Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 110reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to beat a stihl pro saw Bought the 362 to replace a aging 036 pro. I'm impressed that the new saw has as much or maybe more power with what seam like twice the fuel efficiency even running a 25" bar. Hate to spend that much but you do get what you pay for!!! March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very pleased I bought this saw last winter for taking down and bucking Ash trees, it performed flawlessly and with the carbide blade it was even better. It starts super easy no matter the weather conditions. My only complaint if you can call it that is the oil fill cap, and is the same on my 260 pro, there has to be a better way than these caps, it is inevitable that you will think it is locked down and it won't be. March 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS 362 C-M Love it! I've had the MS 362 C-M for about a year now and it replaced a MS 029 purchased in 1996. Starts right up and tears through cutting chores. What a difference between the two saws and I loved my 029 Farm Boss. Stihl is not a cheap product to begin with and the MS 362 is pricey but if I can get a similar 19 years of use of it I'll be very happy with the price tag I paid. March 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great upgrade Have two MS 290's with 18 @ 20 inch bars. They cut just fine with no problem l, great machines. I wanted an upgrade with a 25 inch bar to handle some bigger rounds but didn't want to break the bank in doing so. I decided on the MS 362 and couldn't be happier, great saw with plenty of power. The little extra money over the MS 391 is worth it hands down. Just a better built machine. You do get what you pay for. Very happy with it. I run it with the skip chain and it rips through the rounds. If you need a small upgrade and a starter into the professional saws grab a MS362! March 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beast!!! Starts easy, tons of power, makes short work of any cutting. Stihl is the only brand I "wood" trust. March 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw This is a fantastic saw, with lots of spare power. Using it with a 20inch bar. Wish I'd bought this 30 years ago rather than the other brands i've bought. Easy to start, easy to use, cuts through 20 - 24 inch diameter oak, like cutting through butter. March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Saw I was on the fence about whether or not to purchase this saw or one a little bigger and was also hesitant about the new m tronic as I have not ran one before. I get into big wood from time to time and after running it for a week and about 15 tanks of fuel later this saw was a decision I'll never regret. I was hesitant about its power to turn the 25 inch bar I bought with it but I am running a yellow rs full skip chain and this thing cuts like crazy and never thinks twice. It has always started easily and is hands down the best saw I've ever had and that's been quite a few from several pro model manufacturers. I now have 3 pro model stihls and am getting another one of these saws soon. Also I have to give it to Conway Farm and Home. If you are in Arkansas they are far beyond the best dealer I have ever dealt with. Their guy on the sales floor knew everything I asked even a few things I expected him not to as well as knew all the saw chains they carried, what they had in stock, and what every chain number meant. Will never buy from anyone else again. Also great service department March 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great performer I had the choice of an MS362 and an MS311. The side by side comparison was difficult as the are similarly equipped. I chose the 362 just because I intend on keeping it forever. I bought it to clear my property and I am not a pro. To my old big box chainsaws there is no comparison. This saw ate all of the trees in my yard to include a 28" sweet gum. The beauty is this saw is capable of doing that much everyday. Glad I paid the extra 200 for a saw I will eventually put in my will. Mike March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by awsome saw great saw bought it last year ran it all summer ran it in -46c saw never gave me issues for start up or anything highly recommend this saw ive convinced about 5 people to go out and buy a stihl the saw just chew through anything I give perfect weight to power ratio February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality I bought a 362 to replace my 290. There's nothing wrong the 290 it's just about 10 years old and I needed a bigger saw to cut some trees out of a property line. I will keep the 290 to trim with Now about the ms362 what a saw. Great saw typical Stihl runs good starts good plenty of power. After reading some bad reviews, I can't help but wonder if it's not the person running the saw? Mine's great. Most of all built in the USA February 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good all purpose saw I purchased this saw from a local dealer, based on reccomendations from several coworkers. Was going back and forth between this and a MS660, and glad I did. easy to maintain, will comfortably run a 28" bar with full skip chain which makes cutting limbs for firewood much easier not bending down. Aside from the occasional hard start when the engine has been running for a while, it saves me on average 2-3 tanks of propane per year and more than paid for its self in the first season. Just keep up on maintainence and run ethanol free fuel and Stihl 2 stroke oil, it will just keep chips flying. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power and Fuel Efficient Been using this 362 for 2 and a half months now, and runs great has lots of power for good size solid Ceder and Juniper trees here in the Northwestern New Mexico area. The M-Tronic really helps when i cut at elevations of 5750 and another day cutting at a elevation of 7600. cant wait to compare to a Family member's 391 come tree thinning time at our Ranch January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very capable chainsaw This chainsaw is easy to operate and well balanced with the 20" bar. I would definitely recommend this chainsaw for anyone who cuts a lot wood. January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome saw I was reviewing between the 391 and the 362. Leaning towards the 391 because of the price it was most likely going in the truck. So I started reading the reviews on thie 362 and really only saw pro and no con comments. The 391 basically was underpowered by the comments I was seeing and wasn't pro standard witch means alot to me. So I sprung for the more costly 362 but let me tell you my jaw was on the ground at how well it did on the first tank of fuel with know hiccups at all I mean it did more than I ever expected, now with that being said this was with a 18 inch bar but got them to put me a rapid super chain on it but I do believe a 24 wouldn't hurt it at all. Cutting oak, hickory.and beach. January 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL saw I bought the 362 just a year ago. Mine has a 20" bar and is 1 of my 5 Stihl saws. I have 2 Stihl 026's...one of them I bought new in 1994. The saw still runs like a champ!!! All i have done to the saw was to replace the bar, buy more chains and add gas & oil.The 362 is my "in between" saw. When looking at the stats, I didn't know if it was going to offer much more performance over my old 026's. Belive me, It DOES!!! The 362 is very light considering performance. My bigger saw is a 1994 038 magnum with a 24" bar. This old saw STILL runs extremely well. My point is that Stihl products are extremely reliable and are built to last. I know that my new 362 will still be running long after I am dead and gone!!I have a little over 65 acres of hardwoods. I usually cut between 5 - 8 cords of wood each year. When I take off to cut firewood, I ALWAYS take 1 of my old 026's and the 362. It REALLY shines when I get to tree branches which are over 10" in diameter. So, if you are looking at an "in between" saw, this will make a great addition. When I get to tree's over 20" in diameter, I pull out my old trustworthy 038 mag. That saw burns a lot of gas, but melts through those big logs lightning fast. The 362 is just an excellent choice. If you only want to own 1 chain saw, this could very well be the best compromise saw for you. This is a GREAT choice. It has excellant power to weight ratio l. I could not be more pleased. January 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 362 is a beast! I use this saw for firewood while camping. This is by far the beast all around saw on the market as you can run a 16" bar all the way up to a 25" bar. I bought mine with the 25" bar and do not plan on changing it. My buddies all have smaller 16" and 18" saws and it takes them forever to produce the wood needed to camp for a week, this saw will do the job on one tank of gas.After reading some of the reviews below and seeing some had issues with carb adjustments and flooding, I bought the saw anyway and glad I did! Read the manual, change the carb setting to warm weather or cold weather depending on temp you are running it in. If I need to turn the saw off for whatever reason and then restart, I do not push the compression release in, starts on the first pull every time.If you don't mind paying for a quality product, this is your saw!!! December 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Best saw I have owned great saw starts every time and has awesome power for size December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great medium sized saw Cut with the MS 361 in Alaska, and ran a firewood crew for 3 years in the middle of the woods in Washington. We had a stash of a 261, 3- 362's and 4- 460's. The 362's were always what I trained my people on due to their ease of use and dependability. Stout enough to get beat up while training and still continue to cut through just about anything, easy to diagnose and fix and enough power to run a 25" bar with a full-skip chisel chain with ease. and certainly quite easy to maintain.Held its own with big brother (the MS 460).My only complaint about this saw is that its a bit light (weight) when running a large(r) bar. Certainly has the power to do it, just requires a bit more ergonomic effort. Found the MS 460, which is obviously heavier, to balance better when cutting with something 25" and above.That said. I've found the MS 362 is a great all-around, go-to, saw for the price. I recently purchased one for my home (bit over kill for sure), as I know the investment will last me for a long long time.Do yourself a favor: get this saw. December 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable saw I have ever owned I have owned a 362 for 3 or 4 years now and love the power to weight ratio. It is a fast cutting saw and has been the back bone of my tree service. Light enough to use in the tree when the wood gets too big for a top handle. I prefer to use a 25" bar with it, but I have put a 36" bar on it when a Larger saw was acting up. If I could only have one saw, this would be my first choice. November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Speedy saw I am a carver and due to my Christmas tree carvings suddenly becoming in demand this year I needed a saw that would speed up the initial shaping process my small ms 150 that I use for detailing just couldn't handle doing long angled rip cuts at any kind of speed but