Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 56 C-E

This straight-shaft grass trimmer features bike-style handles, ideal for large or difficult areas.

FS 56 C-E
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 35reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by stihl trimmer After doing much research I decided to purchase a Stihl trimmer. The salesman at Nuts and Bolts talked me into buying a FS 56 C-E. This trimmer is awkward to use for trimming along sidewalks and driveways. I checked with the retailer to see if there were any options as to returning it and getting a different model, I was told Stihl will not allow that.I would recommend you test someone else's trimmer before spending a lot on a trimmer that is useless. I am planning on donating this to some charity and buying a cheap Ryobi. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great power The product has great power,easy to operate, and lightweight August 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even my wife loves it!! Well balanced and easy to start. We have a bout 10 hours of cutting tall grasses and light brush with the original string. Have not tried the brush cutting blade yet no need to so far. Plenty of power and Stihl quality make this a great value for my money. June 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great(!) trimmer Been trimming over 1,000 ft of property line with an older competitor's trimmer. That trimmer finally refused to start; even a new carburetor didn't solve the problem (thank the lord). So thinking about my 1973 vintage Stihl Model 8 chainsaw and how it still starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull a new trimmer from Stihl seemed like the way to go - particularly if Stihl made one with a handle bar.Well what I found has turned out to be the best lawn equipment decision I've ever made.Full handlebar for best control, shoulder strap to take the strain off the arms, almost no messing around with the choke, starts on the first pull, trims the full property line on 1 tank of gas - effortlessly.And it's powerful - the manual says "don't use full throttle until after the 3rd tank of fuel". Frankly I can't see myself ever using full throttle - half throttle knocks down even the toughest 2 ft high weeds.If you're thinking of buying a FS56C-E trimmer don't hesitate just do it! June 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value. Money well spent. Very satisfied with this unit. Being 6'4" leaves the length of the shoulder strap lacking. Can't quite get the head as close to the ground as I would like. I will be asking my dealer if there's a longer strap available. Otherwise I'm extremely happy with it. Starts easily every time. June 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy I write honest reviews trying to provide helpful information. The sparkplug fouls very quickly if you don't operate at full revs. The second time I removed the plug to clean it the sparkplug wire came apart! I did nothing to cause this. It is a design flaw. The dealer felt sorry for me so they fixed it for free and advised to be very careful as they see this as a frequent problem. Really.....Today, May 30, 2015, while trying to replace the line the trimmer line spool was stuck inside the trimmer head. I observed unexpected wear on the plastic line spool and trimmer head, melted plastic! The trimmer head is ruined after only about 30 hours of use! The line spool is unusable as well. Enough!I am not going to try and get it fixed under warranty and argue that point. I am buying replacement parts myself, fixing it and ditching this on Craigslist! We are buying a trimmer with a four stroke engine from a big company well known for decades making quality products for consumers. Stihl? Never again! May 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Won't start after one use Bought this trimmer used it one day next time I tried to use it the trimmer wouldn't start took it to the service center have to wait two weeks to get it back May 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets the job done fast and easy I live in Alaska and the willow trees grow faster then the grass, so I set out to find a brush cutter. And I trashed several other cutters, but this one by Sthil is awesome , tough, reliable, and starts easy! Great piece of equipment. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my second one it is a great machine I've bought cheap machines for years but when I retired I decided I wanted something that I could work with not work on your machine is not the cheapest but in the long run it it is well worth what you pay for it. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a home owner This is a great piece of equipment for a home owner. I would highly recommend it to do just about everything. Sometimes it is a bit hard to get started for the first time after it has run for a few second it keeps running and restarts easily the next time September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best weedeater that I have used by far This weed eater is easy to start and runs great with a blade on it it is easy to clear overgrown brush. I also got a gator head attachment for when I want to use the string for trimming I highly recommend it a whole lot easier just cut 12" pieces of string and slide them in instead of having to wind the string around the spool every 15-20 minutes August 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have had my weed eater for two months and it doesn't work. I made sure to run the right gas, read the owners manual and follow it. I get into the middle of the first season and it quits running on me. The only thing worse then a product that doesn't give back the purchase value is a more expensive product that doesn't do it's job. I should have bought a different brand. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to start I bought this trimmer as a replacement. I thought I would up grade to the Stihl. Starts easy. But vibrates when powered up. I do like the clutch in the trimmer head. However, the counter -clockwise trimmer rotation is hard to change to after years of clock-wise machine's It just dig's in and walking with it back-ward's is not an option. I wondered why the landscaper's walked back-ward's while trimming. Now I know. Also when advancing line I have had it snap inside the head twice. It is hard to remove the spool from the head. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid yard tool! I've gone to the extent to replace all of the power yard tools with top of the line equipment. Simple logic is that I've spent too much time and money with the big box equip. Stepped up and bought the best equipment so that when I start a project it get done. I should be the one quitting before my equipment does. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Very nice compared to other trimmers. No complaints. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am well pleased with my trimmer. My trimmer has been easy to use. It is a breeze to start. It has plenty of power. Very comfortable. A lot lighter than my old trimmer. It lived up to my expectations of what a stihl product should be. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent trimmer Best trimmer I've ever owned. It has plenty of power and cuts through weeds quickly. For tall guys like myself, the straight shaft cuts down on the back pain compared to curved shaft trimmers. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by to big for close trimming Great machine for large areas and brush cutting. Not so good for close trimming. I have used a fs76 for 20 plus years with no problems. I bought the 56 and I found that it has to much torque and it is hard to trim close to sidewalks and borders.I returned and got the 40instead. Muchhappier now. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Trimmer My dad has been running Stihls longer than I've been around, and I can see why. I bought this trimmer with the shown head, and just plowed through the brush in my backyard. It's also great for finishing work around trees or landscaping features. It's got great balance, and with the shoulder strap it's essentially weightless. I'm 6'3"-6'4" and didn't have to be bending over to use this trimmer. The Easy Start is incredible--you just have to pull the chord, not at a fast speed, the spring kicks in and it fires right up, which is handy if you need to stop the machine because you don't need to take the strap off your shoulder to start it up. I love the tap-to-feed feature--no need to stop the machine or use any tools for more string. If you're a weekend-warrior, I'd highly recommend this trimmer. October 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by not woman proof I mused this trimmer 3 times with no problem ,,, however my other half used it twice and the trimmer head is junk September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I've ever owned Best trimmer I've ever had, very easy to use and operate September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by bicycle handles are a big deal My first stihl trimmer puts all those others to shame. Power, ease of starting and rugged dependability are all tops. The one negative is the clamp on my bicycle handles was slipping a bit. I opened it up and inserted a thin sheet of sandpaper (rough side inward) and that cured the problem. I am now able to cut more with less fatigue than ever before. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent!!! I have used many trimmers over the last 15 years. I have found that Stihl's have always been the most reliable. This trimmer is fantastic! Light weight, great power, and completely dependable. The easy start is the way to go!. One half pull and the trimmer is at full speed ready to go! Best trimmer I have ever used! I recommended this trimmer to my friend who bought it the next wk. He said the same review to me as well. July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good trimmer for home use Good for home use, approaching to the professional class, easy to use, easy start.Working very good with premium gas + stihl oil (use only recomended mixing oils) July 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by i have worked on it more than its ran i have had it 2 years now , replaced carberator and gearhead already and gas cap twice . June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weed eater effortless to use with the handles If you need a good trimmer for all around home use this is the one. May 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is true to its name. Good trimmer with plenty of power. Wish the string guard would have more shield to it. When using it slings grass everywhere! February 23, 2013
<<prev2
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips