Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 261 C-M

The same great MS 261, but with advanced STIHL M-Tronic™ technology for optimized performance in various conditions.

MS 261 C-M
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 54reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power to weight ratio! In Oregon we have big trees! This saw has no problem keeping up with the work our ranch requires.Starts great and eats through Maple, Ash, Alder and evergreens!Non-ethanol fuel is a wise choice! August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I bought this to replace my 026 that still runs but is tired (21 years). I like using a 16" bar and non-safety chains. This saw does not bog down. I am cutting red and white oak and it goes through them easily. The decompression button is a nice feature for easier pull on starting August 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw! I am not an experienced chainsaw operator, but I have a sizable lot of forested land and needed to buy a saw to clear access roads and clearings. Most of the trees I am cutting are softwoods, and most have no more than a 10 inch diameter. I have been using the saw for about three months now, for about 25-30 tanks of gas, and it is an amazing cutting tool, as it rips through everything I put in its path, including the occasional hardwood.In purchasing the saw, I let the salesmen up-sell me the Stihl Pro-mark helmet, the hard plastic one with a face screen and ear protection attached, and I can't tell you how many times it has already kept my head scratch and bruise free. It's a great little piece of gear, and I would highly recommend it for anyone cutting in tight brushy areas. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you would want in a saw The MS 261 C-M is everything I needed in a saw. Its reliable and gets the job done every time. I am clearing trees for a driveway and a area for our home to be build. I highly recommend spending the extra money on the MS 261 C-M. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw: Easy to start, has good power, and isn't too heavy to run all day. Have about 25 hours on my 261cm now and it runs flawless. Bought it at Runnings in Monticello MN and they really make buying a saw a breeze. They represent the Stihl name the right way. Great service, Great Product. June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to start. Starts with no effort at all. Got mine with a 20" bar. Still light enough to use for an average period of time without feeling like an exhausted weightlifter. I do have a smaller saw for limbing. Should be the last saw I need to buy. I am a homeowner using it for personal cutting; not a professional. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Over all Saw I have owned numberous saws. This is Hands down the best performance/ Weight. saw I have ever Owned. Its not to bulky to run all day long. and is powerful enough to drop a fairly Big tree. Without needing a Really big saw.I bought this year's ago. And all I do is put gas in it and Oil. and Run the Snott out of it. Always starts good, Hot or Cold. Old Gas dont seem to be a issue at all either. If your looking to Update your saw. I would get this One.I got rid off all my other's and Only have this one now. With 2 Bar's and 4 chain's.I am dangerous with this saw. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power to weight, and balance As a guitarist, I know right. But weight matters because at the end of the day I need to play and not be vibrating from working in the woods. The advanced anti-vibration system lives up to what I expected. I can spend a day running this saw and have absolutely no upper body fatigue whatsoever. I find it to be well balanced, and have enough power to do what I need to have done.Starting is a breeze, no second guessing. It starts as soon as it fires.Daily maintenance is performed and without much effort.You'll be glad if you add one of these saws to your quiver. I am waiting patiently for the new 441. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mean Machine This chainsaw rocks! It'll eat through anything you put in front of it. Just keep the chain sharp and you'll be slinging rooster tails of saw dust behind you. But seriously this is the most powerful saw in the lightest configuration out there. As close to perfect as it gets. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get What you Pay For I was looking very seriously at the 311 for use around my property and had thought about the 261 but didn't know if the added cost was really justified since the bar is already pretty high for the Farm and Ranch saws. While I don't run a saw every day, I do need it frequently enough to warrant buying a good one that I can trust. While at my dealer he showed me the pro features that set their pro saws apart from the rest. This, with the great power-to-weight ratio of the 261, was enough to convince me to spend the extra coin for the 261. On 1st use it became abundantly clear that this was a very wise choice. Some have suggested that it's a bit small to pull a 20" bar, but this has not been my experience at all as it plows through red oak and maple with no problem. I've only got 2 tanks of gas through it thus far but I can already say without reservation that this is one of the best tool buying decisions I've ever made. Starts up easily, and with the M-tronic system in play I can't see how anyone could possibly flood it. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice All Around Say I have had this saw for a few months now and I am impressed with its ease of starting compared to some other Stihl saws I have owned. The Mtronics is great. I had the 261 and let my dad have it because he needed a replacement. I really enjoyed that saw so I replaced it with the 261 C-M. The performance difference with the M tronic is night and day. I have a reagular 441 and now am thinking to upgrade to the M tronic version of that or possibly the 661 C-M. I am sold on the M tronic. This saw is light enough for being an all around saw if you are not looking for to big of a cut. I have a 18 inch bar on this and it is a fast cutter. