Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 32reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light and powerful Three tanks through and nothing but good to say about it. Cut down a couple dozen trees last weekend was powerful all day long. My buddy had a husky that didn't even come close to keeping up with mine.I am running the 25" bar and couldn't be happier. It starts so easily and I love the decompression butter. It hasn't flooded once. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I decided to follow a recommendation I already owned a quality chainsaw better suited to limbing and totally inadequate when it came to felling and bucking medium to large trees. I visited my Stihl dealer wanting to buy a Farm & Ranch model so I could better feed my wood stove. He immediately started to try and move me up to the Professional Grade MS 362 C-M or even something larger . . . along with the larger price tag. I naturally thought he was looking at his profit margin so I countered with "I probably won't be buying from you since I have a sizable number of reward cards from another company that carries Stihl and I'll probably cash them in." His response: "If I were you and I could save that much money, I'd definitely do that. Don't blame you at all, but, I guarantee you that if you go with the 362 C-M or something larger, you WILL NOT regret it.I took his advice and have been absolutely stunned by this MS 362 C-M's performance. Is it heavier than my smaller saw? When you first pick it up, it's slightly heavier, but that weight disappears when you start using the saw. I've felled and bucked a number of larger trees now and have expended about 1/10 the energy required by the smaller saw. Cold, it starts on the fourth pull . . . after that it starts first time every time. Out of the box, it has excellent power, but it seems to be gaining power the more I use it. From what everyone is telling me, it won't reach it's full power until about 40 hours of actual cutting.The compression release button works beautifully. This 4.6 HP saw has an easier pull than my smaller 2 HP saw. The only difficulty I have with the saw is deciding when to use it. My preference would be to use it for everything, including limbing. My reality is that I have a perfectly good small saw that I pull out for small jobs simply because I hate to admit that I made a mistake in buying it. The 362 cost a little more than I was intending to pay . . . but the dealer was right. It's worth every penny! June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value This saw tears through the wood! I should have bought a Stihl a long time ago. Great power for a light weight saw and it starts 1-3 pulls every time. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good solid saw I've had old saws all my life and finally bought a new one. It's about time.I've used saws at work for thirty years and Stihl has always been the most dependable. I use this saw for firewood and around the house stuff. It's great. Plenty of power and my old body can still lift and control it.On another note. The spell checker on this web site does not recognize the word Stihl. Someone should probably fix that. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best power to weight ratio i have ever used This is the best saw I have ever used,Big enuff to handle big jobs and light enuff to work with all day . May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent replacement for MS310 Purchased this saw about 1.5 months ago; since then I have run just over 45 tanks of gasoline thru the saw based on a 0.6L tank. Overall, the saw is impressive. My comments will be based on what I think are the best improvements over the MS310.Air Filtering System. This system is absolutely amazing. After about 15 tanks I checked the filter; could not find anything at all on the filter. I checked again after 45 tanks and it still was free of sawdust. I decided to go ahead and clean it; all I got out of the filter was dirt (no sawdust) and I did not even find that much dirt. With the MS310 it always was covered with sawdust no matter how often you cleaned the filter.M-tronic carburetor. With this carburetor this is a much better starting saw than the MS310. However, it is different from the MS310. If you set the saw down for a few minutes and want to restart it you need to put the switch in the start position (use to be the full choke position). If you do this it will start on the first pull. If you done the same thing to the MS310 you would flood the engine with the choke.Decompression Valve. Makes the saw very easy to pull start. I have a MS250 with EZ start; do away with the EZ start and put decompression valves on all saws.Always ON switch. When limbing which is what I have done for the last 1.5 months, you do a lot of starting and stopping. The always ON switch is a very nice feature.Captive Nuts. This is a feature that I now do not have on this saw since I wanted double spikes on the saw. However, the dealer got the saw in with the wrong cover for double spikes and for the first week I ran the saw with the original cover. Personally, I did not like the captive nuts. The reason for this is that I sharpen all chains at home on a grinder and take spare chains with me. The problem with the captive nuts is you never knew when they were completely off of the threads when removing the cover. My personal preference is regular nuts; note that all nuts are captive when they are screwed onto the stud.Double Spikes; I cut my trees close to the ground so the second set of spikes helps the saw to grab the tree. However, I will say I am disappointed in the spikes that I received with the saw. Not aggressive enough. Also, on the double spike the bottom below the bottom spike is too thick; this prevents the bottom spike form grabbing the tree. I will probably take a grinder and grind it off. Also may consider purchasing MS440 spikes (if they fit) or buy aftermarket spikes which are more aggressive.Outboard Sprocket. This is a feature I always took for granted but after looking at a Husky realized that not all saws have