Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools


Using a universal power train, this cultivator can transition into other useful tools for around the home or farm.

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 38reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best small tiller on the market! We purchased this tiller after looking at many others at the big box stores and reading the reviews. Having owned Stihl chainsaw, weed whip, and hand held blower, I know the quality that comes with owning the best! May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Thumbs Up! Added the MM55 to my "Stihl stable". Am quite discriminating #picky# and this machine exceeds my expectations! Handy, portable, starts easy. Perfect for tight areas, and small jobs needing cultivation. It's "lively" working hard ground but never misses a beat. I use highest available octane gas #93# with Stihl Synthetic. NO probs. Doubling the warranty was a nice touch. Love it! May 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by warning...means more yard work! Bought this afternoon several years of renting a power broom to sweep rocks of the lawn. Now I can use it when I want. Absolutely love it. Handles rocks and small branches/twigs with ease. Decided to buy the dethatcher attachment. Takes longer to do the yard than using the lawn mower with thatch blade, but brought up 3 times more dead grass! Will most likely get the weed wacker attachment next. April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product for the money I use this machine when I use to work in landscaping and this machine does work well, and just bought 1 for myself today and I am happy April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bad boy can dig! With wheels it handles very well... very little bouncing around. Easy to start. Huge quality difference above a Mantis. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5��by BEST LAWN & GARDEN POWER TOOL EVER I purchased a Stihl Blower and string trimmer about 6 years ago and when tilling garden with the really big Troy Bilt I decided I needed something a little smaller to get around the plants and in some beds around the house. I purchased this unit along with several different attachments for it and it is the best piece of lawn and garden equipment I have ever owned. I use it all the time and it has never failed to start or run, is easy to use and maneuver around in tight areas and around small plants. I have always used Stihl synthetic 2 cycle in it since new. I recommend this tiller to everyone. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased the Yard Boss to save myself more pain. I was suffered a head & back injury a number of years ago, when I tried to use a regular weed eater it caused me extra pain. While on vacation I found the yard Boss while walking through a store taking a break (stretching my legs). It has been a life saver, not too mention to tiller attachment. Since the wife & I retired and moved to the country I've needed something to help me get a little garden started. The Yard Boss allows me to complete my yard work and gardening without killing myself or causing me extra pain. Thanks STHIL!!! June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding tool for many applications. This is undoubtedly my favorite tool. The problem is all my neighbors want to borrow it too often. I hope my wife of 40 years never asks me to choose between her and my Yard Boss. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yard Boss, best mother's day present yet! Now some of you may be shaking your heads at my title, but let me tell you I love my Yard Boss. It's small enough for me to handle as a female without feeling like I'm being beat up (I'm 5'5"), big enough to get the job done. I work hard and expect my tools to keep up with me and this one does. I've used bigger tillers but felt like the tiller was using me. This one is easy to start, runs like a champ, and makes gardening so much easier. I've used it to help clear up a planting bed gone wild with weeds and to do some regular cultivating in a more managed bed and the results are great. It's small enough to maneuver around existing plantings without damaging them, strong enough to do a small garden without taking all day. One suggestion, spend a few extra dollars and fill this with premium fuel with NO ETHANOL. It really does make a huge difference in these small engines. June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good product I bought this piece of equipment 4 years ago to utilize in small raised beds.....Worked pretty well the 4-6 hours I used the first year....Following summer, would not start....Was advised leaving untreated gas in unit over winter would foul carburetor.....Replaced carburetor and used approximately 4 hours during summer with no further issues.....Left fuel stabilized gas in unit....Following summer, would not start.....Advised leaving stabilized gas in unit was issued and to take unit and run out of fuel for winter storage....Replaced carburetor and used approximately 4 hours with no issues.....Ran unit completely our of fuel (even though I was taught never to run a unit out of fuel because it leans out the engine and is hard on it) and stored for winter.....Unit started this spring for tilling beds.....Used two hours but noticed a small gas leak around the carburetor.....Two weeks later just pulled out to use again for tilling a couple of extra beds and noticed that all of the fuel leaked out of the unit....Put more fuel in, noticed larger leak and gas line not holding pressure and will not start....Cannot see where leak is coming from but all lines are connected from tank to carburetor