Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 660 MAGNUM®

A professional chainsaw with one of the best power-to-weight ratios in the industry.

MS 660 MAGNUM®
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 73reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Great Saw Weight to power ratio amazing. This thing slices threw 3'-4' rounds with ease. I hope it is around as long as my old time Sthil's031 AV, 034 av Super That still start on 2nd pull and cut well December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Saw for Big Wood My stihl MS660 was my latest stihl purchase. My first saw was 260P, then ran my fathers 036P (20"), bought a 460 (28"), then a used 440 (24"), HT101, now the 660 (36"). Three main selling points for me: durability, dealer support, resale. I would consider myself a moderate user of these saws, I run about 50-60 gallons of fuel through them a year. I've never had to replace anything major. The only things that get worn out are drive sprockets, bars, chains, and filters. Stihl has an outstanding network of dealers, and I've never had any issues with them. My brother is an auctioneer and stihl saws always bring a premium; no other brand comes close. As for the 660 its a big saw, not my go to saw. Great felling saw for big trees, and great for bucking large trees. Never lacked for power like the 440/460 does on occasion. In my opinion the 440/460 is more than enough for the average guy, but if you make your living off running a saw, the 660 is for you.Side note, I run AV fuel in everything, any problem I've come across with stihls is due to running cheap gas through them. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 660 magnum chainsaw It was a great buy for the money.It is a great chainsaw, has the power I need to cut big trees. It is very dependable chainsaw. I would recommend it for someone one who cuts a lot of trees. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is very powerful and gets the work done fast Wanted a saw that made short work of large tree trunks, and was easy to handle, and reliable. This saw rarely takes more than 2 or 3 pulls to start, and has been this way since I bought it. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great saw This light weight and full of power. The best saw made in this size October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great saw if you cut a lot of big trees!!!! We use this saw for our out door wood burner, we cut about 30 to 40 cord a year, to heat 2 houses and our 36x40 pole barn. This saw has no problem with what we want it to do. We are very HAPPY with this saw!!!! August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this saw is great and dependable these stihl saws are great, I mean I am hard on every thing I own. I dropped the ms660 out of a tree about 45' they sent it back up and it worked fine, I have a ms460 and this thing is more than plenty for large logs, I have a 36"bar on the ms660 and a 32" bar on the ms460. I have 1- 025 and 1- ms250 both saws are work horses and have yet to let me down. I am an electrician and in 2011 we had nasty storms in northern Illinois. I was cutting trees and rehanging lines as fast as my body would allow me to work. I had my old ms310 from 2001' and the 025 from 2002' I then needed to cut the stumps so I bought the ms660 in 2011' darn glad I did, I run a 42"bar when I need to and no problem there, I bought the ms460 from a pawn shop and I am so happy that I am looking for another one. I beat the heck out of these saws and they hold up great, I clean them after every use and I care for them, and they work hard for me.the very new saws I do not know about but 2011' and earlier these saw are awesome I do not know how anyone could be disappointed with stihl. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by starts easier than my 038 magnum With the compression release, this saw is a snap to start.. the controls are the same as my ole 038 which made using the new saw easy... the power is excellent and runs the 32" bar without any problem. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw, should have bought it years ago! Over the past 20 years have used a Big Box 20 inch saw to cut down 100+ Eucalyptus Trees on my California property, finally needed a larger saw, purchased a 32 " MS 660 with wrap handle last week..after felling and bucking a 35 inch "uke" tree this weekend I'll never be without my new saw, and don't ask to borrow it, that won't ever happen . Bought the Stihl after discussing saws with a retired tree topper and lumber jack from Washington State that I meet on a cruise through the Panama Canal last April, thanks Jack, your were "right on" about Stihl saws. The saw initially seemed heavy, but since it's a bigger saw its goning to weight more. Will eventially buy a shorter 25 inch bar for smaller tree cutting. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw!! I love our MS660's, i think we are currently running 4 of the 660's along with a MS361. These saws take alot of abuse and we cut large hardwood timber daily. my only complaint has nothing to do with saw, I just wish Stihl would publish there darn parts diagrams. I do all of our saw mechanic work and it can be a real pain to find the technical name for parts sometimes. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great purchase, no regrets powerful saw, 32" bar in any hardwood is a joy to use. Smooth, no vibration. A bit pricey, but these keep their value if well cared for. A Stihl bar from 25 years ago will fit right on this saw. The side adjust chain is a good set-up. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No regrets I've own many chainsaws, and always wanted a 660. Finally bought one yesterday, and it's a night and day difference even over my other STIHLs. Minimal weight increase, but extra power that will chew through the most unforgiving timber. Like most of us, I had to consider the price, but let me assure you- you get what you pay for. This saw cuts so quickly and effortlessly it will even shave hours off of your work week. I just wish I had bought one three years ago. If anyone is on the fence, I urge you to take the plunge. There's a reason more pros use it than any other saw- Time is money, and if you spend a little now, you will get it back in spades later. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw I have added the 660 to my fleet, also have a 009 , 044, and a FS85 with the HT pole pruner. I never thought any saw could out cut my 044, for which I have a 20", 25", and 36" bar's. But the 660 is a fine machine and cuts even faster. I ordered the 660 with the same chain size, 3/8"- .063, as the 044 so I can swap bars and chains between the 2, very helpful. I also have 20" and 25" Rapid Duro chains, well worth the price if you cut a lot of wood that is dirty or has nails in it. This chain will do both. Plus you can cut all day and not have to sharpen. April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw This is my favorite saw of all time and I've used alot of them, from the factory the saw needs alittle work to get its full potential. Adding the dp muffler and removing the carb limit caps to adjust the carb will make this saw hum. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally Rugged and Dependable Unbelievably rugged.One occasion cutting a hillside tree, falling tree snagged saw, ripped it out of my hand and launched it down the hill side. After tumbling for about 20 meters it just sat up, stilhl running (couldn't resist the pun) like nothing had happened.Picked it up and carried on.Similar situation cutting a large fallen tree. The cut snapped, the trunk grabbed the saw and treated it like a dog treats a rabbit. Again saw unscathed. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Big Saw. I purchased mine new in 2008. The basic design of the saw is excellent; high power and easy to start. Being a big saw it is heavy especially with long bars. I typically run Stihl 28 and 36 inch bars and I have a 42 inch Oregon bar for it. Stihl does not supply a bar longer than 36 inches. The Stihl bars, in my opinion, are better made than the Oregon bar. But the 660 has the power to run a 42" bar cross cutting or ripping.I use the MS 660 with ripping chain and with my 36" Alaskan mill, and could not be happier with that combination! I am satisfied with the saw and would recommend it to anyone needing a big saw.This is not my high usage saw due to its size but when it is needed for the big trees and big logs, it will get the job done. I also own MS 192T, 039 and a modified MS 290.My only complaint is that Stihl has been slow to supply components compatible with our alcohol laced fuel. I do see they have some green fuel lines that are billed as better, time will tell. We also need carb components that are alcohol compatible. This is the reason for the 4 in dependability. Also it is not a cheap saw, so it also gets a 4 for value. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw, powerful and dependable When I switched from a heavy yellow make of falling saw in the early 1980s i bought my first of 12 Stihl saws. I've owned 031/032s, 044s, 056s and 088s, the last purchase before this one was an 036P to replace the 031/032s for light work and limbing, the last 056 just died past repair and the 088 is finally wearing out. Picked up a new MS660 and hung a 36" bar on it for 95% of the heavy work that I do. Between the 036P and the new MS660 I hardly get the 088 out except for the occasional REALLY large timber.The MS660 has all the power needed with the 36" and I can cut all day with it which combined with its thriftier sipping of fuel makes for less to drag into the woods. Love it! March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big saw with big power, not for the faint of heart I have had my 660 since 2009 and I keep a 36" bar on it at all times. It is used only on big stuff that I cut as this saw really shines when the bar is buried in hardwood. The torque output is amazing, you will have a grin the whole time you cut with it. March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING SAW I own several ms660's and thought that a ms880 would be helpful to make it a little quicker in the tree. needless to say after one use i went straight back to my 660 it has all the power you could ask for and half the weight of the 880 i would HIGHLY recommend this saw to anyone! March 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great solid saw! fell in love with my stihl 440, buddy borrowed it and offered to buy it so i bought the 660m and love it!! works great in winter up here in Vt. just had to move the inlet spacer and turn the carb to winter. you won't find another saw this dependable in cold climates!! February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by power=sthil ms660. PERIOD i bought a new ms361 few years ago from dealer,it has been a great saw,so thought i need to get a bigger saw with more wood i cutting,so i look at all the new saws and different brands,but wanted a pro saw,and sthil has them....now to the ms660--wow what a powerhouse,it is truley amazing saw,dont let the weight full you,its not has heavy as you think,and the extra weight is advantage when laying the saw on the log and let the saw do the work,and it does it fast..so if your looking for the ultimate saw,this is it,i use o28 av super,ms361,and ms660 the most!!! February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Great saw for heavy cutting jobs. Combined with a small bar and chain it has unbelievable cutting ability. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The MS 660 is a work horse. They are great saws. Weather you are running an 18" bar or a 36" bar, they have the power and speed to get the job done. I have run them for years with out any problems. Keep your gas fresh,air filter clean and the chain sharp. You should have many trouble free years of use. Thanks for a great saw. That so many people I know make a living with day in and day out. I bought my first one in 2004 and it is still running strong. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A muscle chainsaw I used this saw primarilly with a Granberg 32" Alaskan mill for making boards. I just used it to mill through a 9'x 27" hard maple log and it went right through it without a problem. This saw is not primarilly used for cutting firewood. Get a MS 250 or 290 for day to day cutting tasks because the 660 does get heavy to manuver after a while. If you use chain saws as much as I do, don't think that a single chainsaw will meet all of your cutting needs. It's just a reality that you need multiple chainsaws for different types of jobs. Keep up with the maintenance and this saw will last you for many years. A big shout out to Willies Sales and Service in Fremont, OH! January 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pro Saw I use this saw everyday for logging, this includes, falling and bucking large trees, it is light, powerful, fuel efficient and also a great looking saw. I own many other Stihls including an 084 with 36" bar but I don't use it often, only when I run into four foot plus trees. I just wanted to say that I am very pleased with the saw. I really like how the saw balances with a 25" bar and the anti-vibration system is great.Thanks for making such a great saw! December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw I cut and sell Oak Firewood. (oak is very HARD ) I've had my 660 for a year. I split all my firewood by hand. The pieces that are knotty and hard to split I tip over and saw into slab wood. The 660 is my wood SPLITTER and chain saw for cutting wood. It works GREAT, Excellent Power. December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by unbeaten power to weight ratio I have had my 066 for more than 15 years and had to put 4 spark plugs, an air filter,three chain catchers,two spark arrester screens and I don't know how many bars drive gears& chains! Not much maintenance for all that time! She "stihl" has lots of power and revs like no other saw that size. I run 24&36" bars on it and am always happy with it. So don't let sticker shock turn You away if You are serious about cutting! December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is extremely powerful, if you cut wood this is the saw for you! I have owned 3 stihl chainsaws, I bought a new ms280, then a used ms460 and then my new ms660. Stihl's mid-range saws are just that - mid range- for occasional homeowner use. I am speaking from experience. I bought the 660 for cutting some big beech logs for firewood-saw dosen't bog down at all and makes quick work of big wood. I personally run a 25" and 36" bar depending on what im cutting, but for the most part run the 25" Its nice doing firewood, because I don't need to bend over to reach the ground and Im 5'10" tall. Because I don't bend over the weight of the saw isn't a problem. After my father-in laws older red saw broke down he had to borrow the 660, He thinks its too heavy, but then his new red saw also broke so he is now stuck again with the 660, I think I might sell it to him and buy another new one! December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Massive power.. If you are tired of junk chainsaws then get one of these..its a big powerful professional saw..make no mistake, though, you really need to be a big guy to use one of these all day. As a bucking saw it cant be beat and its weight is an asset..for overhead limbing it will wear you out..I use three different bar lengths but I use a 24" in most ocassions..It will push a 48" bar through dry hardwood if you use a skip chain to keep the RPM up a little..our firewood business sees little limb cutting so we have six of these going on in our lot..I recommend the large bucking spikes if they arent already installed. December 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing beats the Stihl 660! I bought an MS 310 a few years ago, and then bought the 660. My 310 barely sees the light of day. The 660 is perfectly balanced. It seems so light for its size and power. I can run a 20 in bar on it and limb little trees, and then turn around and put a 36 in bar on it and it doesn't bog. I bet this saw would run a 41 in bar if it had the chance. Mine's mildly ported and boy that makes it sing! The one downfall is the filter needs cleaned every tank of gas. December 5, 2012
<<prev 23 4next>>