Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 64reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I have utilized Stihl saws for over 20 years. My Stihl 024 and 036 are still serviceable. I purchased this saw to replace the 036. I am satisfied with the saw. It has so far exceeded expectations. Excellent power and cutting speed. No maintenance, so far. Excellent starts and cutting power. No complaints. Great product. Thank you Stihl. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by More plastic, less power I bougth the MS362 to replace a 30yo 56cc saw from a different manufacturer. Despite the advertised 59cc, after 3 1/2 cords and a gallon of fuel the Stihl's power has yet to match the 30yo saw. The Stihl floods & doesn't start more often than any chainsaw I've ever used (yes, I'm following all of the directions in poorly-written users' manual). Due to a stingy/lethargic oiler with minimal adjustment the Stihl's bar is already showing premature wear. I'm so disappointed with the MS362 that I'm now rebuilding the [other make of saw]. February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior power! I have been cutting wood for over 20 years and have recently purchased an MS 362. It is by far the best saw I have ever owned. SUPERIOR power, easy to start and dependable! I heat with wood and this saw has made my yearly wood cutting tasks much easier! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed and Excited! Wow... that is my reaction to this saw! I have used my fathers 036 Pro for about 10 years now and finally decided to buy myself my own saw. I did a lot of research before deciding to look at the MS 362 C-M went to the local dealer and walked out with it.Yesterday I really went and put it through the paces and WOW I am really Impressed by the Power the fuel usage and light weight of the over all saw. I was cutting aside my dad and with his 036 and I used less fuel and cut bigger logs faster and easier! very happy with this saw and I am excited to go out tomorrow and cut more! Have about 6 hours into cutting with it and it started great ran great and just kept wanting more wood. Cutting mostly high altitude Hemlock 16"-20" Its a Beast of a saw!Thank you January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw the best of both worlds This saw is the best of both worlds being both fuel efficient and very powerful. it always is very reliable and would recommend it to anyone looking for a rugged and dependable saw. January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super power in light package! Just the best. Took it out today feel four large trees in no time compared to my stihl 311.2 tanks of gas can't wait to use it tomorrow! January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Innovation's finest I've previously purchased three farm and ranch saws for firewood production and couldn't have been happier with the little extra I invested to get this saw. From the dealer firing it up to using it in the mountains, this thing starts easier than my truck. My dad tried it and refuses to use my MS 391 because of the MS 362's power and ease of use. I ordered the MS 362 with a wrap handle, extended chip deflector, and double spikes.The M-Tronic chip allows the saw to run at optimum performance no matter what condition you're working in or around. Altitude, dirty filter, or extreme cold are literally no match to the technology. Because of this saw, I'm tempted to purchase another professional saw just to have two constantly working in the woods. I've purposely not cleaned the filter to test the claim that STIHL makes about the M-Tronic chip--THEY'RE RIGHT!!!Only purchase this saw if you love the coupling of technology and rugged performance. Not for the novice woodcutter or homeowner. At 4.7 horsepower, make sure you tackle the large diameter trees... January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Huge step up from a MS290 Used my 20" Farm boss for years felling and bucking trees on my property. Now that I purchased a wood furnace and cutting firewood weekly, I wanted to be more productive without sacrificing weight. MS290 is good but even after a muffler mod it lacks the power in larger hardwoods. The 362, what a step up! 20" full chisel is unstoppable. I am going to find a larger bar to switch as needed. This destroys my buddy's Ms310 also with a muffler mod. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw I made a lot of sawdust with my old MS-210C but with the 362 I am now making mulch. The 362 chews through wood at an astounding rate. If you value your time and have a bit of wooded property to clear then this saw won't let you down. The 362 is about 3 or 4 times faster through a log than my old saw yet weighs less than 3 lbs more. January 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by alot of power carb no good I am a bucket operater and climber and the company i work for has bought a few of these saws and after about two months of use all of them wont idol and u have to squeez the throttle wile pulling to get them to start saw has great power for its size but tje new carb is junk December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great All Around Saw If you had just one saw this is it. I've used Stihl saws for 30 years big and small. First Stihl was an 028 Super that still runs like new. Use 046 and 660 for bigger wood. I first got a 362 as a near new used saw just because of a great deal. WOW was I suprised!! The great power, light weight and anti-vibration make this awesome saw a pleasure to use all day. I recently upgraded to the 362 CM with the M-Tronic.This is my first Stihl with the new M- Tronic. I haven't used this much yet but really like it and very responsive. I always use a case and ethanol free gas with Stihl Ultra Oil in all my Stihl products. When I need parts or service its great that friendly professionals are as close as nearest Stihl independent dealer. Dont even think about getting this at the big box stores. December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Got this saw in July. First tree I fell was 24" lodge pole pine. Lining up the sights it dropped right on the mark, then ate though the rounds. I have cut fire wood for over 30 years this is the best saw I have owned. If you are looking for a new saw and cut a lot of wood spend the extra money and buy a Pro saw (you'll be happy you did). December 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect saw In 2003 I purchased an MS290 and that saw has cut cord after cord of wood faithfully. But recently the thought of a new saw with more power has come to mind. After doing much research it looked like the MS362 was the best choice. After running the MS362, I realized that I had made the right decision. Frankly that saw blows the doors off the MS 290. What used to take hours to saw now takes very little time. Firewood cutting is a joy again. I run a 20" and a 25" bar with a full skip chisel chain (33RSF) and the MS 362 pulls that chain with either bar no problem. The MS 290 could not. The greatest feature that the MS 362 offers is not its power, weight or good looks, but something else. I have been in construction for 21 years and my hands are beat up. After running the MS 290 for an extended period my hands would go numb. I just thought it was something I would just have to live with. But what a great suprise to find that the MS 362 does not do that to my hands. It is the spring and cable antivibration system. It really works and that makes the MS 362 the perfect saw. Thanks Stihl. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best saw we own We have never used any saws but Stihl and never will. We bought this saw 4 years ago and never had a problem. It takes a long time to warm up in the cold, but nothing big. Has lots of power and is great quality. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Molst awesome saw ever Probably the best saw ever!!!! At least the best saw I've ever seen. A little slow and heavy but still awesome!!! I know it now you know it. November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stihl MS362C is simply awesome This is the best chainsaw I have ever used. It cuts through monster oak trees like butter. It runs great and is very powerful. I am very glad that I decided to spend a little more and purchase a Stihl professional series instead of settling for a consumer level brand. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by TONS OF POWER! Friends and family mostly use the 391 and told me I should have gone with the 391. That was until they used the 362. They all agreed that the 362 will run circles around the 391. More power, lighter, less vibration. Naturally more money. The 362 runs the 25" bar very nicely, and has unlimited power with any smaller bar. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power to weight ratio. Love this saw. I have only run 3 tanks of fuel through it so far, but has good power and should even get better once it is broken in. Its a pound heavier than my 23 year old 034 but I can't tell any difference when cutting, weight wise. Its as easy to start as my MS180 easy start is, I haven't tried the compression release valve yet and don't know if I ever will, at least not until I get older. I took off the cover for the air cleaner to brush off the air filter and there was nothing there to brush off, (cutting green hemlock). I did most of the cutting with a 20 inch bar and a few cuts with a 25 inch bar, which the 362CM handled just fine. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw when it works right. I wanted to step up from the homeowner saws into a professional model and decided the 362 was a good fit for what I needed for power and bar length. This is a great saw although I had problems with the first one.I am now on my seconds 362CM, the first one cranked and ran great at the dealer but that was short lived. I took it home and ran it for around 10 minutes cutting a tree and then tried to restart it. It never started again. I took it back to the dealer and they were unable to get it running either. They said there was an issue with the carb and they were going to replace the M-Tronic carb. After a week of waiting on a new carb to come in the dealer finally gave me a new saw instead.The second saw has run great from day one. It has maybe 7 tanks through it now and runs awesome. Very easy to start and lots of power. Will usually start on one pull after it has been running. Cold start is very easy also.The only grip I would have is with the design of the kill switch, you have to push it up to turn the saw off. I find this somewhat difficult to do with my thumb and hand on the throttle handle. My previous husky saws are a push down to turn off which is very easy to manipulate.Overall this is a great saw that is not too heavy for long term use. I am already looking at other saws with how great this one runs. October 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Med Saw (Power to weight is amazing) Bought this when my husky popped a chain and ground the teeth off the back side of the chain while falling and bucking 24-40 inch maples. This was the biggest one (25" bar), they had. I'd already started converting to syth Stihl for all the 2-stroke tools and really wanted to get rid of the few year old husq. This one is lighter and produces significant more power then the husq 350 I had, and cuts much better. The starting sequence is a little odd to get it to "click" into cold start mode, and I often forget to push the compression release, but that doesn't make me like this unit any less nor make the unit hard to start. It is a little on the pricey side, but it should last the rest of my life...I hope. I did eventually get a 20" bar for day to day use and limbing the stuff that falls around the property. and will switch to the 25" bar when I need it for falling some of the bigger trees around my place or my friends.Short is; If you need a new medium sized saw and dont mind paying for the new shiny version....get this one October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for This saw is a quality product with a bit of sticker shock for most homeowners. I don't regret spending the money on it as it is the most reliable small engine tool I own. It is a little heavy while cutting into the wood pile but after 20 cords I enjoy the robustness of it. The saw is sturdy and handles balancing you when you lean on it. With the RSC? Chain on it it cuts as fast as you want. A tank of gas lasts over 15 min, and you can cut a lot of wood in that time. Happy I went with a Stihl with a Steel bar over the lightweight Husky alternative. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of power! I use my ms362 with a 25 inch bar. This is a beast of a saw, chews through wood with amazing speed. I am very happy with this saw. The air filter is very well engineered, after hours of use the inner filter stays clean. The saw starts easy with just a few pulls, I have not used the decompression button yet. I bought this saw to fell 20 inch diameter plus trees, my ms362 does this very well and safe. The ms362 has great power to weight ratio. I am very happy with the saw. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recalibration a Necessity If Not Done By Dealer. I generally trade in a chain saw every two years and since moving to our farm ten years ago have had only Stihl saws. An old 260 was traded in on a 361. I found this stalled all the time and ran out of gas rather quickly. This was traded on a 362 which was a reliable and light saw. If, upon first firing, you forgot to flick the throttle switch, it would flood and a 20 minute clean was needed. I found I reached for this saw rather than other new saws, the superb MS 660 or MS 460. Both these saws are a little heavy for me now if used for limbing and cutting for any length of time. The 660 is truly a beautiful saw and my brother has used this almost every day for the past year and refuses to return it. I'll look at the MS661 when released in Australia later in 2014The 362 was traded about two months ago on the MS 362 C-M. I had heard such good reviews about it since its release that I treated myself to another new saw.Upon first use I was impressed. It seemed to have a little more power than the old 362 version and I know would only improve with more use.However I found two annoying traits of the mtronic. The first relates to idling after heavy use when the saw misses a little and feels like it wants to shut down. In carby models you just increase the idle and everything is fine. The other, and really distracting feature, was it would take half a second or more to respond. Using all my other 20 or so Stihls I was used to instant power and a responsive throttle.I read a helpful review about recalibration and contacted the dealer. He had no idea what I was talking about so it clearly had not been done prior to delivery. Following the recommended procedure in the technical info from Stihl a recalibration was undertaken.It made some difference but still was not as smooth as my other two saws. I had to spend an hour on full throttle getting rid of an old hard yellow box and at the end the saw ran beautifully. I had spent a few hours on trimming prior to this so I guess some heavy use was required after the recalibration.When restarting after a short rest I have found that I cannot use the decompression valve. This isn't a problem as it is easy to start without it.All in all I am now very impressed with the saw and hope that it will give long, reliable service, something which Stihl is acknowledged for by landowners around here. September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tough shoes to fill I cut approx 15 cords of wood per year and do occasional tree clearing/limbing for friends. I had been contemplating for years replacing my faithfull Stihl 034AV that I bought new in the late 80's. There was nothing wrong with my old saw and still runs like a champ, I just thought it may be time to upgrade. I knew I wanted a pro saw to be comparable to what I was replacing. I bought the 362 C-M a couple of weeks ago and have to say it blows away my expectations. I read a lot of reviews that said the saw out of the box was weakish and started to build power with the first few tanks of gas. Running a 20" bar and a full chisel chain, this thing was a beast with the first tank of gas. It defintely is still building power after 6+ tanks of gas though. Compared to my dads 6 year old farm boss, this is a different horse all together. High reving and just keeps pulling. I will be buying a 25" bar soon as I think this saw will handle it with no problems The m-tronic feature is nice, easy starting and smooth idling. I like to fiddle with two-strokes and was hesitant about not being able to adjust the carb, but in the last week I have cut in 80° weather down to low 40°s this weekend and it ran the same. Can't say enough with how happy I am with this saw. Love my ole 034 but she has earned her retirement. It is a little harder on fuel but thats a trade-off since it feels like more power September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy-to-use powerful all-around saw I upgraded from a Husqv 445 and was initially considering the 261CM, but then opted for the 362CM with an 18" bar. Easy to start with the M-tronic system. Smooth acceleration and ample power but easy to handle and reasonably light for the power. Looking forward to years of good service with this saw. September 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I replaced a nearly 30 year old saw, 028 AV Super Woods Boss, with this MS362. It revs fast, has incredible power, and is well balanced. There's nothing not to like about this great saw. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great HP to weight, easy to start, gets better with age I bought the MS 362 based on my step fathers advice, he owns a logging outfit in the Pacific NW. I have had mine for almost a year and a half and am in the process of clearing a home site. This saw chews through hardwoods with ease with a sharp loop of chain. The power head is completely broken in and will pick up power noticeably for about the first 10-15 tanks of gas. The decompression valve seems to be a waste as I have never had the need to use it. I have run many power saws over the years and this saw has the least amount of felt vibration of any saw I have used. Great saw in a smallish package. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Engineering masterpiece !! I have run almost 2 gallons of gas through my 362 cm , and it keeps gaining power. Running a 20" bar and balances quite nicely. M tronic is awesome , saw never skips a beat. Starts very easily. Using 90 octane non-ethanol with stihl ultra hp mix.The air filtration has been redesigned and works well. The saw is light and very powerful. Puts a smile on my face everytime I use it. Should be smiling for many years to come. Truly an awesome firewood saw.I researched saws for the entire winter and I'm sure glad I got one of these. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl MS 362 CM is a BEAST I had a Magnolia tree cut down in my back yard so I needed a larger saw.After much research I decided on this saw with a 20" bar. I ran 3 tanks through it the first day and almost 6 tanks yesterday cutting it all up into sizes i can manage. It really cuts through this magnolia like hot knife through butter. I am seeing the power pick up the more i run it. I ran the first few tanks at 3/4 throttle and now im almost to full throttle but it is not even needed as it zips through the tree with ZERO problem. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The carb is junk! It is a junk computer in the carb won't adjust and no way to manually adjust it. It makes it so I can't use it it my remote locations I would rather run a junk husky than this saw! When you make a living with a saw and you need it to work this doesn't do the job because I can't take it to a shop every day to get the computer right! June 30, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>