Find a Specific Product: Multi-Task Tools

KM 56 RC-E

This low-emission KombiMotor features Easy2Start™ technology.

KM 56 RC-E
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 37reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful, easy to start, .080 string feeds very easy through the head, and STIHL line is very durable. I was tired of going through cheap weedeaters every other year. The STIHL Kombi works like a champ. I use the STIHL oil, and got double the warranty. Bought the edger attachment, and love it. Can't go wrong with a STIHL. Would buy another one in a heartbeat. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Had similar products from other brands that weren't made as well. Attachments fit snug and tight on Stihl, other brands were loose. Ran throught two motors in 8 years with other brands, should have bought a Stihl motor a long time ago. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best tool in my garage This kombi is the best tool I own from the trimmer to the blower sweeper to pole saw it does it all and if you don't have one get to your stihl dealer and get it you won't be sorry I'm not July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great yard tool. Mainly purchased this with a string trimmer to maintain a slope a lawnmower can't navigate. The slope is 40 x 100 ft. and infested with heavy weeds over 12" high approx. This unit tackled this with no problem. I've edged and maintained the slope several times and I still have plenty of string in the trimmer head.This is well worth the investment, performs better than the local box store brand I had returned. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sooooo easy to start I was looking for a new string trimmer to replace my hard to start trimmer. The dealer suggested the KM56RC, and showed me the selection of attachments that are available.I am very impressed with the performance of the unit and how easy it is to start, and my wife has no problems starting it either. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent concept and value; only issue is attachments are difficult to remove I have two attachments I have used with this head to date (I've purchased everything in the last three months) and both attachments stuck int the head every time I have used them. When I get the attachment free, I find the shaft stuck in the head. I have to work another several minutes to get the shaft out getting lubricant everywhere. Not ideal.Otherwise, for the time have owned the head and attachments the performance met or exceeded my expectations. It has been easy to start. It stores easily. It is versitle. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very versatile commercial grade product Wanted a commercial grade product for home owner use very flexible with all the optional equipment available no reason to buy any other brand June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This thing rocks It's pricey, but worth it. I have the blower, weed wacker, and edger. It is very convenient to have them all run off the same motor. It speeds up the job. The system is also very powerful. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Jaguar of trimmers As a kid, I gawked at my favorite car drive by and told my friends and self that I'd own one some day. My father had his Toyota and a Craftsman lawn products, which are very reliable. I drove that car until it had over 200,000 miles, but the edger and mower didn't last that long. As a young adult I could only afford the Toyota and the Craftsman. I now own the Jaguar and the Stihl weedeater that is reliable and long lasting that all my friends would tell me.This thing was everything I imagined it would be. I've owned it for over 5 weeks and am proud to be the owner of the best product the lawn care company has to offer. Their is a slight vibration that eventually subsided a bit, changing the string requires a screwdriver (or flat blade) to unhinge the cover, and it spins backwards which takes getting used to. Yet, the vibration is nothing compared to other products, it had more horsepower than my Jag (not really, but it's powerful), easy to start, and the accessories are made with quality in mind. I highly recommend this product because you'll never want to buy a different one again. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Homeowner Multi-Tool I bought this power head along with an edger, leaf blower, curved-shaft trimmer, tree trimmer, and hedge trimmer. It always starts first pull with a few pushes on the primer. The throttle response is amazing. It is also very light for its power output, which is nice if you do a lot of trimming. Plus, it is easy to service, change attachments, and doesn't take up a lot of space. I can trim with this for 2 hours without a harness and still keep going. Even though its a homeowner model, I have done lots of work for different people with it. Overall, a great purchase for anyone looking to do major work around their home. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not purchase this product if given another choice. This product is hard to start as well as heavy and unbalanced. The trimmer is difficult to use and get the correct angle for edging around beds. As I use the edger it is becoming easier. After rainfall (next day) edger clogs up every 30 feet +/-.The blower is just ackward to use. However there is plenty of power. February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product, great features. I enjoy this product both in power and versatility. It has more attachments than I thought and is great for someone who has a larger or smaller yard. January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great setup I purchased this 2 years ago with the straight string trimmer, straight edger, and bush blade. Everything works great. The parts interchange very nicely and with ease. It has plenty of power to drive all three attachments. In having one motor and several attachments seems to allow more bang for your buck and minimized maintenance issues. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is a great homeowner entry level KombiMotor. Outstanding value for the investment. I have been using commercial grade Stihl Tools for the lsat 15 years as a Maintenance Supervisor and a Facilities Director. I made sure every property I managed that had it's own landscaping crew was using Stihl Products as fast as I could get them. There is simply no better lineup of landscaping tools to be had. Once I used Stihl at work I began to buy Stihl products for my house. The Kombisystem is a system before it's time! I own a commercial system and just bought the KM 56 RC- E, which accepts all tools the commercial system uses and is easy start. As A disabled Veteran I appreciate the Easy Start system and would love to see it on all Stihl motor heads.Keep up the good work and If you need a field tester for your products send them my way! BAYOU LANDSCAPING IN VALPARAISO FLORIDA AND MINNIE ROCK!!! Stop in and see her. December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality equipment Bought this with the string trimmer and a pole saw and exstention. Huge improvement over standing on the top of a ladder and firing up a chainsaw. Pleanty of HP. Can't wait to try a new attachment. Money well spent. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible I was simply amazed at the power of this unit. I purchased this head with the straight trimmer and cant believe how well it works and how much power is delivered to the trimmer line. I would highly recommend this power head to anyone with a reasonable amount of yard work to do. although it is not cheap, not having to buy one of the big box store trimmers every year or two will save you money in the long run. If you're a homeowner buy their 2 stroke oil and you will get a 4 year warranty instead of 2 year. Cant say enough about it, if you're on the fence just go get it, you wont be sorry. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Difference from a big box store 4 cycle I had a 4 cycle model that I bought a few years back from a big box store and it recently died. I was evaluating to go with an Echo or a Husqvarna from the big box stores and was talking to a friend at work. He said he bought Stihl and loved them and said check them out. So I looked at prices and warrantees for each and read the reviews. So I went with a Stihl since it was very similar price, friend's recommendation, and we had a great Stihl chainsaw growing up.Man am I happy. This unit works so much better than the 4 stroke from the big box store. It actually has so much power I get done half the time I did in the past for my hard. The edger attachment is amazing. Powers through and makes my yard look great. I also have gotten the bush trimmer. Tons of power it cuts through 1/2 limbs with ease.The easy start system makes this such an easy start it is almost unbelievable. Fantastic feature. Worth every penny.I would recommend this unit to anyone. You really would be foolish not to buy a Stihl. I think any other product would just be a waste of money. Get a Stihl!!! September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Machine, Superbly Designed System I've owned several string trimmers, edgers, blowers, and hedge trimmers over the years, all basic homeowner grade. When the last machine finally quit I decided it was time to consider getting something that was designed and built to be better.There are a lot of machines on the market, and I looked at them all. In the end I chose the Stihl KombiMotor, KM-56 RCE, for it's solid design and construction. At the same time I also purchased the straight shaft string trimmer, the curved shaft edger, the blower, and the hedge trimmer.This system allows me to keep one great little motor running and I have the use of four different tools. The engine starts quite easily, 2nd or 3rd pull when it's cold, and 1st pull when it's warm. All of the tools work better than ANYTHING I've ever used before, straight, string, sharp, and speedy on and off.FANTASTIC machine, great design, and quality construction. Thank you, STIHL!!! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great piece of kit I bought this on the advise of a friend who is in the landscape garden business.I wanted a machine that was powerful, light, and easy to start.This machine fits the bill perfectly.In the past i have had many other machines both petrol and electric and none come anywhere near to this machine.My home has various hedges around the property and as i got older it became a real headache.Now with this machine the job takes less than half the time to complete.All in all a great machine that i can add attachments to at a later date. I would be only to happy to recommend this product to anybody. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very powerful for the buck I wish that I could give this product a ten. So far, I only have the curved shaft trimmer, but compared to my old trimmer, it will cut rings around it. Half the time, I only had to run it on half a throttle. It has a smooth running engine and very easy to start. It is also light weight. Fuel economy seems a lot better than my old weed eater trimmer and it was a smaller motor and less powerful. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good fast start The last Stihl trimmer was hard to start. I went to see my local dealer and he advised that the 56 line of combi system has improved starting. Boy was he ever right. I have the pole saw attachment and I have been trimming several years of dead limbs from a row of pine trees. I have been on this project for a week, about two hours a day and not one time did the trimmer fail to start .I wish all my small engines started ths well. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power, long lasting products. I just bought the new Kombi KM56RC-E. Had it for a few weeks now with the straight shaft weed trimmer. It has excellent power; super easy to start; burns extremely clean, and it's a dependable product. I plan on purchasing the pole pruning saw attatchment very soon. My father has owned Stihl chainsaws and trimmers for 25 years. He has kept up with them, (spark plugs; air filters) and still operates them today. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great reliable product with service support easily available Okay, I went and bought an inexpensive string trimmer that accepted multi-tool accessories. The motor started having problems before the first year and after a frustrating Spring of the motor flooding for whatever reason or just plain not starting I invested in a Stihl. Night and Day performance hands down! I esp. like the tool not moving when the engine idles. The motor is powerful and the accessories work in harmony. The easy start is a nice change. And the string trimmer actually feeds line when you tap the head! Thoroughly impressed with workmanship. And like a car dealership, the equipment was assembled, prepped and test started before I took ownership by the dealer! Did I say how fast it takes me to get my yard looking great now. Pretty fast! Okay, one small issue. the curved edger is somewhat awkward to handle since I'm left-handed. I guess I'll work through that too. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations... and I expected a lot! After wearing out 3 electric trimmers (1 corded - 2 battery powered) and 2 electric blowers (corded) on a 1-1/2 size city lot, I finally decided it was time to graduate to a quality multi-task tool. I chose to purchase a Stihl based on reviews and recommendations from friends. I was afraid I would regret getting the KM 56 RC-E "home" unit instead of a more powerful unit. Well, the motor has plenty of power and starts easily. I expected the trimmer (straight shaft) would work well (and it does), but I had doubts about the blower attachment. The blower is at least 2x more powerful than either of the electric blowers I've owned that claimed to have higher wind speeds. It's amazing! I will be buying the edger and cultivator attachments. No regrets. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had many others I kept buying motors that would accomodate my tools, because I didn't want to replace everything. After 3 other brands completely failed to work well, I finally trashed the whole lot and went to see my Stihl dealer. Don't get me wrong, those others worked very well, if and when I could get them to start. That was the whole issue, starting problems. Even new, I was never very happy with any of my previous units. The frustration was almost unbearable until I got the Kombi system. It starts like it WANTS to run. Even my wife uses it, and she would not even try to run the other junk we owned. We both love this system. I will definitely be buying more attachments for it. Currently I have a curved shaft string trimmer, curved shaft lawn edger, and blower. These were my primary tools with the old units, so it was a bit of an investment to switch over, but I don't regret it one bit. I highly recommend the EZ 2 start unit from Stihl. May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very handy piece of equipment Easy to use and several attachments available, the tiller attachment does a great job. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't bother with bargain brands. This is the real deal folks. My mom's bargain brand trimmer finally bit the dust. Felt guilty just ditching it while it was still running. Eyed this one online and at the local dealerl as its replacement. Its been a very good purchase. The power is great, it feeds line like a champ. I picked up the blower and edger and I'll review those also. So far its been good on gas and is so easy to start. I've even restarted it while in the shoulder strap over my right shoulder, pulling the line with my left arm. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No More limbs falling You know how it is, A tree is hung up in another tree, you move in close to cut standing tree, Tree is cut and falls toward you so you turn to run and TRIP!!!! Not with this system, you do not have to get " Up Close And Personal " with the tree.Have had the Kombi with chain saw less than 24 hours and it has save me a ton of work if I had to use my Silky Manual pole saw.Thanks Stihl for making another fine product, I see many attachments in my and the Kombi's future November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by plenty of power. i love this thing. i bought the blower, trimmer, and saw for it and they all work great. not to mention the four year warranty if you buy the right oil. fantastic investment. November 4, 2012
<<prev2