Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 96reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This is my first stihl product .......I love it.................. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product for a reasonable price I've owned other Stihl products before and never had a problem. My blower is more than 10 years old and it still starts by the 3rd pull. Engine is Plenty strong and easy to start.I highly recommend the FS-40C trimmer. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Trimmer Yet! I have owned this trimmer for about a year now and really like it. It starts right up and is easy to use. This month I installed the plastic blades, and now like it even better. No more bumping to feed the line. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great value for entry-level trimmer Easy to use and maintain. I would recommend this product to any homeowner looking for a reliable inexpensive trimmer June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has great features love the easy start, best invention since the model t. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK This trimmer has all the same issues. Line won't feed so I went back to the store and bought a "new style" head. It has line that you poke in instead of feeding. It will trim about 5 feet before it breaks off and you have stop, pull out the ends of the old line and poke in more line. I am going back to the store to get my money back. June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by light weight.. good power and handling Much lighter than my previous trimmer. Easy starting and easy to maneuver. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool , good value Best trimmer I've ever used. Easy start and run, plenty of power, well balanced. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by don't buy into the Stihl hype I bought this trimmer based on reviews about the Stihl brand in general. This one was priced well. It seems well built and is easy to start, BUT: the pull rope broke the first week I had it, and believe me I know how to use pull ropes. Company installed a new one under warranty. Also, the manual-load head is a major pain in the butt. it's fairly easy to load but the line gets wedged into itself and can't feed -- every time I use it. What a horrible design. It also stalls often -- I have to adjust the idle speed too often in order to keep it going. I'm very disappointed and feel let down by the lack of performance and not living up to the brand name. I'll continue to use it but when it dies I'm going to buy a different make. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Portable, got rid of the extension cord. Had an electric trimmer & was getting tired moving the cord around. Checked on line, called dealer to see if in stock & bought it. Told dealer I also wanted head with plastic blades as I have better control on my trimming. He said he would swap them. Got a package of spare blades and good to go. Perfect size for my yard.Have used various Stihl products in the past 30 years and always happy with them. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best & forget the rest!!!!! You will be wasting your money buying anything else. Just a great piece of equipment. I have bought from Home Depot and NO MORE will I ever buy any other weed eater other then a STIHL. It always starts and on 1 pull. It runs GREAT.I told a guy (NEW CUSTOMER) in the STIHL store that if he bought one and thought it was no good that I would buy it from him at the original price and I left him my number and he called me a week later and said "Thank You".He told me that he bought it because if a guy he just met was willing to buy it from him if he was not happy, it had to be a good machine.Give me any other machine for 1/2 the price and I will still pay the full price and buy STIHL EVERY TIME.It always helps when you deal with knowledgeable and good people at the STIHL store located in Olympia at J & I Power Equipment. They know the product and Antonio NEVER TRY'S TO UP SELL ME. He shows me the machine that I need for the job. Trust is important. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for a great price This trimmer has plenty of power for a homeowner. The price was great, and has a lengthy warranty. May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't hold up over time This trimmer worked great for a couple of years. Then it started losing power. Now it can barely spin the spool. Tried new spark plug, fresh oil/gas, new air filter. Talked to local dealer and they said it is ethanol in the gas ruining the carburetor. Recommended I replace the carb. I've decided to throw this thing away and buy a new cordless trimmer for not much more than the cost of the carb. May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starter rope broke Used about 6-7 times and starter rope broke. Also always has been very hard to start. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way best trimmer I ever owned I've had seversl trimmers and this is the best ever. The others were hard to start and undependable in most cases. The Stihl starts easy and never quits. I am a 72 year old man and it is very easy for me to handle. I hate messing with the plastic trimmer line so after the first roll included went and got the head with swinging knives. They have to be replaced now and then but the frustration factor is much lower. This trimmer coste around $50 more than most low priced models but is well worth the extra. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great yard trimmer! Model 40 CE has excellent starting, appears to be well built, plenty of power to trim yard. Only drawback is high gas consumption.. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding and very reliable trimmer that handles ALL of my yard chores! Outstanding and very reliable trimmer that handles ALL of my yard chores! November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful home trimmer Wow, I replaced my box store brand with this one and I can't believe the difference. This thing starts easy and runs with tons of power. You can also tilt it all different orientations and it doesn't skip a beat. I'm recommending it to everyone I know. This is worth every dime. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This is the best weed eater I have ever owned or used! October 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect for th do it yourselfer Starts right up, runs like a champ, and cuts like butter October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by An alright machine Very powerful machine. Fires up just about every pull. Fairly light, but still too heavy for the wife. The string advance doesn't work at all. I have to hand pull it out every time....hence the 3 stars. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently operates as I expect with all my Stihl products I decided 10 years ago to replace all my lawn & garden equipment with Stihl after owning a Stihl chainsaw. I've made the right choice as I am very impatient with lawn & garden tools. This starts like I expect and changing the string is easy and it doesn't jam like other manufacturer's products. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I recommend this product I am a 27 y/o female about 5 feet and I love my stihl weed eater, it's very light weight and very easy and comfortable to use. Easy to start and has a quick cut off switch. I change out the blades and refill the string line myself, very simple. I would recommend this product to beginners like myself :-) September 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dealer makes the difference I checked out the online reviews when I needed a new trimmer. I passed on the red ones at the big box stores for several reasons but the final reason was that Stihl is still only sold through dealers. The price was fair, I was able to double my warranty by buying Stihl 2 cycle oil that I needed to purchase anyway, they performed the set up on my new trimmer in the store, gassed it up and walked me through the start up sequence. The end result is that I ended up with the trimmer that I wanted, and the experience in buying it helped that. The trimmer has more power than my previous one and I have had to learn to feather the trigger so I don't constantly over rev. It also has a beefier head than my previous trimmer so that I have had to learn to adjust to the new "ground geometry" when I'm cutting. But, although it is heavier than my previous trimmer it is much better balanced and I do not experience the fatigue I did with my previous trimmer. I have a lot of trimming to do ( I live in the mountains, in the woods and I have a road to take care of in addition to my property). This machine gets me done faster, in better shape and does a better job than anything I've owned previously. I also expect it to last a lot longer. Needless to say I never had a 4 year warranty on a "whip" before. September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful, easy to use, not heavy Light weight, easy to use. My 13 year old likes running it and that's a plus. The warranty is great also. I have used Stihl products before and this one is just as good. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat for the price So far I've been impressed with this trimmer. I still can't believe the easy start. Barely have to pull the thing. September 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product failed my expectations greatly After a month of limited use, I wanted to return this trimmer for a variety of reasons, but found out the dealers return policy was only 7 days.The unit is very noisy and runs rough, which the dealer said is normal?? I can deal with this!The variable speed control only goes fast and does not throttle down for slower speed and just stops working the cutting head.The trimmer string keeps breaking at the slightest touch of anything rough like wood or the edge of a rock.A slight leak of oil appears on the choke lever area after a day hanging in a wall storqge bracket.It is very hard to find an angle that will carefully trim along edging or flowerbeds without putting the trimmer in a very uncomfortable position to operate.I have used several other trimmers in the past without the above problems! September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by trimmer fs 40 ce I purchased the trimmer that was recommended by the dealer. I found the twine is hard to load and the recommended twine breaks to easily. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features Trimmer starts easy. It is light weight and easy to handle while trimming to not scald grass. I have owned this trimmer for approximately 1 month August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Very easy to start. Powers through weeds with no problem. Line feeder works flawlessly. Lightweight. August 24, 2013
<<prev 23 4next>>