Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 201 T

“The Ultimate Arborist Saw.” For in-tree professional use only.

MS 201 T
Rated 3 out of 5 by 69reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by sad to see the 200 gone but better than 2 192's i have had three of these saws for almost a year and are climbers love them February 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really the worst model Stihl has ever made Find a used 200t!I own 11 Stihl professional high end products and recommend them to everyone including my clients, many own Stihl blowers!However; I would highly recommend that nobody buys this particular product as it isn’t half the saw that its predecessor the 2000t is!The specs may look good on paper; compare them on a piece of wood with a 6 year old 200t and you wont wat the 201t. Sloooow! February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ...When you need a bit more power We have used this saw daily for a year now as a more powerful option to the 192. It is a very consistent performer in all the good areas you would expect but also includes being lightly cold blooded. Being set up properly, it seems to need more warm-up time in temps below 40 degrees when compared to the 192 which seemed to always be ready to go after just a moment. If climbing to do just a few light cuts this saw will stay on the ground and the 192 goes with because you do notice the slight increase in weight. But needing to make cuts that include larger diameters the MS 201 T has enough more noticeable power to make the task quicker. We will always be looking for just a bit more power which is why the power and value ratings are only 4/5. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Setting it straight This chainsaw has nearly identical weight, balance and feel as the Ms 200T. It's power is marginally less than a Ms 200T. (measured in cut times) It's biggest down fall is noise. It's much quieter than the 200T. The sound of it's torque curve in a cut also gives the "feeling" that it looses power. It has been deemed to be cold natured. Which means if the saw isn't warm it doesn't run at full power. The problem with that is 200T users never could let a saw run and idle for long periods of time because they would carbon up the spark arrestor screen.As far as reliability goes, the 020T to the Ms 200T has had many issues such as, horrible crankshaft bearings on 020T's to Carb's on 200T's that you were lucky to get one year out of it. Antivibe mounts that fell apart from bar oil leakage, to cracked mufflers.The 201T from what I have seen has a weaker top handle that breaks easier when dropped. And the antivibe springs bend. The Antivibe standards are a European standard that Stihl uses world wide. If you don't play twister with our saw they generally don't bend though.Overall analysis, Is a 201T a 200T? No! Is it close? Yes. There are differences, but if looked at objectively, they are minor. I have sold hundreds of these saws since they came out and have had very few problems. They are a tool to make money with. And I am positive the ones I have sold are doing just that.Many problems come from a lack of knowledge, which is a dealers responsibility to educate the customer. You should expect nothing less from a dealer. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light & Powerful I should have bought this saw years ago. It weighs almost nothing, handles like a dream,and cuts through logs like a hot knife through butter. November 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money! This is hands down the worst saw stihl has ever produced! The 200 will run circles around this boat anchor, buy a used 200 off eBay or 2 192s before you waste your money on this saw! November 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I hate this saw I would not recommend this saw to any one. It has no power, constantly breaking, feels like it will break when you pick it up, I have always used stihl, but I will not buy a third one they cost to much and have no reliability. I miss the 200 and 020 October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw i have one of these in the bucket or in the tree its the only saw u need tough have drop out of top of tree rope it back up and it start and run everytime love it October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hot little saw. Only just purchased this saw. Impressive power right off the bat. If this baby increases in power the next few times I start it up like other reviewers claim, it's really going to be something. Did some limbing in the backyard and it cut through everything with ease. This saw is relatively light and should handle fine with topping jobs. I'm thinking I can do knock some small to medium trees down with it too. Love it so far. Best saw I've purchased--and I've purchased a few over the years. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light weight and balanced, easy pull rope I was having so much trouble with my lower back when I was cutting up the smaller stuff when I would drop a tree with my 039 . I carried the weight of the saw out in front of me. I would cut for fifteen minutes then lay on the ground for five minutes with lower back pain . With this saw being so light and balanced with the top handle I can cut till I am done with the tops and have not been on the ground resting my back sense I bought it. I always find my self smile when I pull the rope, pulls so easy , I do not have to stand on it or get it in a choke hold to start it, I am sure there is safety concerns about using chainsaws in one hand only, but if you are going to anyway you have to try one of these, the top handle is the difference, the back of the saw is holding up the front of the saw, it does not want to nose down. Plenty of power, low vibrations,With the newer smaller wood stoves there is a need for the one to two inch diameter wood, it is not brush anymore. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw. Longer break-in period required. There is nothing I don't like about this saw. It does take a while longer for it to be entirely broke-in. People need to have patience with the break-in period of this particular Stihl offering,...... but once it's broke-in,.... WOW. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy I love the 200t, just bought the 201t and its a let down. Heaver not as balanced as I'm used to with the 200. The first time I used it I thought I would adjust and get comfortable with it, has not happened. The saw was purchased new and I'm the first to use it. At high RPM the saw sounds like it is on a rev limiter. The run time on fuel and bar oil is less than the 200. Simply put, its not the saw I'll reach for first, and it's a lot of money to be the back up saw. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great in tree saw Have had this little guy for about 9 months and it has made me so much money in the tree. Starts every time in the tree have had no issues whatsoever. The chain that came with the saw is still going strong after about 20 trees from soft maple, ash, white pine to white oaks. cuts fast and clean. Cant say anything bad about this saw. July 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I have 2, 260 pro , 361,460 stihl saws....then their the 201. I wish I had my money back. Looking into echo June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sorry I purchased this saw. I work with cedar a lot. I have 3 other Stihl saws but was looking for a nice light saw easy to manuver around in fallen cedar trees trimming branches from main trunk. I had been looking at this saw over a few months at the local dealer. Finally broke down and made the purchase. Saw takes forever to ref up, after taking into dealer to see if there was a problem, its worse now than before. Just does not the quality of saw I expect out of Stihl. Not worth the money. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what you expect from STIHL The 201 is not half what the ms200 was. Save your money and buy something else. Constantly acts like its bogging and has no power at all. I own 23 stihl saws and run a tree business this is the worst saw I have have ever had and this is the 3rd one I have tried. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A top handle with some power First off this is my first pro top handle saw but I have used the 200t thats all the rave many times and been using 009s for years as a top handle. Overall I love this saw! It handles very well, has a lot of torque (more than the 200t) for a small saw, great on fuel, and the new chain for these are the best safety chain I have ever used!The only things I would change at first were: ONE, it takes a second to rev up. SECOND, the rpm's dont seem to be as quite as fast compared the the 200T.But I like the extra torque and better fuel consumption over the 200 so I can live with these two things. And if I cant I will port and tune it when that day comes. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best saw there is. I've been an Arborist for over 25 years and HANDS DOWN this is the best saw there is. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No other small saw compares Except for the 020T. That was the absolute best saw. Can't feel the power in the 200t and 201t, like you could in the 020. But we have no choice but to accept Stihls modifications. Believe me, alot of people feel the same way as I do. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Saw if Modified I was apprehensive to purchase the saw after reading the poor reviews. My Stihl dealer convinced me that the perceived lack of power was purely psychological. He told me that the saw had less rpm's then the 200T but more torque. So, the saw only sounds like it's weak. He talked me into buying it. Did not really have choice as they stopped selling the 200T.After firing it up and doing some light limbing, I thought the one he sold me was a dud. The difference between the 201T and the 200T is ridiculous. For seasoned climbers who are used to the fast cutting 200T, the transition can be dangerous. The 201T does not cut through wood like the 200T, so be careful when piecing down limbs.The saw sat in the truck for a few months until I read a forum about modifying it. What a difference. It burns fuel like a race car but who really cares. It cuts like a beast. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i use this saw everyday So everyone seems to hate this saw because it either doesn't have enough power or it doesn't rev high enough or some other reason but like I said I use this saw everyday and I love this thing it has great power and the saw revs good it bogs down a little when you are cutting through a huge tree but what saw doesn't I have had no issues with it breaking down one time in the last 8 months I have been using it I don't climb but I'm in a bucket all day and it works just fine for me February 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice clean saw but low power This saw really disappointed me compared to my current 200T's. I realize emissions and fuel efficiency are important but you can't sacrifice power. A 200T is any tree service's money making saw. Fuel efficiency is great, but 30 minutes extra every job in cutting time is much more costly to the bottom line then burning an extra 20% fuel. The saw is also a bit heavier which can become strenuous because it also takes longer to make the same cut so your holding a heavier saw longer. February 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this product breaks easy I will never buy another one if you run it after two days then it breaks and cost a lot to fix it January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Top Handle This is the saw you need if you live in the tree! This is most definitely a high quality and reliable top handle. Despite the bad wrap this saw has gotten, I have not been able to find any of the flaws that other reviewers are talking about. Yes, it is not a 200t. The 200t does rev higher and faster. The 201t on the other hand has a noticeable amount of extra torque that the 200 does not have. The saw I am currently running is completely stock. I do most of my cutting in hard wood. It cuts super fast with the ps3 chain. Fairly easy on fuel. Always starts with very little effort. I love it!!! I am soo glad I bought this saw over the husky t540xp. You just can't beat the master switch found only on stihl saws. Just where you need it. Just tune the carb a little on the lean side and she is ready for action!!! December 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money