Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 660 MAGNUM®

A professional chainsaw with one of the best power-to-weight ratios in the industry.

MS 660 MAGNUM®
Rated 5 out of 5 by 57reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent saw Professional user here and owner, this saw is one of the best saws in my collection for power to weight ratios. The 660 is a heavy saw but has specific purpose, and that is to cut big wood fast. It out runs my 395xp daily no problem. My 660 has minor port work and minor carb adjustments and is my favorite saw by far. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work horse saw Have ben using the 660 for 5 or six years. switched out sprockets put modified mufflers with skip tooth chains. Gained a lot more rpm. Cut cottonwoods from 58 to 2inch ash cedar oak. reliability is great getting 3 to 5 years between rebuilds .We use these saws 5 days a week 8 hrs. a day -20 degrees to 105 degrees. As long as you do general maintenaince there bulletproof. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ultimate Saw! I originally had a MS390 with good success but wanted a saw with more power and faster cutting ability. I chose the 660 with a 28" bar and it's become my favorite saw. I added a factory dual port muffler and it woke up even more. I also use a stihl tach for precise carb tuning if needed. I found out a full skip-tooth chain works better with the 28" bar. I mostly use it for firewood cutting and clearing trees from storm events on my hunting lease. Torque is what I wanted and I highly recommend this saw if you need to use a 28" + length bar. April 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is a beast I've been a proud owner of stihl products for many years I purchased this chain saw a little over a month ago I looked at other brands of chain saws and none could hold a candle to the stihl also great dealer support was a major factor in this purchase as well this chain saw has tons and tons of power I'm running a 36" bar cutting red and white oak around 34" in diameter at the base and this saw just absolutely destroyes anything that it encounters I'm really impressed at the power this saw has and the more you run the saw the stronger it gets as it breaks in this is a very large and powerful saw I would not recommend this saw to the comon homeowner but for a professional who wants quality power and reliability I'd say buy it it's simply a beast March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power!! This is my first big saw. It is also my first Stihl saw. I cannot begin to explain how quickly and smoothly this saw will cut. It is remarkably light for its size. I have been quite a few full days with it now with no problems. It does drink gas! I use a lot of bar oil too, but I have the oiler turned up as high as it will go for the application I am using it for. The first thing I cut with it though was a 4ft diameter yellow poplar. I was using the 36" bar and 33rs114 stihl chain. It cut through it fast. The saw never bogged down at all in the poplar. The real test will be cutting through a live oak or white oak of the same size. This saw is a robust piece of equipment, and I am very happy with my choice.I purchased this saw to be primarily used for milling. I am running a 36" Stihl bar with a 3/8-.50"-114DL ripping chain. For milling, the ripping chain is a must, and I really wish Stihl manufactured a ready to use ripping chain. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Chainsaw I recently purchased my MS660 after having looked at the competition. I chose Stihl due to the several factors. The power to weight ratio is awesome this allows you to get the most out of the 90 plus cc power. The easey filter access not to mention the standard heavy duty filter, which if maintained is reusable. The MS660 clearly puts Stihl in a class of their own. I have found this saw to perform beyond my expectations. Whether I am felling trees or slabbing wood on my portable mill, I have been pleased at every task. March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the MS660 and you will too! I bought my MS660 about 3 years ago after some tornados tore down some trees to big for my MS290 to handle. I absolutely love this saw! It really handles BIG WOOD with no problem! It's NOT for a beginner/ greenhorn ! I have a 25" & 36" bar for mine and it handles both very impressively. If you are looking at a MS660 and not sure if it's worth that much cheese I would say Yes! If you buy one you'll be glad you did! I have the value at good because it is a bit pricey, but as always it has the dependability you would expect from Stihl! February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 660 I have a MS 660 with a 32 inch bar and 404 chain upgrade,I also have a MS 441 with a 28 inch bar and a MS 192C and a MS 180C. I have owned other saws in the past. I will only own Stihl for there Power, reliability and Performance.I have had Stihl for allot of years now and have never had 1 problem with any of them at all. Stihl makes the Best best Saw Period. February 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great saw could use some upgrades Great saw, i use with 36" bar, 7 tooth sprocket, mainly for bucking large hardwood, i did change the muffler casing from the pencil eraser size output to the thumb size output and added HD2 filter, retuned a little richer, and sounds and works great, except with oiler that puts out less than my old Husqvarna 394, i definitely had to switch to winter bar oil when it gets cold or it won't oil good enough. I guess some replace the oiler with the higher output. The Husqvarna 394/5 may have slightly more power, but is also heavier, and has the outboard clutch, whereas the Stihl is easier to change chains. Very durable saw, i have original 066 that are 20 years old and still run after serious abuse. I am looking forward to 661 mtronic release that will be smoother AV but good to have this in stable. February 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 660 Magnum I own 4 Stihl saws which are used in the firewood business, Always in the wood. The 038 and 038 super have cut between 10,000 and 12;000 cord each with no problems other than worn out bar oil pumps. Feb 11th, 2014 i bought a new MS 660 Mag and it has really impressed me with easy pull starting, and unbelieveable power to weight ratio. Were cutting 32"-40" dry red oak logs into firewood and man is this stuff HARD! The 660 just melts through the log with hardly no effort on me the operators part. This saw makes it easy to handle BIG wood.I bought STIHL again because of its quality, dependability power and value, break downs are almost unheard of unlike another brand of saw our team uses.I need a saw that requires no " tinkering " i have the saw! Run the brand for 30 years now and i will continue for the next 30 years . .. ..Happy Cutting, John February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big saw for big wood I got this saw because my other Stihl (011 AV with a 16" bar) was way too small to cut up a giant oak tree. Even with this saw I have to cut from both sides to cut the tree into rounds and then cut the rounds into quarters to be able to move them to the splitter. The vibration is not too bad and it cuts like a charm, even with the bar buried to the hilt. I'm no spring chicken and after 3 or 4 hours of cutting I'm pretty tired, but this saw will do the job. The kick-back hasn't been a problem so far. The saw is a little heavy but manageable. I have only ran 3 or 4 gallons of gas through it but I expect this saw to last a very long time if it is anything like my other Stihl. I had a little trouble re-starting the saw after I ran it out of gas and refueled it.Great product. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent piece of equipment Awesome power and reliability,even in stock form. I depend on this saw for cutting firewood to heat our home, we have never been cold! This saw pulls a 25 inch bar with ease, and no problem with a 36 inch bar for those big jobs. Did a porting job on the cylinder and muffler and this really unleashed the raw power of this machine. Thanks Stihl. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this saw!!! Have wanted one of these bad boys for a long time. I love using chainsaws more than any other tool and this is the ultimate saw. I cut a lot of firewood, some for my own use but most I give away to folks who cannot afford to buy the equipment or wood themselves. This saw really makes this task easier. I have 170, 025 and 361 saws as well and several other Stihl products This saw is by far my favorite! It cuts through some of the nastiest red oak knots like they aren't even there. Christmas eve 2012, during an ice storm, three trees of 35-36 inches in diameter fell on my property. The trunks of these trees were still intact until I bought the 660 three weeks ago. After 4 or 5 tanks of gas she really came alive and chewed through 100 or so feet of big wood in no time! Stihl, we need a splitter that performs like the MS 660! It is a lot of saw for a non-professional but I wanted this beast and have no regrets. If you want it, BUY IT! You won't look back! January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw, lots of power I use this saw to cut firewood felling large logs mostly hard wood great saw but plastic is very fragile, starter cord will break the plastic if not Careful January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Great Saw Weight to power ratio amazing. This thing slices threw 3'-4' rounds with ease. I hope it is around as long as my old time Sthil's031 AV, 034 av Super That still start on 2nd pull and cut well December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Saw for Big Wood My stihl MS660 was my latest stihl purchase. My first saw was 260P, then ran my fathers 036P (20"), bought a 460 (28"), then a used 440 (24"), HT101, now the 660 (36"). Three main selling points for me: durability, dealer support, resale. I would consider myself a moderate user of these saws, I run about 50-60 gallons of fuel through them a year. I've never had to replace anything major. The only things that get worn out are drive sprockets, bars, chains, and filters. Stihl has an outstanding network of dealers, and I've never had any issues with them. My brother is an auctioneer and stihl saws always bring a premium; no other brand comes close. As for the 660 its a big saw, not my go to saw. Great felling saw for big trees, and great for bucking large trees. Never lacked for power like the 440/460 does on occasion. In my opinion the 440/460 is more than enough for the average guy, but if you make your living off running a saw, the 660 is for you.Side note, I run AV fuel in everything, any problem I've come across with stihls is due to running cheap gas through them. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 660 magnum chainsaw It was a great buy for the money.It is a great chainsaw, has the power I need to cut big trees. It is very dependable chainsaw. I would recommend it for someone one who cuts a lot of trees. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is very powerful and gets the work done fast Wanted a saw that made short work of large tree trunks, and was easy to handle, and reliable. This saw rarely takes more than 2 or 3 pulls to start, and has been this way since I bought it. October 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great saw This light weight and full of power. The best saw made in this size October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great saw if you cut a lot of big trees!!!! We use this saw for our out door wood burner, we cut about 30 to 40 cord a year, to heat 2 houses and our 36x40 pole barn. This saw has no problem with what we want it to do. We are very HAPPY with this saw!!!! August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this saw is great and dependable these stihl saws are great, I mean I am hard on every thing I own. I dropped the ms660 out of a tree about 45' they sent it back up and it worked fine, I have a ms460 and this thing is more than plenty for large logs, I have a 36"bar on the ms660 and a 32" bar on the ms460. I have 1- 025 and 1- ms250 both saws are work horses and have yet to let me down. I am an electrician and in 2011 we had nasty storms in northern Illinois. I was cutting trees and rehanging lines as fast as my body would allow me to work. I had my old ms310 from 2001' and the 025 from 2002' I then needed to cut the stumps so I bought the ms660 in 2011' darn glad I did, I run a 42"bar when I need to and no problem there, I bought the ms460 from a pawn shop and I am so happy that I am looking for another one. I beat the heck out of these saws and they hold up great, I clean them after every use and I care for them, and they work hard for me.the very new saws I do not know about but 2011' and earlier these saw are awesome I do not know how anyone could be disappointed with stihl. