Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 96reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use. I use to work in landscaping and all I used was stihl products, now that im retired that is still all I use. it is very easy to use and easy to start. The cost might be a little more than most trimmers but it is WELL worth the price. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer is great! This trimmer is great. You can't beat it for the price. Its light weight, handles just fine, easy to operate, and starts every time. This is the perfect trimmer for outdoor household use. I would absolutely recommend this trimmer! August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not perfect Starts easily, runs well, good balance. Line advance does not always work and the head must be removed, the line pulled and the head replaced to get it working again. Never did receive a manual. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY TO START & EASY TO USE I have about an acre cleared in a wooded area with heavy weed--blackberry, locust, hawthorn, etc. --around the edges. I bought a Stihl because that is what I saw the professionals using. This unit has the power to do the job and is the easiest starting two cycle engine I have ever used--three pulls when cold and half a pull to restart. The cutter head is designed to minimize crowding when working against a post or rock. It feeds smoothly if you follow the instructions and bump it only once and then cut. Repeat if needed. I have used up the original spool and manually rewound the spool and have no trouble. If you think you will pay a little more for a Stihl, believe me, it's worth it to use a quality tool. August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with my new trimmer. Compared to my previous trimmers, this unit has everything I need and is very easy to use and maintain. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job, so far... This trimmer took on the late season tall grass, weeds, and such,and, haven't failed, so far, after switching lines from .080 to .095. I wish it had a little more power, though. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great product Having a difficult time with trimmer feeding trimmer cord. When u tap on ground. Cord doesn't advance good. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very easy to start. This trimmer is just right for me since I am a small person. It starts very well and trims very well. I was skeptical about buying a trimmer because I heard they were hard to start, but this one starts with one pull. I really like it. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is easy to start and my wife trims with it Great light weight machine that starts with ease. Priced affordable August 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So So performance, not worth the extra money I got this trimmer because I have had a Stihl 180 chain saw and the performance was well above average, and the easy start is great. So I went with the trimmer. The easy start doesn't work as well, but it does work. However the trimming is far from outstanding. At a price more near the competition this would be a worthy purchase, but I would not say the extra money to get the Stihl brand is worth it in this case. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The easy start feature is a big step Stihl has taken in imporoving their products. I can't believe how easy this weed eater ( FS 40 C-E) is to start, I've had other weedeaters and have had a hard time getting them to start. I certainly wouldrecommend this one to others. The sales representative was also very helpful inhelping me to make the right choice. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Great power. Good price. Easy to start. My late father owned a few Stihl products and I have his hand held leaf blower and love it.I knew I couldn't go wrong with this trimmer. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the choking and Easy2Start system. This is a wonderful product and I do like the way it cuts grass whether tall or short. The engine has plenty of power. This is the second Stihl product that I own and have been very pleased with both. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent starting one pull. the line keep breaking?that only problem.for the money spent you can't do better. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice tools I,ll only buy Stihl from now own. It only take half the time to do my yard now. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with new trimmer I've had other trimmers, usually with poor results, I've had this model for a couple of months. It starts easily every time, I have a Stihl chainsaw so a Stihl trimmer seemed to be a natural. So far I am extremely pleased with it. I do recommend purchasing the shoulder strap. Seems to have enough power and makes trimming seem easy. If the trimmer is as reliable as my chainsaw, I will be a Stihl man forever. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made. Solid product After my 11 year old trimmer died, I looked into a few brands. A neighbor suggested a Stihl. I thought it would have been too pricey, but after comparing the Stihl with another quality brand, the Stihl was $15 cheaper. I have always owned a Stihl chainsaw and theyve never disappointed me. I was happy to purchase another Stihl product and expect to be satisfied with this one as well as the chainsaws. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a true "Stihl" I am a very loyal Stihl user. Have owned Stihl products since early 80's and this trimmer is truly the new Stihl. Very light weight and well balanced. Easy to start and runs smooth, yet very powerful, for a small trimmer. This trimmer is just another reason why I continue to purchase Stihl products. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets the job done Great for everyday trimming and strong enough to cover overgrow. Easy and dependable start. Well balanced. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I think stihl quality is slipping Not impressive. I had to tweek the carb adjustments to get it to run right on medium speeds. I have owned other brands such as weed eater that "come out of the box" running better. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by long lasting workhorse I do lawn maintenance for bank foreclosed homes. I do 2 to 4 lawn cuts a day, 5 days a week during the grass cutting season and each cut requires trimming. I have owned this unit (FS 40 C,) and only this unit, since last September (2013). After I wore out the head that came with the unit, I switched to a Stihl head that you insert the short lines in. I also had to do some maintenance on the unit. I finally had to remove the spark arrestor screen as it became clogged with exhaust. I'm not in a forest so I don't expect any fires. If Stihl sends me a new one free, I'll install it. I have yet to change the spark plug. I have cleaned the air cleaner just a couple of times and I have changed the gas filter just because I thought it might be a good idea at the time. The trimmer is an excellent unit. It still starts on the 2nd pull, every time. I have upgraded to using the 105 line and found that I can whack larger and thicker weeds with no more effort. This is just a good unit to have around. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by better than nothing seems well built but originally bought model 38 and it broke in 10 minutesfirst wed wacker that actually worked at extending string we will see after first respooling,, June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome trimmer! After having numerous name brand trimmers, I decided to get a Stihl. I currently have a Stihl chainsaw and blower. All three are great tools. Would never buy any other brand for my use. Although I've only used the trimmer a few times, I can tell the quality is tops. I would highly recommend a purchase of a shoulder strap (it doesn't come with one), it really helps with hours of trimming (mine is usually around 1 1/2 to 2 hours). June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trimmer I have ever owned. Starts easily and light weight! I have tried other brands over the years and, so far, this is the best, by far. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good trimmer This unit works very well. Best starting trimmer I have ever owned. All in all a very good product and worth the price. Came with a full tank of gas and trimmer line real. Would be better if a little less vibration , after about 30 minutes my arm was numb, and could be be a little better balanced to carry . June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is light and easy to use. I enjoy the price and reliability of this light weedeater. June 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good So far the trimmer has been easy to start. Have used 4 times so far and have no issues. Read reviews prior to purchase and some were not kind. Some were good. Figured I would judge for myself. Have had 2 other trimmers from other mfg. Stihl is the easiest starting so far. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FS 40 C-E Loved the product. Very easy to start and use. Excellent for someone who can't start most pull start products. June 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stopped working after first day - factory defect, not what I expected from Stihl quality control My brand new weedeater stopped working after the first day of use. First I was told that it was due to bad gas, so I got new gas and it still didn't work. Then I took it in and was told that it was a factory defect. This is not what I expected from a company that extols its quality control. I needed the weedeater and was not given a loaner and had to wait a week to get it back. Very disappointing, though the dealer was very courteous but simply didn't have the necessary part.I would have been a more satisfied customer if I had been given some sort of discount or product for my time and inability to use a new product. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Easy2Start system This is the 3rd stihl trimmer that I have purchased in 18 years. My previous one which still worked drove me crazy because it was so hard to start. The same problem happened with my stihl blower 4 years ago, it was a chore getting it to start, so I bought a new blower 4 years ago with the Easy2Start system and it solved all my complaints. I have had the blower for 4 years now and it always starts within 3 pulls. I also own a Stihl edger which I had overhauled a few years ago and still works fine. One thing I have done is run premium ethanol free gas which works for me. Stihl claims you can run mid-grade gas with 10% ethanol and you should be okay, but I like how ethanol free runs, seems to have more power. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>