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite saw. This saw is great. I've been using this to clear fields of honey locust, hickory and cedar 8 hours a day since purchase and it is a joy to use. This is the perfect size saw for around the farm. Can easily fell 16" trees all day. Has no lack of power and is really easy on the hands. My only critique is that the oiler is stingy at factory setting. Using the default "E" setting just doesn't oil the bar enough and the chain tends to get really hot and dry. For me, setting the oiler to just below maximum solved the issue and I haven't had trouble since.This is by far the best saw I've ever owned. The M-Tronic was the key selling point for me. You can hear the computer calculating mix right on start-up which I think is cool as can be The saw just never dies at idle regardless of temp. I was surprised at how simple and elegant the m-tronic system's design is. It is basically 3 wires and 2 sensors with a solenoid in the carb connected to a simple ECM that is powered via the magneto. So cool! March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things have changed.... I am an avid Stihl user! I use Stihl products professionally for park and forestry work. However, I was extremely disappointed with this saw! After my new crew pored straight gas in my MS260 pros last year, I needed a replacement. With MS260's being discontinued, I settled for two MS261c's. They have both been a pain since day one. First of all, they run really hot and have since their first major use. All the metal on the both saws have this iridescent sheen to it from heat. Even the little rubber piece the sprocket sits on melted. Second, the saw has problems starting. I'm used to this from older saws, but brand new saw, no. The saws generally start up just fine the first pull and run well; however, once the saw is shut off it is really difficult to start again. It floods quickly too. Really inconvenient when you run a saw all day. Other in my industry has purchased this saw and had the same complaints. I love Stihl, but not sure whats going on with this saw! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent saw, very light and powerful very versatile saw for anyone needing a a saw to several things from felling 20 inch trees to limbing trees. I highly recommend this saw with its adjustable oiler for the chainsaw and many other pro features. You regret this purchase!!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around strong performer Purchased in the fall, and I've taken down about 25 trees, ranging in diameter from 6 to 18 inches, with it now. Starts easy, runs strong and doesn't stall. Seems to be getting stronger with more use. I spent more than hoped to get this saw but am glad I did, as I expect it to last a long time. Great tool! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong compact and fuel efficient! I have borrowed many saws before purchasing my own and many other brands sold in the box stores do not come close to the reliability the ms261 cm has. I find the anti vibration system on this saw helps me from becoming fatigued and I no longer have issues with my hands going numb from use at the end of the day. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection? I have owned several Stihl chainsaws over the years from an 0-26, MS250, MS260, MS-261. The features and performance of my current MS260, make it as close to the perfect saw as I have ever come across. The weight to power ratio is better than any saw I have ever owned. In the four years that I have owned this saw it has been extremely reliable. Cutting approximately, nine or ten cords a year for my home heating purposes. The only part I have ever had to replace has been the chain! The air cleaner design is excellent! The anti-vibration feature is superb! I enjoy cutting with this saw so much, that I hope I never have to replace it.If you are going to own ONE saw, that you need to be able to do all of your cutting tasks....Then look no further, because you will not find a more capable and versatile saw than the MS-261....It is a winner! January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant features and durability After doing countless hours of research on which saw to buy, I choose the MS 261, and am I ever happy I did. Amazing power for a 50cc saw. Just a well balanced and designed saw. I can see were this saw will be worth just as much as I paid for it in 15 years time. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by powerful and awesome chainsaw in all my years doing wood this MS 261 C-M is everything they say light and powerful,i purchase it last week and don't talk to me about any other saws ,this baby as it all,i wish i had purchase the one long time ago,i own ms 290 ms 251 ms 170 and this is the one that will follow me from now on ,the MS 261 C-M as my ms 290 beat all way around December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stihl Have had several Stihl models, 025s, 028s and was presented this one as a retirement gift. I LOVE my 025's(had 2) and thought I might never use the 261 but after I tried it out, WHAM, what's not to love about it ? It doesn't feel heavier but you can sure feel the power difference. The easy start is awesome as I'm not getting any younger/stronger. It cuts through the biggest and hardest timber and seems effortless...its now my "go-to saw", often leaving the 025/028s at home; I'd take one saw for felling/bucking and one just for limbing, not anymore the 261 is powerful enough - yet light enough to do both. Awesome choice for any person who chooses to heat with wood. October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really excellent, smooth, powerful saw! Bought a MS 261 C-M, with 