Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 201 T

“The Ultimate Arborist Saw.” For in-tree professional use only.

MS 201 T
Rated 2.8 out of 5 by 55reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sorry I purchased this saw. I work with cedar a lot. I have 3 other Stihl saws but was looking for a nice light saw easy to manuver around in fallen cedar trees trimming branches from main trunk. I had been looking at this saw over a few months at the local dealer. Finally broke down and made the purchase. Saw takes forever to ref up, after taking into dealer to see if there was a problem, its worse now than before. Just does not the quality of saw I expect out of Stihl. Not worth the money. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what you expect from STIHL The 201 is not half what the ms200 was. Save your money and buy something else. Constantly acts like its bogging and has no power at all. I own 23 stihl saws and run a tree business this is the worst saw I have have ever had and this is the 3rd one I have tried. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A top handle with some power First off this is my first pro top handle saw but I have used the 200t thats all the rave many times and been using 009s for years as a top handle. Overall I love this saw! It handles very well, has a lot of torque (more than the 200t) for a small saw, great on fuel, and the new chain for these are the best safety chain I have ever used!The only things I would change at first were: ONE, it takes a second to rev up. SECOND, the rpm's dont seem to be as quite as fast compared the the 200T.But I like the extra torque and better fuel consumption over the 200 so I can live with these two things. And if I cant I will port and tune it when that day comes. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best saw there is. I've been an Arborist for over 25 years and HANDS DOWN this is the best saw there is. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No other small saw compares Except for the 020T. That was the absolute best saw. Can't feel the power in the 200t and 201t, like you could in the 020. But we have no choice but to accept Stihls modifications. Believe me, alot of people feel the same way as I do. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Saw if Modified I was apprehensive to purchase the saw after reading the poor reviews. My Stihl dealer convinced me that the perceived lack of power was purely psychological. He told me that the saw had less rpm's then the 200T but more torque. So, the saw only sounds like it's weak. He talked me into buying it. Did not really have choice as they stopped selling the 200T.After firing it up and doing some light limbing, I thought the one he sold me was a dud. The difference between the 201T and the 200T is ridiculous. For seasoned climbers who are used to the fast cutting 200T, the transition can be dangerous. The 201T does not cut through wood like the 200T, so be careful when piecing down limbs.The saw sat in the truck for a few months until I read a forum about modifying it. What a difference. It burns fuel like a race car but who really cares. It cuts like a beast. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i use this saw everyday So everyone seems to hate this saw because it either doesn't have enough power or it doesn't rev high enough or some other reason but like I said I use this saw everyday and I love this thing it has great power and the saw revs good it bogs down a little when you are cutting through a huge tree but what saw doesn't I have had no issues with it breaking down one time in the last 8 months I have been using it I don't climb but I'm in a bucket all day and it works just fine for me February 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice clean saw but low power This saw really disappointed me compared to my current 200T's. I realize emissions and fuel efficiency are important but you can't sacrifice power. A 200T is any tree service's money making saw. Fuel efficiency is great, but 30 minutes extra every job in cutting time is much more costly to the bottom line then burning an extra 20% fuel. The saw is also a bit heavier which can become strenuous because it also takes longer to make the same cut so your holding a heavier saw longer. February 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this product breaks easy I will never buy another one if you run it after two days then it breaks and cost a lot to fix it January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Top Handle This is the saw you need if you live in the tree! This is most definitely a high quality and reliable top handle. Despite the bad wrap this saw has gotten, I have not been able to find any of the flaws that other reviewers are talking about. Yes, it is not a 200t. The 200t does rev higher and faster. The 201t on the other hand has a noticeable amount of extra torque that the 200 does not have. The saw I am currently running is completely stock. I do most of my cutting in hard wood. It cuts super fast with the ps3 chain. Fairly easy on fuel. Always starts with very little effort. I love it!!! I am soo glad I bought this saw over the husky t540xp. You just can't beat the master switch found only on stihl saws. Just where you need it. Just tune the carb a little on the lean side and she is ready for action!!! December 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money I've been out of the game for almost ten years. Now I'm climbing again, and I bought a 201T, thinking it was the top of the line saw (Like the 20T back in the day). I'd rather have my 192 back! It's been ten years and I've had more problems with the 201 now than I ever had with my 192. Don't understand how a saw ten years later and twice the price can be less of a saw. On the flip side, I still have an 046 that is a total ripper after ten years so I sill have faith in Stihl just think they wiffed on the 201. I pray they didn't go down the same road on the 046 (or whatever they call it now). December 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buy 2 192ts instead I have ran a 192 for three years just having a small tree service, I bought a 201t thinking I had improved but within the six months I had it I have had more problems with it then my 192 which is a shame considering the price difference I had broke the handle much