Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use

MS 251 WOOD BOSS®
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 88reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got 30 years of use out of my last wood boss The first chain saw I purchased was a Stihl Wood Boss and that was 30 years ago. After more cords of wood cut and trees taken down than I can count, I am now looking to purchase only my 2nd chain saw ever.I will get another Wood Boss and this one may last me for the rest of my life time.Great saw, plenty of power for normal residential use, quick starting. The durability of Stihl makes cost of ownership very low over the long term - which makes these saws a great value.I've purchased other products which were non-Stihl and they wear out after a few years. These days, I only buy Stihl if they make what I need. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw for the money! This was my first chainsaw purchase and it has been great! I've used many saws over the years at work and this is by far the best. I'll stay to using Stihl products for my needs. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Saw is GREAT for the $$ This is a very good saw for the money and for the average person. My only complaint is it could use a little more power but on the other hand it is very easy on gas unlike some other huskys I have used. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A real workhorse I had a 40 ft pine tree dropped in my back yard by others; and I alone cut it up with this chainsaw and hauled it away. I can't believe what this Chainsaw did. Did not break down one time. 24" trunk for a lot of the job. I did let it cool down as I went along because I worked it past what I thought was a breaking point. An incredible light weight chainsaw. What a little brute. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool. Great tool, well balanced in hand. Easy start. Plenty of power. I have used it to take down up to about a 14" caliper tree with no problem. With a sharp chain, there is no need to provide pressure, it will pull it's way through without hesitation.Minor improvements that make a big difference from my other Stihl saw (15 yrs old) is the tool free caps for the chain lubricant and fuel. I am finally able to remove with gloves on. Huge time saver!My only complaints are the single nut holding the bar and housing in place. While it makes it easier for tensioning and speed of changing chains, it has a tendency to loosen during operation. To me, with only one nut, it is a safety concern.Additionally, I have found trying to disengage the chain brake system with gloves on is cumbersome. I am unable to disengage the brake with holding the saw on the top; I have to move my hand to the side to accommodate the distance it takes to pull the hand guard back to disengage the brake. Minor complaint, more of an observation.Overall, would highly recommend; I would buy it again. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw easy to use,easy to start and i like the one nut chain adjustment. I purchased this saw 4 mo. ago. I have used it to cut down small to medium trees and whittling down large stumps to ground level clearing property it has never failed to start usually on the first to second pull it cuts through trees like butter. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has a bar oiling issue I bought this saw to replace an old Poulan I had. First time out we were cutting 12 trees for firewood. On the second tree the chain had dulled enough that it wouldn't cut any more. Upon closer examination I discovered the bar was warped as well. I shut it down and took the bar off and discovered the oiling hole was clogged by a piece of sawdust. I purchased an extra bar and chain with this unit when I bought the saw. I put them both on and fired it up again only to have the same thing happen again. These saws do not push enough oil to clear that oiling hole. Even when cleaned you can barely see any oil flipping off the chain when running. I was told that is how they are now. I now stop and clean the bar and cover between every tree I cut. Huge pain and I am not certain I would buy another Stihl due to this issue. The saw runs great and has plenty of power, its just the oiling issue that has me concerned about my purchase. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw and dealer too replaced 025 that cut mega amount of wood with 251. Stihl has dealers sell saws that are adjusted, run and ready to go to work. They show you everything and have you start it. I love the power, balance and smoothness. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Stihl saw I've owned, best saw I've ever used! I needed a saw for cutting firewood. Asked my dealer for his recommendation and he showed me this one and one the next size up. This one looked like a good deal in my price range. Man, was it ever! This thing really throws the chips! Easy on gas and bar oil. I have an 18" bar on it and it cuts better than my buddy's 061. Admittedly, his is an older saw. And my dealer is close by for service and accessories. A very good product! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slash stands no chance When I started cutting, I would use an old MS 310 to limb logs and trees. I decided to give a smaller saw an opportunity to prove its worth. It did that and more. Holding this saw for hours is SO much easier on the back and shoulders than my other saws. Not only is it light, but it keeps going and going without slowing down. I'll even start bucking with the MS 251 after limbing the entire tree!It's gas consumption is minimal without sacrificing the necessary power to make a nice firewood pile. At first I thought I would have to get a smaller saw for trimming but quickly changed my mind after the first use. An added bonus is that it's not as sensitive to altitude changes as some of the bigger saws are.I would recommend this saw to the average homeowner who needs a great combination saw for cleaning storm damage, bucking medium-sized trees, or small trimming jobs around the house. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS SAW IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR A HOME OWNER. THIS SAW IS PERFECT FOR ANY JOB. I HAVE USED IT TO CUT FIREWOOD AND FELL SOME TREES. SAW HAS GOOD POWER FOR SIZE AND IS EASY TO HANDLE. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cuts like a fat boy chomping through a corn dog!!! With the proper chain, this saw excels on any kind of wood I've encountered.I've cut 24" diameter trees without hesitation with the Rapid series chain. With a sharp chain you don't even need to apply pressure, just let the saw's own weight pull it down a big log.Light and powerful...very powerful. Just keep that chain sharp!! December 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Chain Saw: Decision Points Had been trimming with hand tools and hiring out bigger jobs but a couple dead trees justified finally getting a chain saw of my own. Will be selling it after moving so resale potential was a factor in selecting Stiihl and a larger model than I could have gotten by with.Opted for MS251 over MS250 based in reviews here and features like vibration dampening, better air filter. Also bought MotoMix to extend warrantee and because I no source of ethanol free gas near me, but had to get a raincheck since dealer. my local Ace Hardware, was out of stock. For that reason couldn't get them to demo the saw operation. They didn't offer one at the time of sale.I picked up some pre-mixed fuel elsewhere and returned to Ace later that day for the first start. Guy at store had trouble starting it (hard to pull compared to others he'd used) so he removed and adjusted chain bar and eventually got it started. Turned out he was confused about operation of chain brake (had it reversed and was putting on brake instead of freeing it)) so it appeared saw wasn't working at first until that got sorted out. It being my first saw I didn't know any better, which is why brought it back for the initial start-up for a demo of how to do it correctly without flooding..So much for expert advice. But once home with it it started up for me and ran with no problems, but by then it was dark and now it's snowing so the first cut wiith it is sitill somewhere in the future. November 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ms 251 has great features i expect from a chain saw starts easily , light weight ,priced right , easy on the gas November 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable The only problem I have with this saw is it only has one bolt for the bar instead of the usual two, I have a hard time keeping my chain tight or getting the chain tension right and as soon as you rev it up it is way to tight or to loose. Other than that it is a comfortable easy starting chainsaw. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product is solid performer I decided that in order to have a dependable, quality chainsaw I could count on to start, cut, and continue to run without stalling, I needed to obtain the chainsaw that professionals use. This is my first Stihl product, but will not be the last. I am very impressed with the performance and dependability of the product. The MS 251 is relatively easy to start, light weight, but heavy duty performer. My only question is; why did I wait so long to purchase a Stihl? November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All the power needed for firewood. I chose this saw due to the other reviews i have read as well as having a service center within 5 miles of my home. I have only had the saw for a month but have cut a couple of chords of firewood already. It has plenty of power and is very easy to use as well as starts extremely easy. I chose this saw over another similarly priced brand due to it weighing almost 4 lbs less and i am glad i did. The only complaint i have is the chain has loosened a few times, but with it being practically brand new i am guessing it will get better with time. I am overall very happy with my purchase and sold on Stihl products! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by product is user friendly saw runs good and now starts well. had problem starting it warm for a few tankfuls.really enjoy the no primer bulb bull. have an older stihl weed eater that hadto put an older carb on to get rid of bulb to make it run well.now have 1 weed eater and 2 chain saws and enjoy using all 3. November 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product does not have warranty to meet features First tree cut. Pinched chain few seconnds. Burned clutch.Not covered by warranty. 