Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 53reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Got this saw in July. First tree I fell was 24" lodge pole pine. Lining up the sights it dropped right on the mark, then ate though the rounds. I have cut fire wood for over 30 years this is the best saw I have owned. If you are looking for a new saw and cut a lot of wood spend the extra money and buy a Pro saw (you'll be happy you did). December 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect saw In 2003 I purchased an MS290 and that saw has cut cord after cord of wood faithfully. But recently the thought of a new saw with more power has come to mind. After doing much research it looked like the MS362 was the best choice. After running the MS362, I realized that I had made the right decision. Frankly that saw blows the doors off the MS 290. What used to take hours to saw now takes very little time. Firewood cutting is a joy again. I run a 20" and a 25" bar with a full skip chisel chain (33RSF) and the MS 362 pulls that chain with either bar no problem. The MS 290 could not. The greatest feature that the MS 362 offers is not its power, weight or good looks, but something else. I have been in construction for 21 years and my hands are beat up. After running the MS 290 for an extended period my hands would go numb. I just thought it was something I would just have to live with. But what a great suprise to find that the MS 362 does not do that to my hands. It is the spring and cable antivibration system. It really works and that makes the MS 362 the perfect saw. Thanks Stihl. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best saw we own We have never used any saws but Stihl and never will. We bought this saw 4 years ago and never had a problem. It takes a long time to warm up in the cold, but nothing big. Has lots of power and is great quality. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Molst awesome saw ever Probably the best saw ever!!!! At least the best saw I've ever seen. A little slow and heavy but still awesome!!! I know it now you know it. November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stihl MS362C is simply awesome This is the best chainsaw I have ever used. It cuts through monster oak trees like butter. It runs great and is very powerful. I am very glad that I decided to spend a little more and purchase a Stihl professional series instead of settling for a consumer level brand. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by TONS OF POWER! Friends and family mostly use the 391 and told me I should have gone with the 391. That was until they used the 362. They all agreed that the 362 will run circles around the 391. More power, lighter, less vibration. Naturally more money. The 362 runs the 25" bar very nicely, and has unlimited power with any smaller bar. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power to weight ratio. Love this saw. I have only run 3 tanks of fuel through it so far, but has good power and should even get better once it is broken in. Its a pound heavier than my 23 year old 034 but I can't tell any difference when cutting, weight wise. Its as easy to start as my MS180 easy start is, I haven't tried the compression release valve yet and don't know if I ever will, at least not until I get older. I took off the cover for the air cleaner to brush off the air filter and there was nothing there to brush off, (cutting green hemlock). I did most of the cutting with a 20 inch bar and a few cuts with a 25 inch bar, which the 362CM handled just fine. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw when it works right. I wanted to step up from the homeowner saws into a professional model and decided the 362 was a good fit for what I needed for power and bar length. This is a great saw although I had problems with the first one.I am now on my seconds 362CM, the first one cranked and ran great at the dealer but that was short lived. I took it home and ran it for around 10 minutes cutting a tree and then tried to restart it. It never started again. I took it back to the dealer and they were unable to get it running either. They said there was an issue with the carb and they were going to replace the M-Tronic carb. After a week of waiting on a new carb to come in the dealer finally gave me a new saw instead.The second saw has run great from day one. It has maybe 7 tanks through it now and runs awesome. Very easy to start and lots of power. Will usually start on one pull after it has been running. Cold start is very easy also.The only grip I would have is with the design of the kill switch, you have to push it up to turn the saw off. I find this somewhat difficult to do with my thumb and hand on the throttle handle. My previous husky saws are a push down to turn off which is very easy to manipulate.Overall this is a great saw that is not too heavy for long term use. I am already looking at other saws with how great this one runs. October 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Med Saw (Power to weight is amazing) Bought this when my husky popped a chain and ground the teeth off the back side of the chain while falling and bucking 24-40 inch maples. This was the biggest one (25" bar), they had. I'd already started converting to syth Stihl for all the 2-stroke tools and really wanted to get rid of the few year old husq. This one is lighter and produces significant more power then the husq 350 I had, and cuts much better. The starting sequence is a little odd to get it to "click" into cold start mode, and I often forget to push the compression release, but that doesn't make me like this unit any less nor make the unit hard to start. It is a little on the pricey side, but it should last the rest of my life...I hope. I did eventually get a 20" bar for day to day use and limbing the stuff that falls around the property. and will switch to the 25" bar when I need it for falling some of the bigger trees around my place or my friends.Short is; If you need a new medium sized saw and dont mind paying for the new shiny version....get this one October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for This saw is a quality product with a bit of sticker shock for most homeowners. I don't regret spending the money on it as it is the most reliable small engine tool I own. It is a little heavy while cutting into the wood pile but after 20 cords I enjoy the robustness of it. The saw is sturdy and handles balancing you when you lean on it. With the RSC? Chain on it it cuts as fast as you want. A tank of gas lasts over 15 min, and you can cut a lot of wood in that time. Happy I went with a Stihl with a Steel bar over the lightweight Husky alternative. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of power! I use my ms362 with a 25 inch bar. This is a beast of a saw, chews through wood with amazing speed. I am very happy with this saw. The air filter is very well engineered, after hours of use the inner filter stays clean. The saw starts easy with just a few pulls, I have not used the decompression button yet. I bought this saw to fell 20 inch diameter plus trees, my ms362 does this very well and safe. The ms362 has great power to weight ratio. I am very happy with the saw. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recalibration a Necessity If Not Done By Dealer. I generally trade in a chain saw every two years and since moving to our farm ten years ago have had only Stihl saws. An old 260 was traded in on a 361. I found this stalled all the time and ran out of gas rather quickly. This was traded on a 362 which was a reliable and light saw. If, upon first firing, you forgot to flick the throttle switch, it would flood and a 20 minute clean was needed. I found I reached for this saw rather than other new saws, the superb MS 660 or MS 460. Both these saws are a little heavy for me now if used for limbing and cutting for any length of time. The 660 is truly a beautiful saw and my brother has used this almost every day for the past year and refuses to return it. I'll look at the MS661 when released in Australia later in 2014The 362 was traded about two months ago on the MS 362 C-M. I had heard such good reviews about it since its release that I treated myself to another new saw.Upon first use I was impressed. It seemed to have a little more power than the old 362 version and I know would only improve with more use.However I found two annoying traits of the mtronic. The first relates to idling after heavy use when the saw misses a little and feels like it wants to shut down. In carby models you just increase the idle and everything is fine. The other, and really distracting feature, was it would take half a second or more to respond. Using all my other 20 or so Stihls I was used to instant power and a responsive throttle.I read a helpful review about recalibration and contacted the dealer. He had no idea what I was talking about so it clearly had not been done prior to delivery. Following the recommended procedure in the technical info from Stihl a recalibration was undertaken.It made some difference but still was not as smooth as my other two saws. I had to spend an hour on full throttle getting rid of an old hard yellow box and at the end the saw ran beautifully. I had spent a few hours on trimming prior to this so I guess some heavy use was required after the recalibration.When restarting after a short rest I have found that I cannot use the decompression valve. This isn't a problem as it is easy to start without it.All in all I am now very impressed with the saw and hope that it will give long, reliable service, something which Stihl is acknowledged for by landowners around here. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough shoes to fill I cut approx 15 cords of wood per year and do occasional tree clearing/limbing for friends. I had been contemplating for years replacing my faithfull Stihl 034AV that I bought new in the late 80's. There was nothing wrong with my old saw and still runs like a champ, I just thought it may be time to upgrade. I knew I wanted a pro saw to be comparable to what I was replacing. I bought the 362 C-M a couple of weeks ago and have to say it blows away my expectations. I read a lot of reviews that said the saw out of the box was weakish and started to build power with the first few tanks of gas. Running a 20" bar and a full chisel chain, this thing was a beast with the first tank of gas. It defintely is still building power after 6+ tanks of gas though. Compared to my dads 6 year old farm boss, this is a different horse all together. High reving and just keeps pulling. I will be buying a 25" bar soon as I think this saw will handle it with no problems The m-tronic feature is nice, easy starting and smooth idling. I like to fiddle with two-strokes and was hesitant about not being able to adjust the carb, but in the last week I have cut in 80° weather down to low 40°s this weekend and it ran the same. Can't say enough with how happy I am with this saw. Love my ole 034 but she has earned her retirement. It is a little harder on fuel but thats a trade-off since it feels like more power September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy-to-use powerful all-around saw I upgraded from a Husqv 445 and was initially considering the 261CM, but then opted for the 362CM with an 18" bar. Easy to start with the M-tronic system. Smooth acceleration and ample power but easy to handle and reasonably light for the power. Looking forward to years of good service with this saw. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I replaced a nearly 30 year old saw, 028 AV Super Woods Boss, with this MS362. It revs fast, has incredible power, and is well balanced. There's nothing not to like about this great saw. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great HP to weight, easy to start, gets better with age I bought the MS 362 based on my step fathers advice, he owns a logging outfit in the Pacific NW. I have had mine for almost a year and a half and am in the process of clearing a home site. This saw chews through hardwoods with ease with a sharp loop of chain. The power head is completely broken in and will pick up power noticeably for about the first 10-15 tanks of gas. The decompression valve seems to be a waste as I have never had the need to use it. I have run many power saws over the years and this saw has the least amount of felt vibration of any saw I have used. Great saw in a smallish package. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Engineering masterpiece !! I have run almost 2 gallons of gas through my 362 cm , and it keeps gaining power. Running a 20" bar and balances quite nicely. M tronic is awesome , saw never skips a beat. Starts very easily. Using 90 octane non-ethanol with stihl ultra hp mix.The air filtration has been redesigned and works well. The saw is light and very powerful. Puts a smile on my face everytime I use it. Should be smiling for many years to come. Truly an awesome firewood saw.I researched saws for the entire winter and I'm sure glad I got one of these. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl MS 362 CM is a BEAST I had a Magnolia tree cut down in my back yard so I needed a larger saw.After much research I decided on this saw with a 20" bar. I ran 3 tanks through it the first day and almost 6 tanks yesterday cutting it all up into sizes i can manage. It really cuts through this magnolia like hot knife through butter. I am seeing the power pick up the more i run it. I ran the first few tanks at 3/4 throttle and now im almost to full throttle but it is not even needed as it zips through the tree with ZERO problem. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The carb is junk! It is a junk computer in the carb won't adjust and no way to manually adjust it. It makes it so I can't use it it my remote locations I would rather run a junk husky than this saw! When you make a living with a saw and you need it to work this doesn't do the job because I can't take it to a shop every day to get the computer right! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid saw with plenty of power for robust home use. I got a great recommendation from my dealer St. Maries Saw & Cycle on this saw. I took it, and I appreciate this saw everytime I crank it up. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw has tons of power!!! Big step up from the old 362/361's. Starts easy, runs great, and cuts amazing! Would put it up against any husqvarna of its same size and I know it would absolutely out perform it. Also, its not a real heavy saw for the size of it and cuts quick enough that you won't have to hold onto it long anyway! If you are looking to cut wood for anything more than just campfires in the summer, this is the saw you want! June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light and powerful Three tanks through and nothing but good to say about it. Cut down a couple dozen trees last weekend was powerful all day long. My buddy had a husky that didn't even come close to keeping up with mine.I am running the 25" bar and couldn't be happier. It starts so easily and I love the decompression butter. It hasn't flooded once. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I decided to follow a recommendation I already owned a quality chainsaw better suited to limbing and totally inadequate when it came to felling and bucking medium to large trees. I visited my Stihl dealer wanting to buy a Farm & Ranch model so I could better feed my wood stove. He immediately started to try and move me up to the Professional Grade MS 362 C-M or even something larger . . . along with the larger price tag. I naturally thought he was looking at his profit margin so I countered with "I probably won't be buying from you since I have a sizable number of reward cards from another company that carries Stihl and I'll probably cash them in." His response: "If I were you and I could save that much money, I'd definitely do that. Don't blame you at all, but, I guarantee you that if you go with the 362 C-M or something larger, you WILL NOT regret it.I took his advice and have been absolutely stunned by this MS 362 C-M's performance. Is it heavier than my smaller saw? When you first pick it up, it's slightly heavier, but that weight disappears when you start using the saw. I've felled and bucked a number of larger trees now and have expended about 1/10 the energy required by the smaller saw. Cold, it starts on the fourth pull . . . after that it starts first time every time. Out of the box, it has excellent power, but it seems to be gaining power the more I use it. From what everyone is telling me, it won't reach it's full power until about 40 hours of actual cutting.The compression release button works beautifully. This 4.6 HP saw has an easier pull than my smaller 2 HP saw. The only difficulty I have with the saw is deciding when to use it. My preference would be to use it for everything, including limbing. My reality is that I have a perfectly good small saw that I pull out for small jobs simply because I hate to admit that I made a mistake in buying it. The 362 cost a little more than I was intending to pay . . . but the dealer was right. It's worth every penny! June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value This saw tears through the wood! I should have bought a Stihl a long time ago. Great power for a light weight saw and it starts 1-3 pulls every time. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good solid saw I've had old saws all my life and finally bought a new one. It's about time.I've used saws at work for thirty years and Stihl has always been the most dependable. I use this saw for firewood and around the house stuff. It's great. Plenty of power and my old body can still lift and control it.On another note. The spell checker on this web site does not recognize the word Stihl. Someone should probably fix that. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best power to weight ratio i have ever used This is the best saw I have ever used,Big enuff to handle big jobs and light enuff to work with all day . May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent replacement for MS310 Purchased this saw about 1.5 months ago; since then I have run just over 45 tanks of gasoline thru the saw based on a 0.6L tank. Overall, the saw is impressive. My comments will be based on what I think are the best improvements over the MS310.Air Filtering System. This system is absolutely amazing. After about 15 tanks I checked the filter; could not find anything at all on the filter. I checked again after 45 tanks and it still was free of sawdust. I decided to go ahead and clean it; all I got out of the filter was dirt (no sawdust) and I did not even find that much dirt. With the MS310 it always was covered with sawdust no matter how often you cleaned the filter.M-tronic carburetor. With this carburetor this is a much better starting saw than the MS310. However, it is different from the MS310. If you set the saw down for a few minutes and want to restart it you need to put the switch in the start position (use to be the full choke position). If you do this it will start on the first pull. If you done the same thing to the MS310 you would flood the engine with the choke.Decompression Valve. Makes the saw very easy to pull start. I have a MS250 with EZ start; do away with the EZ start and put decompression valves on all saws.Always ON switch. When limbing which is what I have done for the last 1.5 months, you do a lot of starting and stopping. The always ON switch is a very nice feature.Captive Nuts. This is a feature that I now do not have on this saw since I wanted double spikes on the saw. However, the dealer got the saw in with the wrong cover for double spikes and for the first week I ran the saw with the original cover. Personally, I did not like the captive nuts. The reason for this is that I sharpen all chains at home on a grinder and take spare chains with me. The problem with the captive nuts is you never knew when they were completely off of the threads when removing the cover. My personal preference is regular nuts; note that all nuts are captive when they are screwed onto the stud.Double Spikes; I cut my trees close to the ground so the second set of spikes helps the saw to grab the tree. However, I will say I am disappointed in the spikes that I received with the saw. Not aggressive enough. Also, on the double spike the bottom below the bottom spike is too thick; this prevents the bottom spike form grabbing the tree. I will probably take a grinder and grind it off. Also may consider purchasing MS440 spikes (if they fit) or buy aftermarket spikes which are more aggressive.Outboard Sprocket. This is a feature I always took for granted but after looking at a Husky realized that not all saws have the sprocket where it can be easily replaced. Why would anybody build a saw where you have to remove the clutch to get to the sprocket?Rim Sprockets. A double the life sprocket; once it is worn out on one side flip it over and wear out the opposite side. Also, easy and cheap to replace. My MS310 had rim sprockets but rim sprockets were not standard on the MS310.Top Cover. The top cover is tricky to remove to access the air filter; this cover could be improved. However, the top cover is part of what makes the air cleaning system successful so I do not have too many complaints.Noise Level. Not a plus; I do believe this saw is louder than the MS310. There are a couple of times I started it without ear plugs to make a one minute cut and the noise level was extreme. Always wear earplugs with this saw.The final statement to make here is this saw has a "tough act" to follow. I lost count on the number of bars the MS310 wore out; I would go through about 4 chains a year on the MS310. Run the saw to the point that it wore the muffler out; from the comments the dealer made I believe this may be the only replacement muffler he ever sold. Had to replace the oil pump once on the MS310; never had to replace the spark plug though. Only time will tell if this saw can duplicate the reliability of the MS310. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many Improvements over the standard ms362 Has a much better air filter and muffler than the original standard carb ms362. Saw has great gains*The plastic has changed since the standard 362. Looks more robust.SUPER EASY STARTINGMtronics are great. I have owned and own several autotune saws. I recommend them all over a standard carb saw. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 362 is the best saw I have ever used. The 362 is well balanced light for its size and has plenty of power for everything I do with mine. On top of that it starts easy and I have a great dealer. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SAW!!! This is now my go to saw! I think its probley the best bang for the buck in the pro line. I have a large farm and use it weekly. The fuel consumption is great compared to other large saws. The power is plenty for felling and bucking, and its still light enough to limb with using the 20 inch bar. I have sold all my other stihls except for the ms201t for realy light work and this ms362 for the main work horse. Forget about the farm and ranch saws, step up to this one and get your work done two or three times as fast, lighter saw, and use less fuel. Very pleased. April 23, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>