Find a Specific Product: Pole Pruners

HT 101

Reach branches up to 16’ above ground with this telescoping pole pruner.

HT 101
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 27reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by HT 101 True story: During a severe thunderstorm in summer 2013, lightning struck a walnut tree and fell in my yard. After waiting a day for the sun to dry up the land, my neighbor and I attacked the tree with this (HT 101) and my MS211 chainsaw. This pruner saw "cut" our time by more than half by pruning the branches away so we could get to the trunk/base. When we were done I said to myself: "This pruner saw just paid for itself with today's work!"Now I can proceed to the review: This saw fires up on the first pull everytime! The chains are fast and powerful, even if it is a 12 inch bar. I purchased the HT Support System and that also is very nice to own with this saw: it handles almost ALL the weight and is still easy to maintain control of the saw. This is certainly not a saw for all homeowners, but since I live on a farm in a wooded area this comes mighty handy when faced with a felled tree or a stuck one.While I noted that it is sometimes awkward to handle, that is referring to the saw fully extended without the HT Support System. Even then it really isn't that difficult! December 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made the job alot easier Really a great saw. Worth every penny. Starts every time. Just remember to wear safety goggles. November 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful tool I purchased this pruner several years ago and it has been very useful with South Florida trees. I cut live oak, olive, various palm, and royal poinciana branches with great success. Reliability has been good very rarely had to take it back for tune ups. I found the non ethanol gas to be better. Some say its heavy, I think it is good exercise, but I am a big guy. It has saved me a lot in pruning costs. When the neighbors hear it, they all have favors to ask!Very important - Remember to wear your eye protection!!! The sawdust does blow around a bit. October 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, well built product Fantastic saw. Starts flawlessly. Good extension. Idles for extended time while shorting branches. Very quiet for a 2 stroke engine. As mentioned in previous reviews, it does get a little heavy.. A strap ( sling ) is supplied, but, the optional harness is best for extended usage.. Need to pay attention when replacing chain due to different bar gauge,s and link configuration..( low profile etc. ) I would recommend this saw to anyone. This is more of a professional series unit, hence the higher price. They do have a homeowners unit at substantially less... I have cut many red and white oak and branches up to 11+ inches with no problem whatsoever.... It puuuuurs... October 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Pole Pruner I was little nervous at first because the pole pruner was so long. However, it was not heavy to lift and easy to start. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is a branch & brush "scalpel" I bought the HT 101 for our farm and have been using it to clear thick brush from ditches and limbs from trees. It has proved very reliable and starts effortlessly. This IS the right tool for the job and it has increased my productivity at least 4 fold.One VERY nice feature is that it enables you to insert the saw - rather than yourself :-) - into large brush thickets, severe branches off near their base then simply pull them out. This feature alone justifies owning this tool, particularly when clearing blackberry or wild roses, let alone honeysuckle and other invasive species.The same holds true when trimming thorn trees like buckhorn, honeylocust and hawthorns PLUS you eliminate the need for a ladder!It's all GOOD. August 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Pruner but can get heavy to handle This is a great buy and extremely useful around the house and on the farm. It has already paid for itself in one week because of all the limbs I have trimmed in my tree lines. The only negative I have is that this prunner can get very heavy after using it for a prolonged period of time. I believe Stihl sells a shoulder/back bracket to help hold the prunner. That is something you might want to consider purchasing to make it easier on your arms and back. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ptoduct. Great product. The ability to extend the shaft is helpful. Great power. Only down side is weight. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power Quitness Fuel Efficentcy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The HT 101 Pole pruner is great for tree trimming cutting branches of any sort wood and is great for high places u can't reach with a regular saw fuel efficent and strong for any job requiring a high extension an excellent piece of equipment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent pole saw, totally satisfied This pole saw meets all of my tree trimming needs. Its has flawless operation and is priced right. You will not have any regrets with this saw. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product is very effective. The only drawback is weight. Initially the saw blade was installed backwards. After purchasing another chainthe saw performed outstanding. It is a little heavy after repeated usage. I will try the backpack brace to see if that helps.Overall an excellent tool for the trade. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Tool (s) This is bar none the best tool I've ever purchased. I now have a view in my backyard that I've longed for for years. There were so many good sized limbs that needed to come down and now they are gone! Will only buy Stihl products moving forward. Also bought the blower and 135 degreee trimmer attachment series, again, top of the line! April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5��by Great saw, but heavy This is a great pole saw but heavy for mid-sized older person. Used to trim limbs around a field so the tractor can get closer, cutting shooting lanes, and maintaining timber. Stihl needs to add another harness contact point at the end of the main shaft housing to help balance the load and reduce fatigue. April 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super saw This pole pruner is a little pricey but you get a solid rugged piece of equipment for your investment. I am not a large person so maybe a larger person could handle it more easily than I. However, it gets the job done in good fashion although a bit fatiguing for a smaller and older person such as I. 5 ft. 6 in. and 63 years old.It extends very easily and has plenty of power. I was surprised how quickly it cuts thru 6 and even 8 inch oak limbs with ease. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cuts everything I put in front of it I bought this unit last summer to clear up the branches on the trees that were getting a little too close to the house, prior to this I had been using a manual pole pruner, talk about a difference! The unit starts right up on the second pull and runs smoothly. As far as how well it cuts... lets just say its a miracle that any of the trees have branches left. It might have been expensive, but well worth the investment. February 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does e everything I need and then some around the ranch. I bought this ht101 for my personal use on my ranch , because I have experience with an older model at work and another brand and I will use the My HT101 any day over the other brand. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great for Me! Bought the HT101 a month ago. I've used it to maintain a large common area for a HOA. Sarts on the first pull every time. Cuts like butter. I had a competitors unit previously that always got stuck in cuts and bogged down. The Stihl powers right through. The only thing I could say I don't love about it is the bottom is narrow and it is top heavy when sitting in the bed of a pickup. That causes it to tip over in transit. It doesn't leak fuel or bar oil when this happens so, its not a big deal. November 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by almost never starts had this saw for four years; been in the shop four times with about two to three hours use each year. I empty the fuel tank and run the fuel out of the carb before storing each time. Carb replacement or rebuild seems to be dealers fix of choice. usually works fine the first time i use it after repairs but won't start a week later. Have other stihl saws that are fine. ALL cut very well, including this one, when running. Fuel cap was replaced twice before recall finally gave me one that worked and didn't charge me for it this time. average shop charge has been $70 + November 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful Tool I've been using this saw professionally for about a year now with flawless performance. Using 89 octane fuel and Stihl HP Ultra mix, the saw starts on the first pull every single time I use it. The only downside to this tool is the weight. When fully extended there is a lot of weight in front of you, and fatigue will set in quickly. Considering the power and dependability though, this is barely a concern overall. October 16, 2012
<<prev2