Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 148reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value Good quality for the price no issues so far light and easy to start July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Machine Easy to use and easy to start. Runs great with no problems. July 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, not great Had this trimmer for 2 months. Halfway thru the second use, it ran out of line. Have put new line in it and it is fairly simple to install. Maybe the line that came with it initially was not a full spool.Engine is heavy so it takes getting used to to balance the trimmer during use.Start up is not strenuous so that is good. June 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great cutting trimmer This is a great little trimmer. It is extremely easy to start and pull. It usually take me one or two pulls to get it fired up.Line capacity is great. I have a small yard that is completely fenced in. I will go months before rewinding the head.Lightweight design is easy to handle and it doesn't wear you out.My only complaint is the actual length of the trimmer. I am 6'2" tall and I find myself hunching over at some points to use it. If you are a tall person looking for a trimmer, I would recommend going with the linger model of this trimmer stil makes. This one has plenty of power. June 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good machine I have had 4 string trimmers now and I finally bought a Stihl. I believe that I will stick with this as it starts easily and quickly every time. I have 2 acres so I have extra spools of string they change easy and quick.Nice machine June 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stihl USA made quality! This trimmer has plenty of power for homeowner use. It starts easily and runs flawlessly. Stihl dealers also provide old school "service and support after the sale" unlike many of the big box stores. I myself have been through too many of the "cheap" trimmers and realized I should have bought a Stihl long ago. You can get other trimmers a little cheaper but it's worth paying just a little more and having the equipment last a lot longer. Remember the old adage: YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! June 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't waist your time Bought it put gas in it it ran for 5 min and started missing taking it back tomorrow my buddy bought a echo 210 it lasted for 15 years June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent trimmer for home use. Have used this trimmer multiple times and it has worked perfectly. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect trimmer for a homeowner I bought this trimmer to use at my house. I have 1/2 acre with a fenced in backyard. The trimmer is very durable, lightweight and easy to use. The Easy2Start technology is great. I highly recommend this Stihl lawn equipment. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer...dependable product Very dependable products!!! Bought a chainsaw and weedeater this year..they perform great and start everytime.. Wish I would have invested years before in a stihl.... June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Just traded in my FS-45 for this model and I am very pleased. runs smooth, start up is very easy and it will last forever because its a Stihl. I had my FS-45 for 5 years with no problems at all. After all that time it started first pull every time. Stihl has great tools and now with the trimmer it is painless to start. it is perfect for aging people that still want to do there yard work but dont have the strength to be yanking on a string. if you can lift a 2 liter you can start this trimmer. 5 stars June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best over weedwacker It starts easily and I like the centrifugal clutch. It idles without the head spinning. Very efficient at trimming the grass. Is not necessary to rev the trimmer very much to cut. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by no regrets Finally quit buying cheap big box trimmers once per year and invested in the Stihl trimmer- wow I should have done this a long time ago! Easy starting every time, efficient and powerful, cuts through anything on my acre of grass. Easy to string, bump feed works great, no welding of trimmer line. Good balance and lightweight too. You can't go wrong with this one. I love it! June 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by line feeding is poor When dirt and grass get caught in the head it is hard to get apart to clean it and line feeding is difficult. I really like the ease of starting the unit. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy Bought one this summer and I'm very happy, no complaints at all. Should have bought one a long time ago. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it overall its a great weed wacker the one thing that I do have a problem with is that it does not have a automatic feed so I must keep stopping shutting it off and pulling out the string and that is very very very annoying..but other then that it's a good one well worth the price starts easy and runs smooth I run a lawn service so I use it daily June 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing But Trouble Have had nothing but problems with it! Had to have carburetor rebuilt after running it 40 minutes. Have problems loading string unto spool. String tap & feed is unreliable to feed out string also. Heavy & bulky to use for older person. June 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is totes gnarls. I call my trimmer Ser Choppy of the Lawn and chop it does. June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Weed Trimmer By Far I Have Ever Owned The Trimmer That I Bought Is The Best Trimmer I Have Had The Pleasure To Own And I Have Owned Almost Every Brand Out There The FS40 Is The Best One Of All June 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont waste your money After buying this, 3 out of the first 4 times using it I had issues. With the last time sending back for warranty work. The first 2 times the double wire inside was stuck together and would not feed . Had to take the bottom apart to separate and feed back out. The last time the starting rope pulled out while starting. After owning a Stihl chainsaw for years, I expected the same quality I had become used to. Not so. Will maybe even consider swithching chainsaws so everything I own will be the same make. Dont like having to switch fuel types and service for different products. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy start easy to use great power best trimmer I've ever owned Love this trimmer best I have every owned money well spent I highly recommend May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Trimmer I've ever owned. Got mine new a few months back and have really put it to the test. I had some CRAZY overgrowth going on at my house and this guy knocked it out no questions asked. I'd highly recommend this to any homeowner. May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it !! This was my very 1st STHIL purchase. Its lightweight, reliable and gets the job done every time. I have a bad rotator cuff and and bad wrist I have no starting it with the easy start system. It starts for me every 2nd weekend with no hesitation. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by starts easy Can't ask for a better machine. Starts first pull every time. Suggest getting extra spools for no down time May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by From An Ol' Craftsman To This! Awesome product, highly recommend, helps keep my yard looking good, very proud to own this tool! May 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beats any other trimmer I started with sthil with a chainsaw purchase. I love love love the easy start on my chainsaw and brand new trimmer. I barely pull the cord and it fires right up. I dreaded making the decision to buy another 2 stroke and pull the cord until I either gave up because it wouldn't start or if I did finally get it started I aWas worn out.The trimmer has two strings vs 1 on most trimmers offered at home improvement stores. I am becoming a sthil convert. Love the product and that it is made in USA.My last piece of advice is to buy the pre mixed fuel to feed your toys. I started out using the oil and gas mix, avoiding ethanol. But at the end if the season would have to find a place to take leftover fuel. The moto mix I has a much better shelf life. In the long run I believe it to be the best option for me. No mixing or leftovers. May 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad This product is worthless. It is difficult to start!!!!! It has a gas cap that leaks all over your leg. I would not recommend purchase. To get to the engine to clean the spark plug uses odd tools to get to it. In reality I wish I had not gotten this product!!!!!! May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great so far Only used it once but love it so far only complaint is that the "wire" or whatever everyone calls it is a little weak to me just going around the house and some trees and it was breaking pretty easy so as soon as my spool is empty I'll be buying a new head that has the 3 sticks of wire that just slide in May 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stopped running during 1st time using it. I can not believe that a NEW trimmer stops running after less then 1 hour of use. I took it to the dealer & he said that it needed a new carburetor. UNBELEVABLE! May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent homeowner trimmer After my second box store trimmer ( Bolens in '05 and a Troy built in '06 ) quit after 3/4 of the mowing season I finally got a Sthil FS 45 C in the spring of '07.I have 32 trees in my front and back yard and three large flower beds, along with a back patio and a long driveway. my fencing is mostly a square of 115' x 65'The first two years the trimmer ran flawless, I forgot to drain the fuel tank the fall of 2009 and it ran very rough and died a lot the spring of 2010 so I took it in and had it serviced and it ran great again. Since then I have been putting STP fuel stabilizer in all my yard equipment gas and have never had any trouble again, even leaving fuel in the tank over winter ever since then.The easy to start is awesome, the only way I can describe it to the uninformed is just very slowly pull the cord out about 3/4 of the way twice until you feel it "catch" and the spring assisted start you just wound up releases and starts it right up. My dad used it once and I thought he was gonna break it yanking on it like he is used to on trimmers :-pIn 2014 I had to replace the center cap/bump deal since it had worn through the plastic all the way to the bolt. The only other complaint I have about it is the size of the line being 80 instead of 95 or larger. After the holes for the line in the head had worn a little and got big enough I started using the 95 line and it made a big difference in line life.I recommended going with Sthil to my brother after he killed a box store trimmer in a year and he bought one and loves it too. April 10, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>