easier, fuel leaks and it seems to run with a mind of its own after a days use in the tree, It will run full bore without me giving it any throttle after a couple hours of limbing ? I have had to run my 192 to finish work today after it started not holding fuel and it isn't the cap leaking not very happy with this for being the top of the line saw there selling you on. November 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great saw (when modded) This saw is not the 200T, I know that upsets most of us. The 200T was a great saw, even better with a muffler mod and removing the spark arrestor. The 201T is being judged by most based on the previous model. Is this fair or not, I don't know. I have never run a stock 201T, I was also skeptical as most, however I found out about modding the 201T and modded it will out cut a stock 200T.; lean out the L screw, mod the muffler (cut the plastic away so it doesn't melt), and advance the timing. DONE strong running great saw. Value-wise you shouldn't have to do this to a new saw, but otherwise a great saw. Been using it a year now and it's been great. I think I should get a second. September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great top handle saw! When i see others négatives reviews im not agree with,its to several for this saw,the news environementals laws force stihl to innove with cleans versions of our models.the problem with 201t,Is the previous model is to excellent and the résponce of engeene and quality Is superior on competition models(husqi,écho and others)and arborist work with this saw since 20 years!i work with 201t and Is excellent climbing saw,quality Is verry good and power Is good,and the air filter stay clean !my opinion the 201t Is superior at the compétition models,but the 200t have better throtle responce,but the 201t Is verry good saw and i recommends for three surgerons! August 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst saw ever! Running a large local heavy production tree service; I have come to find that this is by far the most junky "throw away" saw Stihl has ever made. This little throw away climbing saw has more issues than a cancer patient. I now have to buy 4 of these "throw away" saws to replace a single 200T. This problem is this little saw can't stay out of the shop. They must have got 1 of those fancy engineers from over at some cheaper brand's HQ which I won't name to design this saw. The old 200T was a superior saw, and I'd gladly pay double to have a new 1 of those again.Here's just a few minor issues I deal with on a weekly basis with this little throw away saw:1 They replaced the rubber garments that secure the handle to motor housing from the 200T to these stupid little springs on the new 201T. Well guess what; those little springs get all bent up in no time at all. then you get more vibration into the handle, followed by issues with the on/off cause the continuously bending springs are constantly interfering with the components inside the handle.2 It has some sort of metal plates underneath the muffler that constantly vibrate loose and cause the muffle to come loose. The old 200T didn't even have this useless item included.3 You got to either become a pro at adjusting the idle on this new saw in the field or keep lots of extras cause this little saw comes out of tune on a weekly basis.4 Sprocket- All I can saw is I never seen sprockets burn up so quick. Cheaper metal sucks!5 Cosmetic fading; never seen the housing on a Stihl saw fade and change colors as quick as this cheaply made little saw.6 E-brake builds up debris in handle real quickly causing handle to not seat in proper position.7 Takes some new funky small sparkplug and requires another new special tool to recess in sparkplug port during sprocket removal/installation.8 Gives you hours of frustration on the jobsite with new issues presenting themselves all the time. In all my years I've never thrown a saw out of a tree... Until now, at this point I know I've thrown 2 of these little throw away saws out of the tree in the past few months.I understand they want to make a cheaper product for us, but all they really did was make it cheaper for them, but continuing to charge us the same amount. I'm sorry but I'm a tree man and I need high quality products. Cheap junk that breaks easy just cost me more money. As it is most tree men live dirt floor poor already.I feel Stihl is making a terrible mistake trying to copy American and Chinese companies; making cheap throw away junky. It may boost their profit margins right now at the moment, but there is no way to measure the loss in future profits when all us tree guys start jumping ship to another brand of saw. I already quit buying Stihl saw bars more than 2 years ago.... Can't stand cheap metal. Cause what Stihl has to remember is if our only option is only cheap junk from one company or another; then at that rate I'll just go with the one with the lowest price tag. See they are missing the fact that people buy Stihl cause they want top of the line quality regardless of price. Wake Up Stihl executives! Whose making these decisions over there? July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best yet We are running the .043 14" on the 201 . this is a great saw for in the tree and he bucket. we are now using them for delimbing near the chippers. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Line Clearance I run trim saws all out of a bucket and what a disappointment this saw is we burnt it up and had to put it in the shop in a month.. I do not recommend this saw. Bring the MS200 back.. June 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The MS201 is a poor design I had to buy the ms201 8 months ago because they no longer make the T200 which I loved. The ms201 is a poor design and I would not recommend this saw to anyone. Every time I go to throstle the saw i have to feather the choke back to get the saw to rev without stalling out. The plastic in there top handle is a weak design it has broke three times in the last 8 months w normal use. I have been a tree contractor for the last 23 years and its a shame that stihl would put there name on this product. Very frustrated and disappointed! May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by MS 200 was a much more capable saw I've used the saw everyday for the past year, other than the six times I've had to put it in the