the sprocket where it can be easily replaced. Why would anybody build a saw where you have to remove the clutch to get to the sprocket?Rim Sprockets. A double the life sprocket; once it is worn out on one side flip it over and wear out the opposite side. Also, easy and cheap to replace. My MS310 had rim sprockets but rim sprockets were not standard on the MS310.Top Cover. The top cover is tricky to remove to access the air filter; this cover could be improved. However, the top cover is part of what makes the air cleaning system successful so I do not have too many complaints.Noise Level. Not a plus; I do believe this saw is louder than the MS310. There are a couple of times I started it without ear plugs to make a one minute cut and the noise level was extreme. Always wear earplugs with this saw.The final statement to make here is this saw has a "tough act" to follow. I lost count on the number of bars the MS310 wore out; I would go through about 4 chains a year on the MS310. Run the saw to the point that it wore the muffler out; from the comments the dealer made I believe this may be the only replacement muffler he ever sold. Had to replace the oil pump once on the MS310; never had to replace the spark plug though. Only time will tell if this saw can duplicate the reliability of the MS310. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many Improvements over the standard ms362 Has a much better air filter and muffler than the original standard carb ms362. Saw has great gains*The plastic has changed since the standard 362. Looks more robust.SUPER EASY STARTINGMtronics are great. I have owned and own several autotune saws. I recommend them all over a standard carb saw. April 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 362 is the best saw I have ever used. The 362 is well balanced light for its size and has plenty of power for everything I do with mine. On top of that it starts easy and I have a great dealer. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SAW!!! This is now my go to saw! I think its probley the best bang for the buck in the pro line. I have a large farm and use it weekly. The fuel consumption is great compared to other large saws. The power is plenty for felling and bucking, and its still light enough to limb with using the 20 inch bar. I have sold all my other stihls except for the ms201t for realy light work and this ms362 for the main work horse. Forget about the farm and ranch saws, step up to this one and get your work done two or three times as fast, lighter saw, and use less fuel. Very pleased. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing saw I have owned this saw for about a year now and it has never let me down. The power to weight is great I use the saw on a daily basis on the farm for clearing land. I have a 18 inch bar on it and it will cut through anything I pit it in. I can use it all day and not get worn out. The vibration is not bad on it I would buy another any day of the week April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Saw Great Saw, Easy to start, sounds great, cuts great. I use a 20" bar, easily cuts through oak with bar buried as long as chain is sharp, i use RS chain. Builds power through first few tanks, so don't judge on first tank.Saw feels lighter when using then when just holding it. Captive bar nuts are great, air filter is great, and mtronic is great.Would highly recommend as a 60cc saw for those who cut a lot and want more than the farm boss. Also would be good for limbing, perfect size and balance for an all around saw, you will cut all you need to cut, and then try to find more wood somewhere. I own an 034 and 036, great saws, with mtronic this is now a worthy replacement model, but i still wouldn't sell the older ones. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely love this saw. Never have problems with it I have a large house 3600+ sq ft and I use wood to suppliment my propane heating costs. This saw is an absolute power house. The only issue I have is it seems a little shy on power when cutting with the full length of the bar ( I have a 20"). I am considering picking up a full skip chain to see if that helps. April 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I own one saw Weight and vibration reduction is very impressive. When the dealer handed me this saw I thought i may have made a mistake and purchased a smaller saw. After cutting for a short time, hard and soft wood, I found out how much power this saw can deliver. I'm very happy. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw!! I had been in the market for a new saw for about a year. I explored all options of pro saws in a variety of different colors. I have owned a Stihl MS290 Farm Boss for over 10 years and have never had any issues. That kind of reliability kept screaming at me to stay with Stihl. I always felt that I just needed a little more power. This of course was after using my cousins Stihl 064 for a few days and then going back to my saw. I knew I needed to step up to a pro saw The reviews on the saws with the m-tronic were really positive. I decided on looking at the Stihl MS 362CM. I stopped in to a dealer in the town I had grown up in and asked if he had any in stock. He said he didn't but if I had 15 minutes he would go to distribution center and grab one so that I could check it out. He returned in about 10 minutes with the saw. It felt great and was really well balanced with the 20 inch bar. I was surprised at how light it felt. I ended up purchasing the saw pretty much on the spot. I took the saw home and started it up. It started on the 5th pull with the compression release. It is a nice option but not necessary with this saw. I let the saw warm up and had a 15 inch diameter log about 20 feet long to lay some cuts into. I started cutting and the saw bogged and seemed like it was losing power under load. I kept it full throttle under load in the log and little by little it came to life. I was actually shocked by the amount of power this saw has. I ended up bucking that log into 14 inch pieces in no time. I have used the saw several times since then and it feels like it keeps gaining power. Overall I am extremely happy with this saw and like the fact it can run a 25 inch bar if the need arises. This saw was exactly what I was looking for and definitely exceeded my expectations. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best power to weight ratio ever Best saw I've ever owned. I'm a tree climber and this is by far my favorite tool on a day to day basis. Had a 261 c-m and it was awesome as well but its worth it to go up a size. An extra horse, bigger bar, duel dog and wrap handle option make it the best light pro saw on the market. With the 25" bar and RS chain I out cut my buddies husky 372 all day. And that's a 70cc. With a 20" I'd smoke that saw! Stihl smashes all competition! April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Light weight for size, easy to start, and gobs of power. No complaints. Awesome saw. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a nice product I've been running stihl saws since 1977. The 362 as i have gotten older is a perfect fit on weight, balance and cutting ability.I look forward to running this saw every time I take it out.Don't get me wrong a younger man will love it to. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw I bought this saw to cut firewood on the farm and it has never let me down. I run a 18 inch bar on it and it will cut through all I put it though the other guy on the farm runs a ms391 and this saw will out cut it any time March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, So good This was not a split second decision. I have invested many, many hours for months researching all saws before making an educated decision on what to buy. I stopped at numerous dealers and talked with numerous people who work with chainsaws routinely...landscapers, construction, loggers, etc. The first conclusion I came to was that I would be buying a Stihl product.At first i was considering the MS290, 291, 311, and 391. Then further research pushed me into Pro models 261 and 362. After careful consideration and review I picked the MS362, which I purchased January of 14'. First lesson learned, it is well worth the few extra dollars to get yourself into the "Pro" model saws.I have put about 10 tanks of gas, Stihls MotoMix only, through my 362 since purchased. Ive cut 30"dia oak, elm, cherry and poplar. I have ran a 20" and 25" bar on my saw pending on the tree. I have recently used my saw attached to a "JIG" for ripping oak boards. My 362 running both bars works like a dream and picked up praise from seasoned veterans. Second lesson learned, this saw DOES gain noticeably more power as you go through tanks of fuel.The only knock i have on this saw is the decompression valve button for easier starting. When I bought at dealer, filled with fluids and it fired up no problems using this feature. Ever since then, the times iv'e pushed it, it seems harder to start and floods easy when i do. This has not been a big deal since the saw starts very easy without using it anyway, so i never push it-no need.The amount of time invested in researching this saw should be shared with others who are considering. Overall, the 362 has been awesome. It has tackled all the wood I have thrown at it like a champ. I look forward to my weekends with my 362 and letting it "eat". I am a firm believer this is a saw for life. My ratings would be all 5stars except I just haven't used it enough yet. Other than that, Im happy happy happy with the 362. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great power to weight ratio The 362 is much more saw than I anticipated. I couldnt be happier with my purchase. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It has good features to be user friendly Has a lot of power makes cutting wood easy.It starts easy. Really like the oil and gas caps. Easy to maintain. February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is an awesome saw this is one of the best saws that I have owned. It has the best power to weight ratio great starting and fuel economy. I've cut 300 plus cords with it so far and no problems..HAPPY IN ALASKA February 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heavy and bulky Should've got a 562xp its a much better saw its lighter,cheaper,more power, and the 362 have a lot of carb problems February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent All Around Saw Got this saw 11 days ago and have used it several times (about 6 tanks of fuel). Wanted a saw that was lighter than my 044 & MS 441 (pre M-Tronic) but would cut close to the same. For 20 years I have been using 70cc saws, so I was worried about a lack of power.I am not disappointed. I have a 20" bar and yellow RS chain. This saw feels a good deal lighter than my 70cc saws but cuts very fast and keeps building power. I'm not sure if it is the M-Tronic or just break in, or both, but the saw feels stronger every time I use it. Yesterday I took down a 30" dead White Oak with it. The dry wood was very tough on the chain but the little saw just kept on going strong. I'm very impressed.I love M-Tronic, but it takes some getting used to. The first time I used this saw it cut small and medium sized wood great, but bogged down on large wood. I was very disappointed. But as I kept using it, it kept getting stronger. Suffice to say it no longer bogs on big wood, and feels just about as strong as my 10 mm 044, which is pretty impressive.My saw started at the dealer on the second pull after it was filled with fluids, and has always started by the 4 th pull since then. DON'T take the saw off the start position for 10 to 20 seconds after she starts, it is not the same as the old "choke position".The only downside I have noticed is when I switch my hands to use it like a lefty (which I do based on the situation) it is very easy to trigger the chain break when your right hand is on the top bar. Both the 044 and MS 441 have a little more space there.The M-Tronic system starts easy, idles fine, and cuts great. This saw is exactly what I wanted. Now, if it will run flawlessly for 20 years like my 044 ... January 26, 2014
<<prev2