and lines look good......Unable to till my beds as needed and back to service store again tomorrow......I have maybe 30 hours use on this unit and have determined this is one of the most unreliable pieces of equipment I have ever purchased..... Seems to work pretty well when running but I now hate the thought of ever needing to pull it from out of the shed to use....Never seems to work when needed.....I commented last year to the service store that I bought another name brand weed eater 6 years ago and have used approximately 6 hours per week, 9 months of the year for the past six years.....Always starts, performs well, and merely store in the shed at the end of the summer season without worrying about the gas to include adding any stabilizer or draining the tank or carburetor......I just set it against the wall and come back in the spring, turn on the switch, choke and crank a few times and it starts right up and performs well,,,,Never even replaced a spark plug, just weed eater line......I will try one more service (and most likely a third carburetor replacement)....The next time needed and does not work will find the unit meeting a trip to the dump.....I will just have to chalk this one up to experience and knowing to never buy another Stihl product........ June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is really easy to use great little tiller, works really good, starts easy, would recommend it. June 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Broke down in only 2 years and 5 months - low quality This tiller started leaking fuel and wouldn't start after only occasional use over 2 years and 5 months. The dealer wouldn't honor the extended four-year warranty, which I should have received because I bought the Stihl oil at the time of purchase.This thing broke only 5 months outside of the two-year warranty. I only have a couple small raised beds, so it hasn't been used very much.The dealer replaced the carb and coil and charged me nearly two hundred dollars. That's well over half the cost of the item when it was new.This really is a low-quality tiller that isn't worth the cost and doesn't deserve the Stihl name.It worked fine for tilling garden beds, but it's not even up to a homeowner level of quality. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I purchase this to replace my 5 year old homelite, which I was very glad to replace. I was considering a couple other replacement tillers. I have to say I own a Stihl O42 chain saw and a Sthil FS90 weed-eater, but never considered a Sthil cultivator until I my local dealer sugested it to me. It looked impressive but so did alot of others, but I decided to check the internet for reviews and sales. No sales but the reviews were good. Friends recomended another tiller was the way to go, but my chain saw is over 20 years old and the weed-eater is at least 7 years old with no major problems so I went with the MM 55 c. It is lite, starts easily with a couple of pulls and works the soil nicely. I really like the handle configuration which makes it easy to control, plus it folds up making it nice to carry and hang up in the barn. All n all it is a great tiller / cultivator for flower beds and gardens.The only issue I have is the weight. It digs in fine, but a little more weight would help. Stihl sells a weight kit if it becomes a big problem. May 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by questiionable design poorly engineeredI bought my stihl in October of 2013, when it was on sale at my local dealer. last week April of 2014 I first set out to use my MM55 in the garden. My garden is very small, 200 sq. ft. but there are some rocks in it. Most of the rocks are small, but every once in a while there is one about 4 inches. Before I finished my second tank of fuel in a brand new tiller the gears in the head broke when they hit a rock. The customer service told me this tiller is not designed to work in soil where there is rock, which would make it useless to me as all my soil has some rocks. What has to be obvious is that the rock did not break the gear, but rather the engine did. The rock merely stoped the tine from turning. It was the torque of the engine that broke the gear. If the gear can not handle the torque of the engine then there should be a shear pin or someother design feature to protect the gears. I will take this to my dealer on monday and see if it is covered under the warranty, but i'm confident it will occur again as the engineering behind the design is flawed. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing yard tool I bought the MM 55 over five years ago after renting a mantis for two weekends. I have only changed the spark plug and cleaned the filter a couple times and finally had to take it in for service ... but only because of the ethanol eating away at some of the carburetor parts. My yard has that tough Texas black clay, and Boss grinds right through it. A few of my neighbors have enjoyed my purchase also. I am so pleased with this product, that when it came time to fix my Craftsman trimmer, I just headed to the Stihl dealer and have not regretted it. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Yard BOSS I purchased my MM 55 from my local dealer that was a demo model and had a wheel kit included for free! This amazing machine makes little work of dirt where you want to cultivate, just line up and push the trigger! I did purchase the weight kit bc due to clay in my soil, the YB wants to jump every now and then. I did have to get it repaired last year for a new carb, but after much use that was expected. My local dealer is very friendly and a top notch guy. The fuel seems to go down quicker than normal, but the machine NEVER lets up. Additionally, I purchased the edger option and the bolo tines, both work great and quickly on off-site landscaping jobs. The folding feature is great, esp. while transporting the tool (even fits in the trunk of a car!). This STIHL power tool makes all other cultivators hide in shame, a true must have for all landscapers/home-owners. January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for these two women!! I've owned Stihl before and have always been pleased with the products.The ONLY con is that the handle is up TOO high for either of us who are 5'4" and 5"7" tall. I wish it had three or 4 adjustment placements.Other than that we are extremely pleased and know it may outlive both of us.Thanks of a great product. November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful product. Very versatile product. Starts with ease every time. Very ergonomic design. Rear wheel attachment is a little flimsy but nice to have on it. Wish there were more attachments available. Very compact for storing. Glad I went with this over the Mantis. Seems much more powerful. Attachments easy to swap out. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many chores made easier Love my little 'beast', had it over ten years great for small gardens, use it to dig holes foe trees and shrubs. Use it at Habitat for all kinds of landscaping chores. Makes trenching easy by tilling the soil to shovel out. Been low maintenance and reliable starter. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality product Had this for four years. After two it didn't want to run. Bought a new carburetor and put it on in about ten minutes and runs like brand new. I suggest to only use premium non oxygenated fuel. The best part though is the wife can start it easily and I don't even have the easy start June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has too wide wheels attachment for smaller gardens. Stihl should have a narrow wheel attachment available as option also. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best tiller in its class Of other tillers in this class this is the best.The 2 stroke motor has good power andis light weight. and as always the stihl quality is great May 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent addition to my Stihl Stable I looked at several brands before I purchased this tiller/cultivator. The brands were Troy Built (2 different models), MTD and an Earthquake (made in China). Though the Stihl was more expensive it is well worth it. Just looking at the machines and comparing the quality of materials you can tell the Stihl is superior to the others mentioned. Plus with the Stihl you can purchase accessories to further use this tool for other tasks.I used the tiller for about an hour today and had no problems. It started and ran very well as expected. It starts just like my weed trimmer and hedge trimmer. It handled nice, but I am contemplating purchasing the weight system as when I was in harder/drier soil it tended to bounce easily. The machine doesn't come standard with wheels, but should, so I purchased them. I also purchased an edger kit which I haven't had a chance to use. May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product. Have had for 10 years and never had an issue I have had no issues with this tiller and it is 10 years old. I would like a bit more power, but oh don't we all. April 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great all around I am a landscaper great all a round tool for whatever needed around the house attachment are easy to put on and off April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I expected from STIHL Picked up my tiller today and put it straight to work. I love this tool. Keep in mind it's not for huge areas. For what it's built for it does an outstanding job. I was very surprised at how much power it has. It doesn't bog down at all and I was working in some hard dirt with lots of roots. It doesn't want to jump all around like other tillers. Keep the gas can close by though because the tank is small. I will not buy anything but STIHL from here on out. I highly recommend it. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The tilling beast Hello my name is Sam and I want to tell you about an amazing tiller. I put this on my unbroking garden and it ripped that grassy brushy garden into a beautiful dirt garden .that 27.2 cc engine rocks the soil great value great product. February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Starts Right a way WILL NOT STAY STARTED I have a M55, plus several stihl products but this one will start but does will not stay started. It either dies when I take it off start, dies when I trie to use it or dies when I try to put it up right. Yes I do move the choke before I move the start. January 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Best tiller ever works so well for breaking new ground December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A" MUST HAVE" unit for large lawns and gardens! I purchased the MM55 STIHL YARD BOSS about six years ago and have used it for many tasks around my property. I have purchased all of the associated attachments over the years and can tell you that they all perform with STIHL QUALITY and PERFECTION! The MM55 works GREAT in the garden and the bristle brush works wonderful on the concrete patio! The de-thatcher and power broom are easy to use in Spring clean-up projects. VERY easy to use,start and maintain. After six years of steady use, all I have replaced is the air filter! Says a lot about STIHL! If you are looking for an all around easy to use tool in your shed....this one I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! December 2, 2012