Find a Specific Product: Oils, Lubricants and Fuels

STIHL MotoMix®

Only from STIHL - This patented 50:1 fuel mixture combines non-ethanol, high-octane fuel and premium STIHL HP Ultra oil.

STIHL MotoMix®
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really like this product, but wish I could buy it online! I use MotoMix in all of my Stihl tools, but as a home owner, I don't go through much more than a case in a season. I really wish I could order this product online since my local retailer only has weekday hours. December 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for home owner I switched from mixed fuel to motomix this spring for my kombi trimmer and power sweep, I used only 3 cans from march 2015 to October 2015 so it was not that expensive for me to operate my equipment this season. I think it has excellent value for the home owner. For heavy use it might cost to much. Also I run this in my 20 year old homelite super 2 chainsaw and the performance over mixed fuel was very noticeable. It starts easier and much more power. Ill continue to use this product. October 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Easy and convenient. I use it for all of my Stihl equipment. September 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Easy, Perfect. So simple and easy to use. Pour right from the can and no worries. Very cool how Stihl doubled the warranty when I bought a blower and a trimmer by using this product. I will continue to use it for the life of my equipment...and with Stihl that promises to be long time. August 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by An awesome quality product! I just purchased the Stihl FS56 RCE trimmer. The manager Travis, at my dealer Crossroads Ace Hardware highly suggested this fuel. The MotoMix blend always ensures a quick start, and smooth consistent power each and every time! There is no guessing on the mix. It is right on the mark. I wouldn't use anything else! Less down time! The cost is a bit high but worth it. June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome When Used I agree with concensus that Motomix is great product but not cheap. If your an occasional user it is MUCH cheaper than service and frustration of neglected carburetor or the mortal sin of accidently straight gassing! I only use ethanol free fuel and Stihl Ultra Synthetic Oil when mixing my gas (my local Country Mark Fuel has an ethanol free pump). I still use Motomix in my small blower and trimmer that sip fuel. I also put in my chainsaws to store for summer. Home town fire department uses Motomix to insure easy start of saws when needed and preventing accidentally filling from straight gas can. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth it I've always mixed my own fuel. But I had a friend that had a can of Stihl premixed fuel so I tried it and my saw had much more power and cut lots more wood. Great stuff. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worthwhile Investment Many have said, and I must agree, that this fuel is expensive when compared to mixing your own. But, there’s a price to be paid when using fuel with ethanol and that price could be a trip to the repair shop, , or even the need to replace a tool. While it is expensive, it is also comparably priced to other pre-mixed fuels on the market. If I know I will be using multiple talks of fuel through the course of a day I may go to the local airport and get some fuel without ethanol and mix my own, but more often than not I just use MotoMix. Another thing I’ve noticed is that my saws seem to have more power when burning it; Granted, it’s a subtle difference, but anyone attuned to their equipment’s performance will likely notice . I like keeping my saw sharp, fueled, and ready to go at all times in case a tree comes down on the property unexpectedly. For this reason I only keep MotoMix in my saws and I can’t think of much that would change that. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for a rarely used MS-460 I have a variety of Stihl chain saws for different applications. From the HT-100 to a 'baby' MS-180; and I use them a lot on my orchard. What I use infrequently is my MS-460. When I need it - it must work. This means there is trouble or the job is very tough. I heard that All the local fire fighters use pre-mix Stihl gas in their MS-460R and other Stihl equipment so I decided to give it a run.I never looked back.This is the only gas I use in my expensive but some times very necessary MS-460! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product Equipment runs great on it,no ethanol worries.It is expensive but all fuel of this type is. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive but well worth it !!! When the task at hand requires more than 1 tank full , I use premium gas & oil mix , then after the job is done I fill the saw up with MotoMix and let it run for a minute or two until I'm ready to use again, whenever that may be !! December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth its price, all things considered Wish ethanol didn't exist, but because it currently does, MotoMix is essential if you desire any reliability from your 2-cycle tool (and who doesn't)? This is truly a no-brainer. Yes, MotoMix is expensive. Compare its cost to a repair or two because of pump gas containing ethanol, and you'll join the MotoMix camp. This stuff is like Stolychnia vodka for your 2-cycle engines. Try it and agree! Thanks, Stihl!! December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pricey but... Yep, this stuff costs 4-5 times what unleaded and the add-in oil costs, and like the other guy said, if you're using your saw/trimmer/hedge cutter, etc regularly, it may not be of as much value to you, Buuuut, when you throw in the cost of taking your tool to the Sthil dealer in the Spring 'cause you have a gummed up whatchama-franzit, it nmitigates that issue a lot. December 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was sceptical...but it's great stuff...for specific applications I bought 3 liters of Motomix because I had two Stihl chainsaws, an MS391 and an MS250, that I had neglected to use for a year. They still had full tanks of regular 50:1 gas/oil mix. They were in bad shape. Even on a hot day they wouldn't start easily, and if they did start they would sputter and and fail.I drained all the fuel, worked out the bad stuff by pulling slowly on the starter, then refilled with Motomix. Both saws started after a few pulls. I let them idle for a few minutes to get the fresh fuel through. After that they both started after just 2 or 3 pulls, even without engaging the choke. The difference was pretty obvious. My MS391 even "burped" on a nasty cold morning with just one pull.I would not use this fuel for times when I'm using my saw regularly, but since I do most of my work during spring and fall I will definitely store them with Motomix in the tanks. Also, since the MS250 sits in my pickup as an "emergency" saw there's no knowing when it will be used. When I reach for that saw I need to know it's going to fire up and run - I won't care how much the fuel inside it cost.Having said that - if they cut the price by 50% I'd probably buy only this stuff for my saws. I understand it's "space fuel" but seriously, 5 times the price of "earth fuel"? October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jet Fuel for Chainsaws I purchased a MS362 last year. The only gas that has graced its tank has been Motomix. The stuff is SUPER expensive but the performance cant be denied. I take pride in my saw and don't mind spending the extra money while using only the finest products. Friends were skeptical while felling trees and getting whiffs of the Motomix exhaust, which kind of smells like fryer oil. Their questions diminished quickly once Motomix replaced their regular mix on our next gas up. Pricey but legit, Its like jet fuel for your chainsaw. