Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 130 R

Newer class of heavy-duty professional trimmers. Very good power-to-weight ratio.

FS 130 R
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 42reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product is non-user friendly I run a commercial mowing company and have always used Echo, Tinaka, Redmax trimmers. Figured I'd give STIHL a try. I purchased the 130R thinking that more power is better. I was wrong. Listed are the items to be wary of..1. This unit is so over powered that it constantly breaks line at the head. In order to feed line out one must shut off the machine take apart the auto feed mechanism and pull the line out/re-string. I have tried every thickness of line even jamming .130 diameter line in. Same issue, continually breaks level with the head.2. LIne feed is a real pain. Does not auto feed easily. I'm 1/2 way through the season and have already gone through a feed mechanism.3. Line replacement/re-string should be quick, but STIHL has not figured out how to feed line into their system without removing the head. Should take a look at almost all other competitor models!!!4. Engine has loads of power, but after running a bit system takes anywhere from 8-10 pulls to re-start. I know this doesn't sound bad, but together with the line feed issue and you've got a real pile!The one nice thing I will say is the power is incredible, it's just to bad it's not easy to use!I should have looked into/researched a bit more before purchasing. Look into other brands before purchasing and just compare.I also own STIHL Chain Saws and Hedge Trimmers, Both of which I would highly recommend purchasing. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Torque Monster! This is the first line trimmer I've used that doesn't bog down in weeds or our thick meadow grasses ... incredible and smooth power band, nicely balanced. Best of all, it's a Stihl! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful reliability This trimmer is just one of several different Stihl products I have had over the years to include edgers, blowers and chain saws. This trimmer along with the other Sthil products I have are the only brand of lawn equipment I would have....period. Whenever I have ever purchased another piece of Stihl equipment it's always been because I just wanted a different model not because anything was wrong with the one I had. I have a chain saw that we've had since 1984 and it still runs like the day we bought it. Thsi 130 trimmer starts usually on the first pull and has all the power you would ever want in a trimer, it has wonderful balance and gives outstanding results. I would never own anything else. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Product! So much power! Not sure why I waited so long to get one! I have had my Stihl FS130R from the start of the summer. It's an amazing product! I looked into other brands but when most of the professionals in the industry use Stihl I knew I did not want to invest in any other product other than a Stihl. I looked at lesser models but decided that if I am going to spend my hard earned money I wanna invest in the best that will last me "hopefully" my lifetime with little maintenance.The orange string is a little too week for this trimmer. Make sure u upgrade to the better string because this trimmer needs it! July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts fast and easy, runs all day long, and has a small appetite. I use this machine to cut bull thistle, blackberries, and star thistle as well as all kinds of tall grass and big weeds. I cut mostly on 45 degree hillsides in lots of rocks. This machine is a monster, eating everything in it's path. Because of the rocks, I haven't used a steel blade yet, so it goes through a lot of line while it's going through a lot of stalks and weeds. The only thing that really slows it down is wire fencing. I owe my Stihl Dealer, Mike, at Ashland Hardware, a big THANK YOU for pointing me in this machine's direction. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome power I own a landscaping business and we mow 4-6 large properties daily usually averaging 3-5 acres. I have an 80r and 3 90r's all I have been very pleased with but I wanted something a little more so I went out and purchased a 130r a few days ago and I haven't been more impressed with a trimmer in my life. Tons and tons of power, won't bog even in the thickest and wettest of grass,weeds,and even smallholder woody plants. It is a little heavier than the 90r but the torque it has over the 90r is astonishing. Defiantly recommend it if you have any brush or fence lines you would like cleaned out or just want more power than your standard trimmer. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around great trimmer. This machine is awesome! I've had my unit approximately 3 years and I use multiple tool attachments. I currently have the edger, adjustable hedge trimmer, and string trimmer head. Other than a recall on the fuel cap (which was corrected free of charge by my local Stihl dealer.) I have had zero issues. Perfect mix of power and balance, I can run the unit for hours and it doesn't feel heavy. I have ran echo, Husqvarna, John Deere, Red Max, and Shindaiwa and I always come back to the Stihl. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool for overgrowth. I recently purchased 2.8 acres that has been neglected for many years and is completely overgrown with briars and saplings. I purchased the three tooth grass/brush cutter and immediately installed it on the machine. It cuts almost everything! I also purchased the MS170 chainsaw to get what I am afraid to tackle with the trimmer, which isn't much. I just have to say I love the sound of the 4-mix engine. When people see me using it they know this is no ordinary "weed eater". March 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor ignition It's unfortunatel that Stihl would release a product with a sub standard ignition system.This ignition is not compatible with the 130.It continuously runs in ignition cutoff to regulate the maximum speed of the unit. It vibrates and sounds like it's going to detonate at any moment. Not what you would expect from an expensive tool like this . A bit disappointed... December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of power to spare! I have always cut large hillsides with FS70's and FS90's. Boy you can cut so much faster with the extra power of the FS130!! Tall, thick, weeds can't slow the head down with this trimmer. It's also the best value of Stihl's professional line of trimmers based on marginal power/cost. The new 4-mix engines also have an entirely different power band than the old 2-strokes. I personally favor the output and torque of the newer engines. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BOSS This trimmer is amazing. I have long been using a cheaply made alternative to Stihl. Its worth EVERY penny. I can see long use and many weeds destroyed with this machine. I will never buy anything but a Stihl. September 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent trimmer plenty of power Had a Tanaka for 10 years decided to retire it and what an improvement with the Stihl !!! This trimmer destroys brush and weeds. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that needs a heavy duty trimmer. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hang on and enjoy the ride! Best trimmer you will ever own and worth every penny! We recently bought a house and 15 acres. Needless to say the 15 acres wasn't very attractive. The previous owners ran horses on the acreage so there wasn't any grass but weeds were abundant. Abundant doesn't really define it very well. They were everywhere! Choking every tree and sapling on the place. Chest high growth on the pond dam and under every fence. What's the best way to fix this problem you might ask? Buy yourself s STIHL FS-130 load it with 085 line and get after it. Place looks like a golf corse now and will continue to.Thanks STIHL, August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A monster It's a monster I've not had any problems with it all the reviews about it breaking strings Is not true I'm using the steel 95 xline and it very rarely breaks the strings but it wears down but it don't break it It starts every time I go to use it and It's got so much power when i pull the trigger it rolls around in my hand and whatever it can grab it will wrap around the head August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I thought I had a machine that was amazing before I purchased this one, but I was wrong. This thing has sooo much power for it`s size, it is almost scary. I`m not using this around the house. I use this in grasses you can`t see your thighs in (I`m 6'2") and it is no match. I use this to clear fence lines and overgrown pond areas as well. My other machine would cut it, but I would be cutting it up high and then having to cut it again. With the FS 130R I just walk and cut once and it cuts it at ground level. I cut twice as much in the same time it took to use y previous machine.Only thing I would like to modify is the length of the string (the cutter in the shield cuts it too short and this machine has enough power to run longer). July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow worth every penny I did my research and compared to the rest and for price per cc you can't beat it. Then I fired it up and I am very impressed with the power this thing has. I have a nice chunk of land and the weeds get out of control most of the time and the 130r sliced right through them. I was already a fan of stihl products but now if I buy yard equipment; guarantee you it'll be a stihl. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Torque Monster,more power than you'll ever need Torque Monster, more power than you'll ever need, too much power a 25-2 auto head, bump up to a 40-4 head an 130 lineOr better an more appropriate put a blade on this machinea tri-blade or a Shredder type blade will handle any grass, bushes, vines, etc etc July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent power! I need a very heavy-duty trimmer, and this seems to fit the bill. The one weakness I noted was the line size... .095" line is wimpy and breaks quickly. I spent 1 minute with a dremel moto-tool and cut a slot inside the head to anchor .130" line. This trimmer is AWESOME with .130" line... it has the power to swing that heavy line, so I don't understand why a trimmer of this quality doesn't come with a heavier head. But as I did, it's possible to fix that little issue. Great trimmer. Very little vibration and it will cut through just about anything, darn near as well as a Stihl chainsaw! I hope it is reliable and require little maintenance. Have not had it long enough to know. I would have given this a 5 if it had heavier line than .095" from the factory. July 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has lots of power Use it in tall grass and high weeds on the farm. The string head that came with this trimmer is under sized. the head will not advance string with out turning it upside down and pulling it out. The trimmer has so much power that it breaks the string off quickly.Did the same with 105 string. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Savage Beast Two year owner here, Stihl very impressed. I have impressed everyone who has witnessed me operate this machine. If your bogging this machine down you probably should be using a tractor or a chain saw. Worth every penny I paid for it.One thing I did discover about the consistency of the performance (cranking, idling) it wants quality gas, but so does my old hot rod, and I don't mind running the good 89 octane and Stihl synthetic oil. I'm convinced the guys writing about hard to start and unreliable are simply using bad gas. Take good care of it and it will take good care of you. July 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk This machine never worked right from the start. Three tanks of fuel and had to have the coil replaced. Still didn't run right, replaced the valves and the third time it was replaced by the dealer with a different brand and I couldn't be happier. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Have owned the 130 for several months. We needed a trimmer that will do it all but especially to clean up overgrown weeds, brush and vines with a cutter blade. Then changed to the line head to trim our yard. The 130 excells in everything we have asked of it. I have read the other reviews and whole heartedly second their comments about power, excellent balance, ease of starting and great performance.Changing from the blade to string is not difficult but is time comsuming to go back and forth. Since we had 'points' at a competitor brand we purchased a string trimmer. Used it twice and took the junk back and was talked into upgrading to their two cycle high end model. It is also so disappointing it is going back and we will purchase the FS 70 R. Maybe a little overkill but the quality will be worth it. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome power was lookin for a more powerful trimmer to replace another brand I had got tired of losing power in the thick weeds and this thing just mows them down with no loss of power I love the power of this June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weedeater This weedeater is the reason I've started buying all Stihl. It has ran, and ran, and ran. The only thing I would say is that it almost has to MUCH mower. if you're a pro that is servicing commercial properties that are older (older landscaping), be careful. I would say to go with the 110. The 130 has so much mower if you catch a rock it will brake whatever the rock hits. Both the 110 and the 130 are great products.It's ran for 3 years with no maintain. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by When my weedeater finaly worked! Have owned a Stihl 55 trimmer for over 15 years and finally decided to purchase the 130R as a replacement and give the old trimmer to my son. Took the new trimmer home and used it for approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The next time I tried to crank the trimmer I had to pull over 30 times to no avail. Returned it to the dealer and had them look at it. The service dept adjusted the carb and it cranked. Took the trimmer home and tried to use it the next day but would not crank even after repeated attempts. Had to use my old standby Stihl to complete the trimming around my yard. Again returned the trimmer to the dealer who had to replace the electronic ignition in the engine. I don't know how the trimmer ever made it out of quality control. After the repair the FS130R is back on he job doing what it supposed to do---work like a horse. I have never had any problem with any Stihl products and was very saddened at this experience. The dealer made it right and the unit works well alongside my Stihl blower. I still feel as if the Stihl products are the best made and would purchase another Stihl product again! Hopefully not for a long time. June 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't start Been to dealer twice for adjustments still don't run right get the twostroke models my old echos still out performs the stihl 130 because it don't start I have always used premium fuel and stihl syn oils June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A BEAST This trimmer is a BEAST!!!. This is my first review for anything but this machine deserves the time for my review. If you don't like power and performance don't get this machine.I have always used smaller Echo's with no complaints but decided to step up to a more powerful trimmer. I'm a large property owner and retired golf course superintendent and if you do serious weed eating like I do this is the machine. You cannot bog it down and will save you time. I researched and changed my mind several times, i was concerned about the little extra weight and extra cost, Its worth it! Still too early for dependability review to be 5 stars but it will start with one pull without chocking every time so far. I would recommend to get a 3 or 4 string pivot head because the 2 string head doesn't do justice for all the power you have and will break the string much easier than what you are used to, not a fault, just power. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute Beast! Best trimmer I have ever owned! I really like the way you mix oil and gas in the 4 stroke Stihl products. That way all your handheld equipment still takes the sam fuel. Uses half the fuel of a 2 stroke trimmer and is quieter as well. Highly Recommend! May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl makes great products This machine is awsome. It has done all I have asked it to do. Living on a small farm, from weeds to small saplings, you cannot beat a stihl. Using the brush knife, this things eats everything in its path. I do recommend using premium fuel and using stihl ultra oil mix. I've owned the FS 130 for over a year now, It starts easy, & runs great. The FS 130 may be overkill for town residents, but a must have for rural living. May 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great trimmer! Have been using this trimmer to clear some property that has been overgrown with honeysuckle,green briars, and buck brush for the last 20 years. Combined with the brush knife this trimmer goes right through any of this undergrowth. Plenty of power to do all of my jobs. The only complaint that I have is that it makes it so easy to clear the brush I can't keep up with all of the dragging, piling, and burning. The machine is light enough for all day use, it does burn quite a bit of fuel, but with the power output I guess that is to be expected. Great machine, I highly recommend it. April 11, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>