Find a Specific Product: Trimmers & Brushcutters

FS 40 C-E

A lightweight, reliable grass trimmer, featuring Easy2Start™ technology, a low exhaust emission engine and lightweight curved shaft.

FS 40 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 138reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Just traded in my FS-45 for this model and I am very pleased. runs smooth, start up is very easy and it will last forever because its a Stihl. I had my FS-45 for 5 years with no problems at all. After all that time it started first pull every time. Stihl has great tools and now with the trimmer it is painless to start. it is perfect for aging people that still want to do there yard work but dont have the strength to be yanking on a string. if you can lift a 2 liter you can start this trimmer. 5 stars June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best over weedwacker It starts easily and I like the centrifugal clutch. It idles without the head spinning. Very efficient at trimming the grass. Is not necessary to rev the trimmer very much to cut. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by no regrets Finally quit buying cheap big box trimmers once per year and invested in the Stihl trimmer- wow I should have done this a long time ago! Easy starting every time, efficient and powerful, cuts through anything on my acre of grass. Easy to string, bump feed works great, no welding of trimmer line. Good balance and lightweight too. You can't go wrong with this one. I love it! June 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by line feeding is poor When dirt and grass get caught in the head it is hard to get apart to clean it and line feeding is difficult. I really like the ease of starting the unit. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy Bought one this summer and I'm very happy, no complaints at all. Should have bought one a long time ago. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it overall its a great weed wacker the one thing that I do have a problem with is that it does not have a automatic feed so I must keep stopping shutting it off and pulling out the string and that is very very very annoying..but other then that it's a good one well worth the price starts easy and runs smooth I run a lawn service so I use it daily June 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing But Trouble Have had nothing but problems with it! Had to have carburetor rebuilt after running it 40 minutes. Have problems loading string unto spool. String tap & feed is unreliable to feed out string also. Heavy & bulky to use for older person. June 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product is totes gnarls. I call my trimmer Ser Choppy of the Lawn and chop it does. June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Weed Trimmer By Far I Have Ever Owned The Trimmer That I Bought Is The Best Trimmer I Have Had The Pleasure To Own And I Have Owned Almost Every Brand Out There The FS40 Is The Best One Of All June 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont waste your money After buying this, 3 out of the first 4 times using it I had issues. With the last time sending back for warranty work. The first 2 times the double wire inside was stuck together and would not feed . Had to take the bottom apart to separate and feed back out. The last time the starting rope pulled out while starting. After owning a Stihl chainsaw for years, I expected the same quality I had become used to. Not so. Will maybe even consider swithching chainsaws so everything I own will be the same make. Dont like having to switch fuel types and service for different products. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy start easy to use great power best trimmer I've ever owned Love this trimmer best I have every owned money well spent I highly recommend May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Trimmer I've ever owned. Got mine new a few months back and have really put it to the test. I had some CRAZY overgrowth going on at my house and this guy knocked it out no questions asked. I'd highly recommend this to any homeowner. May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it !! This was my very 1st STHIL purchase. Its lightweight, reliable and gets the job done every time. I have a bad rotator cuff and and bad wrist I have no starting it with the easy start system. It starts for me every 2nd weekend with no hesitation. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by starts easy Can't ask for a better machine. Starts first pull every time. Suggest getting extra spools for no down time May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by From An Ol' Craftsman To This! Awesome product, highly recommend, helps keep my yard looking good, very proud to own this tool! May 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beats any other trimmer I started with sthil with a chainsaw purchase. I love love love the easy start on my chainsaw and brand new trimmer. I barely pull the cord and it fires right up. I dreaded making the decision to buy another 2 stroke and pull the cord until I either gave up because it wouldn't start or if I did finally get it started I aWas worn out.The trimmer has two strings vs 1 on most trimmers offered at home improvement stores. I am becoming a sthil convert. Love the product and that it is made in USA.My last piece of advice is to buy the pre mixed fuel to feed your toys. I started out using the oil and gas mix, avoiding ethanol. But at the end if the season would have to find a place to take leftover fuel. The moto mix I