Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use

MS 251
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 72reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by would not waste my money again! Saw is way under powered. Saw has not had 3 tanks of gas through it and the bar brake or clutch locked up tight. first thing out of resourse rentals in quarryville pa mouth. "The last time I saw this it was caused by idling with bar brake on." And this is not under warranty it is neglect. I have had pouland and echo for past 15 years and never had any problems like this. Actually no problem at all. Looks like time to go back to what I know works. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice all round saw I've owned my MS251 for about a month now and am very happy with my choice. My research pointed toward a 16-18" bar and about 45 cc engine, once I settled on the Stihl line for its reputed quality, parts availability, and dealer support it was then a choice between this saw or the 251CBE. I elected to go the more traditional route, and after owning it for awhile and seeing how easy it starts and simple to adjust chain tension with the scrench, don't miss the assisted start and tool-less chain adjustment features. I used the saw to cut back some overgrown shrubs and drop some smaller trees for the first couple of tanks of fuel and found it to be very well balanced and comfortable to use, definitely not too big of a saw #I got the 18"bar#. I then tackled bucking up some large #about 20" diameter# hardwood logs from storm damage a couple years ago, and the saw cut through them very easily - so the saw is not too small either. I am using the Stihl premixed fuel, and the saw starts right up, restarts easily, and runs great. Very satisfied! May 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dead and in the shop. Bought this saw to cut firewood from 3 fir trees i had taken down. Got about 4 hours of moderate use and not even a gallon of fuel through it before it died... was about 5 minutes into cutting a large tree when it died on me and couldnt restart. Cleared the combustion chamber several times with no luck... I am a firefighter so im pretty familiar with stihl saws... Was a nice saw while it worked.. lightweight and decent power. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw The ms 251 is a great saw. I received it from my father as a graduation gift from the 8th grade as I often used an axe to buck limbs to proper logs. It does a great job cutting through all types of wood, like a hot knife through butter. It has a whole lot o' power. I use it at least twice a week and it fires right up every time. The saw Is light enough I could use it all day to cut firewood. I highly recommend it to any young sawyer or anyone who wants a quality saw. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Second Saw Have a 10 year old MS290 and needed a second saw for my son to use. I have used this one more than he has. Its lighter and faster. Easier to limb with and easier on my back. March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected from Stihl Bought the 251 chainsaw to replace a 20 year old Woodboss 024. The Woodboss would start on second pull at -30 degrees or 90 degrees. Ran like a champ. Cut everything from pine to black ash to oak. This 251 is hard to start, floods easily, doesn't have the power. I've purchased several Stihl products over many years and this is the only one I can't recommend. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around saw I bought this saw for my wife to use, it's light weight and power are perfect. I tried it myself, and compared to my 390, this would make anyone a great saw for the size and money. It will keep up with the big saw and you don't get tired by the end of the day carrying around a portable sawmill. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw for the price. This saw is great for anyone other than production timbering. Lots of power, easy to handle. March 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by the bar oil pump quit on me after 2 uses the stihl ms 251 bar oil pump is located under the chain gear. it is subject to high heat and mine failed after 2 uses. Not something i would expect from stihl. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great first saw I recently bought this saw due to me needing a new saw. After research of different sizes, and brands I decided to go with the ms251, and what a good choiceI made. AnythingI need cut, can easily be cut with this saw, and the power is awesome. I recommend this to anyone February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great saw !! Easy to use, lots of power, easy to start, cuts great, all around great saw!!!! February 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This saw is average This saw does not compare to the ms250 I also have. It has less power, shortcuts in quality, and has a cheaper sound when running. I repaired my ms250 which has been a long lasting great quality saw. I bought the ms251 as a comparable saw as the ms250. I am disappointed. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with my choice for my first chain saw! This is my first saw and I use it mainly for cutting firewood. I have cut enough wood to heat my entire house during this colder than average winter and have not had any issues with this saw.You can find saws with more power and cut faster, however this saw is getting the job done for me just fine. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy starting-Excellent power for the saw weight The local dealer was very helpful and knowledgeable of the various product line saws. The MS 251 has excellent power for the weight of the saw it also starts very easy. December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a very happy camper! I bought this saw for its relative light weight (Compared to my old tried and true 029) and affordability. I couldn't be happier. my neighbor had a large hickory taken down and I asked for he wood. Well, I got a pile of wood that looked like jackstraws. The sawlog of the tree was left in sections about 15 feet long and the stump end probably about 20 inches in diameter. My MS 251 took this big wood and turned it into small wood — no problem! December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The little saw that could! I purchased my ms251 as a smaller sibling to my pro model saws (440, 362cm, 261). I do not have any complaints, so far. It has ample power for a home owner saw; well balanced, well made, and easy to start and use. It is an excellent saw for around the property or to throw in the back of your rig. Like most Stihl saws, it was set a little lean from the factory. But, with a minor adjustment it is eager to please. I look forward to many years use. December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw My company only buys and uses Stihl products. This saw keeps up with a high work load. November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Saw for it;s Size I bought this saw to trim bushes the hedge trimmer isn't able to handle. But I have used it to cut trees and Big limbs it has surprising power. I opted for the 16" bar and chain to get in tight places. I am a proffesional Landscaper and my employees like the saw as well. Cranks every time. I have had saw for 4 months no problems and it runs at least 3 days a week, Stihl job well done on this one. November 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the small stuff Great lightweight saw for taking limbs down, hacking up some firewood and dropping smaller trees. It lacks the power I needed for a few things but overall great saw for around the yard. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by have only used saw once ,only had it 2 months ive only had saw for 2 months and cut one tree down with it but it handle good cut really well hardly any vibration. I would recommend this saw . November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Product, great deal, I was actually going to buy a bigger saw but was talked down into the MS251. The dealer was right. Saw cuts really well, Starts even easier. The dealer set me up with chain oil and 2 cans of fuel. threw in a case. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME SAW ! IVE HAD THIS SAW FOR ABOUT A MONTH NOW AND ITS A GOOD SAW WELL BALANCED EASY TO USE AND EASY TO MAINTAIN I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SAW TO ANYBODY LOOKING FOR A GOOD AROUND THE HOUSE OR SMALL PROPERITY OWNER October 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use. Put it to use immediately and it works great. Only complaint is the blade dulled after cutting up only six trees. Uses a lot of blade oil. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl Reputation Holds Up I purchased this saw last night going back and forth between the 270 and the 251. I opted for the smaller saw even though I have a few larger oak trees to bring down, the majority of my cutting is smaller diameter (8"-10") and firewood.The first tank of gas (from the dealer) ran a little rough but after filling up w/ new gas and running it for an hour or so, it ran like a champ cutting through dried hardwood oak without issue!Read the other reviews and the negative comments are surprising or inexperienced users?!I paid extra for the Stihl and I believe it was worth every penny! September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Automatic chain oiler has broken After about two hours of intermittent use over 4 months the auto chain olier does not work. This is the second Stihl saw I have owned in one year in which this has happened. September 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Actually 251C Very easy to start. Cuts trees like you're cutting thru hot butter. Have had craftsmen and poulan saws. None compare to my Stihl. August 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This saw did not started at beginning I purchase this product at Atwoods store, the product did not start up, and the store did not get it started. I have warranty, but they still want me to pay money. the saw is still brand new, and have not been use once. I am stuck with a new used chain saw From STIHL. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very happy with saw Just bought today. Saw started each and every time. Lots of power, quick cutting, light weight. For the average guy who uses the saw several times each year it is perfect.. No down sides. If you want a saw for the larger than average yard, some fire wood cutting, lots of land clearing, pruning etc, this is a perfect saw. Power to weight ratio is awesome. Very low vibrations, my hands no longer tingle when I am done sawing. The saw is simple to maintain. If you have been waiting to upgrade an old saw to get the latest features this is a perfect saw. I upgraded a 10 year old craftsman. It had no chain brake, no vibration dampening, and low power. This saw weighs only one pound more, way more power, much less vibration, cuts soooo much faster. Sum it up like this. I used to cut wood because I have to. Today I cut wood because its fun. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great after minor adjustment Had trouble starting after first day's use. Returned to dealer who made minor adjustment to stop flooding. Works great now. Highly recommend this product and my dealer. July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I bought this chain saw and was extremely excited as it was my first Stihl product. I brought it home and could not get it started. I brought it back to the dealer and they advised that these saws flood very easily that once they flood you have to let them set for awhile. This would have been good information to relay during the purchase!!! I still have the saw and curse everytime I try and start the darn thing. Stihl needs to add a primer bulb to their saws like on the weed wackers. I would not recommend the Homeowner 250 models to anyone. July 2, 2013
<<prev 23 4next>>