shop, it is no where near the saw the MS 200 was and it is a shame that the product is no longer available. May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by no power go back to the ms200 and dont change it for another 10yrs. as an ISA climber, we need a good powerful,running climbing saw. not a saw that i have to keep reving to get it up to speed. same thing with the new 461. stop playing with the saws, leave them alone. April 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very impressive - cuts like a saw twice it's size. I was a little skeptical at first, especially considering the price. But it really delivers.I (and several coworkers/friends) have been using the 201 for a week now, not nearly long enough for a real test but enough to see it perform in a variety of tasks. All agree it is a very capable saw, light and very smooth running. Power is impressive for such a small saw.Used it for a bit and set it down; thought I was experiencing warm-start issues. Figured out quickly that it just needed fuel. My bad! Added gas and it fired up like a champ.Very happy. Thanks Stihl! April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice try but Fail Honestly, the design engineers at Stihl need to go back to the drawing board.Yes, in Australia Stihl may have brought the price down by 1/3, but with that came the lowering of the saw's quality by this sum or more.These are the same basic design mistakes that were made by Stihl with the MS361 when they tried to improve the MS360. You had a perfect chainsaw, then destroyed it. The same applies with MS201T, not half the saw the MS200T was. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is ideal for in tree cutting. I have looked at the MS201T for quite some time. This product is ideal for in tree cutting. Light weight; powerful & easy to handle; i.e. easy to start and maneuver. I am so pleased with my purchase. My only regret is that I waited so long to get it! April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by the new is not always better this new ms 201 is still the best out there but is nothing compared to the ms200T. I feel like i used to own a porsche and have stepped back to a nissan. still a good car but not the same.please fix this up stihl, i think every arborist agrees with me that you have gone backward with this new design.Dennis March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The MS 201T is so good I think I'll buy another one! I have had such a good experience with my first MS201T, I'm planning on buying another one this Spring! I haven't had any of the issues that other reviewers have had and I haven't had any problems at all. I run a 14" bar with a Carbide chain on mine and it has all the power my MS200T has and then some! Great saw for the serious chainsaw operator.. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good saw stock, and even better modded I bought the 201t not expecting too much of it, my first thought was the price being so high but i bought it and gave it a chance, my dealer assured me it was a good saw, just a little less responsive than the all time best climbing saw the 200t. And they were right it has alot of power once the rpms get high, but it doesn't rev up like the 200t used to. The other complaint I have about it is the bar oil cap can get a little fussy sometimes, they should have just stuck to regular caps. It is a little heavier than the 200t but I don't even notice since it is very well balenced. But open up the muffler and tune it, lean the low end a little with a 12" bar, she really rips through wood now and is almost like the 200t. Overall I'm happy with mine. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by good power go back to the drawing board on the oiler design, oil cap recess attracts debris thatgets in oil tank when filling even after cleaning before filling. I could of bought 2johnsered saws for what i paid for the ms201T. My 019T was a better design andvalue,& had enough power for climbing/trimming..... January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by no i would not buy this saw again I have been in the tree business over 25 years and used only Stihl products from blowers,trimmers,and of course chainsaws, all the way to the 088. i have had the 020t then the 200t. When the 201t was coming out i sold my last of my 200t's that i had an ungraded(so i thought) to the 201t this saw is nowhere near the 200's i had a very big diasappoinment when i started using this saw. no power or rpms to cut fast when you need to,Stihl i hope looks at these reviews and does something about it. January 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible throttle response, no power I love stihl , but they missed the mark by a long shot with this saw. Seems like there's a dead spot in the mid range throttle response, almost like the ignition is cutting out, heavier and no adjustment on the h-jet? Can be a better saw if modified, but y should you have to modify a $600 saw to make it work properly?? January 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by GARBAGE I have run just about everything that stihl makes, and this is the only machine that I have ever found that truely missed the mark. I owned six MS 200 Ts, and at the introduction of that saw I was blown away by its power, durability and reliability. What happened? I understand that new saws need to be introduced from time to time for emissions compliance, but why did stihl replace the best climbing saw ever made with this garbage? It is heavier, less powerful, more cheaply built, and more maintenance intensive than its predecessor. Climbers at the company that I work for need to bring their own climbing saws with them to work, and many were excited when this new saw came out. Now most of them realize that this was a wasted investment and have bought 192s just to have a 'capable' saw.The saw has a slower cut speed than the 200T. This problem can be remedied by placing a different sprocket on the saw, but why should we need to upgrade a saw just to make it as good as the one that came before it. I dont mind spending more money on the best of products, but why should I spend double the money on a heavier MS192. I will keep buying stihl products due to the overall experience that I have had, but when it comes to an in-tree saw, I might have to look elsewhere December 24, 2012
<<prev2 3next>>