I've been out of the game for almost ten years. Now I'm climbing again, and I bought a 201T, thinking it was the top of the line saw (Like the 20T back in the day). I'd rather have my 192 back! It's been ten years and I've had more problems with the 201 now than I ever had with my 192. Don't understand how a saw ten years later and twice the price can be less of a saw. On the flip side, I still have an 046 that is a total ripper after ten years so I sill have faith in Stihl just think they wiffed on the 201. I pray they didn't go down the same road on the 046 (or whatever they call it now). December 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buy 2 192ts instead I have ran a 192 for three years just having a small tree service, I bought a 201t thinking I had improved but within the six months I had it I have had more problems with it then my 192 which is a shame considering the price difference I had broke the handle much easier, fuel leaks and it seems to run with a mind of its own after a days use in the tree, It will run full bore without me giving it any throttle after a couple hours of limbing ? I have had to run my 192 to finish work today after it started not holding fuel and it isn't the cap leaking not very happy with this for being the top of the line saw there selling you on. November 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great saw (when modded) This saw is not the 200T, I know that upsets most of us. The 200T was a great saw, even better with a muffler mod and removing the spark arrestor. The 201T is being judged by most based on the previous model. Is this fair or not, I don't know. I have never run a stock 201T, I was also skeptical as most, however I found out about modding the 201T and modded it will out cut a stock 200T.; lean out the L screw, mod the muffler (cut the plastic away so it doesn't melt), and advance the timing. DONE strong running great saw. Value-wise you shouldn't have to do this to a new saw, but otherwise a great saw. Been using it a year now and it's been great. I think I should get a second. September 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great top handle saw! When i see others négatives reviews im not agree with,its to several for this saw,the news environementals laws force stihl to innove with cleans versions of our models.the problem with 201t,Is the previous model is to excellent and the résponce of engeene and quality Is superior on competition models(husqi,écho and others)and arborist work with this saw since 20 years!i work with 201t and Is excellent climbing saw,quality Is verry good and power Is good,and the air filter stay clean !my opinion the 201t Is superior at the compétition models,but the 200t have better throtle responce,but the 201t Is verry good saw and i recommends for three surgerons! August 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst saw ever! Running a large local heavy production tree service; I have come to find that this is by far the most junky "throw away" saw Stihl has ever made. This little throw away climbing saw has more issues than a cancer patient. I now have to buy 4 of these "throw away" saws to replace a single 200T. This problem is this little saw can't stay out of the shop. They must have got 1 of those fancy engineers from over at some cheaper brand's HQ which I won't name to design this saw. The old 200T was a superior saw, and I'd gladly pay double to have a new 1 of those again.Here's just a few minor issues I deal with on a weekly basis with this little throw away saw:1 They replaced the rubber garments that secure the handle to motor housing from the 200T to these stupid little springs on the new 201T. Well guess what; those little springs get all bent up in no time at all. then you get more vibration into the handle, followed by issues with the on/off cause the continuously bending springs are constantly interfering with the components inside the handle.2 It has some sort of metal plates underneath the muffler that constantly vibrate loose and cause the muffle to come loose. The old 200T didn't even have this useless item included.3 You got to either become a pro at adjusting the idle on this new saw in the field or keep lots of extras cause this little saw comes out of tune on a weekly basis.4 Sprocket- All I can saw is I never seen sprockets burn up so quick. Cheaper metal sucks!5 Cosmetic fading; never seen the housing on a Stihl saw fade and change colors as quick as this cheaply made little saw.6 E-brake builds up debris in handle real quickly causing handle to not seat in proper position.7 Takes some new funky small sparkplug and requires another new special tool to recess in sparkplug port during sprocket removal/installation.8 Gives you hours of frustration on the jobsite with new issues presenting themselves all the time. In all my years I've never thrown a saw out of a tree... Until now, at this point I know I've thrown 2 of these little throw away saws out of the tree in the past few months.I understand they want to make a cheaper product for us, but all they really did was make it cheaper for them, but continuing to charge us the same amount. I'm sorry but I'm a tree man and I need high quality products. Cheap junk that breaks easy just cost me more money. As it is most tree men live dirt floor poor already.I feel Stihl is making a terrible mistake trying to copy American and Chinese companies; making cheap throw away junky. It may boost their profit margins right now at the moment, but there is no way to measure the loss in future profits when all us tree guys start jumping ship to another brand of saw. I already quit buying Stihl saw bars more than 2 years ago.... Can't stand cheap metal. Cause what Stihl has to remember is if our only option is only cheap junk from one company or another; then at that rate I'll just go with the one with the lowest price tag. See they are missing the fact that people buy Stihl cause they want top of the line quality regardless of price. Wake Up Stihl executives! Whose making these decisions over there? July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best yet We are running the .043 14" on the 201 . this is a great saw for in the tree and he bucket. we are now using them for delimbing near the chippers. June 26, 2013
<<prev2 3 4next>>