Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 250 R

Our most powerful loop-handle trimmer – great for right-of-way and other heavy-duty uses.

FS 250 R
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 22reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful!!! Well Built!!! I have had mine for 4 years and it gets about 30+ straight hours of use per week during the cutting season. I also have several old FS 85's. As for basic string trimming goes, the FS 250 is a little overkill. This thing has a ton of power, which is very convenient for using power robbing attachments such as the pole saw head, brush cutters, edgers, cultivator, and the new bed redefiner. I have noticed complaints about the bed redefiner when using it in wet or moist soil, particularly clay. I have used it with FS 250 in mostly tough gray Virginia clay both wet and rock hard dry. The FS 250 has never allowed me to experience these clogging problems when using the bed redefiner. The FS 85's struggle a little bit, but not that bad.So if you need a well built powerhouse this is definitely the best bang for your buck. On a rare occasion the FS 250 is hard to start. Usually its just one pull on choke then quickly turn the choke off, and that's it. For some reason this is never an issue with the older style motors like the FS 85. That is my only real complaint about it. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful This is a beast of a machine. It's a chain saw on a stick. I already have the fs90r trimmer and it's fantastic. But I wanted a brush cutter to cut the embankment along my property. I know I could have swapped back and forth. Between the grass blade and trimmer head. So I started shopping for a brush cutter. I handled several different ones and they felt cheap. The one that felt good in my hands had no power. I told my wife let's go back to my stihl dealer and look. Should have done that in the first place. I told them what I wanted. He recommended the fs250 r and gassed it up for me. Man this baby sounds like a chain saw. It has more power than you will Ever need. I have never ran it wide open you don't have to. I have cut sapplings up to 2 inches. If you use premium fuel and synthetic stihl oil. This trimmer will start within three or five pulls. I push the primer button four times choke it. When it pops on the second pull take it off choke. And it will start every time. If not let your dealer have a look at it. If you are cutting heavy brush get a face shield. This trimmer will sling rocks sticks Like a category 5 tornado. If taken care of this trimmer will possibly be the last one you will Ever buy. Run premium fuel stihl synthetic oil and stay on top of maintenance. November 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent except for poor starting Haven't counted but, while following instructions in manual, number of pulls to start must average 20 or more. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power, Power, Power I Have Only Had This Trimmer For One Season, With NO Problems Or Complaints.Very Impressive Power. Easily Chews Threw Blackberries, Vines, And Ivy.The Only Down Side Is The Trimmer Line Cant Take The Abuse The PowerHead Will Dish Out.I Also Use It With The HT Pole Saw Head With A 12" Bar, You Wont Have A Power Problem. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A real work horse that will last for many years. Bought my FS250R in '04 and it hasn't missed a beat. For the first time since buying it 9 years ago I had to do a full tune up (filter, plug, carb adjustment) and install a priming bulb. It still runs and operates like new. The trimmer just can be beat.If this thing does ever die another one will replace it. September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by buy this weed eater dont think twice I did not know Stihl made anything else besides the 250 please take it from pro there is not another weed eater that is better I promise you August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 10 hours a day every day only weak spot is recoil rope. it owns every other trimmer June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent brushcutter I use this with a 40-2 head running .130 diameter stihl pro line and it eats thru a lot of things like little trees and rose bushes with ease. If things get to rough I put on the forestry blade and cut thru whatevers in the way. I've always used Stihl products and have yet for them to let me down. June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by grab em now before Stihl discontinues them... the FS 250R is beast, with a blade it destroys brush, small trees (up to about 3 inches), truck tires, the sidiing on your house, fences an anything else that gets in the wayin my opinion if the FS250R won't handle it I'll use a bush hog...Quaility Power (my dealer) are an have been amazingI've order parts an machines with one 1 min phone call. for the last 5 years I have dealt exclusively with them. They've missed a beat. May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Doesn't get any better than this This is the fourth season on my FS250. I had some hesitations when I bought it as it is expensive. However, has more power than you can ever wish from a trimmer. There is nothing that will stop this trimmer. Load it with a star or a cutting blade and it will go through 2" to 3" brushes without complaints. Fuel consumption is very reasonable for a 40cc engine. It can be easily serviced by a DIYer. Its a 10 minute job to change air filter, fuel pick up and spark plug. Stick with original parts and if replaced once a year you wont even need to touch the carb adjustment screws. It has a good power to weight ratio and is well balanced. For some it may feel heavy but a shoulder harness saves your arms and provides safety.I would buy it again and again on a heart beat. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great For Heavy Grass and Brush Tons of power, but if you use .130" line you need to drill out the attachment holes in the spool or get a different one.As mentioned it is a bit heavy #my helpers won't use it and use my other brand trimmers instead# and also, if you are taller than 6' you may get a sore back from hunching over constantly. Uses a lot of gas but the power is great, actually .155" line is better able to utilize this power without breaking so much. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I recommend this product I am just a home owner with a big yard, and have used everyones trimmers, but nothing like the 250 R, this unit has all of the power anyone could ask for. The 250 R is easy to crank, and I find a remarkable balance even though it's a little heavier. I am of the opinion I will never need another. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and powerful. I've had my FS 250 R for seven years. I belong to a hunt club and I clear over 1100 yards of trails each year. The job used to take me 4 days and now with the cutting saw blade I can finish my assignment in less than a day. Weeds, thorn bushes and saplings all fall to this magnificent piece of equipment. Nothing I have owned has ever kept up or equaled the performance of my FS 250 R. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use one everyday doing professional landscaping and lawncare. The weed eater is slightly heavier than what most are use to but it has all the power you could need from a weed eater. You can use the string to edge with, considering that you have some pretty good line. Cranks easy and in my opinion it is just one of the best weed eaters made. October 30, 2012
<<prev2