Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws


A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 104reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw i have had stihl saws from 1991 was my first one and it lasted till 2011 , when the dealer said it was giveing me proplems and to just get a new one . so i bought a ms 250 and in june 2015 i lent it out to some one to use and they took off with it and never got it backso i just got this 251 and its about the same as the 250 but just a touch more power love the saw and all i got to say is gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo stihl one great saw and alwasy was a great company so buy one you will love it June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by incredible power.. doesn't wear you out! We had a couple big limbs on a huge oak tree get hit by lighting and had to clean up the back yard. the largest part that fell was probably 2 feet in diameter. my father had an ms 181 c and i did a lot with it. actually amazing how much power it has for a little saw. but when i bought a new wood boss and took on the rest of the tree it blew my mind how much more power it had and really due to the way its built i didn't get any more tired using it then the much smaller ms 181. i got the ms 251 wood boss because it just felt like the perfect size in my hand and it still in the 40-50 cc range and i didn't feel like i needed the upgraded ms 251 c with the fancy tensioner and easy start. my fathers saw had the quick bar tension deal on it and mine does not and ill tell you I'm alright with that. i felt like it kept coming loose on me and it just doesn't take that long to use the old school stud and nut method.all in all i am amazed with this saw, for the money, the power you get , and the stihl service behind it, you can't beat this saw if your felling a good size oak tree or just doing some trimming here and there. this saw won't let you down. June 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall saw. For a homeowner saw, it has good power and has held up very well. I wanted something in the 40cc''s and didn't want to dump a ton of money so I bought one in March of 13. Even with an 036 and a 461 the 251 has generally been my go to saw especially for smaller stuff and limbing. I've put a lot of fuel through it and it's held up very well during use and transport.My pros would be good power, always simple to start, good quality for homeowner saw, and super simple to tune for anyone with a little knowledge.My cons would be it's a little pricy for what it is, single bar nut, and you have to remove three captives to access the air filter but I suppose that's being a little picky. June 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to start,and handle Was given this saw as a birthday gift,this is my very first chainsaw and it really is very easy to operate,READ THE MANUAL step 1!! started on 2nd pull without any problems.going up on the family property to widen trails this saw is very user friendly,after 2 refills i checked the tension on the chain made adjustment as needed,worked for about 4 hours straight no problems at all! ms251 has plenty of power to cut all day long.I am very happy with this quality tool.THANK YOU STIHL! June 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl, the best of the best! I came from an electric chainsaw with an almost worthless manual oiler, so honestly any gas chainsaw is an improvement. That having been said, so far this is a lovely saw. What an awesome piece of equipment! I've only had an opportunity to use it once so far, but it sure was fun. My first cut with it was limbing off about a 12" section of tree. I just set it against the branch and let it do the work itself. Just like butter! Lots of power. Perhaps a little louder than I expected, but I like that about it. Hearing protection advised.I really enjoyed the experience of buying my saw from a dealer who knows about what they are selling. They answered all my questions and stepped me through the starting procedure and such. I'm sure it will be great to work with them if I ever have any issues. I will be visiting them again as I will only buy Stihl oils and products for my saw.If there is a con, it might be that it only has a two year warranty if you purchase a 6 pack of Stihl synthetic oil or a can of Stihl pre-mix fuel. The other brands offer a two year warranty without any additions such as that. But, if warranty work is required, my Stihl dealer is only a few blocks away and work will be performed in-shop as opposed to the box store saws that would get shipped off. Another reason you pay a little more for a Stihl.Overall worth the price I paid. I put four stars for value due to the price, but it is a Stihl and I expect it will last practically forever. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw! Bought this saw after looking at other brands. Glad I went with Stihl. Easy to operate and trouble free. Good power to weight. Been taking down 16" - 18" trees no problem. Well made. June 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Optimized value and performance. Quality product. This saw exhibits the quality level one expects from STIHL. Overall it performs well, having the power I need to cut trails and fall trees up to 2 feet in diameter with ease. If you are into managing recreational land for wildlife management by creating trails this saw will do all you need it too. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This chainsaw is a dream to use, easy starting, fast cutting. and very durable June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't buy a cheap saw. Stihl delivers. Plenty of power. Starts great. I thought I could get buy with a cheaper home store saw. After a while, you spend more time fussing with it than it's worth. I should've bought this saw in the first place. First thing you notice is the power & ease to handle the work. It's the real deal. May 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The saw quit running while falling a tree (second tank of gas) and has not run well since. Frequently stalls; chain loosens too easily (due to one tightening nut in my opinion), and very difficult to restart once stalled. I usually have to let it sit for 5 minutes or so. I did return to the dealer in an attempt to address the stalling issues, but they persist. I was very excited about this purchase and am very disappointed with the result. This was my first Stihl purchase; it will be my last. May 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful and lightweight I bought this saw to replace the MS290 that I've had for 12 years. The reason for the purchase was the lighter weight, I'm not getting any younger and the MS251 is powerful and easy to carry all day. May 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by quality saw I've owned many different saws over the years. This is one of the best, I cut a monster maple in no time flat. I would rate at a 5star for everything but I haven't owned it long enough for that. It is every bit as good as my husqvarna 55 rancher and puts the echo to shame. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the single bar stud, but for the price I can't complain. It does secure the bar nicely and chain adjustment is easy. A word of caution though, when refilling the bar oil with a hot saw its easy to touch the muffler when opening the cap. May 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the "top rated saw" { power to weight ratio} in all of my hours of research,for the average wood cutter. I have used your products for over thirty years and all of them still run,what a testament to your fine Company,Thank You. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be happier I owned an MS180 and that t u r d struggled to cut through hot butter. Working as a firefighter I know the power and reliability of Stihl (all of our rescue and chain saws are Stihl) so I upgraded to the MS251. I bought it yesterday and cut down a gnarly monster located about 4 ft from our house (made sure homeowners and life insurance were current) and this thing rocked. I couldn't stop it or slow it down no matter how hard I tried. The dealer fueled it with the good premix was a little older than I'd like to admit. The saw didn't like it much and told me so right away. Lesson learned. New fuel and it is ready for the next disaster I can find. May 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This saw was a D O double G. Owned the MS170 for years. Used over sized chain & bar. Ran it into to ground. Used and abused it. Fried the engine. Still the best saw I ever owned.Up graded to the MS251. (Wood Boss) The MS170 puts it to shame. The MS251 is under powered for the 18" bar. Boggs down the engine on a mere 12" elm log.Up graded to the MS271. (Farm Boss) (chessel tooth) This saw screams like a renegade banshee. Cuts through any size log I put it to without hesitation. Plenty of power to spare. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Stihl's All my dads Stihl chainsaws have lasted well over 20 years apiece! I have tried all the other brands and not 1 has lasted more than 4 or 5 years at the most! will always be a Stihl for me from now on. May 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got 30 years of use out of my last wood boss The first chain saw I purchased was a Stihl Wood Boss and that was 30 years ago. After more cords of wood cut and trees taken down than I can count, I am now looking to purchase only my 2nd chain saw ever.I will get another Wood Boss and this one may last me for the rest of my life time.Great saw, plenty of power for normal residential use, quick starting. The durability of Stihl makes cost of ownership very low over the long term - which makes these saws a great value.I've purchased other products which were non-Stihl and they wear out after a few years. These days, I only buy Stihl if they make what I need. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent saw for the money! This was my first chainsaw purchase and it has been great! I've used many saws over the years at work and this is by far the best. I'll stay to using Stihl products for my needs. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Saw is GREAT for the $$ This is a very good saw for the money and for the average person. My only complaint is it could use a little more power but on the other hand it is very easy on gas unlike some other huskys I have used. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A real workhorse I had a 40 ft pine tree dropped in my back yard by others; and I alone cut it up with this chainsaw and hauled it away. I can't believe what this Chainsaw did. Did not break down one time. 24" trunk for a lot of the job. I did let it cool down as I went along because I worked it past what I thought was a breaking point. An incredible light weight chainsaw. What a little brute. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool. Great tool, well balanced in hand. Easy start. Plenty of power. I have used it to take down up to about a 14" caliper tree with no problem. With a sharp chain, there is no need to provide pressure, it will pull it's way through without hesitation.Minor improvements that make a big difference from my other Stihl saw (15 yrs old) is the tool free caps for the chain lubricant and fuel. I am finally able to remove with gloves on. Huge time saver!My only complaints are the single nut holding the bar and housing in place. While it makes it easier for tensioning and speed of changing chains, it has a tendency to loosen during operation. To me, with only one nut, it is a safety concern.Additionally, I have found trying to disengage the chain brake system with gloves on is cumbersome. I am unable to disengage the brake with holding the saw on the top; I have to move my hand to the side to accommodate the distance it takes to pull the hand guard back to disengage the brake. Minor complaint, more of an observation.Overall, would highly recommend; I would buy it again. