Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 153reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beats any other trimmer I started with sthil with a chainsaw purchase. I love love love the easy start on my chainsaw and brand new trimmer. I barely pull the cord and it fires right up. I dreaded making the decision to buy another 2 stroke and pull the cord until I either gave up because it wouldn't start or if I did finally get it started I aWas worn out.The trimmer has two strings vs 1 on most trimmers offered at home improvement stores. I am becoming a sthil convert. Love the product and that it is made in USA.My last piece of advice is to buy the pre mixed fuel to feed your toys. I started out using the oil and gas mix, avoiding ethanol. But at the end if the season would have to find a place to take leftover fuel. The moto mix I has a much better shelf life. In the long run I believe it to be the best option for me. No mixing or leftovers. May 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad This product is worthless. It is difficult to start!!!!! It has a gas cap that leaks all over your leg. I would not recommend purchase. To get to the engine to clean the spark plug uses odd tools to get to it. In reality I wish I had not gotten this product!!!!!! May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great so far Only used it once but love it so far only complaint is that the "wire" or whatever everyone calls it is a little weak to me just going around the house and some trees and it was breaking pretty easy so as soon as my spool is empty I'll be buying a new head that has the 3 sticks of wire that just slide in May 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stopped running during 1st time using it. I can not believe that a NEW trimmer stops running after less then 1 hour of use. I took it to the dealer & he said that it needed a new carburetor. UNBELEVABLE! May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent homeowner trimmer After my second box store trimmer ( Bolens in '05 and a Troy built in '06 ) quit after 3/4 of the mowing season I finally got a Sthil FS 45 C in the spring of '07.I have 32 trees in my front and back yard and three large flower beds, along with a back patio and a long driveway. my fencing is mostly a square of 115' x 65'The first two years the trimmer ran flawless, I forgot to drain the fuel tank the fall of 2009 and it ran very rough and died a lot the spring of 2010 so I took it in and had it serviced and it ran great again. Since then I have been putting STP fuel stabilizer in all my yard equipment gas and have never had any trouble again, even leaving fuel in the tank over winter ever since then.The easy to start is awesome, the only way I can describe it to the uninformed is just very slowly pull the cord out about 3/4 of the way twice until you feel it "catch" and the spring assisted start you just wound up releases and starts it right up. My dad used it once and I thought he was gonna break it yanking on it like he is used to on trimmers :-pIn 2014 I had to replace the center cap/bump deal since it had worn through the plastic all the way to the bolt. The only other complaint I have about it is the size of the line being 80 instead of 95 or larger. After the holes for the line in the head had worn a little and got big enough I started using the 95 line and it made a big difference in line life.I recommended going with Sthil to my brother after he killed a box store trimmer in a year and he bought one and loves it too. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer starts very easily every time. I bought this trimmer last summer and have no complaints. It is easy to start, has good power to get the job done, and feels balanced. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very great tool I have a very small lawn care company I did not want to go to a professional grade trimmer yet so I got this little trimmer. Has not broken down for 2 years. Dependable, easy to use. Best trimmer I've used so far. January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A nice machine for use around the house easy start, lightweight and gets the job doneThe trimmer string is easy to rewind and can be done quickly November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five stars for a reason This Stihl trimmer, like its predecessor, is always ready to get the job done. November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Start Light weight, I am a big guy so its easy for me to use, some may need a shoulder strap. Great power and simple to own! Love the new design! November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily gets the job done Great trimmer! Works as expected and then some. I suggest buying the pre mixed oil and gas canisters to fuel the trimmer takes away any guess work. After being stored for 2 weeks it started with one pull after hitting the primer a few times. I've never had a gas trimmer start this easily. It does blow through the trimmer line but it is fairly easy to re-spool. I have not had any issues with the line auto feeding unless I had the line spooled incorrectly. I also like the fact that my local hardware store services the product under warranty. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing but Stihl products now I will buy nothing but Stihl products from now on. Excellent trimmer. Easy to start. October 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This trimmer is good ... haven't used it enough to recommend it to others. Purchased because of high rated / recommended 3rd party reviewstarts relatively easy, easy to handleOnly owned for about 60 days so not sure about reliability. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality for the price! Checked out Stihl at my local landscape store. I was surprised at the pricing. I bought the homeowners model to replace my old homelite bandit I had for 13 years. I was surprise & amazed with the power this trimmer has. Easy to start if you follow directions. Runs great & is cheaper than less quality competition brands at home improvement stores. Thanks Stihl! October 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Starts easy, runs well, but does not trim good! Disappointed in the actual triming. Trim line breaks very easily, and the new line spool makes it difficult to trim on the horizontal. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Trimmer for larger yards I have had this trimmer for 2 years and it works great. My only issue was a broken drive shaft which was fixed under warranty (thus only Good on Dependability). We have over an acre with multiple fence lines and drive ways so there is a lot of trimming each week. I have an extra spool so I avoid a trip to the barn to replace the line (one tank of fuel = two spools of line). October 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bad head First time using head stopped feeding and won't feed so I bought a new aftermarket head that uses cut pieces instead. Kinda bad when a brand new trimmer won't feed October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Trimmer It is very light, well balanced, and has plenty of power to get through your yard work. Getting it started is a breeze tooI definitely recommend getting this. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a great value for the price. This trimmer is easy to start. The carburetor is protected. Easy to fuel. This trimmer is well balanced making it easy to use. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always works I had a gas powered model FS 45 that failed on me due to "lack of use" according to the retailer. So I switched to an electric one. It's only drawback is being tied to the cord but even with 130' of cord it operates just fine. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big improvement over my old trimer! We finally gave up on our old trimmer and bought the FS40C. It starts easily, runs great and does exactly what we need it to do. My wife can start it just fine as well. Love out Stihl trimer and leaf blower! Also the service we received by our local Stihl dealer was fantastic. Will definitely go back when we need things related to our Stihl products. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use ..love my weed~eater...it is light enough for me to carry around and has the power to get the job done..i have 7 acres that i mow and weed~eat and it has handled it all very well..no problems with this weed~eater at all...i will be buying a STIHL blower soon as fall arrives and the leaves begin to fall off the trees.. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for small jobs I was looking to get a trimmer for my home use and didn't need anything too powerful or with a ton of features and this met my needs. It is light weight, easy to use and overall is a very nice trimmer for the money September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice equipment This is my first Stihl trimmer and it's a great piece of equipment. The easy to start feature saves my wrist and shoulder. I love how the head does not spin when idling. Plenty of power and it does a nice job both trimming and edging. September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value Thismodel is lighweght, easy to handle,ahd very easy to start. I would highly recommend this product. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer ever This has to be the best trimmer i have ever had, can do everything i need. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly reccomend this weedeater I am so impressed with this weed eater. I have told many folks about the high quality and value of it. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use. I use to work in landscaping and all I used was stihl products, now that im retired that is still all I use. it is very easy to use and easy to start. The cost might be a little more than most trimmers but it is WELL worth the price. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer is great! This trimmer is great. You can't beat it for the price. Its light weight, handles just fine, easy to operate, and starts every time. This is the perfect trimmer for outdoor household use. I would absolutely recommend this trimmer! August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not perfect Starts easily, runs well, good balance. Line advance does not always work and the head must be removed, the line pulled and the head replaced to get it working again. Never did receive a manual. August 24, 2014
<<prev 23 4 5 6next>>