Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 92reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable saw I have ever owned I have owned a 362 for 3 or 4 years now and love the power to weight ratio. It is a fast cutting saw and has been the back bone of my tree service. Light enough to use in the tree when the wood gets too big for a top handle. I prefer to use a 25" bar with it, but I have put a 36" bar on it when a Larger saw was acting up. If I could only have one saw, this would be my first choice. November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy saw I am a carver and due to my Christmas tree carvings suddenly becoming in demand this year I needed a saw that would speed up the initial shaping process my small ms 150 that I use for detailing just couldn't handle doing long angled rip cuts at any kind of speed but the ms 362 absolutely flys through anything rip cut or not I'm chuffed it has easily halved the initial shaping process. November 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My go to saw I own a small east Texas tree service and own 13 stihl saws ranging from the ms192tc to the ms660 and this is my favorite. Pound for pound easily the best i own. Saw starts 2nd pull every time. It's even better light enough to climb with for bigger jobs where a top handle just won't do. November 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Multi-purpose Saw Ever! I have used this saw for over a year now with both the 20" and 25" bars. I have used Husky saws and Stihl saws for over 30 years now and hands down the MS362CM is the best all around saw I have put in my hands---fast cutting, light for the power, starts so easy, balance is very nice, and just flat fun to run. I am also a big fan of the MS241CM.Anyway, happy cutting folks! November 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by plenty of power, easy to start, runs great, 20" bar is perfect Got a great deal from salida true value on this saw. The build quality is very good and the anti vibe features work well. My saw is very powerful and cuts through the pine and aspen I use for firewood incredibly fast. I did have a problem after about two tanks of fuel, however. There was a problem with the m-tronic carb. I took the saw back to my dealer and it was repaired the next day no questions. The dealer replaced the carb with a new one and problem solved. A friend of mine has a similar husky and is jealous of my stihl. High quality tool I'll have for years. Very happy with my purchase. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid product I've loved my MS361 for years, and I recently had an experience that made me realize how staunchly Stihl stands behind their products. After multiple repetitions of the same problem, I contacted the company, and they paid for a full root-cause analysis of the oil system and all necessary repairs. Before this, I had been considering purchasing a new saw from another company, but after this, I'll stick with Stihl for the long haul. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 362 Great saw for what 95% of us out there need. I have owned 3 stihl saw's, so far. 290 farm boss, 192t, and 362 c-m. it is just a tad lighter than the 290 farm boss but with my 25 inch bar, it keeps the weight balanced. This saw needs at least 3 good hours of low/mid/high rpm break in. I noticed my oiler wasn't giving me what i wanted to see on my chain, so i cranked it up to the max. I now am able to run a 25 inch bar and turn the chain by hand and see drops, (tiny) but still visible drops of oil on each cutter. Yellow chain. I am unsure if the "Green label" chain has different oiling properties. If the dealer you get it from doesn't tell you, make sure you run through 2 good logs then re adjust chain. When it comes to starting, it's almost as fun as running the saw. Very easy saw to start. Just remember you don't need to give these saws gas when starting, Ever. Love the power, it rips through everything 12-15 inch wide. hard, or soft wood. I've cross-planned 35 inch rounds with this saw. If you're looking for a "advanced user" limbing saw. If you will be moving around a lot while cutting big logs, this is the one. If you're going to be cutting big logs and staying mainly in one spot, get yourself the 660. The air cleaner is very easy to clean on the newer saws as well. High flow paper mesh type, high quality. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best saw I have ever owned! This was a step up from my MS 250 - which is also a great saw. I like how easy the MS 362C-M is to start. I'm able to do anything needed with this saw on my 5 acre (mostly all hardwood) property. I particularly like the way it is constructed with metal covers on both sides vice the plastic on other models. The weight to power ratio is excellent. This is truly an all day saw. Well worth the investment! October 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The product is a great saw for moderate use The saw has decent power for its size and cuts well. The problems that we have encountered with it, is that it needs to be warmed up very well to keep running. If not, it will keep dying on you. Also, not being able to adjust the carb without taking it into a dealer is very cumbersome and very inconvenient. After about 25-30 hours on it, we had to take it in and have the dealer reset the tuning adjustments. We have another 40-50 hours on it again, and it is starting to need adjusting again. When it is adjusted right and working it does great though. October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I purchased the saw to try out the new M-tronic and the 660 was a little heavy while felling smaller trees. The power and the response of the saw is great in all conditions. I have had a few instances when the saw didn’t want to hot start. This has only happened a few times. I primarily use the saw for felling and keep a 20 in bar on it and it runs great. It will spin a 24 in no problem. For its size it is a great saw. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use I have used about every chainsaw made. I have a 044 that has been my favorite for years, 13 lbs and power to spare. I cut firewood every day. Bought a 362c easiest starting saw ever, light weight, good power (not quite 044 though ). When I am going to the woods I grab the 362c now! September 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is great!! Starts 1st pull, eats thru big logs effortlessly, no vibration, not heavy at all. Spend a little extra and get this saw! September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable saw Great saw. Has all the power that one could ask for. Starts easy and comfortable to use for extended amounts of time. Only 1 complaint I was using it on a hot humid day and I turned it off for a couple minutes when I went back to start it up it did not want to start. So I let it sit in the shade for a while then went back and it started right up. It only happened once so I am not too concerned about it. Great Great chainsaw. Would recommend it to anyone. September 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Monster chain saw! ;) Hi, my name is Jasper and I'm from the Netherlands.I have been cutting big trees for 13 years now.Stihl has always delivered, but the Stihl ms 362 C-M is by far the best saw for the work I do. I cut big Elm/Poplar/Oak trees, usually around 130-150 cm in diameter and my 362 C-M never fails. It starts with a cold and a warm engine, always. The 362 C-M even handles perfect with a 63 chain bar.Nothing bad to say about this saw...Hope to keep using this saw for a long time! August 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I wanted to love this saw The MS362CM seems like it should be a great saw, but my experience with it has been disappointing. It cold starts quickly every time, like a dream. However, it absolutely refuses to start warm. No matter what I do, it will not warm start. I have to wait until it cools off, and then it starts right up. No, I have never flooded it either.The m-tronic system seems like a great addition, but my particular unit not only won't warm start, but it also loses almost all its power once it heats up. Yes, that's right, once it heats up, it just bogs down in the timber and won't cut hardly at all. I realize that it takes several tanks of runtime to break in the engine and meet full torque, but this is ridiculous and can't be the problem. Basically, it cuts like a charm when cold, but once up to temp it loses most of its power and then won't restart if I turn it off.I'm not sure if I'd buy another Stihl again. :( July 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can say enough about this saw. Buy a professional saw if you can. I had always owned other brands saws in the "farm or homeowner" size, because I only use for a small farm of 7 acres, and for cutting some firewood. I was needing a new saw and a friend told me to step up to a Stihl professional saw. It will be the best money you ever spend to make your life easier. Was he ever right!!! I bought this saw with a 20 inch bar and cutting wood has changed forever. Starts great no matter the weather, it's not heavy like a big saw, it and goes thru trees like a hot knife thru butter. I can't say enough on how good this saw is. July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems like a great chainsaw so far I have been cutting firewood for over 50 years and this saw seems to be an excellent choice for me.I cut hard maple,soft maple,yellow birch,white birch and anything else that gets in the way.I have used many brands and this is the first Stihl saw for me and I do like it so far,I have had it for a short time and it seems to cut very fast and is easy to start and handle.I will have to see how it is doing in a year or more,that will be the real test,test of time. June 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a great saw So far it is a great saw. Easy maintenance and cleaning. Runs well. The only slight against it is often the saw will not start when warm (maybe 50% of the time), because the intake is too rich (not using the choke). To start it when this happens, I have to hold the trigger partial throttle with my foot to clear the rich fuel from the intake. I need to contact the dealer and see if there is something that can avoid this. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and Quick Cutting This saw even sounds powerful from the first time it's started. It starts very easy and cuts through large hardwood with little effort. May 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Computer makes it unreliable I bought a bunch of these saws for highly demanding, production-mode cutting. Initially I was very impressed by the torque - I'd compare it to a 441! Our people run these saws at least 7 hours per day, varying in elevations and temps. After a month or so most of the saws got real finicky, requiring resets of carb, etc. We took them in last fall to have them looked at and the local dealer was great - adjusting the carb as I've read online. They worked well for a month or so, but even resetting the comp. it still gets to the point they won't run worth a darn. I love the brand and have used them for over 20 years, but this model is a disappointment, at least with the computer controlled aspect of it. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new MS 362 C-M I had been looking at this saw for a couple years but couldn't justify the purchase until I was about 1/2 way through a grapple load and my trusty 029 had problems, major problems. My 029 was in for at least a clutch, oil pump, hoses, worm gear just to see if I could get it working again. While the parts were on order I pulled the trigger and came home with a new toy. Wow! I've had my 029 for 19 years and couldn't be happier with it. With Stihl quality I expect to get at least 19 out of the 362. Slightly heavier than the 029 but it creates wood chips in no time. It tears through the wood. I cut mainly oak and maple and was a breeze to finish cutting up my grapple load. I haven't had it for very long but so happy I made the purchase. I did get my 029 back together with Stihl parts so now I'm on the fence about selling and keeping only the 362. I've had one saw for 19 years not sure I need two.. The 362 has great balance. I love the toolless fills for gas/oil and the nuts embedded in the side cover is a good idea. A tank of gas took me a lot farther than the 029 so I would say the 362 is pretty efficient compared to my old saw. I think I'll take the recommendation from the Stihl dealer and put the premix stuff in for storage but run fuel from the pump while I'm working it. Saw is very pricey but as long as it provides me with years of dependable service I don't mind spending the extra for a pro quality saw. When you compare the specs, hard to beat this saw. April 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poor oiler I am not at all pleased with this saw, got it new an cranked the oiler to the max cuz of reviews I read an the dealer assured me that wasnt a problem. Took the saw out an filled it with fluids an checked to make sure it was oiling. An then proceeded to use it an I didn't even finish a tank of gas An the oiler didn't oil as it should for a saw this expensive. An the bar is starting to burn due to lack of oil. I deff wouldn't recommend this saw. Spend the extra 200 an get the ms 441then u will have a real saw April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by i really like the wrap around handle. bought the saw and when I got home the first thing I noticed was that it had a 28 inch bar.. by all that I read it was only supposed to run up to a 25 inch bar.called Stihl and got great help in answering all my questions.This is my 3rd Stihl Chainsaw034036proMS362 C-MStihl Gas Blower BG 56 CI cut up to 10 cords of firewood a year and have always been happy with the performance of my Stihl chainsaws. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its great! It makes the cut" The saw cuts 20 inch oak like butter. It's a good saw, lightweight and my hands don't hurt after use of it. Strongly recommend it. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw insane power This saw was bought to be a replacement and step up from my old 029 that had been turned into a 039-390 and this thing is a lot more powerful and a fair amount lighter I got a great deal on it with a 16" bar which is a bit small for this saw but with that thing it will cut as fast as you can push it. Tons of power had a fellow farmer run it and he went and got one a few days later. I have run about 12 tanks in it so far and wounded why I waited so long to get a pro saw. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features! ITS A JOY TO RUN, CAN GO OUT IN THE MORNING AND RUN IT ALL DAY LOG April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Invictus I recently upgraded saws from a 391 to the 362. I can say that the quality of the product can be identified immediately. Less weight and more power than the 391. The 362 was a no brainer. The blade cover on the 362 is aluminum in contrast to the 391's plastic. A three position switch; choke, run and off for the 362 that is directly related to the m-tronic engine management system. The 391 relies on the old school adjustment screws on the side of the engine; as a result, a four position control switch is needed for full choke, half choke, run and stop. Doesn't seem like an issue just a different starting system. The m-tronic system is like a really nice improvement over the 391, simple and easy to use. With a 25 inch bar the 362 can tackle all the pine and white oak on my 10 acres and then beg for more. Excellent product, I cannot say enough good things about this saw. April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs to be corrected before I would recommend purchase. This saw is definitely made with good parts, but it has a horrific design flaw. The oiler must be the same one they put in their electrical saws because it simply does not oil. The bar shows burns after the first use and you will go through blades tremendously fast. I read reviews where people recommend putting a 460 oiler in the saw immediately after purchase. I suggest Stihl starts doing this. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I have utilized Stihl saws for over 20 years. My Stihl 024 and 036 are still serviceable. I purchased this saw to replace the 036. I am satisfied with the saw. It has so far exceeded expectations. Excellent power and cutting speed. No maintenance, so far. Excellent starts and cutting power. No complaints. Great product. Thank you Stihl. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by More plastic, less power I bougth the MS362 to replace a 30yo 56cc saw from a different manufacturer. Despite the advertised 59cc, after 3 1/2 cords and a gallon of fuel the Stihl's power has yet to match the 30yo saw. The Stihl floods & doesn't start more often than any chainsaw I've ever used (yes, I'm following all of the directions in poorly-written users' manual). Due to a stingy/lethargic oiler with minimal adjustment the Stihl's bar is already showing premature wear. I'm so disappointed with the MS362 that I'm now rebuilding the [other make of saw]. February 14, 2015
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips