Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 90

Features a bike handle and solid drive shaft which offers end users more flexibility in mowing applications.

FS 90
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 42reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent all around tool I have used my F S 90 for two years now without a single problem. I trim around a 4 acre property for aesthetics, and I use multiple blade styles to cut brush and saplings and trees up to about 3" in diameter with no problem on another acre. I highly recommend this unit. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT, EASY TO USE THIS TRIMMER STARTS EASILY, IS WELL BALANCED, AND HAS PLENTY OF POWER October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely happy with my FS 90. A very versatile machine! I've had my FS 90 for several years now and could not be more pleased with it. My home is surrounded on all four sides by thick forest, and it is continually encroaching on our yard, so I'm continually fighting the encroaching brush and briars as well as normal weed eating duties after mowing. I run my FS 90 primarily with the 8-tooth metal grass blade, and it slices as easily through brush and briars as it does through thick, heavy grass and weeds. I also trim around my pond and it slices through heavy cat-tails like they are nothing. It hardly slows down through brush up to 2" in diameter. If it's thicker, it might take a few bumps to eat through it, but it WILL cut it down.With the regular string head that comes with it, it makes quick work of unruly grass and weeds around our foundations, trees, retaining walls, steps and such.This is by far the most comfortable to operate trimmer/brushcutter that I've ever used, and this isn't the first professional grade trimmer I've owned. I chose Stihl because the Grounds Crew where I work uses them, and if Stihl can survive those guys and keep them happy, they can certainly do what I want and need.This year, I started maintaining the yard and grounds of our Church and Vicarage, and I bought the FCS Edger Attachment for edging the many sidewalks. It attaches and removes from the FS 90 quickly and easily and does an excellent job. So I can switch back and forth between the Edger and the trimmer head or brush blade. October 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Works great - when it works I own 124 acre place, lots of brush, torturous 4- mile one lane drivewayflanked by brush, nettles, tall grass, etc. To maintain, I used StihlFS 56 (not bike handle) and the triple blade steel brush blade (excellentbrush cutter!) . The 56 starts easily, runs fine.But I got seduced into "upgrading" to FS 90 , it was argued that Iwas expecting too much from my 56. Probably tru.e. Heads interchange.Trouble right from the git-go, the FS90 very temperamental aboutstarting. If you follow directions, then it is overchoked and flooded.So… now have to remove spark plug requently, turn machine upside down for hours, put plug back, etc. and NEVER choke, and NEVER use the plastic bubble. Temps here are 60-80 F., cold at night. It onlystarts if it is exactly the right mood. Total contrast to my happy FS56workhorse. which I think would start under water!Am disgusted with the FS 90, especially because my guys who come to work for me spend (waste) so much time trying to start it.These guys use Stihl gear all the time, can rebuild motors, etc.I remain a Stihl fan, and like many of the attachments, have chainsaw, etc. In fairness, we just bought the FS90 for this season, butmaybe it will get better in time. I understand that there is a "break intime" like with 1940 autos when they were new.I use 91 octane, and Stihl mix. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of torque, light, ergonomic, and (almost) a joy to use. Replaced an off-the-shelf 2-cycle with this, as I've got a lot of land and fence line to cover. It's much easier on my back, with lots of torque and easily dispenses line as I go. I've only used it twice so far, but I've been happy both times; glad I upgraded! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great machine My FS90 is only a few weeks old but I've already used it close to 20 hours. It starts with one pull, and I like the easily adjustable handlebar with a knob you turn so you don't need tools. May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I use this to trim and as a brush cutter it is very easy to start has terrific power and it handles great. I would recommend to anyone needing a trimmer/brush cutter May 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by fs90 a disappointment bought to replace fs 76 I've for twenty yrs. Not as much power as my old fs 76. seems to miss after running it at full throttle for very long. Carried it to dealer for this problem. They replaced the ignition module. Still have the same problem. This the first Stihl product I've had a problem with. would not recommend this unit to anyone. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost 16 yrs old! 'I've had my FS 90 since they 1st came out in 1998.I use a brush blade as well as tall grass blade along with the Trimmer head.All I've had to replace in 14 yrs is the trimmer head.Starts right up.Easy to maintain.Never lost power in all thee years! September 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Underpowered for brush and small trees. Works great on grass, and dealer said it would cut trees up to 2" with a blade. That was not true, it will only cut 1/2 inch buckthorn, bigger than that it stalls. Returned unit to dealer he said it is developing normal power, but might need some break in time. Ran several more tanks of gas thru it no change. I bought it because I needed more power than my FS 45 which has been great for several years in grass but could not handle small trees. Sold the FS 90 in disgust and will never buy another one.All other products from Stihl have been excellent but this one is way under powered for cutting small tree shoots. Limit it to grass and it will be good. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 AWESONE UNIT!! Don't pass on this one!! AWESOME UNIT!!• Bought mine back in 1983 with a new 5 Acre property.• It has served me well and replacement parts are available too.• This Puppy will cut through 3" Diameter Tree like a Hot Knife through Butter.• Wipes out Blackberries, Ivy, you name it with EASE!• Takes a little time to learn to use, but it is AWESOME once you pass the learning curve.• A little Heavy, but the QUALITY is obviously there and will tackle any task. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable I'm 15 and work on the family farm and purchased a used fs90. anually weedeat 5 miles or more of fence line. It starts 2 pull every time owned it for about a year and a half now and its never been to the shop. my uncle bought a fs 250 and my fs90 cuts just as good and is alot lighter. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty good trimmer with adequate power The best feature of this trimmer is the harness which fits and works well. The ergonomics of the "bike handle" could be better when it comes to head position control however once you become accustomed to the stance it does work. The guard that comes with the FS90 is cumbersome and essentially suitable for the circular blade use only. I ordered one of the more accessible versions of the guard for string trimming. August 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I have bought yet I bought this trimmer to replace my craftsman that died on me. When I use it it starts on the first or second pull, way better than my old one. Has PLENTY of power, I haven't manage to stall this yet even when the vines wrap around it. Love the bike handle bars and shoulder strap. I did a very steep hill and normally I would be slipping and dropping the unit, but this stayed right by me due to the shoulder strap and was able to control the unit better with the bike handle bars. I put a chisel tooth blade on it and it breezed through 2in buckthorn and sumac. It is the heaviest trimmer that I have used but its built to withstand a beating, and is made lighter with shoulder strap. I notice that this uses less gas than my old trimmer but has more power. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and dependable Used this "domestically" and it's like a lawn mower; That bar gives you such control it's like you set a mulching lawnmower to it's "high" cut depth. Very good for ditches.Then a friend had a heart attack and needed help maintaining his 40 acres... Three-foot-high grass on the paths? They look manicured now. Small shrubs and thickets? It's like those wild roses and invading blackberries weren't even there. (Though they did eat some line on occasion.)The price is well worth it. And I'd recommend the double harness, it makes large jobs just so much less tiring. July 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FEATURES EASY TO USE VERY POWERFULL PRODUCT IS EASY TO START & COMFORTABLE TO USE VERY POWERFULL EASY TO LOAD TWINE HEAD July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding product Performs well on brush and tough grass on my horse farm. Banks, ditches, 8 acres of fencing and wood lines fall easily with the Stihl FS90. Starts easily and double shoulder harness makes it easy to handle. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STIHL Trimmer I've been using STHL for the last 6 years and will never buy any other trimmer. It stands up to daily use and has very little maintenance. It always starts on the first two pulls.Even tho the price is a lot more than other models, It is worth the investment.Any home owner could use this product around the house for years, instead of buying a new cheaper model every year or so. And there are plenty of service stores to help with questions and repairs. I Use ACE Hardware for all my needs. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had it for one year and it's a great trimmer Had it for one year and it's a great trimmer. It starts with ease every time. I bought all the accessories a tri blade for trimming the tough stuff, a tiller for my garden that tills with ease and a saw blade that I can cut blackberry brush like it was butter. I have been very happy with the selection that the salesman's recommended to me for my large project to cut down time and energy. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good so far I have owned/used several brands over lifetime. I havent had this one very long but so far this one seems to work great. I have 1-2 acres i mow and take care of and I have burned up several trimmers over the last couple years. My only issue is that it takes a second or two to get it up to speed and after some review its because its a four stroke, which really isnt much of an issue. Great trimmer I would recommend it to anyone that has a large yard. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Back is KILLING ME! I'm a big guy at 6'1" and I've run a pro lawncare/landscape biz for more than 20 years. I've known forever that the lightest trimmer is the one that will give the smoothest, most even cut - the professional cut. But those light trimmers are just not made for a guy my height and age. They're for the young dudes. So I bought this trimmer because of my aching back. It has taken some getting used to because it is a heavier unit. For me, achieving that really manicured look has been somewhat difficult. I feel like I've had to relearn somewhat but one needs to remember that the quality of the cut that I would expect is much more than what many homeowners would want. The harness actually restricts many of the movements we take for granted with the really light units. But the trade-offs are worth it. Now, I can stand up and let my shoulders take the weight of the trimmer. It feels like heaven! And with practice, the quality of my work is back up where I need it to be.The biggest surprise though, has been in those areas where we cannot get our machines in to mow and have to do large areas with only the trimmers. One property has a number of creeks/ditches and we have to wade into the water to take down the growth at basically water height. WOW, this is THE machine to have in this application. It cuts so well and is so powerful that I can just do the entire job instead of waiting for my guys to join in like I used to do when I used a smaller trimmer. Love it! June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for homeowner with large property Usually starts up on first or second pull, I love the handlebars and harness they let you work much longer without getting tired. Seems to have plenty of power, overall I'm happy with the purchase. Not impressed with the manual though, I had to search Stihl's website to figure out how to change the line when I ran out. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bike handle makes the difference! I always used echo trimmers, but the most recent one was a hard starter. I decided to switch and went with stihl because of the local dealer and reputation. All I can say is thank you. I went with the bike handle because of lower back pain (especially with a normal trimmer handle) and could not be more relieved. I actually look forward to weed eating. Starts every time, and the different blades I can put on make this model worth the money for a farm owner. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful brush cutter I have the trimmer set up with a chipping blade and bike handles and it is a very safe efficient brush cutter. I am using it to cut trails on my property and keep bush down. June 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The right tool for the job The trimmer starts on the first or second pull. The starting procedure was a little tricky at first, but after a few uses the step-up is a snap. I do not like the cord trimmers so I had my trimmer modified and had the plastic blade head (STIHL PolyCut™ Head) installed. I also, like the fact that I knew my trimmer worked and all of the parts were there before I left the store because the STIHL technician assembles and test runs the product. The bicycle handles are a great feature and I don’t have to lean over to trim. The handles were easy to switch from right-handed to left-landed. It takes a little practice to get use to the bicycle handles, but I love them because once the harness is adjusted properly you are standing straight instead of leaning over to trim (saves the back).The only complaint is the harness that comes with the product is not comfortable to ware for extended periods of time. I have a lot of yard trimming so I probably use a trimmer four (4) times longer than the normal use for most homeowners. I bought the Double Standard Harness and the feel is great. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Works great but the manual doesn't tell you how to load the head with trimmer line. Works great, but the manual doesn't tell you how to load the trimmer head with line. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved it! I am a female and it was very easy to start and handle. Cut anything I needed to cut, in the woods and up to small trees, with out any problem. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Very impressive weed eater ,plenty of power, glad I spent the money and it starts right up. My other 3 weedeater's I had ,Ryobi ,Sears craftsman, and Poland ,all where under powered and I pulled and pulled and pulled to start April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The FS 90 has all the power i need to maintain my 2 acre home place and clear trails to my Tree stands. I first borrowed a FS 90 w/ steel blade to see if it had enough power to clear trails to my treestands. Let me tell ou it does. I decided to buy one to use for maintaining my 2 acre yard and love it. The only issue i have had was running out of gas just shy of completing my yard work. But to me that is no big deal. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quality machine for most any trimming job or even brush cleanup. April 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Low power at trimmer head Based on the reviews and Stihl's description, this trimmer sounds great, and is a great value. However, the FS90 bogged down in tall grass and weeds. It would likely work well in a manicured lawn application, but was frustrating to use in rural applications as it required more time to complete the trimming task. I now have a FS250 that handles the tall stuff with ease. April 2, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>