20" bar and full-chisel chain, a few weeks ago and have been using it to fell and buck (cut up) quite a few trees on our property. Most of the trees have been in the 18" to 24" category with some larger and some smaller. All are oak or hickory and about a third of them died a year or so ago from a bad drought we had. So this is some pretty tough cutting. This saw is a hoss! It has made quick work of these trees, cutting them down to firewood lengths.I'm impressed with the power-to-weight ratio of this saw. This is important to me since I'm nearly 60 y/o, so the weight of a saw concerns me more than it used to. I really like the compression release for ease of starting. Didn't think I would want it or use it, but once I did a couple of times, I'm glad I've got it, especially since I had shoulder surgery few years ago. That compression release makes this powerful saw easy to start.A couple of other things I like about this saw are 1) how smooth and effective the anti-vibration system works, and 2) how well balanced and ergonomically efficient the design of the saw is. I have another saw (not Stihl) that is more powerful than this one, but after a half a day of running it, I'm worn out. After 4 or 5 hours of running this MS 261, I even feel better than I did running one of my smaller, less powerful saws (also not Stihl).Also, since I've been cutting both dry and green wood, it's nice being able to easily turn the chain oiler up for the dry wood and down for the green wood.My only problem with this saw is that I wish I had bought one much earlier. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light to work with I have used Stihl chain saws for decades.. From the old 090 and 64 models of the 70's and the 460 and 260 pro series of late.. I like this ms261.. It is light and starts first pull EVERY time…. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around chain saw Had a ms 250 but needed something with a little more power . The ms 261cm is lightweight and has the extra power I was looking for . The decompression valve makes starting very easy . August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Saw With Plenty of Power After 38 years it was time to replace my faithful 1976 041 Farm Boss. After many questions, I settled on the MS 261 CM. It has a smaller engine than my old 041 but the lighter weight was an attractive feature (14.5 lbs vs. 17.5 lbs with 16" bars). The first task was to cut up the 23" diameter white oak trunk sections (left by the tree service) into stove lengths. The MS 261 CM did fine using about half throttle. I noticed the absence of vibration (and fatigue). Cutting was reasonable fast and more enjoyable. I appreciated the lower fuel consumption and the pre-stretched chain required minimal adjustments despite the heavy cutting of those oak trunk sections. The engine started, idled and ran beautifully with no adjustments required! Now, with about 6 hours on the saw, the engine is running stronger even with less throttle. This saw has more than enough power. It is a worthy successor to my old 041! August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cuts and handles like a dream. For the homeowner who wants more power to weight then the prosumer saws with the legendary Stihl durability and reliability, the 261 is the way to go. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A hard starter Great saw, awesome power, Some good features. My only complaint is it is a hard starter. Can take 10 or more pulls to get it to start.. It would be nice to have a prime pump. something to get fuel to the carburetor. With the funny controls on the "start" control you never know where you are too much fuel or not enough. . July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Power & RPM for it's size Decompression button saves your shoulder while starting. Honestly, this is NOT anything like my little "EasyStart" MS180 BC-E to get started, but the decompression button really does help out by reducing pulling effort during start-ups. Saw runs and runs... until fuel runs out. This unit will flat out cut some wood! Try installing the carbide chain on 20 inch bar as that combo works very well. I always use the Stihl silver 2-stroke mix (each bottle makes a gallon). June 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by 10 weeks old already been back to shop I would not recommend buying as it seems to unreliable it seems very hit and miss when starting. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite saw...... I had an 028 for many years and when it finally gave up (after 23 years) I opted for the 261. Our hiking trail asssociation had a grand task, clearing 24,500' of trail #seven sections involved# after a tornado hit our PIne Mountan Trail in FDR State Park #GA# in April of 2011. I got the 261 the first week after the tornado and we went to work. The association also bought two new 290's as did my brother. Although they cut great too, I found I could run longer on a tank of fuel than them by far, and cut faster and my saw was somewhat smaller and lighter and with the anti-vibe fear...more comfortable to use. We bought them all with 18" bars #with 3/8 chains.# . The 261 is a running "mochine". Starts easy. Clean up is easy and the saw is well made. The round air filter is easy to remove and clean. One thing we found to keep all our Stihl units running well is we ONLY use NON-ethanol midgrade gas. Also using the new silver can synthetic oils. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This small saw has features that are normally found on bigger pro saws. This is a great saw. I put a 20" 3/8 bar and chain on it and it was like a different saw. The air filter is a major improvement over the old flocked filter. I've got a bigger Stihl for felling big stuff, but this is the saw I run the most. I've had 026's and MS260 but this is the best of that class. When you know how they are made you will buy a Stihl. May 14, 2014
<<prev2 3next>>