Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 660 MAGNUM®

A professional chainsaw with one of the best power-to-weight ratios in the industry.

MS 660 MAGNUM®
Rated 5 out of 5 by 58reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Big Saw. I purchased mine new in 2008. The basic design of the saw is excellent; high power and easy to start. Being a big saw it is heavy especially with long bars. I typically run Stihl 28 and 36 inch bars and I have a 42 inch Oregon bar for it. Stihl does not supply a bar longer than 36 inches. The Stihl bars, in my opinion, are better made than the Oregon bar. But the 660 has the power to run a 42" bar cross cutting or ripping.I use the MS 660 with ripping chain and with my 36" Alaskan mill, and could not be happier with that combination! I am satisfied with the saw and would recommend it to anyone needing a big saw.This is not my high usage saw due to its size but when it is needed for the big trees and big logs, it will get the job done. I also own MS 192T, 039 and a modified MS 290.My only complaint is that Stihl has been slow to supply components compatible with our alcohol laced fuel. I do see they have some green fuel lines that are billed as better, time will tell. We also need carb components that are alcohol compatible. This is the reason for the 4 in dependability. Also it is not a cheap saw, so it also gets a 4 for value. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw, powerful and dependable When I switched from a heavy yellow make of falling saw in the early 1980s i bought my first of 12 Stihl saws. I've owned 031/032s, 044s, 056s and 088s, the last purchase before this one was an 036P to replace the 031/032s for light work and limbing, the last 056 just died past repair and the 088 is finally wearing out. Picked up a new MS660 and hung a 36" bar on it for 95% of the heavy work that I do. Between the 036P and the new MS660 I hardly get the 088 out except for the occasional REALLY large timber.The MS660 has all the power needed with the 36" and I can cut all day with it which combined with its thriftier sipping of fuel makes for less to drag into the woods. Love it! March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big saw with big power, not for the faint of heart I have had my 660 since 2009 and I keep a 36" bar on it at all times. It is used only on big stuff that I cut as this saw really shines when the bar is buried in hardwood. The torque output is amazing, you will have a grin the whole time you cut with it. March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING SAW I own several ms660's and thought that a ms880 would be helpful to make it a little quicker in the tree. needless to say after one use i went straight back to my 660 it has all the power you could ask for and half the weight of the 880 i would HIGHLY recommend this saw to anyone! March 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great solid saw! fell in love with my stihl 440, buddy borrowed it and offered to buy it so i bought the 660m and love it!! works great in winter up here in Vt. just had to move the inlet spacer and turn the carb to winter. you won't find another saw this dependable in cold climates!! February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by power=sthil ms660. PERIOD i bought a new ms361 few years ago from dealer,it has been a great saw,so thought i need to get a bigger saw with more wood i cutting,so i look at all the new saws and different brands,but wanted a pro saw,and sthil has them....now to the ms660--wow what a powerhouse,it is truley amazing saw,dont let the weight full you,its not has heavy as you think,and the extra weight is advantage when laying the saw on the log and let the saw do the work,and it does it fast..so if your looking for the ultimate saw,this is it,i use o28 av super,ms361,and ms660 the most!!! February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Great saw for heavy cutting jobs. Combined with a small bar and chain it has unbelievable cutting ability. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The MS 660 is a work horse. They are great saws. Weather you are running an 18" bar or a 36" bar, they have the power and speed to get the job done. I have run them for years with out any problems. Keep your gas fresh,air filter clean and the chain sharp. You should have many trouble free years of use. Thanks for a great saw. That so many people I know make a living with day in and day out. I bought my first one in 2004 and it is still running strong. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A muscle chainsaw I used this saw primarilly with a Granberg 32" Alaskan mill for making boards. I just used it to mill through a 9'x 27" hard maple log and it went right through it without a problem. This saw is not primarilly used for cutting firewood. Get a MS 250 or 290 for day to day cutting tasks because the 660 does get heavy to manuver after a while. If you use chain saws as much as I do, don't think that a single chainsaw will meet all of your cutting needs. It's just a reality that you need multiple chainsaws for different types of jobs. Keep up with the maintenance and this saw will last you for many years. A big shout out to Willies Sales and Service in Fremont, OH! January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pro Saw I use this saw everyday for logging, this includes, falling and bucking large trees, it is light, powerful, fuel