Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 362 C-M

The MS 362 chainsaw plus our exclusive STIHL M-Tronic™ engine management technology.

MS 362 C-M
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 76reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems like a great chainsaw so far I have been cutting firewood for over 50 years and this saw seems to be an excellent choice for me.I cut hard maple,soft maple,yellow birch,white birch and anything else that gets in the way.I have used many brands and this is the first Stihl saw for me and I do like it so far,I have had it for a short time and it seems to cut very fast and is easy to start and handle.I will have to see how it is doing in a year or more,that will be the real test,test of time. June 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a great saw So far it is a great saw. Easy maintenance and cleaning. Runs well. The only slight against it is often the saw will not start when warm (maybe 50% of the time), because the intake is too rich (not using the choke). To start it when this happens, I have to hold the trigger partial throttle with my foot to clear the rich fuel from the intake. I need to contact the dealer and see if there is something that can avoid this. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and Quick Cutting This saw even sounds powerful from the first time it's started. It starts very easy and cuts through large hardwood with little effort. May 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Computer makes it unreliable I bought a bunch of these saws for highly demanding, production-mode cutting. Initially I was very impressed by the torque - I'd compare it to a 441! Our people run these saws at least 7 hours per day, varying in elevations and temps. After a month or so most of the saws got real finicky, requiring resets of carb, etc. We took them in last fall to have them looked at and the local dealer was great - adjusting the carb as I've read online. They worked well for a month or so, but even resetting the comp. it still gets to the point they won't run worth a darn. I love the brand and have used them for over 20 years, but this model is a disappointment, at least with the computer controlled aspect of it. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new MS 362 C-M I had been looking at this saw for a couple years but couldn't justify the purchase until I was about 1/2 way through a grapple load and my trusty 029 had problems, major problems. My 029 was in for at least a clutch, oil pump, hoses, worm gear just to see if I could get it working again. While the parts were on order I pulled the trigger and came home with a new toy. Wow! I've had my 029 for 19 years and couldn't be happier with it. With Stihl quality I expect to get at least 19 out of the 362. Slightly heavier than the 029 but it creates wood chips in no time. It tears through the wood. I cut mainly oak and maple and was a breeze to finish cutting up my grapple load. I haven't had it for very long but so happy I made the purchase. I did get my 029 back together with Stihl parts so now I'm on the fence about selling and keeping only the 362. I've had one saw for 19 years not sure I need two.. The 362 has great balance. I love the toolless fills for gas/oil and the nuts embedded in the side cover is a good idea. A tank of gas took me a lot farther than the 029 so I would say the 362 is pretty efficient compared to my old saw. I think I'll take the recommendation from the Stihl dealer and put the premix stuff in for storage but run fuel from the pump while I'm working it. Saw is very pricey but as long as it provides me with years of dependable service I don't mind spending the extra for a pro quality saw. When you compare the specs, hard to beat this saw. April 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poor oiler I am not at all pleased with this saw, got it new an cranked the oiler to the max cuz of reviews I read an the dealer assured me that wasnt a problem. Took the saw out an filled it with fluids an checked to make sure it was oiling. An then proceeded to use it an I didn't even finish a tank of gas An the oiler didn't oil as it should for a saw this expensive. An the bar is starting to burn due to lack of oil. I deff wouldn't recommend this saw. Spend the extra 200 an get the ms 441then u will have a real saw April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by i really like the wrap around handle. bought the saw and when I got home the first thing I noticed was that it had a 28 inch bar.. by all that I read it was only supposed to run up to a 25 inch bar.called Stihl and got great help in answering all my questions.This is my 3rd Stihl Chainsaw034036proMS362 C-MStihl Gas Blower BG 56 CI cut up to 10 cords of firewood a year and have always been happy with the performance of my Stihl chainsaws. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its great! It makes the cut" The saw cuts 20 inch oak like butter. It's a good saw, lightweight and my hands don't hurt after use of it. Strongly recommend it. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome saw insane power This saw was bought to be a replacement and step up from my old 029 that had been turned into a 039-390 and this thing is a lot more powerful and a fair amount lighter I got a great deal on it with a 16" bar which is a bit small for this saw but with that thing it will cut as fast as you can push it. Tons of power had a fellow farmer run it and he went and got one a few days later. I have run about 12 tanks in it so far and wounded why I waited so long to get a pro saw. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has great features! ITS A JOY TO RUN, CAN GO OUT IN THE MORNING AND RUN IT ALL DAY LOG April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Invictus I recently upgraded saws from a 391 to the 362. I can say that the quality of the product can be identified immediately. Less weight and more power than the 391. The 362 was a no brainer. The blade cover on the 362 is aluminum in contrast to the 391's plastic. A three position switch; choke, run and off for the 362 that is directly related to the m-tronic engine management system. The 391 relies on the old school adjustment screws on the side of the engine; as a result, a four position control switch is needed for full choke, half choke, run and stop. Doesn't seem like an issue just a different starting system. The m-tronic system is like a really nice improvement over the 391, simple and easy to use. With a 25 inch bar the 362 can tackle all the pine and white oak on my 10 acres and then beg for more. Excellent product, I cannot say enough good things about this saw. April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs to be corrected before I would recommend purchase. This saw is definitely made with good parts, but it has a horrific design flaw. The oiler must be the same one they put in their electrical saws because it simply does not oil. The bar shows burns after the first use and you will go through blades tremendously fast. I read reviews where people recommend putting a 460 oiler in the saw immediately after purchase. I suggest Stihl starts doing this. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I have utilized Stihl saws for over 20 years. My Stihl 024 and 036 are still serviceable. I purchased this saw to replace the 036. I am satisfied with the saw. It has so far exceeded expectations. Excellent power and cutting speed. No maintenance, so far. Excellent starts and cutting power. No complaints. Great product. Thank you Stihl. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by More plastic, less power I bougth the MS362 to replace a 30yo 56cc saw from a different manufacturer. Despite the advertised 59cc, after 3 1/2 cords and a gallon of fuel the Stihl's power has yet to match the 30yo saw. The Stihl floods & doesn't start more often than any chainsaw I've ever used (yes, I'm following all of the directions in poorly-written users' manual). Due to a stingy/lethargic oiler with minimal adjustment the Stihl's bar is already showing premature wear. I'm so disappointed with the MS362 that I'm now rebuilding the [other make of saw]. February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior power! I have been cutting wood for over 20 years and have recently purchased an MS 362. It is by far the best saw I have ever owned. SUPERIOR power, easy to start and dependable! I heat with wood and this saw has made my yearly wood cutting tasks much easier! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed and Excited! Wow... that is my reaction to this saw! I have used my fathers 036 Pro for about 10 years now and finally decided to buy myself my own saw. I did a lot of research before deciding to look at the MS 362 C-M went to the local dealer and walked out with it.Yesterday I really went and put it through the paces and WOW I am really Impressed by the Power the fuel usage and light weight of the over all saw. I was cutting aside my dad and with his 036 and I used less fuel and cut bigger logs faster and easier! very happy with this saw and I am excited to go out tomorrow and cut more! Have about 6 hours into cutting with it and it started great ran great and just kept wanting more wood. Cutting mostly high altitude Hemlock 16"-20" Its a Beast of a saw!Thank you January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw the best of both worlds This saw is the best of both worlds being both fuel efficient and very powerful. it always is very reliable and would recommend it to anyone looking for a rugged and dependable saw. January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super power in light package! Just the best. Took it out today feel four large trees in no time compared to my stihl 311.2 tanks of gas can't wait to use it tomorrow! January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Innovation's finest I've previously purchased three farm and ranch saws for firewood production and couldn't have been happier with the little extra I invested to get this saw. From the dealer firing it up to using it in the mountains, this thing starts easier than my truck. My dad tried it and refuses to use my MS 391 because of the MS 362's power and ease of use. I ordered the MS 362 with a wrap handle, extended chip deflector, and double spikes.The M-Tronic chip allows the saw to run at optimum performance no matter what condition you're working in or around. Altitude, dirty filter, or extreme cold are literally no match to the technology. Because of this saw, I'm tempted to purchase another professional saw just to have two constantly working in the woods. I've purposely not cleaned the filter to test the claim that STIHL makes about the M-Tronic chip--THEY'RE RIGHT!!!Only purchase this saw if you love the coupling of technology and rugged performance. Not for the novice woodcutter or homeowner. At 4.7 horsepower, make sure you tackle the large diameter trees... January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Huge step up from a MS290 Used my 20" Farm boss for years felling and bucking trees on my property. Now that I purchased a wood furnace and cutting firewood weekly, I wanted to be more productive without sacrificing weight. MS290 is good but even after a muffler mod it lacks the power in larger hardwoods. The 362, what a step up! 20" full chisel is unstoppable. I am going to find a larger bar to switch as needed. This destroys my buddy's Ms310 also with a muffler mod. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw I made a lot of sawdust with my old MS-210C but with the 362 I am now making mulch. The 362 chews through wood at an astounding rate. If you value your time and have a bit of wooded property to clear then this saw won't let you down. The 362 is about 3 or 4 times faster through a log than my old saw yet weighs less than 3 lbs more. January 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by alot of power carb no good I am a bucket operater and climber and the company i work for has bought a few of these saws and after about two months of use all of them wont idol and u have to squeez the throttle wile pulling to get them to start saw has great power for its size but tje new carb is junk December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great All Around Saw If you had just one saw this is it. I've used Stihl saws for 30 years big and small. First Stihl was an 028 Super that still runs like new. Use 046 and 660 for bigger wood. I first got a 362 as a near new used saw just because of a great deal. WOW was I suprised!! The great power, light weight and anti-vibration make this awesome saw a pleasure to use all day. I recently upgraded to the 362 CM with the M-Tronic.This is my first Stihl with the new M- Tronic. I haven't used this much yet but really like it and very responsive. I always use a case and ethanol free gas with Stihl Ultra Oil in all my Stihl products. When I need parts or service its great that friendly professionals are as close as nearest Stihl independent dealer. Dont even think about getting this at the big box stores. December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw Got this saw in July. First tree I fell was 24" lodge pole pine. Lining up the sights it dropped right on the mark, then ate though the rounds. I have cut fire wood for over 30 years this is the best saw I have owned. If you are looking for a new saw and cut a lot of wood spend the extra money and buy a Pro saw (you'll be happy you did). December 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect saw In 2003 I purchased an MS290 and that saw has cut cord after cord of wood faithfully. But recently the thought of a new saw with more power has come to mind. After doing much research it looked like the MS362 was the best choice. After running the MS362, I realized that I had made the right decision. Frankly that saw blows the doors off the MS 290. What used to take hours to saw now takes very little time. Firewood cutting is a joy again. I run a 20" and a 25" bar with a full skip chisel chain (33RSF) and the MS 362 pulls that chain with either bar no problem. The MS 290 could not. The greatest feature that the MS 362 offers is not its power, weight or good looks, but something else. I have been in construction for 21 years and my hands are beat up. After running the MS 290 for an extended period my hands would go numb. I just thought it was something I would just have to live with. But what a great suprise to find that the MS 362 does not do that to my hands. It is the spring and cable antivibration system. It really works and that makes the MS 362 the perfect saw. Thanks Stihl. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best saw we own We have never used any saws but Stihl and never will. We bought this saw 4 years ago and never had a problem. It takes a long time to warm up in the cold, but nothing big. Has lots of power and is great quality. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Molst awesome saw ever Probably the best saw ever!!!! At least the best saw I've ever seen. A little slow and heavy but still awesome!!! I know it now you know it. November 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stihl MS362C is simply awesome This is the best chainsaw I have ever used. It cuts through monster oak trees like butter. It runs great and is very powerful. I am very glad that I decided to spend a little more and purchase a Stihl professional series instead of settling for a consumer level brand. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by TONS OF POWER! Friends and family mostly use the 391 and told me I should have gone with the 391. That was until they used the 362. They all agreed that the 362 will run circles around the 391. More power, lighter, less vibration. Naturally more money. The 362 runs the 25" bar very nicely, and has unlimited power with any smaller bar. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good power to weight ratio. Love this saw. I have only run 3 tanks of fuel through it so far, but has good power and should even get better once it is broken in. Its a pound heavier than my 23 year old 034 but I can't tell any difference when cutting, weight wise. Its as easy to start as my MS180 easy start is, I haven't tried the compression release valve yet and don't know if I ever will, at least not until I get older. I took off the cover for the air cleaner to brush off the air filter and there was nothing there to brush off, (cutting green hemlock). I did most of the cutting with a 20 inch bar and a few cuts with a 25 inch bar, which the 362CM handled just fine. October 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>