Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 261 C-M

The same great MS 261, but with advanced STIHL M-Tronic™ technology for optimized performance in various conditions.

MS 261 C-M
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 69reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw! I'm 55. Been using saws since age 12. Moderate to heavy use on a 3 acre wooded lot. I've owned most, if not all, major brands in the last 30+ years. This is the best saw I've ever owned. Starts easily. Powerful. Holds a chain adjustment. Good on fuel. Easy to maintain. I plan on keeping my other Stihl (251) so my neighbors can borrow it instead of my 261! March 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw from a great name I live at 10,000 feet on a mountain. I use wood as my primary heat source, so needless to say I use a lot of firewood. I had been using cheaper saws of varying brands, but found that I spent more time getting them to work than working. When I looked into getting a professional saw I referred to my father who was a commercial logger in the Pacific Northwest for years and swore by Stihl. I purchased the 261c-m because I cut wood from all elevations from 4500-11000 feet and hate the hassle of adjusting carbs. This saw is amazing from cutting anything from 10" aspen all the way up to two 75' spruce that blew down in a friends driveway last weekend, which were both 30" in diameter. I've found that the RM3 chain on a 20" bar isn't the best setup, but just changed to the regular RM chain for the 20" bar or the RM or RS for my 18". I've cut down, limbed, bucked over 20 cords of wood in the year I've had this saw, never once has it failed to start or run as expected in temperatures from 100 in the summer to 30 below in the winter when I had a tree blow down across my drive. Great product, great accessories Stihl! You'd have made my late father proud. March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by You get what you pay for Great saw with plenty of power, and built to last. A bit lighter than non-professional saws. February 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect 2 yrs and 20 plus cords of oak. enjoyable to use with plenty of power for me. I run a 20 in bar. January 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cuts great but didn't run long For 1-1/2 tanks of fuel this saw cut like no saw, including my old Stihl 026, I've owned. Unfortunately, it then promptly quit. It turns out the electronic carburetor had failed for whatever reason and had to be replaced. My Stihl dealer managed to make this repair quickly over the holidays and my saw is back home. Hopefully, it will last 20+ years and counting like my 026.I've had 30+ years of great performance from the Stihls I own. This one, once the memory of the glitch has faded, will no doubt be the same. If Stihl makes a bad product, I haven't heard about it. January 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth operator This thing is a blast to use. Very smooth power. No vibrations are transmitted to the users hands. Air filter is a cool design. A tank of fuel goes along way. Starts without fail on the third pull. My only complaint is I wish the pro saws came with the yellow "E" bar. December 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best saw I've ever owned! Bought my new 261 at my local Stihl dealer this past fall to replace my now somewhat tired 031AV. Wow, was I ever surprised at how light it is, and the power it has! This is a saw you can use all day without batting an eye. Starts like a dream, and runs like the true champ it is. It will chew through large oak like you can't believe. My only regret is that I waited as long as I did to get it! December 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My buddy call's it my light saber! I have several other "good" saws this saw makes them all seem like antiques. It is so much further advanced than other brands new saws. It starts easy, cuts like a saw 30% bigger and has very little if any vibration to the user. I have mine outfitted with 18" bar and RS chain. It is pretty light, the power to weight ratio is astounding. I tend to use it for felling,limbing and bucking. I never had a saw with a kill switch that moved up for off but after I got used to it it's no longer a concern. Price was a little higher than some other comparable saws, but after a few tanks that is the last thing on your mind. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holy Workhorse, Batman This saw is an absolute beast. It's very easy to start, has PLENTY of power for it's size, and will help get just about any job done. I like the new digital compensating carb, and look forward to testing it further in varying climates and conditions. I actually dropped 2 trees with this saw today, and cut up about 4.5 cord (red oak and silver maple) like butter. Put almost 3 tanks of gas through it. As for aesthetics and design, I also like that the body is made of die-cast metal instead of plastic. The MS 261 CM is definitely a pro-end saw, with features abound and a disposition to get things done. Fast. It reminds me of old-school Stihl mixed with new-era technology. Home run, and well worth the slightly higher price tag associated with stepping into pro-grade saws. