Find a Specific Product: Chainsaws

MS 251

A powerful and fuel-efficient chainsaw that’s comfortable to use

MS 251
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 56reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall nice saw! This is overall a nice saw and cuts well on smaller trees and cleaning up downed trees and small to medium size trees. So far my experience is the larger trees it will struggle with it is not enough power to cut 14 or so inch trees. Especially if you are use to a larger saw and using the teeth to hold the saw and let it cut. This saw cuts better with no pressure pushing down on the log and not using the teeth and pivoting up and down with the bar.It is a great in between saw if you are using a larger saw to cut down the big trees and then use this to cut them up. I will say I used it for 5 hours off and on and it cuts on and off effortlessly. My old Husky Rancher 55 would out cut but this saw is smooth and does well for its smaller size and CC. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good saw Overall good. Works well for small and largeJobs. Easily fell and cut up a 24" oak September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by plenty of power, easy to handle I owned an 025 for over 25 years, and never had any issues with it, so when I decided to get a new saw, I went with the comparable MS251, ans was blown away with how much it had improved, ease of use and power behind the saw. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, dependable saw I use the MS 251 to cut firewood for our Adirondak cabin in northern NY. We heat solely with wood and burn about 5 cords a winter. The 251 has plenty of power for this purpose, is light and dependable. I am very happy with the 251. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my first Stihl purchase, It will not be my last I love this saw Saw starts every time, has plenty of power. I've cut 12" tree's like a hot knife threw butter. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product Have enjoyed a dependable saw. Hast th e power I needed July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another GREAT product from STIHL Simply a great saw for the average homeowner. Easy to start, cuts great, and easy to maintain. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this saw I just bought this saw, but I've been wanting one for a while now. It starts easy, spins the 18 inch chain with ease. It cuts really fast, can't wait to get it out in the woods and really use it. The only thing I dislike is the one nut bar holder, wished it had two. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a wood eater. I've already dropped 3 trees with this baby. The only complaint is the wood shavings fly and make a nice mess. But that's what you want from a chain saw. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Auto oiler issues I had issues from the start (March 2014) with the chain not getting sufficient oil. During my 2nd period of use froze sprocket in bar. (May 2014) I left it at the dealer and that's where it sits waiting for ??I haven't used even a gallon of fuel since I purchased it. At this point I am sorry I bought it. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start Of all the chain saws I've had this one is the best for consist starting with no problems. Power seems to be there and strong even though it's not the must power one I've had but for the weight to power ratio it's great. June 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice saw. Bought my dad one a few years ago and he really liked it. I decided to get my self one since i recently moved to the country. I just use it for general trimming and cutting wood for my outdoor fire pit. starts easy and runs great ! If I would use wood to heat in the winter, I might bump up a size. this saw is the perfect size for my uses. had a sizable tree fall over my driveway a few weeks ago in the wind. cut through it like a knife through butter. Always heard STIHL was the best, now I have to agree. ran a few other brand saws over the years. no comparison! will always be STIHL user from now on. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around saw for home owner I bought this saw for firewood cutting a few times a year. So far this has been a great saw it's very light weight powerful and the anti vibe on this saw works great. It also is a very easy saw to start. I also like the air filtration system on this saw doesn't seem to get very dirty compared to other saws I have used. Great home owner saw. Buy it you won't be disapointed. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This saw exceeds my expectations and just flat out does the job! First, Rabalais Small Engines in Alexandria, Louisiana is the best place to get your homeowner equipment needs! Great friendly sales staff to match the quality of Stihl! The Saw worked fine cutting up a 32" diameter oak tree . Plenty of power, very little vibration. May 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by would not waste my money again! Saw is way under powered. Saw has not had 3 tanks of gas through it and the bar brake or clutch locked up tight. first thing out of resourse rentals in quarryville pa mouth. "The last time I saw this it was caused by idling with bar brake on." And this is not under warranty it is neglect. I have had pouland and echo for past 15 years and never had any problems like this. Actually no problem at all. Looks like time to go back to what I know works. