Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 201 T

“The Ultimate Arborist Saw.” For in-tree professional use only.

MS 201 T
Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 72reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great top handle saw! When i see others négatives reviews im not agree with,its to several for this saw,the news environementals laws force stihl to innove with cleans versions of our models.the problem with 201t,Is the previous model is to excellent and the résponce of engeene and quality Is superior on competition models(husqi,écho and others)and arborist work with this saw since 20 years!i work with 201t and Is excellent climbing saw,quality Is verry good and power Is good,and the air filter stay clean !my opinion the 201t Is superior at the compétition models,but the 200t have better throtle responce,but the 201t Is verry good saw and i recommends for three surgerons! August 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst saw ever! Running a large local heavy production tree service; I have come to find that this is by far the most junky "throw away" saw Stihl has ever made. This little throw away climbing saw has more issues than a cancer patient. I now have to buy 4 of these "throw away" saws to replace a single 200T. This problem is this little saw can't stay out of the shop. They must have got 1 of those fancy engineers from over at some cheaper brand's HQ which I won't name to design this saw. The old 200T was a superior saw, and I'd gladly pay double to have a new 1 of those again.Here's just a few minor issues I deal with on a weekly basis with this little throw away saw:1 They replaced the rubber garments that secure the handle to motor housing from the 200T to these stupid little springs on the new 201T. Well guess what; those little springs get all bent up in no time at all. then you get more vibration into the handle, followed by issues with the on/off cause the continuously bending springs are constantly interfering with the components inside the handle.2 It has some sort of metal plates underneath the muffler that constantly vibrate loose and cause the muffle to come loose. The old 200T didn't even have this useless item included.3 You got to either become a pro at adjusting the idle on this new saw in the field or keep lots of extras cause this little saw comes out of tune on a weekly basis.4 Sprocket- All I can saw is I never seen sprockets burn up so quick. Cheaper metal sucks!5 Cosmetic fading; never seen the housing on a Stihl saw fade and change colors as quick as this cheaply made little saw.6 E-brake builds up debris in handle real quickly causing handle to not seat in proper position.7 Takes some new funky small sparkplug and requires another new special tool to recess in sparkplug port during sprocket removal/installation.8 Gives you hours of frustration on the jobsite with new issues presenting themselves all the time. In all my years I've never thrown a saw out of a tree... Until now, at this point I know I've thrown 2 of these little throw away saws out of the tree in the past few months.I understand they want to make a cheaper product for us, but all they really did was make it cheaper for them, but continuing to charge us the same amount. I'm sorry but I'm a tree man and I need high quality products. Cheap junk that breaks easy just cost me more money. As it is most tree men live dirt floor poor already.I feel Stihl is making a terrible mistake trying to copy American and Chinese companies; making cheap throw away junky. It may boost their profit margins right now at the moment, but there is no way to measure the loss in future profits when all us tree guys start jumping ship to another brand of saw. I already quit buying Stihl saw bars more than 2 years ago.... Can't stand cheap metal. Cause what Stihl has to remember is if our only option is only cheap junk from one company or another; then at that rate I'll just go with the one with the lowest price tag. See they are missing the fact that people buy Stihl cause they want top of the line quality regardless of price. Wake Up Stihl executives! Whose making these decisions over there? July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best yet We are running the .043 14" on the 201 . this is a great saw for in the tree and he bucket. we are now using them for delimbing near the chippers. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Line Clearance I run trim saws all out of a bucket and what a disappointment this saw is we burnt it up and had to put it in the shop in a month.. I do not recommend this saw. Bring the MS200 back.. June 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The MS201 is a poor design I had to buy the ms201 8 months ago because they no longer make the T200 which I loved. The ms201 is a poor design and I would not recommend this saw to anyone. Every time I go to throstle the saw i have to feather the choke back to get the saw to rev without stalling out. The plastic in there top handle is a weak design it has broke three times in the last 8 months w normal use. I have been a tree contractor for the last 23 years and its a shame that stihl would put there name on this product. Very frustrated and disappointed! May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by MS 200 was a much more capable saw I've used the saw everyday for the past year, other than the six times I've had to put it in the shop, it is no where near the saw the MS 200 was and it is a shame that the product is no longer available. May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by no power go back to the ms200 and dont change it for another 10yrs. as an ISA climber, we need a good powerful,running climbing saw. not a saw that i have to keep reving to get it up to speed. same thing with the new 461. stop playing with the saws, leave them alone. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very impressive - cuts like a saw twice it's size. I was a little skeptical at first, especially considering the price. But it really delivers.I (and several coworkers/friends) have been using the 201 for a week now, not nearly long enough for a real test but enough to see it perform in a variety of tasks. All agree it is a very capable saw, light and very smooth running. Power is impressive for such a small saw.Used it for a bit and set it down; thought I was experiencing warm-start issues. Figured out quickly that it just needed fuel. My bad! Added gas and it fired up like a champ.Very happy. Thanks Stihl! April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice try but Fail Honestly, the design engineers at Stihl need to go back to the drawing board.Yes, in Australia Stihl may have brought the price down by 1/3, but with that came the lowering of the saw's quality by this sum or more.These are the same basic design mistakes that were made by Stihl with the MS361 when they tried to improve the MS360. You had a perfect chainsaw, then destroyed it. The same applies with MS201T, not half the saw the MS200T was. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is ideal for in tree cutting. I have looked at the MS201T for quite some time. This product is ideal for in tree cutting. Light weight; powerful & easy to handle; i.e. easy to start and maneuver. I am so pleased with my purchase. My only regret is that I waited so long to get it! April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by the new is not always better this new ms 201 is still the best out there but is nothing compared to the ms200T. I feel like i used to own a porsche and have stepped back to a nissan. still a good car but not the same.please fix this up stihl, i think every arborist agrees with me that you have gone backward with this new design.Dennis March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The MS 201T is so good I think I'll buy another one! I have had such a good experience with my first MS201T, I'm planning on buying another one this Spring! I haven't had any of the issues that other reviewers have had and I haven't had any problems at all. I run a 14" bar with a Carbide chain on mine and it has all the power my MS200T has and then some! Great saw for the serious chainsaw operator.. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good saw stock, and even better modded I bought the 201t not expecting too much of it, my first thought was the price being so high but i bought it and gave it a chance, my dealer assured me it was a good saw, just a little less responsive than the all time best climbing saw the 200t. And they were right it has alot of power once the rpms get high, but it doesn't rev up like the 200t used to. The other complaint I have about it is the bar oil cap can get a little fussy sometimes, they should have just stuck to regular caps. It is a little heavier than the 200t but I don't even notice since it is very well balenced. But open up the muffler and tune it, lean the low end a little with a 12" bar, she really rips through wood now and is almost like the 200t. Overall I'm happy with mine. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by good power go back to the drawing board on the oiler design, oil cap recess attracts debris thatgets in oil tank when filling even after cleaning before filling. I could of bought 2johnsered saws for what i paid for the ms201T. My 019T was a better design andvalue,& had enough power for climbing/trimming..... January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by no i would not buy this saw again I have been in the tree business over 25 years and used only Stihl products from blowers,trimmers,and of course chainsaws, all the way to the 088. i have had the 020t then the 200t. When the 201t was coming out i sold my last of my 200t's that i had an ungraded(so i thought) to the 201t this saw is nowhere near the 200's i had a very big diasappoinment when i started using this saw. no power or rpms to cut fast when you need to,Stihl i hope looks at these reviews and does something about it. January 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible throttle response, no power I love stihl , but they missed the mark by a long shot with this saw. Seems like there's a dead spot in the mid range throttle response, almost like the ignition is cutting out, heavier and no adjustment on the h-jet? Can be a better saw if modified, but y should you have to modify a $600 saw to make it work properly?? January 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by GARBAGE I have run just about everything that stihl makes, and this is the only machine that I have ever found that truely missed the mark. I owned six MS 200 Ts, and at the introduction of that saw I was blown away by its power, durability and reliability. What happened? I understand that new saws need to be introduced from time to time for emissions compliance, but why did stihl replace the best climbing saw ever made with this garbage? It is heavier, less powerful, more cheaply built, and more maintenance intensive than its predecessor. Climbers at the company that I work for need to bring their own climbing saws with them to work, and many were excited when this new saw came out. Now most of them realize that this was a wasted investment and have bought 192s just to have a 'capable' saw.The saw has a slower cut speed than the 200T. This problem can be remedied by placing a different sprocket on the saw, but why should we need to upgrade a saw just to make it as good as the one that came before it. I dont mind spending more money on the best of products, but why should I spend double the money on a heavier MS192. I will keep buying stihl products due to the overall experience that I have had, but when it comes to an in-tree saw, I might have to look elsewhere December 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 What happened to this company. My dealer should it is because of new EPA regulations Tough I'm taking this saw back to my dealer and try another product December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good product Stihl really made a mistake with this product i have about 35 to 40 stihl chain saws, and about 20 of them are in tree saws they are mostly all 020t and 200t which are nice products. I bought about 5 of the 201t because some of my other ones where old and i needed new ones. They are heavy and not as powerful as the older models. I wish that the 200t and 020t had never been discontinued. NEVER BUY THIS SAW IT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. I am a tree expert trust me December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 201T Great saw that has served me well as being an arborist. Alot of people claim that the 200T was better but this saw hasn't let me down yet since I bought it and that's why I depend on Stihl. It does a great job. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by i own 3 of them after you have owend this saw you will understand how much money was wasted on chainsaws of this size. this saw is what all arborists have been trying to own. its just to bad that we could never owen one for less than 600.00. so the bottom line is we v been taken. all we ever wanted was performance. but you have to spend 600.00 to 1200.00 to get it. A SHAME. December 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by As a user of Stihl products for over 20 years, I really have to say, NO WAY !!!!! I have tried many other competitors saws and never had any good luck with those which is why Stihl is my preferred brand. This new topping saw lacks the power of the original 020T and 200T that I am so used to. Had I had the foresight, I would have purchased 4 MS 200's before they went obsolete. Knowing the MS 460 is headed that way, a friend and I just ordered 7 Arctic models. YES & !!! November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by User for 2 months ! user for 2 months I am very satisfied with this new high-quality professional chainsaw, light and powerful ideal for working trees.I highly recommend it. November 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent saw I purchased my 201 T in spring of 2012. I have only had one issue with it over reving..other than that I really like the saw. I use the saw on a daily basis. I don't see what every one is complaining about the saw not having enough power. In my opinion the saw is excellent in the power range. Ijust wish there was a lilttle more room between the handle and throttle trigger. There is not much room in there to wear gloves especially in the winter. People say on this website that they have problems with them and that they dont have rev like a 200. We have run 89 octane gas all the way up to 94 octane gas and never had an issue with the saw reving up and cutting through. I have had it though where it did not idle down a few times...not sure what the issue was eventually it went away. November 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please bring back the MS200T I have owned a few MS200T saws and they've always worked well with a 12' Oregon bar and lots of power and tremendous cutting speed. We have recently bought the MS201T for one of our employees and this saw has no power compared to my MS200T! I've cut with it a few times and it makes me feel bad for the poor guy who has to use it every day. What happened? Please listen to our feedback and make a better saw already! November 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad Please BRING BACK THE 200T NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!STIHL MADE A BIG BIG MISTAKE MS 201 IS JUNK!!!!!!!!! November 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor replacement for 200T I am a loyal Stihl customer but this saw really missed the mark. I'll still continue to buy Stihl saws but this is the absolute least favorite saw I own. The throttle response mine has is terrible even after 15-20 tanks of fuel and I know of at least 5 other saws locally that have the same problem. The build quality does feel a bit cheaper than the 200, but not terrible overall. My main issue is the lack of reliable performance, especially for the price. November 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by this saw is junk This saw is under powered and made with cheep breakable plastic on the pistol grip had to replace the part twice in 6 Months. it is also heavy sthil needs to bring back the 200mst the best saw they ever made. November 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jose please please bring back the MS 200T i totally agree with the others that don't like 201T too heavy please remember that we are arborist and most of us are climbers November 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring back 200t!!! Stihl needs to go back to the drawing board!! The 200t is like part of your body when in use. It makes no sence that you would replace your best selling in tree saw without bringing your A game. Stihl needs to scramble up something fast. You could always bring back the 200t??!!! Plain and simple Stihl set the bar high maybe to high with the 200t. I am not saying the 201t is not an OK saw its just not the 200t. November 1, 2012
<<prev 23 4next>>