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great saw easy to use,easy to start and i like the one nut chain adjustment. I purchased this saw 4 mo. ago. I have used it to cut down small to medium trees and whittling down large stumps to ground level clearing property it has never failed to start usually on the first to second pull it cuts through trees like butter. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has a bar oiling issue I bought this saw to replace an old Poulan I had. First time out we were cutting 12 trees for firewood. On the second tree the chain had dulled enough that it wouldn't cut any more. Upon closer examination I discovered the bar was warped as well. I shut it down and took the bar off and discovered the oiling hole was clogged by a piece of sawdust. I purchased an extra bar and chain with this unit when I bought the saw. I put them both on and fired it up again only to have the same thing happen again. These saws do not push enough oil to clear that oiling hole. Even when cleaned you can barely see any oil flipping off the chain when running. I was told that is how they are now. I now stop and clean the bar and cover between every tree I cut. Huge pain and I am not certain I would buy another Stihl due to this issue. The saw runs great and has plenty of power, its just the oiling issue that has me concerned about my purchase. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw and dealer too replaced 025 that cut mega amount of wood with 251. Stihl has dealers sell saws that are adjusted, run and ready to go to work. They show you everything and have you start it. I love the power, balance and smoothness. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Stihl saw I've owned, best saw I've ever used! I needed a saw for cutting firewood. Asked my dealer for his recommendation and he showed me this one and one the next size up. This one looked like a good deal in my price range. Man, was it ever! This thing really throws the chips! Easy on gas and bar oil. I have an 18" bar on it and it cuts better than my buddy's 061. Admittedly, his is an older saw. And my dealer is close by for service and accessories. A very good product! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slash stands no chance When I started cutting, I would use an old MS 310 to limb logs and trees. I decided to give a smaller saw an opportunity to prove its worth. It did that and more. Holding this saw for hours is SO much easier on the back and shoulders than my other saws. Not only is it light, but it keeps going and going without slowing down. I'll even start bucking with the MS 251 after limbing the entire tree!It's gas consumption is minimal without sacrificing the necessary power to make a nice firewood pile. At first I thought I would have to get a smaller saw for trimming but quickly changed my mind after the first use. An added bonus is that it's not as sensitive to altitude changes as some of the bigger saws are.I would recommend this saw to the average homeowner who needs a great combination saw for cleaning storm damage, bucking medium-sized trees, or small trimming jobs around the house. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cuts like a fat boy chomping through a corn dog!!! With the proper chain, this saw excels on any kind of wood I've encountered.I've cut 24" diameter trees without hesitation with the Rapid series chain. With a sharp chain you don't even need to apply pressure, just let the saw's own weight pull it down a big log.Light and powerful...very powerful. Just keep that chain sharp!! December 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Chain Saw: Decision Points Had been trimming with hand tools and hiring out bigger jobs but a couple dead trees justified finally getting a chain saw of my own. Will be selling it after moving so resale potential was a factor in selecting Stiihl and a larger model than I could have gotten by with.Opted for MS251 over MS250 based in reviews here and features like vibration dampening, better air filter. Also bought MotoMix to extend warrantee and because I no source of ethanol free gas near me, but had to get a raincheck since dealer. my local Ace Hardware, was out of stock. For that reason couldn't get them to demo the saw operation. They didn't offer one at the time of sale.I picked up some pre-mixed fuel elsewhere and returned to Ace later that day for the first start. Guy at store had trouble starting it (hard to pull compared to others he'd used) so he removed and adjusted chain bar and eventually got it started. Turned out he was confused about operation of chain brake (had it reversed and was putting on brake instead of freeing it)) so it appeared saw wasn't working at first until that got sorted out. It being my first saw I didn't know any better, which is why brought it back for the initial start-up for a demo of how to do it correctly without flooding..So much for expert advice. But once home with it it started up for me and ran with no problems, but by then it was dark and now it's snowing so the first cut wiith it is sitill somewhere in the future. November 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ms 251 has great features i expect from a chain saw starts easily , light weight ,priced right , easy on the gas November 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5next>>