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome product i have read all these reviews and almost every one.had said this product is expensive but when u buy the best chainsaws on the market.you should put the best fuel in your equipment to protect your investment . just common sense . August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, but expensive Stihl was really smart coming out with this Moto mix. I wrecked a FS46 because of bad gas. Stihl Moto mix is basically all I run in my MS250 and my new FS50c. I have noticed more power and better fuel economy when I use Moto mix. My only complaint is this stuff is too expensive, but in the long run it might be worth it. Like I said I wrecked a FS46 with ethanol gas. One key thing I have noticed about Stihl products is read the Manuel and shop around not all dealers are the same. I do recommend Moto mix I can see the difference in my tools performance. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the Bomb for 2 cycle engines I have several 2 cycle Stihl products. 2 weed wackers, a kombi motor system, a blower and a chainsaw-all Stihl products. I have all thru the years had starting problems and replaced more carbs than than I care to think about. You can never master the blend of 50:1 ratio with a little can of oil and so much gas. Even using 92 octane gas, it breaks down after a few months and causes issues with your equipment. Most gas today is 10% ethanol-the enemy of small 2 stroke engines.Using this product is costly, but the best treatment you can give your machines. They will run like new, and can stay idle for long periods, without worrying if the gas is breaking down during long down times. All my equipment runs like a top, thanks to using motomix. I highly recommend this product. Wish I used it years ago, and then would not have had so many repairs and aggravation. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does make a difference This is not your ordinary 92 octane pump gas. Having the ethanol and additives for cars removed from your gas makes a big difference in performance and emission.All my 2 cycle equipment has becoming more powerful and easier starting than before.Pulled the muffler screen off my 2 month old FS130R trimmer yesterday and it was way cleaner than I ever seen using pump gas.Give it a try, your equipment especially the gaskets, carburetor and the fuel line will thank you for using it. April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always mixed correctly This product is great. It makes the machines run clean. You don't have any issues leaving fuel in them for a long period of time without use like you would with gas. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expensive If you figure out what you are paying, you would not be so happy. When you buy four of these which add up to one gallon at nine dollars apiece you are paying $35.00 a gallon. Now that is really expensive gas. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great product!! I have 3 leaf blowers a chainsaw and weed eater . I use it in all my yard equipment . This stuff is awesome. Please try it before u judge it. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest Stuff EVER!!!!!!!! I went out this morning and filled my snowblower with a 1 year old opened can of Moto Mix. to my astonishment it started on the first pull. Amazing !!!!!!!!! December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stuff to use run the stuff in my saws its better then buy it at the store and know it mixed 50:1 already is even better. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STIHL products this moto mix will help the engine instead going to the gas stations for filling up feul cans because it is lot of money and this will save me lots of money when I buy a stihl km 130 im getting some of those because it will be the best stuff and no more wasting money for expensive feul at the gas stations thanks stihl it's the best brand and the most powerful I reconmmand everyone buy stihl thanks stihl friends . October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent fuel for occasional or low volume users This is simply the easiest way I have found to take better care of my Stihl equipment and have it work every time. I have a FS80 trimmer that has been used very hard and never been in the shop that I used to mix my own gas for. It was starting to start hard and run poorly and I suspected that it was time to get it to a shop. I tried running this fuel instead of mixing my own and the trimmer began to start better, run better, and had more power. After running 2 cans through it the trimmer runs like new. I now run this fuel in all of my saws as well and will only mix my own if I have a very large job to get done and expect to use more than a quart of fuel.If you have a small job or only occasionally use your Stihl product this is a great way to have a little fuel on hand without worrying about the freshness too. It is pricey but well worth it.Just goes to show you how much damage ethanol can do because I stored my trimmer properly and always ran 92 octane gas in it but the performance improved greatly using this fuel. August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Performance But Costly If the MOTOMIX wasn't so expensive I would run it in all of my equipment year round! But, since it is a little cost prohibitive (at least for me it is) I use it for winterizing my equipment. I don't have to worry about ethanol issues, the gas going bad or wondering if the unit will start at all! It fires right up and runs like its brand new. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money! A good investment! If you value your high quality Stihl products, then this is a must have! It takes the guess work out of mixing and it's great for small jobs! The best thing is that it's made by Stihl with the same high quality standards! You pay a little more than regular gas, but the long term investment far outweighs the cheaper alternative. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product for your stihl I use this fuel in my saws and weed wacker. Although it's a little more expensive then mixing your own fuel the perks of using this fuel are unbelievable. My saws only get used in the fall/winter months for firewood and after a full summer of sitting you can go out and fire them off with no hassle. Not only do they start right up they also run as if you just used them yesterday. Excellent work on stihls behalf. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for Storage I like to use this when I have a little project I need to do and I know I will not need to use a lot of gas. I don't have to worry about the gas going bad and having unwanted repairs because of it. Can store for months and the saw starts right up. January 15, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips