Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 100 RX

A professional grass trimmer that delivers big power in a lightweight package.

FS 100 RX
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 41reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by very easy to use I have found this product to be dependable and has plenty of power, saves time and energy. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent lightweight trimmer Purchased this trimmer about a year ago and have been very pleased. This trimmer starts with a couple of pulls cold and with one pull after it is warmed up. I own 5 acres and I use it for three hours at a time and it's light enough that it doesn't hurt my back afterwards. It has plenty of power to tackle overgrown grass and weeds with no problem. This has been the best trimmer I've ever owned. Thanks Stihl for another great product! April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product great power light weight kills echo products will not buy anything but this! Excellent product great power light weight kills echo products will not buy anything but this! January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of torque... Great trimmer, made the switch from running Husqvarna 326 line trimmers and couldn't be happier. Has enough torque to leave an edge that looks like it was cut with a blade. Inexperienced users beware, it has a lot of low end torque that will chew your edge up if you don't know what your doing. Can be a little hard starting on cold mornings. What tools don't have a starting ritual though?Overall I'm very satisfied with the purchase. When it comes time to swap out our pole hedgers they'll be 4Mix also. November 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lighter weight The dealer spent thirty minutes getting mine started the first time-- thought it was a fuel problem getting carburetor primed--I should have rejected it but it was the last one they had in stock. After a couple of uses, I could not get it started so l took it back to the dealer--they spent about twenty minutes getting it started, re-adjusted carburetor and it ran fine that day. It always took about 10-15 pulls to start when cold. About 3 weeks later, same problem--would not start. I took the plug out and no fire, tried another plug and no fire. Very frustrated at this point, I took it back to the dealer again (50 miles round trip), tried to get them to exchange it but they said they couldn't do that after 10 days and they found it to be a faulty coil--the mechanic called Stihl and evidently it is going to be a common problem. They replaced the coil/electronic ignition and now it will start on the first pull when warm even an hour after use. My last Stihl (FS 85 X) weedeater lasted 12 years October 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It doesn't get any better than this. I had my doubts because of my past experiences with other brands of trimmers. My crew would usually destroy a trimmer or two each season. Their favorite words were "defective equipment". I was looking for something with more power and reliability. The salesman recommended the FS 100RX because it had the best power to weight ratio. Once the crew had their hands on it, they wouldn't let it go for the old trimmers. The FS 100RX trims faster due to the unparalleled power it has. It leaves the operator less fatigued at the end of the day. My production level has increased putting more money in my pocket. I've had these trimmers a over two years and they continue to run strong. You get what you pay for, it's a great product. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard starting - great cutter! This is a weed cutting machine! The only thing is that it a bear to start!! 10-20 pulls when cold! October 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointing Not sure exactly what has changed, but this trimmer was bad to begin with. Always took about 10 pulls to start. It would be in the shop constantly, and would revert back to 10 pulls to start. I should have tested it while i was buying, but I loved the 90r so much I didn't think it could be worse.lasted me about 1 year, and then the next trip they told me the engine was just shot. My 90r lasted almost 10 years of much harder use. There is a reason this one is 1 lb lighterThis is not a light 110r, it's weaker and much more difficult to start/use. Sounds different also. September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best I've owned This is the best I have ever owned and I had several September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow Up to today I've owned the standard Craftsman consumer fancy, Echo SRM 230, and now the FS 100 RX.. I realize now I've wasted several hundred bucks on the "lesser: boxes. Bought this today and proceeded to handily destroy anything that had been giving me grief. This is by far the BEST trimmer I have ever used. Worth every penny. I live in a 20acre desert and have issues with crazy tough weeds. This thing mulched them in an instant without hesitation. I was amazed/.. this thing is hardcore Was expensive, but boy can handle anything Eastern Washington State has to offer, get it and be happy. If you can't afford it now, save for it, it;ll be worth the wait.. amazing! September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product, tough as nails, no complaints Works great, used daily and never fails. Could not ask foor anything else in a trimmer September 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I hate it I retired a 5 year old echo and I bought this a couple months ago. The darn thing absolutely throws grass all over me; not to mention rocks! The head spins counter clockwise unlike other trimmers that turn clockwise. It is powerful and runs great, but thats as far as it goes. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect trimmer for professionals I bought the FS100RX a few months ago as I needed something more reliable than the other unit I had and I needed something light weight to be able to trim and edge 50 lawns per week with. This trimmer fits the bill perfectly. It starts on first pull and has plenty of power to get the job done. I highly recommend this trimmer to anyone needing a dedicated trimmer for edging and trimming. If you need something that can handle a blade then look at the other stihl models. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best everyday 'maintenance' trimmer ever up front, i will say a run a lot of echo stuff. and its been good to me ..still is. but, neither echo nor shindaiwa have a trimmer that is this powerful and this light. i run my business three days a week and use a string trimmer 12+ hours during that time. i have a 280 echo that's incredibly strong and very heavy. i have a 242 shinny and a 230 echo that are underpowered. the shinny also weighs nearly 14 lbs..was making my back ache. . the 100rx is perfect. trims nice..the off idle acceleration gets the line moving quickly and the 31cc four mix engine has the torque to power through bermuda grass..which is tough on a trimmer..without digging in leaving a manicured look. nice machine. worth the price. glad to getting one. demoed a 100rx this weekend and was blown away at the comfort and ability of it. ran it over 12 hours this week and enjoyed every minute of it. a must have for any professional landscaper . July 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gas cap does not stay on is cheaply made and is very difficult to startIt is light but the attention to detail is cheap !The gas cap broke fist thing. - cheaply madeI'm always amazed when you pay good money and its so cheaply made you regret the purchase - This is how I classify this productTo start it is very difficult. July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great power and is light I purchased 6 of these trimmers the last 3 yearsWe work 7 days a week and all day long, and they start on the first pull all day long. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine I purchased this unit about a month ago and it truely is a pleasure to use. Extremely light weight with excellent power. The machine revs quickly and is very smooth. Bought this as a back up to my FS90R but has become my go to weedeater. Highly recommend as long as you never plan to use a blade. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer is very powerful and starts easy and runs smooth A great product has very good power to weight ratio i mow and trim 5 acers and i wouldnt trade my 100rx for anything, runs very smooth June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I expected from stihl Bought this to replace my old echo had no real issues with that unit but wanted a bit more power. What you get with the 100rx is a light weight trimmer with enough strength that it won't bog down or wrap up in thick or heavy stuff. Very easy starting unit,even when running out of gas and refueling just pull once with no choke and it starts at idol. May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great when it works I spend more time taking the head apart to get the lines to feed than I do cutting. Very powerful, but frustrating to use. May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No better product out there The best product I have ever owned starts every time and great in gas. May 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, stout running machine. I purchased this trimmer a couple if weeks back and overall it is a quality piece of equipment. I have always bought echo and red max trimmers, this machine had a 4 year commercial warranty (with purchase of 6 pack of synthetic Stihl oil)....so that was something I couldn't pass up while in market for another trimmer.My biggest (and maybe only) knock on this trimmer is the gas tank size and overall gas consumption. The tank is so small that If you are on a big yard it will run out of gas well before you get done...mine will run prob 50 minutes on a full tank of non ethanol gas. It is a problem if you are a quarter mile away from the truck having to walk back when there may only be 15 min worth of weedeating left in front of you.Other than that it is a 5 star trimmer in my opinion. Takes some getting used to because of all the low end power....this thing has more low end power than any trimmer I have ever used. Essentially, the throttle difference between a slow idle and all out gettin it is MINUTE at best.If you only have small to medium sized residential yards to maintain it would be the perfect trimmer. April 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STIHL FS100 The weight of the fs55 with the power of the 110! very lightweight and powerful the perfect trimmer for trimming around a big yard or all day use thanks to its minimal weight. If you want attachments or do super heavy field/brush clearing this is the wrong trimmer, but if you want a lightweight, reliable, powerful trimmer for large yard jobs this is perfect. April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent performance The 100RX is my second trimmer and it is the best. Excellent performance, low weight and great value. Ronnie's repair in Jacksonville had mine ready in only a few minutes and I was out the door. You can but a better trimmer! April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best hands down. I have owned this product for 9 years and have replaced the carb once and the primer button. I cut a lot of grass in mowing season. Had the thing 4 years before i changed the plug. I have even completely drowned the motor in a creek once and after a few hours, a new plug, and clean gas, she fired right up. I never remove the gas before winter or anything. Just a great machine !!!!!!!! March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine Had the trimmer several years now - I don't take the best care of my equipment... I've had zero problems with the machine. Great power, well balanced, not too heavy, 1-2 pulls to start every time. I only use Stihls Ultra oil - low smoke and odor and I've never had a fire screen clog. My brother is buying the 100rx this spring after going through another 'top brand' in one season. I've added the solid shaft and use the pole saw attachment - makes it even better! February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by this product is light for all day use. Bought 13 of these trimmers in June 2012 to replace some worn out echo trimmers.The trimmer is light and has lot of power. It starts good in the morning but come afternoon it takes a least 15 pull to start. It also burns alot of fuel compared to the echo that they replaced. overall it is a good unit just wished it started better in the afternoon and it burned less fuel. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product i use this trimmer for atleast 4 hours a day during the mowing season. extremly light a lot of power great price. this trimmer weinds up really quick would recomend this trimmer over a redmax any day December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer This is the best trimmer I have used. I would highly recommend it to the pros out there. It's light, and powerful and puts a nice cut out. The head is easy to load string to. November 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by i like the power the FS 100 RX works real strong after 4 months of use everyday, the only two things i dont like it is the Protected Throttle Trigger get stuck i think its to thick and the Clutch shoe wear out fast i said that because the head keep spining without pushing the Throttle Trigger. November 15, 2012
<<prev2 3next>>