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by starts easier than my 038 magnum With the compression release, this saw is a snap to start.. the controls are the same as my ole 038 which made using the new saw easy... the power is excellent and runs the 32" bar without any problem. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw, should have bought it years ago! Over the past 20 years have used a Big Box 20 inch saw to cut down 100+ Eucalyptus Trees on my California property, finally needed a larger saw, purchased a 32 " MS 660 with wrap handle last week..after felling and bucking a 35 inch "uke" tree this weekend I'll never be without my new saw, and don't ask to borrow it, that won't ever happen . Bought the Stihl after discussing saws with a retired tree topper and lumber jack from Washington State that I meet on a cruise through the Panama Canal last April, thanks Jack, your were "right on" about Stihl saws. The saw initially seemed heavy, but since it's a bigger saw its goning to weight more. Will eventially buy a shorter 25 inch bar for smaller tree cutting. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw!! I love our MS660's, i think we are currently running 4 of the 660's along with a MS361. These saws take alot of abuse and we cut large hardwood timber daily. my only complaint has nothing to do with saw, I just wish Stihl would publish there darn parts diagrams. I do all of our saw mechanic work and it can be a real pain to find the technical name for parts sometimes. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great purchase, no regrets powerful saw, 32" bar in any hardwood is a joy to use. Smooth, no vibration. A bit pricey, but these keep their value if well cared for. A Stihl bar from 25 years ago will fit right on this saw. The side adjust chain is a good set-up. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No regrets I've own many chainsaws, and always wanted a 660. Finally bought one yesterday, and it's a night and day difference even over my other STIHLs. Minimal weight increase, but extra power that will chew through the most unforgiving timber. Like most of us, I had to consider the price, but let me assure you- you get what you pay for. This saw cuts so quickly and effortlessly it will even shave hours off of your work week. I just wish I had bought one three years ago. If anyone is on the fence, I urge you to take the plunge. There's a reason more pros use it than any other saw- Time is money, and if you spend a little now, you will get it back in spades later. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw I have added the 660 to my fleet, also have a 009 , 044, and a FS85 with the HT pole pruner. I never thought any saw could out cut my 044, for which I have a 20", 25", and 36" bar's. But the 660 is a fine machine and cuts even faster. I ordered the 660 with the same chain size, 3/8"- .063, as the 044 so I can swap bars and chains between the 2, very helpful. I also have 20" and 25" Rapid Duro chains, well worth the price if you cut a lot of wood that is dirty or has nails in it. This chain will do both. Plus you can cut all day and not have to sharpen. April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw This is my favorite saw of all time and I've used alot of them, from the factory the saw needs alittle work to get its full potential. Adding the dp muffler and removing the carb limit caps to adjust the carb will make this saw hum. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally Rugged and Dependable Unbelievably rugged.One occasion cutting a hillside tree, falling tree snagged saw, ripped it out of my hand and launched it down the hill side. After tumbling for about 20 meters it just sat up, stilhl running (couldn't resist the pun) like nothing had happened.Picked it up and carried on.Similar situation cutting a large fallen tree. The cut snapped, the trunk grabbed the saw and treated it like a dog treats a rabbit. Again saw unscathed. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Big Saw. I purchased mine new in 2008. The basic design of the saw is excellent; high power and easy to start. Being a big saw it is heavy especially with long bars. I typically run Stihl 28 and 36 inch bars and I have a 42 inch Oregon bar for it. Stihl does not supply a bar longer than 36 inches. The Stihl bars, in my opinion, are better made than the Oregon bar. But the 660 has the power to run a 42" bar cross cutting or ripping.I use the MS 660 with ripping chain and with my 36" Alaskan mill, and could not be happier with that combination! I am satisfied with the saw and would recommend it to anyone needing a big saw.This is not my high usage saw due to its size but when it is needed for the big trees and big logs, it will get the job done. I also own MS 192T, 039 and a modified MS 290.My only complaint is that Stihl has been slow to supply components compatible with our alcohol laced fuel. I do see they have some green fuel lines that are billed as better, time will tell. We also need carb components that are alcohol compatible. This is the reason for the 4 in dependability. Also it is not a cheap saw, so it also gets a 4 for value. March 24, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>