60 years of experience. Never saw this. BEWARE! November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by impressed Was looking for a light but powerful saw. This has both of what I was looking for. Purchased the rapid chain also and it just chews through hard wood like a hot knife on butter. Would highly recommend the rapid chain for this saw. No complaints November 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong and light My brother and I had a saw to share that belonged to my dad...an AV29. We decided it was time to retire it, so we went to a two saw setup. I primarily cut brush/trim work and my brother cuts firewood. We purchased a 251 with a 16" bar and a 371 with a 20" bar. We dropped an elm that was 34" at the base and started to work. The 251 plowed through 12" limbs, in my opinion, with more power than our old 29 and felt half as heavy. I have cleared two fence rows with it and a pond bank so far. After its warmed up, it will start first easy pull every time. Its cold blooded, so squeeze the trigger a little when you first start. I run 91 octane fuel with Stihl HP premix and it seems really snappy. A joy to run! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of power Bar too short The saw has plenty of power,cuts great,starts great,doesn't leak oil and not too heavy.But for the weight and power of this saw the bar is too short.You claim it has 18"but it only has 15"of bar from the dogs.Please make a full 20" bar for it. November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed for around the home Own about half acre, with a lot of trees for the size of the lot, and a good amount of old black cherry I harvest to burn in the fire place to supplement electric heat in the winter. This saw ran like a champ right out of the box. Put it to the wood, let it do the work, and don't force it, and it will preform excellent. I did use a high octane ethanol-free gas, as recommended by the Stihl dealer, who was also a pleasure to deal with. He got me the right saw for what I need to do; occasional use on small to large hardwood logs, and general trimming and yard work. Read your manual, keep it maintained properly, and it should last a life time. My dad's Stihl did. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding Can't imagine using anything else. Works like a hot knife through butter. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice.... I cut about 18 cord hard wood every October for winter chainsaw hammers thru it. Plus I cut lots during the summer. Love the saw never had any mechanical issues. October 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great power to weight ratio I really like this saw. It works great for how much I have to use it. If you you have to use it for firewood to heat your house definitely go bigger. I use it to clear storm damage on 10 acres and help friends with their firewood. My buddy has a 460 witch way out preforms mine but after an hour the weight kills your back. Also the bar retaining nut stud came out while I was in the woods and if I didn't have my Leatherman on me it could have been bad. No other problems. Fires up everytime. October 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bar stud pulled out The single stud that mounts the bar pulled out after a few tanks of fuel. I didn't over-tighten it either. Its a metal stud that is pressed into a plastic case. Saw worked great up to this point. I would recommend buying a heavier duty saw or something that has two fasteners on the bar. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very satisfied Excellent all around saw for cutting firewood. Could use just a bit more power but if that meant having to lug around more weight it wouldn't be a good trade. I'm happy with it. October 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very hard to start I spent almost 2 hours this afternoon trying to start my new saw for the first time. I read the instructions several times and followed them. I am very disappointed because I did not get my project done and will have to make a trip to the dealer to find out why it will not start. Not what I expected from Stihl. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Little Saw That Could...Mostly I've put this saw to fairly heavy home use over one summer/fall and about 13 trees total, from 8" to 18" trunks. I really like its light weight for the power available; and its starting, operation & quality for a home/consumer-level saw.Initially I was not completely happy with the 251's power until I changed out the stock, anti-kickback RM chain for an RS. That has made all the difference for felling and bucking anything over a foot in diameter. Even if this is your first saw, if you research how to use it, are careful & deliberate, and get some experience under your belt, I highly recommend installing an RS chain and relegating the stock RM to backup or dirty wood.In retrospect I wish I'd sprung for a 291 or 261 with 20-inch bar. The MS 251 is a pleasure to use on smaller trees, but the work I've wound up putting it to exceeds its ideal capacity. It'll do the job on an 18-inch trunk, but not efficiently.On the other hand, for a first "real" chainsaw, the MS 251 has been a fine tool and extremely good at handling the jobs it's designed for (probably up to ~16" trees). October 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>