Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
Rated 4 out of 5 by 54reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by NICE BLOWS GOOD FOR ITS SIZE AND SUCKS UP LEAVES AND DEBRIS VERY GOOD. GOOD AND USEFUL PRODUCT March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good. Great at sucking up leaves in pile. Great at piles of leaves. Great sucking power. Bag fills fast though. March 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I recently purchased this blower vac and so far have been pleased with it. It is lightweight and starts within 3 pulls. It has an easy choke switch and a throttle lock that is easy and thoughtfully designed. I expect it to last for many years! March 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good blower but jams in vacuum mode The blower function is great. In vacuum shred mode it jams up quit easily with gum balls. Unfortunately I have a gum ball tree and it stopped working every 5 or 10 gum balls. The problem is that a stick or gum all can get stuck between the blade and body killing the engine. It is easy to remove the jam once you take off the vacuum tube but the major problem is that the tube is locked in place and you need a screwdriver every time to pry the lock tab loose! This can be a major pain if you have to do it every 5 minutes.The vacuum tube is made of two sections and is too long so you can't reach in to loosen the debris. Also the sections are locked and it will take two people to take them apart. So taking off one of the sections is not an ideal solution. I do not know why they did not design the tubes to be snap on and snap off instead of the complicated tab mechanism. The impeller blade which chews up the leaves needs to be modified to solve this problem . I have another solution but it will involve modifying an internal part. I cant seem to get hold of anybody at stihl though. They are too big. December 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great machine I bought this blower/mulcher today. I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. I have a large property and need flexibility with the leaf problem. As a blower, I think it does an awesome job. As a vacuum, I think it works for my needs. I don't know what everyone expects, but yes you have to sit and suck all the leaves up at a slower rate than what you would hope for. We all just wish for the same vacuum power as blowing power. It does the job. I think it was a great purchase. December 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Works as a blower/Do not buy as a leaf vacuum Works well for blowing leafs around, but absolute rubish as a leave vaccuum. I have used it for two seasons now, with identical results. Clogs very easily. Sticks get jammed very easily. And, it's difficult to remove clogs and jams. Changing from blower to vacuum is extremely difficult. You need a screw driver and then just have to keep on rotating collars until the tubes eventually come off. Very frustrating.Last season I contact Stihl and told them about the JAM problem and inability for the product to really, really, really shred the leafs into small pieces and meet the advertised shred ration. The jamming up problem is so severe, I would classify it as a product DEFECT. My suggestion to Stihl was to redesign the steel chopper blade (maybe also called an impeller) to more thoroughly shred the leaves.I have discovered a solution to the jamming problem in vacuum mode. If you don't used the right angle tube and connect the leaf bag directly to the output tube, the jams happen less frequently.I'm still waiting for Stihl to redesign the Steel impeller to make the product shred better.Sincerely,Hopeful customer December 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK Stihl in my opinion always made good products but this is JUNK. As a blower it performs OK but as a leaf Vacuum I would consider this false advertisement. It picks up a leaf not leaves and a pile can seriously take you all day to vacuum up. It was so much harder to use this machine than to just rake and bag. The machine cloggs up very often. It also feels cheap. What Stihl is missing is a heavy duty model like a back pack or somehting that will truly vacuum up piles of leaves and mulch them up. This should never be advertised as a leaf collection machine. Disapointed. Very disapointed. December 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapoinring for a Stihl product I own a number of Stihl products and have loved them all. This one, however, is a disappointment. The Easy2start system is excellent and reliable and the unit seems to have adequate power to perform the work required. As a handheld blower, this unit is perfectly servicable. The problem is that in vacuum mode, it will jam very easily. A twig smaller than a pencil stands a fair chance of hanging things up and heaven help you if you have pine cones in your leaf pile. They will stop the impeller nearly 100 percent of the time. The process for clearing the jam is not complicated, but it gets pretty frustrating when you're doing it every two minutes. If you have a pile of leaves without any other yard debris, the SH86 will work as advertised. It seems like a redesign of the impeller would lead to fewer problems, but I guess that would add extra expense as well. December 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what it was Been a Stihl customer for 15 years. My current shredder-vac is a Stihl model 85. Works well, but age has its price. Went looking for a new unit this week. IThe new Stihl 