Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 130 R

Newer class of heavy-duty professional trimmers. Very good power-to-weight ratio.

FS 130 R
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 49reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very powerful. This Machine does not back down from Anything very powerful and has plenty of torque, and compression, After I purchased this I went on to buy all stihl products when I ride down the road I see other lawn men checking out my equipment stihl products strike up long conversations. September 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A race car inside a trimmer My new home sits on 40 acres of untouched woodlands. It is an overgrown mess! I wanted a trimmer that could serve brush cutting duty until I had enough landscaping accomplished to switch it to trimming duty.Originally I set out to get the FS 90, but shifted to the 130R upon looking at both side by side at my local Stihl dealer. Using emotional-shopper-logic, in the store, I reasoned the power upgrade seemed liked the best use of money over the next 5 years. It has only been a few months into those 5 years and I can happily say that last minute call is one I couldn't be more pleased with!I can't get over how much of my 40 acres I've been able to make presentable with this trimmer in such short time. This trimmer works alongside a Stihl MS 261 chainsaw, a UTV, tow rope, a winch, a 16.5 hp woodchipper, and a 34 ton log splitter. With this combo I have become a 1 man woods-clearing machine! The first round of cleanup begins with the 130R attacking the brush, briars, and saplings (slices through almost as fast as the chainsaw) allowing round two with the chainsaw taking down the larger stuff. Round 3 is cleanup with the UTV and woodchipper plus the wonderful Stihl Peavy & Hookaroon saving my back on the firewood. Rinse, repeat. It is efficient, fast, and very manageable for 1 person. But this process isn't as easy without the 130R setting the pace.It seems some 130R's owners' expectations were not set as properly as they were for me. After reading reviews, this trimmer is getting some rough ones because people don't understand that this trimmer has two settings: off and full-on race mode. You're holding a Formula 1 race car in your hands. And it sounds like this trimmer is getting some bad reviews because some salesman stuck a Toyota Camry driver in a F1 car without telling them this is an animal! September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a work horse Most powerful trimmer I have ever had. Power to weight ratio is amazing.Since its a Stihl, I expect to last many years and be easy to maintain. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I've owned. This trimmer does burn a lot of gas and it breaks line until you get used to it but does it cut. The power is amazing. No bogging down no matter how thick and long the grass and weeds are and it doesn't plug up ever. With the blade attachment it cuts brush just as well as it cuts grass. It is 100% as advertised. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer/brush cutter is truly amazing I purchased my Stihl FS130R because of very good reviews from other users and the price compared to other brands. I needed something I could put a steel blade on to knock out blackberry bushes and wild rose bushes. I have used both a 12" T2 blade with curved tips and 10" Stihl T3 blade and they both work great. I have blasted through the blackberries and rose bushes in nothing flat with some of the stalks up to 1 inch in diameter. The FS130R is definitely one awesome machine that makes brush cutting fun. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great balance, easy to handle, trims perfectly In the past I have used a heavier and more robust string trimmer as our property is plagued by horse weeds, wild rose and thistles. But... after quadruple bypass surgery my upper body just could not handle the weight. A friend suggested I look into a light duty Stihl trimmer, so glad I did. It does a great job, lightweight, powerful and easy to start. Now I can keep the place looking great myself. It will do everything I need with the exception of the woody plants, and did not expect the lighter trimmer to do that. Highly recommend. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This weedeater is a beast I bought this weedeater looking for power and something that wasn't too heavy and that's what I got. You can litterly jam this thing into brush and grass and it just eats away and asks for more. Its awesome July 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product is non-user friendly I run a commercial mowing company and have always used Echo, Tinaka, Redmax trimmers. Figured I'd give STIHL a try. I purchased the 130R thinking that more power is better. I was wrong. Listed are the items to be wary of..1. This unit is so over powered that it constantly breaks line at the head. In order to feed line out one must shut off the machine take apart the auto feed mechanism and pull the line out/re-string. I have tried every thickness of line even jamming .130 diameter line in. Same issue, continually breaks level with the head.2. LIne feed is a real pain. Does not auto feed easily. I'm 1/2 way through the season and have already gone through a feed mechanism.3. Line replacement/re-string should be quick, but STIHL has not figured out how to feed line into their system without removing the head. Should take a look at almost all other competitor models!!!4. Engine has loads of power, but after running a bit system takes anywhere from 8-10 pulls to re-start. I know this doesn't sound bad, but together with the line feed issue and you've got a real pile!The one nice thing I will say is the power is incredible, it's just to bad it's not easy to use!I should have looked into/researched a bit more before purchasing. Look into other brands before purchasing and just compare.I also own STIHL Chain Saws and Hedge Trimmers, Both of which I would highly recommend purchasing. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Torque Monster! This is the first line trimmer I've used that doesn't bog down in weeds or our thick meadow grasses ... incredible and smooth power band, nicely balanced. Best of all, it's a Stihl! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful reliability This trimmer is just one of several different Stihl products I have had over the years to include edgers, blowers and chain saws. This trimmer along with the other Sthil products I have are the only brand of lawn equipment I would have....period. Whenever I have ever purchased another piece of Stihl equipment it's always been because I just wanted a different model not because anything was wrong with the one I had. I have a chain saw that we've had since 1984 and it still runs like the day we bought it. Thsi 130 trimmer starts usually on the first pull and has all the power you would ever want in a trimer, it has wonderful balance and gives outstanding results. I would never own anything else. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Product! So much power! Not sure why I waited so long to get one! I have had my Stihl FS130R from the start of the summer. It's an amazing product! I looked into other brands but when most of the professionals in the industry use Stihl I knew I did not want to invest in any other product other than a Stihl. I looked at lesser models but decided that if I am going to spend my hard earned money I wanna invest in the best that will last me "hopefully" my lifetime with little maintenance.The orange string is a little too week for this trimmer. Make sure u upgrade to the better string because this trimmer needs it! July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts fast and easy, runs all day long, and has a small appetite. I use this machine to cut bull thistle, blackberries, and star thistle as well as all kinds of tall grass and big weeds. I cut mostly on 45 degree hillsides in lots of rocks. This machine is a monster, eating everything in it's path. Because of the rocks, I haven't used a steel blade yet, so it goes through a lot of line while it's going through a lot of stalks and weeds. The only thing that really slows it down is wire fencing. I owe my Stihl Dealer, Mike, at Ashland Hardware, a big THANK YOU for pointing me in this machine's direction. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome power I own a landscaping business and we mow 4-6 large properties daily usually averaging 3-5 acres. I have an 80r and 3 90r's all I have been very pleased with but I wanted something a little more so I went out and purchased a 130r a few days ago and I haven't been more impressed with a trimmer in my life. Tons and tons of power, won't bog even in the thickest and wettest of grass,weeds,and even smallholder woody plants. It is a little heavier than the 90r but the torque it has over the 90r is astonishing. Defiantly recommend it if you have any brush or fence lines you would like cleaned out or just want more power than your standard trimmer. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around great trimmer. This machine is awesome! I've had my unit approximately 3 years and I use multiple tool attachments. I currently have the edger, adjustable hedge trimmer, and string trimmer head. Other than a recall on the fuel cap (which was corrected free of charge by my local Stihl dealer.) I have had zero issues. Perfect mix of power and balance, I can run the unit for hours and it doesn't feel heavy. I have ran echo, Husqvarna, John Deere, Red Max, and Shindaiwa and I always come back to the Stihl. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool for overgrowth. I recently purchased 2.8 acres that has been neglected for many years and is completely overgrown with briars and saplings. I purchased the three tooth grass/brush cutter and immediately installed it on the machine. It cuts almost everything! I also purchased the MS170 chainsaw to get what I am afraid to tackle with the trimmer, which isn't much. I just have to say I love the sound of the 4-mix engine. When people see me using it they know this is no ordinary "weed eater". March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor ignition It's unfortunatel that Stihl would release a product with a sub standard ignition system.This ignition is not compatible with the 130.It continuously runs in ignition cutoff to regulate the maximum speed of the unit. It vibrates and sounds like it's going to detonate at any moment. Not what you would expect from an expensive tool like this . A bit disappointed... December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of power to spare! I have always cut large hillsides with FS70's and FS90's. Boy you can cut so much faster with the extra power of the FS130!! Tall, thick, weeds can't slow the head down with this trimmer. It's also the best value of Stihl's professional line of trimmers based on marginal power/cost. The new 4-mix engines also have an entirely different power band than the old 2-strokes. I personally favor the output and torque of the newer engines. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BOSS This trimmer is amazing. I have long been using a cheaply made alternative to Stihl. Its worth EVERY penny. I can see long use and many weeds destroyed with this machine. I will never buy anything but a Stihl. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent trimmer plenty of power Had a Tanaka for 10 years decided to retire it and what an improvement with the Stihl !!! This trimmer destroys brush and weeds. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that needs a heavy duty trimmer. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hang on and enjoy the ride! Best trimmer you will ever own and worth every penny! We recently bought a house and 15 acres. Needless to say the 15 acres wasn't very attractive. The previous owners ran horses on the acreage so there wasn't any grass but weeds were abundant. Abundant doesn't really define it very well. They were everywhere! Choking every tree and sapling on the place. Chest high growth on the pond dam and under every fence. What's the best way to fix this problem you might ask? Buy yourself s STIHL FS-130 load it with 085 line and get after it. Place looks like a golf corse now and will continue to.Thanks STIHL, August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A monster It's a monster I've not had any problems with it all the reviews about it breaking strings Is not true I'm using the steel 95 xline and it very rarely breaks the strings but it wears down but it don't break it It starts every time I go to use it and It's got so much power when i pull the trigger it rolls around in my hand and whatever it can grab it will wrap around the head August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I thought I had a machine that was amazing before I purchased this one, but I was wrong. This thing has sooo much power for it`s size, it is almost scary. I`m not using this around the house. I use this in grasses you can`t see your thighs in (I`m 6'2") and it is no match. I use this to clear fence lines and overgrown pond areas as well. My other machine would cut it, but I would be cutting it up high and then having to cut it again. With the FS 130R I just walk and cut once and it cuts it at ground level. I cut twice as much in the same time it took to use y previous machine.Only thing I would like to modify is the length of the string (the cutter in the shield cuts it too short and this machine has enough power to run longer). July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow worth every penny I did my research and compared to the rest and for price per cc you can't beat it. Then I fired it up and I am very impressed with the power this thing has. I have a nice chunk of land and the weeds get out of control most of the time and the 130r sliced right through them. I was already a fan of stihl products but now if I buy yard equipment; guarantee you it'll be a stihl. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Torque Monster,more power than you'll ever need Torque Monster, more power than you'll ever need, too much power a 25-2 auto head, bump up to a 40-4 head an 130 lineOr better an more appropriate put a blade on this machinea tri-blade or a Shredder type blade will handle any grass, bushes, vines, etc etc July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent power! I need a very heavy-duty trimmer, and this seems to fit the bill. The one weakness I noted was the line size... .095" line is wimpy and breaks quickly. I spent 1 minute with a dremel moto-tool and cut a slot inside the head to anchor .130" line. This trimmer is AWESOME with .130" line... it has the power to swing that heavy line, so I don't understand why a trimmer of this quality doesn't come with a heavier head. But as I did, it's possible to fix that little issue. Great trimmer. Very little vibration and it will cut through just about anything, darn near as well as a Stihl chainsaw! I hope it is reliable and require little maintenance. Have not had it long enough to know. I would have given this a 5 if it had heavier line than .095" from the factory. July 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has lots of power Use it in tall grass and high weeds on the farm. The string head that came with this trimmer is under sized. the head will not advance string with out turning it upside down and pulling it out. The trimmer has so much power that it breaks the string off quickly.Did the same with 105 string. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Savage Beast Two year owner here, Stihl very impressed. I have impressed everyone who has witnessed me operate this machine. If your bogging this machine down you probably should be using a tractor or a chain saw. Worth every penny I paid for it.One thing I did discover about the consistency of the performance (cranking, idling) it wants quality gas, but so does my old hot rod, and I don't mind running the good 89 octane and Stihl synthetic oil. I'm convinced the guys writing about hard to start and unreliable are simply using bad gas. Take good care of it and it will take good care of you. July 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk This machine never worked right from the start. Three tanks of fuel and had to have the coil replaced. Still didn't run right, replaced the valves and the third time it was replaced by the dealer with a different brand and I couldn't be happier. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Have owned the 130 for several months. We needed a trimmer that will do it all but especially to clean up overgrown weeds, brush and vines with a cutter blade. Then changed to the line head to trim our yard. The 130 excells in everything we have asked of it. I have read the other reviews and whole heartedly second their comments about power, excellent balance, ease of starting and great performance.Changing from the blade to string is not difficult but is time comsuming to go back and forth. Since we had 'points' at a competitor brand we purchased a string trimmer. Used it twice and took the junk back and was talked into upgrading to their two cycle high end model. It is also so disappointing it is going back and we will purchase the FS 70 R. Maybe a little overkill but the quality will be worth it. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome power was lookin for a more powerful trimmer to replace another brand I had got tired of losing power in the thick weeds and this thing just mows them down with no loss of power I love the power of this June 17, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>