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Chainsaw! This saw is excellent in every way, power, ease of use, very lightweight! Way above and beyond my expectations. I Finally stepped up from another brand. It was either the ms251, ms290, or the ms261 cm. I bought up and won't look back. If you are debating between these models. Go with the ms261 cm. You won't be disappointed, It's well worth the extra money. October 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw ROCKS! I've owned many different saws through the years and this one put the others to shame. Knowing Stihl's reputation, it only took me 30 years to pull my head out and buy one, but I did it and don't regret it a bit. It goes through mesquite like a hot knife through butter and it starts EVERY time. I'll be buying an MS 661 next year for bigger projects ahead. October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go big or go home Don't waste your money on a small saw unless your only doing limbing. If your cutting firewood or just clearing wood plot go with power.I have this saw with 20" bar. I have 13 acres of hard wood. It does everything you could want. Easy to start easy to use well balanced. It is a Hoss! October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Power to weight ratio is great! I purchased my MS- 261 this spring after retiring my MS 250. It had a lot of hard use on the farm. I have used it about 25 times on different sized jobs through out the summer. I use the rapid super chains. It cuts like no tomorrow. Starts on the third pull every time. Love it. October 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with this saw Professional user and this is truly a professional saw. A super all round saw. Also own a 550xp but prefer the feel of the ms 261 in my hands. September 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw Rocks! I'm not a professional but my home sits on five acres of hard woods in Florida and when My old 33cc chainsaw that I bought at a big box store finally died I wanted one with more power. I knew I wanted a Stihl this time since owning other Stihl products has sold me on their quality. After a little research I narrowed it down to two models one being the MS 261 C-M which I ultimately chose due to the advanced features. I couldn't be happier! It is a little heavier than what I'm used to but this thing is so easy to start and use compared to my little old one I can hardy believe it. The power is incredible, it cuts like nothing I've ever used before and will cut my work time in half. I'm sure this will be the last chainsaw I ever buy! September 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power to weight ratio! In Oregon we have big trees! This saw has no problem keeping up with the work our ranch requires.Starts great and eats through Maple, Ash, Alder and evergreens!Non-ethanol fuel is a wise choice! August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw I bought this to replace my 026 that still runs but is tired (21 years). I like using a 16" bar and non-safety chains. This saw does not bog down. I am cutting red and white oak and it goes through them easily. The decompression button is a nice feature for easier pull on starting August 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw! I am not an experienced chainsaw operator, but I have a sizable lot of forested land and needed to buy a saw to clear access roads and clearings. Most of the trees I am cutting are softwoods, and most have no more than a 10 inch diameter. I have been using the saw for about three months now, for about 25-30 tanks of gas, and it is an amazing cutting tool, as it rips through everything I put in its path, including the occasional hardwood.In purchasing the saw, I let the salesmen up-sell me the Stihl Pro-mark helmet, the hard plastic one with a face screen and ear protection attached, and I can't tell you how many times it has already kept my head scratch and bruise free. It's a great little piece of gear, and I would highly recommend it for anyone cutting in tight brushy areas. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you would want in a saw The MS 261 C-M is everything I needed in a saw. Its reliable and gets the job done every time. I am clearing trees for a driveway and a area for our home to be build. I highly recommend spending the extra money on the MS 261 C-M. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Saw: Easy to start, has good power, and isn't too heavy to run all day. Have about 25 hours on my 261cm now and it runs flawless. Bought it at Runnings in Monticello MN and they really make buying a saw a breeze. They represent the Stihl name the right way. Great service, Great Product. June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to start. Starts with no effort at all. Got mine with a 20" bar. Still light enough to use for an average period of time without feeling like an exhausted weightlifter. I do have a smaller saw for limbing. Should be the last saw I need to buy. I am a homeowner using it for personal cutting; not a professional. May 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Over all Saw I have owned numberous saws. This is Hands down the best performance/ Weight. saw I have ever Owned. Its not to bulky to run all day long. and is powerful enough to drop a fairly Big tree. Without needing a Really big saw.I bought this year's ago. And all I do is put gas in it and Oil. and Run the Snott out of it. Always starts good, Hot or Cold. Old Gas dont seem to be a issue at all either. If your looking to Update your saw. I would get this One.I got rid off all my other's and Only have this one now. With 2 Bar's and 4 chain's.I am dangerous with this saw. May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent power to weight, and balance As a guitarist, I know right. But weight matters because at the end of the day I need to play and not be vibrating from working in the woods. The advanced anti-vibration system lives up to what I expected. I can spend a day running this saw and have absolutely no upper body fatigue whatsoever. I find it to be well balanced, and have enough power to do what I need to have done.Starting is a breeze, no second guessing. It starts as soon as it fires.Daily maintenance is performed and without much effort.You'll be glad if you add one of these saws to your quiver. I am waiting patiently for the new 441. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mean Machine This chainsaw rocks! It'll eat through anything you put in front of it. Just keep the chain sharp and you'll be slinging rooster tails of saw dust behind you. But seriously this is the most powerful saw in the lightest configuration out there. As close to perfect as it gets. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get What you Pay For I was looking very seriously at the 311 for use around my property and had thought about the 261 but didn't know if the added cost was really justified since the bar is already pretty high for the Farm and Ranch saws. While I don't run a saw every day, I do need it frequently enough to warrant buying a good one that I can trust. While at my dealer he showed me the pro features that set their pro saws apart from the rest. This, with the great power-to-weight ratio of the 261, was enough to convince me to spend the extra coin for the 261. On 1st use it became abundantly clear that this was a very wise choice. Some have suggested that it's a bit small to pull a 20" bar, but this has not been my experience at all as it plows through red oak and maple with no problem. I've only got 2 tanks of gas through it thus far but I can already say without reservation that this is one of the best tool buying decisions I've ever made. Starts up easily, and with the M-tronic system in play I can't see how anyone could possibly flood it. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice All Around Say I have had this saw for a few months now and I am impressed with its ease of starting compared to some other Stihl saws I have owned. The Mtronics is great. I had the 261 and let my dad have it because he needed a replacement. I really enjoyed that saw so I replaced it with the 261 C-M. The performance difference with the M tronic is night and day. I have a reagular 441 and now am thinking to upgrade to the M tronic version of that or possibly the 661 C-M. I am sold on the M tronic. This saw is light enough for being an all around saw if you are not looking for to big of a cut. I have a 18 inch bar on this and it is a fast cutter. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite saw. This saw is great. I've been using this to clear fields of honey locust, hickory and cedar 8 hours a day since purchase and it is a joy to use. This is the perfect size saw for around the farm. Can easily fell 16" trees all day. Has no lack of power and is really easy on the hands. My only critique is that the oiler is stingy at factory setting. Using the default "E" setting just doesn't oil the bar enough and the chain tends to get really hot and dry. For me, setting the oiler to just below maximum solved the issue and I haven't had trouble since.This is by far the best saw I've ever owned. The M-Tronic was the key selling point for me. You can hear the computer calculating mix right on start-up which I think is cool as can be The saw just never dies at idle regardless of temp. I was surprised at how simple and elegant the m-tronic system's design is. It is basically 3 wires and 2 sensors with a solenoid in the carb connected to a simple ECM that is powered via the magneto. So cool! March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Things have changed.... I am an avid Stihl user! I use Stihl products professionally for park and forestry work. However, I was extremely disappointed with this saw! After my new crew pored straight gas in my MS260 pros last year, I needed a replacement. With MS260's being discontinued, I settled for two MS261c's. They have both been a pain since day one. First of all, they run really hot and have since their first major use. All the metal on the both saws have this iridescent sheen to it from heat. Even the little rubber piece the sprocket sits on melted. Second, the saw has problems starting. I'm used to this from older saws, but brand new saw, no. The saws generally start up just fine the first pull and run well; however, once the saw is shut off it is really difficult to start again. It floods quickly too. Really inconvenient when you run a saw all day. Other in my industry has purchased this saw and had the same complaints. I love Stihl, but not sure whats going on with this saw! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent saw, very light and powerful very versatile saw for anyone needing a a saw to several things from felling 20 inch trees to limbing trees. I highly recommend this saw with its adjustable oiler for the chainsaw and many other pro features. You regret this purchase!!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around strong performer Purchased in the fall, and I've taken down about 25 trees, ranging in diameter from 6 to 18 inches, with it now. Starts easy, runs strong and doesn't stall. Seems to be getting stronger with more use. I spent more than hoped to get this saw but am glad I did, as I expect it to last a long time. Great tool! February 12, 2015
<<prev2 3 4next>>
  • Seasonal Landscaping Tips
  • Special Offers from Your Local STIHL Dealer
  • Guides & How-To Videos
  • Maintenance Tips