Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 90

Features a bike handle and solid drive shaft which offers end users more flexibility in mowing applications.

FS 90
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 31reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable I'm 15 and work on the family farm and purchased a used fs90. anually weedeat 5 miles or more of fence line. It starts 2 pull every time owned it for about a year and a half now and its never been to the shop. my uncle bought a fs 250 and my fs90 cuts just as good and is alot lighter. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty good trimmer with adequate power The best feature of this trimmer is the harness which fits and works well. The ergonomics of the "bike handle" could be better when it comes to head position control however once you become accustomed to the stance it does work. The guard that comes with the FS90 is cumbersome and essentially suitable for the circular blade use only. I ordered one of the more accessible versions of the guard for string trimming. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I have bought yet I bought this trimmer to replace my craftsman that died on me. When I use it it starts on the first or second pull, way better than my old one. Has PLENTY of power, I haven't manage to stall this yet even when the vines wrap around it. Love the bike handle bars and shoulder strap. I did a very steep hill and normally I would be slipping and dropping the unit, but this stayed right by me due to the shoulder strap and was able to control the unit better with the bike handle bars. I put a chisel tooth blade on it and it breezed through 2in buckthorn and sumac. It is the heaviest trimmer that I have used but its built to withstand a beating, and is made lighter with shoulder strap. I notice that this uses less gas than my old trimmer but has more power. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and dependable Used this "domestically" and it's like a lawn mower; That bar gives you such control it's like you set a mulching lawnmower to it's "high" cut depth. Very good for ditches.Then a friend had a heart attack and needed help maintaining his 40 acres... Three-foot-high grass on the paths? They look manicured now. Small shrubs and thickets? It's like those wild roses and invading blackberries weren't even there. (Though they did eat some line on occasion.)The price is well worth it. And I'd recommend the double harness, it makes large jobs just so much less tiring. July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FEATURES EASY TO USE VERY POWERFULL PRODUCT IS EASY TO START & COMFORTABLE TO USE VERY POWERFULL EASY TO LOAD TWINE HEAD July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding product Performs well on brush and tough grass on my horse farm. Banks, ditches, 8 acres of fencing and wood lines fall easily with the Stihl FS90. Starts easily and double shoulder harness makes it easy to handle. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STIHL Trimmer I've been using STHL for the last 6 years and will never buy any other trimmer. It stands up to daily use and has very little maintenance. It always starts on the first two pulls.Even tho the price is a lot more than other models, It is worth the investment.Any home owner could use this product around the house for years, instead of buying a new cheaper model every year or so. And there are plenty of service stores to help with questions and repairs. I Use ACE Hardware for all my needs. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had it for one year and it's a great trimmer Had it for one year and it's a great trimmer. It starts with ease every time. I bought all the accessories a tri blade for trimming the tough stuff, a tiller for my garden that tills with ease and a saw blade that I can cut blackberry brush like it was butter. I have been very happy with the selection that the salesman's recommended to me for my large project to cut down time and energy. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good so far I have owned/used several brands over lifetime. I havent had this one very long but so far this one seems to work great. I have 1-2 acres i mow and take care of and I have burned up several trimmers over the last couple years. My only issue is that it takes a second or two to get it up to speed and after some review its because its a four stroke, which really isnt much of an issue. Great trimmer I would recommend it to anyone that has a large yard. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Back is KILLING ME! I'm a big guy at 6'1" and I've run a pro lawncare/landscape biz for more than 20 years. I've known forever that the lightest trimmer is the one that will give the smoothest, most even cut - the professional cut. But those light trimmers are just not made for a guy my height and age. They're for the young dudes. So I bought this trimmer because of my aching back. It has taken some getting used to because it is a heavier unit. For me, achieving that really manicured look has been somewhat difficult. I feel like I've had to relearn somewhat but one needs to remember that the quality of the cut that I would expect is much more than what many homeowners would want. The harness actually restricts many of the movements we take for granted with the really light units. But the trade-offs are worth it. Now, I can stand up and let my shoulders take the weight of the trimmer. It feels like heaven! And with practice, the quality of my work is back up where I need it to be.The biggest surprise though, has been in those areas where we cannot get our machines in to mow and have to do large areas with only the trimmers. One property has a number of creeks/ditches and we have to wade into the water to take down the growth at basically water height. WOW, this is THE machine to have in this application. It cuts so well and is so powerful that I can just do the entire job instead of waiting for my guys to join in like I used to do when I used a smaller trimmer. Love it! June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for homeowner with large property Usually starts up on first or second pull, I love the handlebars and harness they let you work much longer without getting tired. Seems to have plenty of power, overall I'm happy with the purchase. Not impressed with the manual though, I had to search Stihl's website to figure out how to change the line when I ran out. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bike handle makes the difference! I always used echo trimmers, but the most recent one was a hard starter. I decided to switch and went with stihl because of the local dealer and reputation. All I can say is thank you. I went with the bike handle because of lower back pain (especially with a normal trimmer handle) and could not be more relieved. I actually look forward to weed eating. Starts every time, and the different blades I can put on make this model worth the money for a farm owner. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful brush cutter I have the trimmer set up with a chipping blade and bike handles and it is a very safe efficient brush cutter. I am using it to cut trails on my property and keep bush down. June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The right tool for the job The trimmer starts on the first or second pull. The starting procedure was a little tricky at first, but after a few uses the step-up is a snap. I do not like the cord trimmers so I had my trimmer modified and had the plastic blade head (STIHL PolyCut™ Head) installed. I also, like the fact that I knew my trimmer worked and all of the parts were there before I left the store because the STIHL technician assembles and test runs the product. The bicycle handles are a great feature and I don’t have to lean over to trim. The handles were easy to switch from right-handed to left-landed. It takes a little practice to get use to the bicycle handles, but I love them because once the harness is adjusted properly you are standing straight instead of leaning over to trim (saves the back).The only complaint is the harness that comes with the product is not comfortable to ware for extended periods of time. I have a lot of yard trimming so I probably use a trimmer four (4) times longer than the normal use for most homeowners. I bought the Double Standard Harness and the feel is great. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Works great but the manual doesn't tell you how to load the head with trimmer line. Works great, but the manual doesn't tell you how to load the trimmer head with line. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved it! I am a female and it was very easy to start and handle. Cut anything I needed to cut, in the woods and up to small trees, with out any problem. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Very impressive weed eater ,plenty of power, glad I spent the money and it starts right up. My other 3 weedeater's I had ,Ryobi ,Sears craftsman, and Poland ,all where under powered and I pulled and pulled and pulled to start April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The FS 90 has all the power i need to maintain my 2 acre home place and clear trails to my Tree stands. I first borrowed a FS 90 w/ steel blade to see if it had enough power to clear trails to my treestands. Let me tell ou it does. I decided to buy one to use for maintaining my 2 acre yard and love it. The only issue i have had was running out of gas just shy of completing my yard work. But to me that is no big deal. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quality machine for most any trimming job or even brush cleanup. April 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Low power at trimmer head Based on the reviews and Stihl's description, this trimmer sounds great, and is a great value. However, the FS90 bogged down in tall grass and weeds. It would likely work well in a manicured lawn application, but was frustrating to use in rural applications as it required more time to complete the trimming task. I now have a FS250 that handles the tall stuff with ease. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Control I have spent a lot of money in the pass buying cheaper trimmers. This trimmer is amazing. It has more power than you can believe. The bike handles are worth every penny. I trim down hill where it's to steep to mow and it does not ware me out like the loop handles use to. I very much recommend this trimmer even if it seems higher compared to others. Once you try it you try it you will see why. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Far surpassed my expectation and has proven to be a labor multiplier. The FS 90 was not my first choice. I wanted to purchase the FS 250, a much higher hours power unit. However, Derrick from Ron Ayrers Motor sports in Greenville NC talked me into the smaller lighter FS 90. He was absolutely spot on with his recommendation. I was using the Saw Blade cutting thru very dense Switch Grass and sapling. The sapling grew so dense I was unable to walk thru them. The FS 90 cut thru them with frightening ease. Most of the time all's I had to do was just bump the 2” saplings and they just fell over. Goes thru 8’ tall switch grass and fern, and who knows what all those plants are like they are not even there, and most of the time I had it running just above an idle. The only issue I had with this unit is the Guard that come on this unit is to tall for clearing in the dense woods, it continues to get stopped by what you have already cut but it would be perfect for a line trimming job. I cut one acre of very dense forest cutting all the trees and weeds up to about 4” in diameter with this unit and this took just over 4 hours (I am old, fat and out of shape). The Bicycle handlebars are adjustable and balance this unit very well. It is almost effortless to wield in the woods and with a very little practice this unit will make a novice look and feel like a PRO. This unit is worth ever penny. December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light weight and powerful I have now had my fs 90 for a little over a week and I am completely satisfied. It is light enough to do light grass work around the home, and powerful enough to put on the blade and tackle small trees and brush. I can't complain about anything. It's a great trimmer November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer... The FS90 is a great trimmer, it always starts right up. It has plenty of power for my two acres. I bought the metal blade attachment to cut small brush and I have not been disappointed yet. My son and I are even cutting trails in our woods for him to ride his dirt bike. I would definitely recommend this trimmer to my family and friends. October 24, 2012
<<prev2