trimmer Im really happy stihl broght a light weight trimmer for professional landscapers i was pretty happy with my fs90 and 110 the only down fall was the weight way to heavy after trimming for an hour you're arms and back are hurting and im 43 years old already been doing landscaping for 25 years im not young anymore so i really need light weight equipment the 4 mix are great but to heavy i tried at one time the fs100rx but it wasn't balance at all i hated it if stihl comes out with a 4 mix at 10 pounds i will probably get one but so far i love the fs94r and my crue loves them i got 4 of them and they work great and very fuel efficient way better then the 4mix again thank you stihl. April 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk I bought this trimmer last year at the end of August and used it twice. It will not get up to speed now, half throttle before it chokes out. I have never had trouble with stihl saws, but trimmers are a different story! April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer- replaced my aged fs 80 Held out for a new trimmer as long as I could before the 80 was just too tired.This one is great lighter and seems just as strong if not more. Only thing I miss is the throttle lock, the wheel thing is kind of useless for me. Also it does start easy, and just a few sec to get warmed up on first yard of the day.Thanks stihl for a good replacement for my 80! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest starting trimmer ive ever owned The sales rep went over how to prime and start this trimmer in great detail. Also covered how to replace string in the head. I only use the stihl string, which works great for me with over a acre and a large pond in the back yard. Owned for over a year now, and this thing eats grass and weeds like butter, and i have no problems at all with the auto string head. Great product, as can be expected from STIHL, and as the saying goes, you get what you pay for and im so glad there is still a few great products still made in the good ole USA. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great maintenence trimmer When I was younger I always bought the "biggest and most powerful" everything! As I get older I see the value of the "right tool for the job". This is the right tool for weekly maintenance trimming. Plenty of power, super light and maneuverable. February 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to start My unit is hard to start and the trimmer head is not good either . December 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Lightweight Trimmer Very Good Trimmer, it is Light and Very Powerful The Throttle Control also makes it Easy To Edge around flower beds October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a new 2 stoke !! And new design !! I am a pro user use this trimmer every day love it!! I have the old fs85 was waiting forever for Stihl to come out with a similar engine style and a true 2 stroke !! I hated the way the fs90 looked and the 2/4 stroke ! It's to big and bulky looking! Love the new sleek small compact looking engine design! Very light weight and lots of power! October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good job Stihl FS 94 R Had a Stihl trimmer for thirteen years, still running. It was time to move up, like that the trimmer is light weight, does not hurt my back, like the trigger lock it gives me more controll of the machine. Every thing on this trimmer works well, hey it's a STIHL. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best machine I ever bought and I have a shed full. This machine is by far the best investment I ever made in yard equipment. I have tried all different brands and they are stacked in a corner of a shed because they failed. This machine does more work at an idle than most will at full throttle. The balance makes it comfortable to use, and the variety of accessories and the ease of switching makes working with it enjoyable. October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product has everything I needed Super product overall, only issue is getting used to the automatic string feeder. If you do not stay with it you will be hand feeding the string back through the head. Otherwise the product is super! September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 2 stroke trimmer! Ive had this trimmer since late winter or early spring cant remember.. But I use this trimmer about 3-4 times a week and its been fantastic so far, Lots of power, light weight, if youre thinking about getting one just do it! its great! Ive owned 3 trimmers before this one, an echo srm 230, stihl fs 90 r, and a shindiawa t254, in that order. After all I love the fs 94 r the most! September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far my only complaint is the spool continues to not auto feed properly. I have two other Stihl weedeaters a FS 80 & FS 85 and the auto spooler on those models was never as difficult to feed out as this one is. Other than that this FS 94R is nice but not as powerful as my older models, hopefully that will improve as it gets broke in. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and has some new features. I was at the local dealer looking to replace a trimmer that was worn out. I basically use the FS 90 R and was going to get another one. That's when I noticed The FS94 R. It runs almost $50.00 more than the 90 but is well worth it. Even though it's only about 1lb. lighter than the 90, it's is noticeable. Especially when you mow around 100 properties a week. Starts easy. Has a choke like the backpack blowers. Turn the choke on, start the trimmer and the choke releases when you give it the throttle. It also has an adjustable wheel on the throttle handle that can be operated with your thumb while operating the trimmer. It regulates how much you can open the throttle. Works nice when your trimming around sensitive stuff. Allows you to concentrate on trimming and not overpowering the trimmer. Someone wrote in an earlier review about a problem with the trimmer string snapping off and really hard to replace. I think it must be operater error. This trimmer has the autocut head. Push in the 2 tabs, pull the cover off and replace the spool of string. One last note is that this trimmer is a 2 stroke not a 4 stroke like the FS 90. Those of you who know Stihl trimmers will know what I'm talking about. So even though it more expensive than the FS 90 I don't believe it makes the same amount of power. Especially in tall or thick wet grass. But for an everyday go to trimmer for maintaining and medium duty trimming it can't be beat. September 3, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips