Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 111reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with new trimmer I've had other trimmers, usually with poor results, I've had this model for a couple of months. It starts easily every time, I have a Stihl chainsaw so a Stihl trimmer seemed to be a natural. So far I am extremely pleased with it. I do recommend purchasing the shoulder strap. Seems to have enough power and makes trimming seem easy. If the trimmer is as reliable as my chainsaw, I will be a Stihl man forever. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made. Solid product After my 11 year old trimmer died, I looked into a few brands. A neighbor suggested a Stihl. I thought it would have been too pricey, but after comparing the Stihl with another quality brand, the Stihl was $15 cheaper. I have always owned a Stihl chainsaw and theyve never disappointed me. I was happy to purchase another Stihl product and expect to be satisfied with this one as well as the chainsaws. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a true "Stihl" I am a very loyal Stihl user. Have owned Stihl products since early 80's and this trimmer is truly the new Stihl. Very light weight and well balanced. Easy to start and runs smooth, yet very powerful, for a small trimmer. This trimmer is just another reason why I continue to purchase Stihl products. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets the job done Great for everyday trimming and strong enough to cover overgrow. Easy and dependable start. Well balanced. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I think stihl quality is slipping Not impressive. I had to tweek the carb adjustments to get it to run right on medium speeds. I have owned other brands such as weed eater that "come out of the box" running better. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by long lasting workhorse I do lawn maintenance for bank foreclosed homes. I do 2 to 4 lawn cuts a day, 5 days a week during the grass cutting season and each cut requires trimming. I have owned this unit (FS 40 C,) and only this unit, since last September (2013). After I wore out the head that came with the unit, I switched to a Stihl head that you insert the short lines in. I also had to do some maintenance on the unit. I finally had to remove the spark arrestor screen as it became clogged with exhaust. I'm not in a forest so I don't expect any fires. If Stihl sends me a new one free, I'll install it. I have yet to change the spark plug. I have cleaned the air cleaner just a couple of times and I have changed the gas filter just because I thought it might be a good idea at the time. The trimmer is an excellent unit. It still starts on the 2nd pull, every time. I have upgraded to using the 105 line and found that I can whack larger and thicker weeds with no more effort. This is just a good unit to have around. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by better than nothing seems well built but originally bought model 38 and it broke in 10 minutesfirst wed wacker that actually worked at extending string we will see after first respooling,, June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer! After having numerous name brand trimmers, I decided to get a Stihl. I currently have a Stihl chainsaw and blower. All three are great tools. Would never buy any other brand for my use. Although I've only used the trimmer a few times, I can tell the quality is tops. I would highly recommend a purchase of a shoulder strap (it doesn't come with one), it really helps with hours of trimming (mine is usually around 1 1/2 to 2 hours). June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I have ever owned. Starts easily and light weight! I have tried other brands over the years and, so far, this is the best, by far. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good trimmer This unit works very well. Best starting trimmer I have ever owned. All in all a very good product and worth the price. Came with a full tank of gas and trimmer line real. Would be better if a little less vibration , after about 30 minutes my arm was numb, and could be be a little better balanced to carry . June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is light and easy to use. I enjoy the price and reliability of this light weedeater. June 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good So far the trimmer has been easy to start. Have used 4 times so far and have no issues. Read reviews prior to purchase and some were not kind. Some were good. Figured I would judge for myself. Have had 2 other trimmers from other mfg. Stihl is the easiest starting so far. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FS 40 C-E Loved the product. Very easy to start and use. Excellent for someone who can't start most pull start products. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stopped working after first day - factory defect, not what I expected from Stihl quality control My brand new weedeater stopped working after the first day of use. First I was told that it was due to bad gas, so I got new gas and it still didn't work. Then I took it in and was told that it was a factory defect. This is not what I expected from a company that extols its quality control. I needed the weedeater and was not given a loaner and had to wait a week to get it back. Very disappointing, though the dealer was very courteous but simply didn't have the necessary part.I would have been a more satisfied customer if I had been given some sort of discount or product for my time and inability to use a new product. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Easy2Start system This is the 3rd stihl trimmer that I have purchased in 18 years. My previous one which still worked drove me crazy because it was so hard to start. The same problem happened with my stihl blower 4 years ago, it was a chore getting it to start, so I bought a new blower 4 years ago with the Easy2Start system and it solved all my complaints. I have had the blower for 4 years now and it always starts within 3 pulls. I also own a Stihl edger which I had overhauled a few years ago and still works fine. One thing I have done is run premium ethanol free gas which works for me. Stihl claims you can run mid-grade gas with 10% ethanol and you should be okay, but I like how ethanol free runs, seems to have more power. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This is my first stihl product .......I love it.................. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product for a reasonable price I've owned other Stihl products before and never had a problem. My blower is more than 10 years old and it still starts by the 3rd pull. Engine is Plenty strong and easy to start.I highly recommend the FS-40C trimmer. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Trimmer Yet! I have owned this trimmer for about a year now and really like it. It starts right up and is easy to use. This month I installed the plastic blades, and now like it even better. No more bumping to feed the line. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great value for entry-level trimmer Easy to use and maintain. I would recommend this product to any homeowner looking for a reliable inexpensive trimmer June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product has great features love the easy start, best invention since the model t. June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK This trimmer has all the same issues. Line won't feed so I went back to the store and bought a "new style" head. It has line that you poke in instead of feeding. It will trim about 5 feet before it breaks off and you have stop, pull out the ends of the old line and poke in more line. I am going back to the store to get my money back. June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by light weight.. good power and handling Much lighter than my previous trimmer. Easy starting and easy to maneuver. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool , good value Best trimmer I've ever used. Easy start and run, plenty of power, well balanced. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by don't buy into the Stihl hype I bought this trimmer based on reviews about the Stihl brand in general. This one was priced well. It seems well built and is easy to start, BUT: the pull rope broke the first week I had it, and believe me I know how to use pull ropes. Company installed a new one under warranty. Also, the manual-load head is a major pain in the butt. it's fairly easy to load but the line gets wedged into itself and can't feed -- every time I use it. What a horrible design. It also stalls often -- I have to adjust the idle speed too often in order to keep it going. I'm very disappointed and feel let down by the lack of performance and not living up to the brand name. I'll continue to use it but when it dies I'm going to buy a different make. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Portable, got rid of the extension cord. Had an electric trimmer & was getting tired moving the cord around. Checked on line, called dealer to see if in stock & bought it. Told dealer I also wanted head with plastic blades as I have better control on my trimming. He said he would swap them. Got a package of spare blades and good to go. Perfect size for my yard.Have used various Stihl products in the past 30 years and always happy with them. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best & forget the rest!!!!! You will be wasting your money buying anything else. Just a great piece of equipment. I have bought from Home Depot and NO MORE will I ever buy any other weed eater other then a STIHL. It always starts and on 1 pull. It runs GREAT.I told a guy (NEW CUSTOMER) in the STIHL store that if he bought one and thought it was no good that I would buy it from him at the original price and I left him my number and he called me a week later and said "Thank You".He told me that he bought it because if a guy he just met was willing to buy it from him if he was not happy, it had to be a good machine.Give me any other machine for 1/2 the price and I will still pay the full price and buy STIHL EVERY TIME.It always helps when you deal with knowledgeable and good people at the STIHL store located in Olympia at J & I Power Equipment. They know the product and Antonio NEVER TRY'S TO UP SELL ME. He shows me the machine that I need for the job. Trust is important. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for a great price This trimmer has plenty of power for a homeowner. The price was great, and has a lengthy warranty. May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't hold up over time This trimmer worked great for a couple of years. Then it started losing power. Now it can barely spin the spool. Tried new spark plug, fresh oil/gas, new air filter. Talked to local dealer and they said it is ethanol in the gas ruining the carburetor. Recommended I replace the carb. I've decided to throw this thing away and buy a new cordless trimmer for not much more than the cost of the carb. May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starter rope broke Used about 6-7 times and starter rope broke. Also always has been very hard to start. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way best trimmer I ever owned I've had seversl trimmers and this is the best ever. The others were hard to start and undependable in most cases. The Stihl starts easy and never quits. I am a 72 year old man and it is very easy for me to handle. I hate messing with the plastic trimmer line so after the first roll included went and got the head with swinging knives. They have to be replaced now and then but the frustration factor is much lower. This trimmer coste around $50 more than most low priced models but is well worth the extra. April 13, 2014
<<prev 23 4 5next>>