Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 94 R

A professional grass trimmer that combines performance, portability and innovation.

FS 94 R
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 41reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer- replaced my aged fs 80 Held out for a new trimmer as long as I could before the 80 was just too tired.This one is great lighter and seems just as strong if not more. Only thing I miss is the throttle lock, the wheel thing is kind of useless for me. Also it does start easy, and just a few sec to get warmed up on first yard of the day.Thanks stihl for a good replacement for my 80! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest starting trimmer ive ever owned The sales rep went over how to prime and start this trimmer in great detail. Also covered how to replace string in the head. I only use the stihl string, which works great for me with over a acre and a large pond in the back yard. Owned for over a year now, and this thing eats grass and weeds like butter, and i have no problems at all with the auto string head. Great product, as can be expected from STIHL, and as the saying goes, you get what you pay for and im so glad there is still a few great products still made in the good ole USA. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great maintenence trimmer When I was younger I always bought the "biggest and most powerful" everything! As I get older I see the value of the "right tool for the job". This is the right tool for weekly maintenance trimming. Plenty of power, super light and maneuverable. February 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to start My unit is hard to start and the trimmer head is not good either . December 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Lightweight Trimmer Very Good Trimmer, it is Light and Very Powerful The Throttle Control also makes it Easy To Edge around flower beds October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a new 2 stoke !! And new design !! I am a pro user use this trimmer every day love it!! I have the old fs85 was waiting forever for Stihl to come out with a similar engine style and a true 2 stroke !! I hated the way the fs90 looked and the 2/4 stroke ! It's to big and bulky looking! Love the new sleek small compact looking engine design! Very light weight and lots of power! October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good job Stihl FS 94 R Had a Stihl trimmer for thirteen years, still running. It was time to move up, like that the trimmer is light weight, does not hurt my back, like the trigger lock it gives me more controll of the machine. Every thing on this trimmer works well, hey it's a STIHL. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best machine I ever bought and I have a shed full. This machine is by far the best investment I ever made in yard equipment. I have tried all different brands and they are stacked in a corner of a shed because they failed. This machine does more work at an idle than most will at full throttle. The balance makes it comfortable to use, and the variety of accessories and the ease of switching makes working with it enjoyable. October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product has everything I needed Super product overall, only issue is getting used to the automatic string feeder. If you do not stay with it you will be hand feeding the string back through the head. Otherwise the product is super! September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 2 stroke trimmer! Ive had this trimmer since late winter or early spring cant remember.. But I use this trimmer about 3-4 times a week and its been fantastic so far, Lots of power, light weight, if youre thinking about getting one just do it! its great! Ive owned 3 trimmers before this one, an echo srm 230, stihl fs 90 r, and a shindiawa t254, in that order. After all I love the fs 94 r the most! September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far my only complaint is the spool continues to not auto feed properly. I have two other Stihl weedeaters a FS 80 & FS 85 and the auto spooler on those models was never as difficult to feed out as this one is. Other than that this FS 94R is nice but not as powerful as my older models, hopefully that will improve as it gets broke in. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and has some new features. I was at the local dealer looking to replace a trimmer that was worn out. I basically use the FS 90 R and was going to get another one. That's when I noticed The FS94 R. It runs almost $50.00 more than the 90 but is well worth it. Even though it's only about 1lb. lighter than the 90, it's is noticeable. Especially when you mow around 100 properties a week. Starts easy. Has a choke like the backpack blowers. Turn the choke on, start the trimmer and the choke releases when you give it the throttle. It also has an adjustable wheel on the throttle handle that can be operated with your thumb while operating the trimmer. It regulates how much you can open the throttle. Works nice when your trimming around sensitive stuff. Allows you to concentrate on trimming and not overpowering the trimmer. Someone wrote in an earlier review about a problem with the trimmer string snapping off and really hard to replace. I think it must be operater error. This trimmer has the autocut head. Push in the 2 tabs, pull the cover off and replace the spool of string. One last note is that this trimmer is a 2 stroke not a 4 stroke like the FS 90. Those of you who know Stihl trimmers will know what I'm talking about. So even though it more expensive than the FS 90 I don't believe it makes the same amount of power. Especially in tall or thick wet grass. But for an everyday go to trimmer for maintaining and medium duty trimming it can't be beat. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very light weight So light and easy to use and has tons of power this thing will eat threw anything you put it up against with out a problem September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by big power in a small package I own a lawn maintenance company and bought this trimmer a few months ago. I have used trimmers from many brands but Stihl is the only one that I recommend. I love the power of my Stihl FS250 R, but I don't always need that much power and I just love the comfort and power that the FS94 has. And the 94 was ingenious when they moved the spark plug to the back instead of being so close to my arm... August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy it An excellent unit. Weight to power ratio is awesome, compared to the trimmer I have been using for the past 14 yrs or so. If you are familiar with the Gravely Convertible tractors and the cutting deck that you can use with it, this trimmer comes darn close to it in performance. Maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration but not a great deal considering how light and powerful it is. And I am still in the break -in period , haven't used it at full throttle. I took the guard off of the end and it runs fine without it. Only small complaint is that , if you are cutting larger weeds and grasses, they will get caught between the cutting head and shaft end. No affect to cutting performance , though. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer out of the Stihl Factory since the fs 85 for the lawn pro My guys fight over these. By far the best trimmer from any manufacture in the past 5 yrs or so. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very dependable I like how easy to start. I really felt the dealer was very helpful in showing me all features of this trimmer August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice to operate. Plenty of power and starts good. This trimmer has. Good power for my needs. It runs well and starts well. The harness is a necessity as the unit is rather heavy. It is made to get the work done. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product I have had many other trimmers and this is by far the best I've had. the quality is top notch. you do spend a little more than the department store price, but well worth it. looking forward to many years with this one. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Starts easily, runs well Trimmer line continually snaps off. Everytime that happens, I need to remove the cover to expose the line and manully twist to extend the line. This turns what should be a 20 minute job into almost an hour. The trimmer is fantastic, it is too bad this flaw in the line puts a damper on my impression. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What can you say, it is a Stihl. To all that own Stihl products... You already know. To those who are looking into them, you will not be dis satisfied. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic power to weight ratio, great on fuel I bought this trimmer for both commercial and homeowner use and have run 6 tanks of fuel through it. After 2 and 3 tanks of fuel the trimmer gains what feels like 20% power and still gains. I get right at 1.5 to 2 hours out of it before refueling, and it starts consistently on the 2nd pull when cold. 100% a 1 pull trimmer once it has run AT ALL. There are absolutely no complaints and I'm only liking it more as time goes by. The fs94r weighs the same (it feels) as the Redmax G20LS I've used, but the power increase blows it out of the water. Throttle is extremely well controlled and isn't on/off like I've heard about some of the 4mixes. Overall an awesome trimmer. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I have ever owned I own a lawn care company and have used this trimmer about on about 25 repetitive yards over the past 2 months... After using it on some days that may last as long as 10 hours, All I can say is "WOW, it's amazing". Now to the nitty gritty...It's lightweight, checkIt's PLENTY powerful, checkReliable? starts on 1st or 2nd crank every time. Almost impossible to flood the carburetor due to simplified starting design.The adjustable throttle wheel, perfect. I have it set on a fraction of it's potential power but that's all I need. I just set the wheel, fully pull the trigger (throttle) and start walking and the trimmer keeps up with me. If the weeds are a little thicker I just crank it up slightly and keep going. If I am trimming close to delicate plants or against soft obstacles I cut down on the power. It's impossible to accidentally over-accelerate the throttle trigger due to the throttle wheel.The 3 most important pieces of equipment for any lawn care guy are his mower, blower and trimmer. This trimmer is perfect. Enough said. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Start easy. Has way more power than my old Echo. Great. June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the brush blade was an important feature I got a two year extension on the warranty just for buying a six pack of oil mix great deal, easy to start, shoulder strap is perfect and comfortable June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The features on this machine make using it easy. The FS 94 R has the variable throttle control which allows for operating it at lower rpm's around sensitive areas in your yard. It's ability to be operated at any angle is nice for edging and cutting at many angles. The exhaust routing is great, never feel the heat from it while operating no matter what angle I'm using it, which was always an issue with other products I've owned. Starting is a breeze, choke is automatically released once warmed up, when you give it a little throttle to start operating. The ability to utilize heavier line increases the versatility of the machine. June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very light and powerful. I have had my fs90r for 5 years and it is a great trimmer but I wanted something lighter for this season. I originally considered the 100rx which is lighter and more powerful but then I saw the new 94r and noticed it was even lighter than the 100rx and it was a 2 stroke which I liked. I haven't had a chance to use it much but so far I love it! It is 1.5 lbs. lighter than my 90r and the 2 stroke is smooth as silk and seems to have plenty of power. It also has the ability to use the various blades for heavy grass and weeds which is nice. If you are looking for a high quality light weight trimmer the 94r is the ticket! March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best weedeater My crew Loves It I usually run 130 R because power to weight but this is a very under estimated weed eater feel almost as powerful as a 130 ,and is really light . March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features and light weight This is the first Stihl product I've ever purchased, and I'm very happy with it. The 94R is light weight and easy to handle. It starts fairly easily, and once started, keeps going until you simply run out of gas. The adjustable speed limit is easy to use and very useful around fragile plants. I'm very pleased with this trimmer, so far. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a mid range 2-Stroke I absolutely love this trimmer. So glad that it's a two stroke. Had an FS90R previous to this one with the 4-Stroke engine and am very impressed with my 94. Not a huge fan of the four stoke. Mine didn't last but four years. I'm looking forward to having this one for many many years. Thanks Stihl for another great two stroke! March 5, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>