86 seems to have been value engineered in several ways that bother me.The new two piece vac tube seems poorly made by comparison wiht the heavier duty 1 piece tube my model 85 has.The new clamping collar method of mounting the vac, bag and blower tubes is much more difficult to use. Clearing plugs requires these to be easily remvoved.I still recommend this unit, but principally as no one else makes a better model just now. I'm just unhapy that Stihl value engineered a pretty good model. November 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First line of leaf defense. Our yard (2.5 ac.) is surrounded. The leaf gods know where to rest for the winter. My leaf life began in the 70's with a rake/tarp (blisters and days) and dread. My arsenal consists of a Little Wonder walk behind, back pack blower and the newest addition, Stihl 86-C. The walk behind moves the mountains but in a bull dozer manner. The 86-C has replaced the back pack and any rake. No longer do I have to rake between shrubs, gather small piles and have my wife comment on a poor cleanup. Wet or dry, the leaves no longer intimidate me and now I have the cleanest/neatest yard. This blower-vac is well balanced, easy to start, change from blow to vacuum and very dependable. Thank you. November 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Blower, mediocre vaccuum It blows leaves well, but the vacuum side leaves much to be desired. If you have smaller light weight leaves, it should do fine, but if you have thicker larger leaves like red oak, it tends to bridge at the opening and leaf collecting becomes a slow process. If your leaves are wet, that complicates matters even further. I ended up buying a used troy built chipper/shredder to handle the leaf shredding.Bottom line, it's a good blower, but don't buy it expecting it to wow you with it's vacuum capabilities. November 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum I have used several vacuums and none compare to the Stihl. I both blew leaves into a pile and also just vacuumed the leaves prior to blowing. It is much faster if the leaves are in a pile but it worked great just sucking up the leaves. What normally makes about two trailers made four trash cans. I am glad I bought the product and will use it all the time. Definitely would recommend to anyone who wants to cut their time down cleaning up leaves in the fall. November 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome piece of Machinery Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!!! Bought this machine mainly for picking up leaves, will even suck up small sticks and mulch up with the leaves, very easy to start. It works better to blow the leaves into a pile then vaccume them up. It is impossible for this unit to get clogged up as it has 3 blades that spin in the fan housing. This is my first stihl purchase, based on the performance, I will only buy stihl from here on out!!!!!!! November 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad Just bought this today and used it immediately. Once you get used to starting this, it will start with one pull. Took me several attempts to get the hand of things (read your manual).The shredded leaves are VERY small and desirable in consistancy. It did plug three times from ingesting a wine cork (burp) and some small twigs. It was powerful enough to lift some small river rocks.The blower is great. It took care of moving several years of leaves stuck under three cars (unlike my Weedeater GBI 30V - but hey - the Stihl has a larger engine)Overall rating: 4.5 stars November 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Works Poorly as a shredder vac if there is woody debri as small as .25" I bought this as I hoped it would function as a blower most of the year and shredder vac for the leaves in fall. However, yesterday I raked some leaves - Dogwoods and red maples into three small piles. I picked up the sticks before I raked. I was looking forward to sucking them up and mulching them into a tidy bag. Unfortunately, as with most leaves, there is small debri in leaves. The debris' diameter was smaller than a pinkie finger and short in length. Frequently the leaves would clog at the inlet or a small piece of woody debri would wedge inside the shredder. The shredder would have to be taken apart (screwdriver required), wedged debri removed, reassembled and then re-fired. This happened 3 or 4 times to fill one bag with leaves. It took about 20 to 30 minutes to do what would have taken about 5 or 6 with a rake. Given the poor performance of the shredder, I really don't have much use for this product as the shredder components made the blower much heavier. If the shredder worked, I would have been okay with the additional weight compromise; however, now that the shredder is worthless, the additional weight I must lug around while blowing the walks and drives simply makes me frustrated every time because I think about how poorly the shredder works. Buy a blower only and continue to rake and bag if you are looking to save time. It is easy to start and idles great. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anti-vibration handle My hands used to go numb From my last blower which was an Echo I had for over 10 years, I decided to buy a Stihl because of their excellent quality I Found through personal use of various other Stihl equipment,I've been very pleased with the performance of every Stihl I own and as a homeowner it should last me several years to come, step up to the best and buy a Stihl. October 27, 2012
<<prev 23