the ms 362 absolutely flys through anything rip cut or not I'm chuffed it has easily halved the initial shaping process. November 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My go to saw I own a small east Texas tree service and own 13 stihl saws ranging from the ms192tc to the ms660 and this is my favorite. Pound for pound easily the best i own. Saw starts 2nd pull every time. It's even better light enough to climb with for bigger jobs where a top handle just won't do. November 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Multi-purpose Saw Ever! I have used this saw for over a year now with both the 20" and 25" bars. I have used Husky saws and Stihl saws for over 30 years now and hands down the MS362CM is the best all around saw I have put in my hands---fast cutting, light for the power, starts so easy, balance is very nice, and just flat fun to run. I am also a big fan of the MS241CM.Anyway, happy cutting folks! November 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by plenty of power, easy to start, runs great, 20" bar is perfect Got a great deal from salida true value on this saw. The build quality is very good and the anti vibe features work well. My saw is very powerful and cuts through the pine and aspen I use for firewood incredibly fast. I did have a problem after about two tanks of fuel, however. There was a problem with the m-tronic carb. I took the saw back to my dealer and it was repaired the next day no questions. The dealer replaced the carb with a new one and problem solved. A friend of mine has a similar husky and is jealous of my stihl. High quality tool I'll have for years. Very happy with my purchase. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid product I've loved my MS361 for years, and I recently had an experience that made me realize how staunchly Stihl stands behind their products. After multiple repetitions of the same problem, I contacted the company, and they paid for a full root-cause analysis of the oil system and all necessary repairs. Before this, I had been considering purchasing a new saw from another company, but after this, I'll stick with Stihl for the long haul. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 362 Great saw for what 95% of us out there need. I have owned 3 stihl saw's, so far. 290 farm boss, 192t, and 362 c-m. it is just a tad lighter than the 290 farm boss but with my 25 inch bar, it keeps the weight balanced. This saw needs at least 3 good hours of low/mid/high rpm break in. I noticed my oiler wasn't giving me what i wanted to see on my chain, so i cranked it up to the max. I now am able to run a 25 inch bar and turn the chain by hand and see drops, (tiny) but still visible drops of oil on each cutter. Yellow chain. I am unsure if the "Green label" chain has different oiling properties. If the dealer you get it from doesn't tell you, make sure you run through 2 good logs then re adjust chain. When it comes to starting, it's almost as fun as running the saw. Very easy saw to start. Just remember you don't need to give these saws gas when starting, Ever. Love the power, it rips through everything 12-15 inch wide. hard, or soft wood. I've cross-planned 35 inch rounds with this saw. If you're looking for a "advanced user" limbing saw. If you will be moving around a lot while cutting big logs, this is the one. If you're going to be cutting big logs and staying mainly in one spot, get yourself the 660. The air cleaner is very easy to clean on the newer saws as well. High flow paper mesh type, high quality. October 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best saw I have ever owned! This was a step up from my MS 250 - which is also a great saw. I like how easy the MS 362C-M is to start. I'm able to do anything needed with this saw on my 5 acre (mostly all hardwood) property. I particularly like the way it is constructed with metal covers on both sides vice the plastic on other models. The weight to power ratio is excellent. This is truly an all day saw. Well worth the investment! October 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The product is a great saw for moderate use The saw has decent power for its size and cuts well. The problems that we have encountered with it, is that it needs to be warmed up very well to keep running. If not, it will keep dying on you. Also, not being able to adjust the carb without taking it into a dealer is very cumbersome and very inconvenient. After about 25-30 hours on it, we had to take it in and have the dealer reset the tuning adjustments. We have another 40-50 hours on it again, and it is starting to need adjusting again. When it is adjusted right and working it does great though. October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I purchased the saw to try out the new M-tronic and the 660 was a little heavy while felling smaller trees. The power and the response of the saw is great in all conditions. I have had a few instances when the saw didn’t want to hot start. This has only happened a few times. I primarily use the saw for felling and keep a 20 in bar on it and it runs great. It will spin a 24 in no problem. For its size it is a great saw. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use I have used about every chainsaw made. I have a 044 that has been my favorite for years, 13 lbs and power to spare. I cut firewood every day. Bought a 362c easiest starting saw ever, light weight, good power (not quite 044 though ). When I am going to the woods I grab the 362c now! September 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw is great!! Starts 1st pull, eats thru big logs effortlessly, no vibration, not heavy at all. Spend a little extra and get this saw! September 14, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips