Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use

MS 251
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 56reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw My company only buys and uses Stihl products. This saw keeps up with a high work load. November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw for it;s Size I bought this saw to trim bushes the hedge trimmer isn't able to handle. But I have used it to cut trees and Big limbs it has surprising power. I opted for the 16" bar and chain to get in tight places. I am a proffesional Landscaper and my employees like the saw as well. Cranks every time. I have had saw for 4 months no problems and it runs at least 3 days a week, Stihl job well done on this one. November 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the small stuff Great lightweight saw for taking limbs down, hacking up some firewood and dropping smaller trees. It lacks the power I needed for a few things but overall great saw for around the yard. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by have only used saw once ,only had it 2 months ive only had saw for 2 months and cut one tree down with it but it handle good cut really well hardly any vibration. I would recommend this saw . November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Product, great deal, I was actually going to buy a bigger saw but was talked down into the MS251. The dealer was right. Saw cuts really well, Starts even easier. The dealer set me up with chain oil and 2 cans of fuel. threw in a case. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME SAW ! IVE HAD THIS SAW FOR ABOUT A MONTH NOW AND ITS A GOOD SAW WELL BALANCED EASY TO USE AND EASY TO MAINTAIN I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SAW TO ANYBODY LOOKING FOR A GOOD AROUND THE HOUSE OR SMALL PROPERITY OWNER October 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use. Put it to use immediately and it works great. Only complaint is the blade dulled after cutting up only six trees. Uses a lot of blade oil. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl Reputation Holds Up I purchased this saw last night going back and forth between the 270 and the 251. I opted for the smaller saw even though I have a few larger oak trees to bring down, the majority of my cutting is smaller diameter (8"-10") and firewood.The first tank of gas (from the dealer) ran a little rough but after filling up w/ new gas and running it for an hour or so, it ran like a champ cutting through dried hardwood oak without issue!Read the other reviews and the negative comments are surprising or inexperienced users?!I paid extra for the Stihl and I believe it was worth every penny! September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Automatic chain oiler has broken After about two hours of intermittent use over 4 months the auto chain olier does not work. This is the second Stihl saw I have owned in one year in which this has happened. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Actually 251C Very easy to start. Cuts trees like you're cutting thru hot butter. Have had craftsmen and poulan saws. None compare to my Stihl. August 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This saw did not started at beginning I purchase this product at Atwoods store, the product did not start up, and the store did not get it started. I have warranty, but they still want me to pay money. the saw is still brand new, and have not been use once. I am stuck with a new used chain saw From STIHL. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very happy with saw Just bought today. Saw started each and every time. Lots of power, quick cutting, light weight. For the average guy who uses the saw several times each year it is perfect.. No down sides. If you want a saw for the larger than average yard, some fire wood cutting, lots of land clearing, pruning etc, this is a perfect saw. Power to weight ratio is awesome. Very low vibrations, my hands no longer tingle when I am done sawing. The saw is simple to maintain. If you have been waiting to upgrade an old saw to get the latest features this is a perfect saw. I upgraded a 10 year old craftsman. It had no chain brake, no vibration dampening, and low power. This saw weighs only one pound more, way more power, much less vibration, cuts soooo much faster. Sum it up like this. I used to cut wood because I have to. Today I cut wood because its fun. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great after minor adjustment Had trouble starting after first day's use. Returned to dealer who made minor adjustment to stop flooding. Works great now. Highly recommend this product and my dealer. July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I bought this chain saw and was extremely excited as it was my first Stihl product. I brought it home and could not get it started. I brought it back to the dealer and they advised that these saws flood very easily that once they flood you have to let them set for awhile. This would have been good information to relay during the purchase!!! I still have the saw and curse everytime I try and start the darn thing. Stihl needs to add a primer bulb to their saws like on the weed wackers. I would not recommend the Homeowner 250 models to anyone. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My awesome 1st saw I absoulty love this saw, went a little crazy cutting some nuisance trees, of course this is easey to do once you fire this beauty up. Glad I went with this over the 180. Didnt mind it at all that I got the model without the easy start, started up with three pulls. If you are thinking about getting this saw dont think twice and get it. It will probaly do more than you would ever really need it for as a home owner saw. June 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very hard to start I have used a new MS 251 four times. Each time it is very difficult to start. It also does not idle well. May 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME SAW! I love this saw glad i spend a little extra the first time. The price i paid actually wasnt very much considering i will probabaly be giving this saw to my son in 20 years. I love the easy start recoil assist pull start and the toolless chain adjuster! Do it right the first time get a STHIL!! May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Starts first pull and has great power for its size May 2, 2013
<<prev 23