efficient and also a great looking saw. I own many other Stihls including an 084 with 36" bar but I don't use it often, only when I run into four foot plus trees. I just wanted to say that I am very pleased with the saw. I really like how the saw balances with a 25" bar and the anti-vibration system is great.Thanks for making such a great saw! December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw I cut and sell Oak Firewood. (oak is very HARD ) I've had my 660 for a year. I split all my firewood by hand. The pieces that are knotty and hard to split I tip over and saw into slab wood. The 660 is my wood SPLITTER and chain saw for cutting wood. It works GREAT, Excellent Power. December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbeaten power to weight ratio I have had my 066 for more than 15 years and had to put 4 spark plugs, an air filter,three chain catchers,two spark arrester screens and I don't know how many bars drive gears& chains! Not much maintenance for all that time! She "stihl" has lots of power and revs like no other saw that size. I run 24&36" bars on it and am always happy with it. So don't let sticker shock turn You away if You are serious about cutting! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is extremely powerful, if you cut wood this is the saw for you! I have owned 3 stihl chainsaws, I bought a new ms280, then a used ms460 and then my new ms660. Stihl's mid-range saws are just that - mid range- for occasional homeowner use. I am speaking from experience. I bought the 660 for cutting some big beech logs for firewood-saw dosen't bog down at all and makes quick work of big wood. I personally run a 25" and 36" bar depending on what im cutting, but for the most part run the 25" Its nice doing firewood, because I don't need to bend over to reach the ground and Im 5'10" tall. Because I don't bend over the weight of the saw isn't a problem. After my father-in laws older red saw broke down he had to borrow the 660, He thinks its too heavy, but then his new red saw also broke so he is now stuck again with the 660, I think I might sell it to him and buy another new one! December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Massive power.. If you are tired of junk chainsaws then get one of these..its a big powerful professional saw..make no mistake, though, you really need to be a big guy to use one of these all day. As a bucking saw it cant be beat and its weight is an asset..for overhead limbing it will wear you out..I use three different bar lengths but I use a 24" in most ocassions..It will push a 48" bar through dry hardwood if you use a skip chain to keep the RPM up a little..our firewood business sees little limb cutting so we have six of these going on in our lot..I recommend the large bucking spikes if they arent already installed. December 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing beats the Stihl 660! I bought an MS 310 a few years ago, and then bought the 660. My 310 barely sees the light of day. The 660 is perfectly balanced. It seems so light for its size and power. I can run a 20 in bar on it and limb little trees, and then turn around and put a 36 in bar on it and it doesn't bog. I bet this saw would run a 41 in bar if it had the chance. Mine's mildly ported and boy that makes it sing! The one downfall is the filter needs cleaned every tank of gas. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best felling saw ever made I love using chainsaws. I even find myself cutting lumber with my ms192tc for building random things. if your felling big trees, or if you cut firewood, this is the saw that will make it all go by much faster. I am having a problem with fine saw dust getting past my new filter into the plastic carburetor cover under my filter. I would really like to get that problem solved asap. I've been told that there is an easy fix, but I haven't found it yet. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wood cutting BEAST!! i bought my saw about 3 weeks ago, ive since then cleared alot of trees from sandy, i have a 20 inch bar on my ms 660 magnum and i cut trees over 36 inches in diameter and i cant make the saw bogg down. its the most incredible saw ive ever used, i wouldnt trade it for anything! if youre looking for a tough reliable saw with outstanding power the 660 is the saw for you November 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by As a professional arborist, i can say this is the best saw we have. We own an Stihl 880 as well, the 660 is blows it away. As a professional arborist, i can say this is the best saw we have. We own an Stihl 880 as well, the 660 is blows it away. We have 2 bars for it, the 36 and 25 in and it handles both very well, never a lack of power. November 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAVORITE SAW EVER I'VE OWNED QUITE A FEW SAWS BUT THE 660 IS BY FAR MY FAVORITE, ITS A WOOD EATING MACHINE BUT NOT FOR THE CASUAL USER. IF YOU WANT A TRULY PROFESSIONAL GRADE SAW THEN GET ONE AND REMEMBER QUALITY DOESN'T COME CHEAP. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbelievable! this saw takes all of the work out of cutting, i have ran it in adverse conditions - 20 below snowstorms and freezes, I even left it outside the cabin once, it had 1/2" of ice on it and fired right up again, this is the only orange saw to have, the rest are just toys! thanks Stihl for a great saw! - customthompsonstimber October 16, 2012
<<prev 23