has a much better shelf life. In the long run I believe it to be the best option for me. No mixing or leftovers. May 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad This product is worthless. It is difficult to start!!!!! It has a gas cap that leaks all over your leg. I would not recommend purchase. To get to the engine to clean the spark plug uses odd tools to get to it. In reality I wish I had not gotten this product!!!!!! May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great so far Only used it once but love it so far only complaint is that the "wire" or whatever everyone calls it is a little weak to me just going around the house and some trees and it was breaking pretty easy so as soon as my spool is empty I'll be buying a new head that has the 3 sticks of wire that just slide in May 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stopped running during 1st time using it. I can not believe that a NEW trimmer stops running after less then 1 hour of use. I took it to the dealer & he said that it needed a new carburetor. UNBELEVABLE! May 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent homeowner trimmer After my second box store trimmer ( Bolens in '05 and a Troy built in '06 ) quit after 3/4 of the mowing season I finally got a Sthil FS 45 C in the spring of '07.I have 32 trees in my front and back yard and three large flower beds, along with a back patio and a long driveway. my fencing is mostly a square of 115' x 65'The first two years the trimmer ran flawless, I forgot to drain the fuel tank the fall of 2009 and it ran very rough and died a lot the spring of 2010 so I took it in and had it serviced and it ran great again. Since then I have been putting STP fuel stabilizer in all my yard equipment gas and have never had any trouble again, even leaving fuel in the tank over winter ever since then.The easy to start is awesome, the only way I can describe it to the uninformed is just very slowly pull the cord out about 3/4 of the way twice until you feel it "catch" and the spring assisted start you just wound up releases and starts it right up. My dad used it once and I thought he was gonna break it yanking on it like he is used to on trimmers :-pIn 2014 I had to replace the center cap/bump deal since it had worn through the plastic all the way to the bolt. The only other complaint I have about it is the size of the line being 80 instead of 95 or larger. After the holes for the line in the head had worn a little and got big enough I started using the 95 line and it made a big difference in line life.I recommended going with Sthil to my brother after he killed a box store trimmer in a year and he bought one and loves it too. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This trimmer starts very easily every time. I bought this trimmer last summer and have no complaints. It is easy to start, has good power to get the job done, and feels balanced. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very great tool I have a very small lawn care company I did not want to go to a professional grade trimmer yet so I got this little trimmer. Has not broken down for 2 years. Dependable, easy to use. Best trimmer I've used so far. January 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A nice machine for use around the house easy start, lightweight and gets the job doneThe trimmer string is easy to rewind and can be done quickly November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five stars for a reason This Stihl trimmer, like its predecessor, is always ready to get the job done. November 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Start Light weight, I am a big guy so its easy for me to use, some may need a shoulder strap. Great power and simple to own! Love the new design! November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily gets the job done Great trimmer! Works as expected and then some. I suggest buying the pre mixed oil and gas canisters to fuel the trimmer takes away any guess work. After being stored for 2 weeks it started with one pull after hitting the primer a few times. I've never had a gas trimmer start this easily. It does blow through the trimmer line but it is fairly easy to re-spool. I have not had any issues with the line auto feeding unless I had the line spooled incorrectly. I also like the fact that my local hardware store services the product under warranty. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing but Stihl products now I will buy nothing but Stihl products from now on. Excellent trimmer. Easy to start. October 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This trimmer is good ... haven't used it enough to recommend it to others. Purchased because of high rated / recommended 3rd party reviewstarts relatively easy, easy to handleOnly owned for about 60 days so not sure about reliability. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality for the price! Checked out Stihl at my local landscape store. I was surprised at the pricing. I bought the homeowners model to replace my old homelite bandit I had for 13 years. I was surprise & amazed with the power this trimmer has. Easy to start if you follow directions. Runs great & is cheaper than less quality competition brands at home improvement stores. Thanks Stihl! October 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Starts easy, runs well, but does not trim good! Disappointed in the actual triming. Trim line breaks very easily, and the new line spool makes it difficult to trim on the horizontal. October 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6next>>