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice all round saw I've owned my MS251 for about a month now and am very happy with my choice. My research pointed toward a 16-18" bar and about 45 cc engine, once I settled on the Stihl line for its reputed quality, parts availability, and dealer support it was then a choice between this saw or the 251CBE. I elected to go the more traditional route, and after owning it for awhile and seeing how easy it starts and simple to adjust chain tension with the scrench, don't miss the assisted start and tool-less chain adjustment features. I used the saw to cut back some overgrown shrubs and drop some smaller trees for the first couple of tanks of fuel and found it to be very well balanced and comfortable to use, definitely not too big of a saw #I got the 18"bar#. I then tackled bucking up some large #about 20" diameter# hardwood logs from storm damage a couple years ago, and the saw cut through them very easily - so the saw is not too small either. I am using the Stihl premixed fuel, and the saw starts right up, restarts easily, and runs great. Very satisfied! May 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dead and in the shop. Bought this saw to cut firewood from 3 fir trees i had taken down. Got about 4 hours of moderate use and not even a gallon of fuel through it before it died... was about 5 minutes into cutting a large tree when it died on me and couldnt restart. Cleared the combustion chamber several times with no luck... I am a firefighter so im pretty familiar with stihl saws... Was a nice saw while it worked.. lightweight and decent power. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw The ms 251 is a great saw. I received it from my father as a graduation gift from the 8th grade as I often used an axe to buck limbs to proper logs. It does a great job cutting through all types of wood, like a hot knife through butter. It has a whole lot o' power. I use it at least twice a week and it fires right up every time. The saw Is light enough I could use it all day to cut firewood. I highly recommend it to any young sawyer or anyone who wants a quality saw. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Second Saw Have a 10 year old MS290 and needed a second saw for my son to use. I have used this one more than he has. Its lighter and faster. Easier to limb with and easier on my back. March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected from Stihl Bought the 251 chainsaw to replace a 20 year old Woodboss 024. The Woodboss would start on second pull at -30 degrees or 90 degrees. Ran like a champ. Cut everything from pine to black ash to oak. This 251 is hard to start, floods easily, doesn't have the power. I've purchased several Stihl products over many years and this is the only one I can't recommend. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around saw I bought this saw for my wife to use, it's light weight and power are perfect. I tried it myself, and compared to my 390, this would make anyone a great saw for the size and money. It will keep up with the big saw and you don't get tired by the end of the day carrying around a portable sawmill. March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great saw for the price. This saw is great for anyone other than production timbering. Lots of power, easy to handle. March 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by the bar oil pump quit on me after 2 uses the stihl ms 251 bar oil pump is located under the chain gear. it is subject to high heat and mine failed after 2 uses. Not something i would expect from stihl. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great first saw I recently bought this saw due to me needing a new saw. After research of different sizes, and brands I decided to go with the ms251, and what a good choiceI made. AnythingI need cut, can easily be cut with this saw, and the power is awesome. I recommend this to anyone February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great saw !! Easy to use, lots of power, easy to start, cuts great, all around great saw!!!! February 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This saw is average This saw does not compare to the ms250 I also have. It has less power, shortcuts in quality, and has a cheaper sound when running. I repaired my ms250 which has been a long lasting great quality saw. I bought the ms251 as a comparable saw as the ms250. I am disappointed. February 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with my choice for my first chain saw! This is my first saw and I use it mainly for cutting firewood. I have cut enough wood to heat my entire house during this colder than average winter and have not had any issues with this saw.You can find saws with more power and cut faster, however this saw is getting the job done for me just fine. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy starting-Excellent power for the saw weight The local dealer was very helpful and knowledgeable of the various product line saws. The MS 251 has excellent power for the weight of the saw it also starts very easy. December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a very happy camper! I bought this saw for its relative light weight (Compared to my old tried and true 029) and affordability. I couldn't be happier. my neighbor had a large hickory taken down and I asked for he wood. Well, I got a pile of wood that looked like jackstraws. The sawlog of the tree was left in sections about 15 feet long and the stump end probably about 20 inches in diameter. My MS 251 took this big wood and turned it into small wood — no problem! December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The little saw that could! I purchased my ms251 as a smaller sibling to my pro model saws (440, 362cm, 261). I do not have any complaints, so far. It has ample power for a home owner saw; well balanced, well made, and easy to start and use. It is an excellent saw for around the property or to throw in the back of your rig. Like most Stihl saws, it was set a little lean from the factory. But, with a minor adjustment it is eager to please. I look forward to many years use. December 7, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>