Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws


A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 106reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Chain Saw: Decision Points Had been trimming with hand tools and hiring out bigger jobs but a couple dead trees justified finally getting a chain saw of my own. Will be selling it after moving so resale potential was a factor in selecting Stiihl and a larger model than I could have gotten by with.Opted for MS251 over MS250 based in reviews here and features like vibration dampening, better air filter. Also bought MotoMix to extend warrantee and because I no source of ethanol free gas near me, but had to get a raincheck since dealer. my local Ace Hardware, was out of stock. For that reason couldn't get them to demo the saw operation. They didn't offer one at the time of sale.I picked up some pre-mixed fuel elsewhere and returned to Ace later that day for the first start. Guy at store had trouble starting it (hard to pull compared to others he'd used) so he removed and adjusted chain bar and eventually got it started. Turned out he was confused about operation of chain brake (had it reversed and was putting on brake instead of freeing it)) so it appeared saw wasn't working at first until that got sorted out. It being my first saw I didn't know any better, which is why brought it back for the initial start-up for a demo of how to do it correctly without flooding..So much for expert advice. But once home with it it started up for me and ran with no problems, but by then it was dark and now it's snowing so the first cut wiith it is sitill somewhere in the future. November 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ms 251 has great features i expect from a chain saw starts easily , light weight ,priced right , easy on the gas November 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable The only problem I have with this saw is it only has one bolt for the bar instead of the usual two, I have a hard time keeping my chain tight or getting the chain tension right and as soon as you rev it up it is way to tight or to loose. Other than that it is a comfortable easy starting chainsaw. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product is solid performer I decided that in order to have a dependable, quality chainsaw I could count on to start, cut, and continue to run without stalling, I needed to obtain the chainsaw that professionals use. This is my first Stihl product, but will not be the last. I am very impressed with the performance and dependability of the product. The MS 251 is relatively easy to start, light weight, but heavy duty performer. My only question is; why did I wait so long to purchase a Stihl? November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the power needed for firewood. I chose this saw due to the other reviews i have read as well as having a service center within 5 miles of my home. I have only had the saw for a month but have cut a couple of chords of firewood already. It has plenty of power and is very easy to use as well as starts extremely easy. I chose this saw over another similarly priced brand due to it weighing almost 4 lbs less and i am glad i did. The only complaint i have is the chain has loosened a few times, but with it being practically brand new i am guessing it will get better with time. I am overall very happy with my purchase and sold on Stihl products! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by product is user friendly saw runs good and now starts well. had problem starting it warm for a few tankfuls.really enjoy the no primer bulb bull. have an older stihl weed eater that hadto put an older carb on to get rid of bulb to make it run have 1 weed eater and 2 chain saws and enjoy using all 3. November 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product does not have warranty to meet features First tree cut. Pinched chain few seconnds. Burned clutch.Not covered by warranty. 60 years of experience. Never saw this. BEWARE! November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by impressed Was looking for a light but powerful saw. This has both of what I was looking for. Purchased the rapid chain also and it just chews through hard wood like a hot knife on butter. Would highly recommend the rapid chain for this saw. No complaints November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong and light My brother and I had a saw to share that belonged to my AV29. We decided it was time to retire it, so we went to a two saw setup. I primarily cut brush/trim work and my brother cuts firewood. We purchased a 251 with a 16" bar and a 371 with a 20" bar. We dropped an elm that was 34" at the base and started to work. The 251 plowed through 12" limbs, in my opinion, with more power than our old 29 and felt half as heavy. I have cleared two fence rows with it and a pond bank so far. After its warmed up, it will start first easy pull every time. Its cold blooded, so squeeze the trigger a little when you first start. I run 91 octane fuel with Stihl HP premix and it seems really snappy. A joy to run! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of power Bar too short The saw has plenty of power,cuts great,starts great,doesn't leak oil and not too heavy.But for the weight and power of this saw the bar is too short.You claim it has 18"but it only has 15"of bar from the dogs.Please make a full 20" bar for it. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed for around the home Own about half acre, with a lot of trees for the size of the lot, and a good amount of old black cherry I harvest to burn in the fire place to supplement electric heat in the winter. This saw ran like a champ right out of the box. Put it to the wood, let it do the work, and don't force it, and it will preform excellent. I did use a high octane ethanol-free gas, as recommended by the Stihl dealer, who was also a pleasure to deal with. He got me the right saw for what I need to do; occasional use on small to large hardwood logs, and general trimming and yard work. Read your manual, keep it maintained properly, and it should last a life time. My dad's Stihl did. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding Can't imagine using anything else. Works like a hot knife through butter. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice.... I cut about 18 cord hard wood every October for winter chainsaw hammers thru it. Plus I cut lots during the summer. Love the saw never had any mechanical issues. October 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great power to weight ratio I really like this saw. It works great for how much I have to use it. If you you have to use it for firewood to heat your house definitely go bigger. I use it to clear storm damage on 10 acres and help friends with their firewood. My buddy has a 460 witch way out preforms mine but after an hour the weight kills your back. Also the bar retaining nut stud came out while I was in the woods and if I didn't have my Leatherman on me it could have been bad. No other problems. Fires up everytime. October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bar stud pulled out The single stud that mounts the bar pulled out after a few tanks of fuel. I didn't over-tighten it either. Its a metal stud that is pressed into a plastic case. Saw worked great up to this point. I would recommend buying a heavier duty saw or something that has two fasteners on the bar. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very satisfied Excellent all around saw for cutting firewood. Could use just a bit more power but if that meant having to lug around more weight it wouldn't be a good trade. I'm happy with it. October 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very hard to start I spent almost 2 hours this afternoon trying to start my new saw for the first time. I read the instructions several times and followed them. I am very disappointed because I did not get my project done and will have to make a trip to the dealer to find out why it will not start. Not what I expected from Stihl. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Little Saw That Could...Mostly I've put this saw to fairly heavy home use over one summer/fall and about 13 trees total, from 8" to 18" trunks. I really like its light weight for the power available; and its starting, operation & quality for a home/consumer-level saw.Initially I was not completely happy with the 251's power until I changed out the stock, anti-kickback RM chain for an RS. That has made all the difference for felling and bucking anything over a foot in diameter. Even if this is your first saw, if you research how to use it, are careful & deliberate, and get some experience under your belt, I highly recommend installing an RS chain and relegating the stock RM to backup or dirty wood.In retrospect I wish I'd sprung for a 291 or 261 with 20-inch bar. The MS 251 is a pleasure to use on smaller trees, but the work I've wound up putting it to exceeds its ideal capacity. It'll do the job on an 18-inch trunk, but not efficiently.On the other hand, for a first "real" chainsaw, the MS 251 has been a fine tool and extremely good at handling the jobs it's designed for (probably up to ~16" trees). October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above a homeowner saw ! Great chain speed ! great torque ! We are a tree outfit and these 251 saws are my best for the price low mid range saws... Great for ground work, great for tree work, Easy to clean ! Recommend cutting up to 16 inch trees.. Not enough power to handle above 16 inch... Very light !!!Stapert Tree & Forestry September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like Butter!!! This is the first STIHL product that I have purchased and have decided that I will not buy any other brand. I have had an awesome experience with this chainsaw. I am a novice chainsaw user and found it is easy to use, and it cuts everything in its path. AMERICAN made!! September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall nice saw! This is overall a nice saw and cuts well on smaller trees and cleaning up downed trees and small to medium size trees. So far my experience is the larger trees it will struggle with it is not enough power to cut 14 or so inch trees. Especially if you are use to a larger saw and using the teeth to hold the saw and let it cut. This saw cuts better with no pressure pushing down on the log and not using the teeth and pivoting up and down with the bar.It is a great in between saw if you are using a larger saw to cut down the big trees and then use this to cut them up. I will say I used it for 5 hours off and on and it cuts on and off effortlessly. My old Husky Rancher 55 would out cut but this saw is smooth and does well for its smaller size and CC. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good saw Overall good. Works well for small and largeJobs. Easily fell and cut up a 24" oak September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by plenty of power, easy to handle I owned an 025 for over 25 years, and never had any issues with it, so when I decided to get a new saw, I went with the comparable MS251, ans was blown away with how much it had improved, ease of use and power behind the saw. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, dependable saw I use the MS 251 to cut firewood for our Adirondak cabin in northern NY. We heat solely with wood and burn about 5 cords a winter. The 251 has plenty of power for this purpose, is light and dependable. I am very happy with the 251. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my first Stihl purchase, It will not be my last I love this saw Saw starts every time, has plenty of power. I've cut 12" tree's like a hot knife threw butter. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product Have enjoyed a dependable saw. Hast th e power I needed July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another GREAT product from STIHL Simply a great saw for the average homeowner. Easy to start, cuts great, and easy to maintain. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this saw I just bought this saw, but I've been wanting one for a while now. It starts easy, spins the 18 inch chain with ease. It cuts really fast, can't wait to get it out in the woods and really use it. The only thing I dislike is the one nut bar holder, wished it had two. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wood eater. I've already dropped 3 trees with this baby. The only complaint is the wood shavings fly and make a nice mess. But that's what you want from a chain saw. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Auto oiler issues I had issues from the start (March 2014) with the chain not getting sufficient oil. During my 2nd period of use froze sprocket in bar. (May 2014) I left it at the dealer and that's where it sits waiting for ??I haven't used even a gallon of fuel since I purchased it. At this point I am sorry I bought it. June 11, 2014
<<prev 23 4 5next>>