Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
Rated 4 out of 5 by 52reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Its hard to believe that this was made by Stihl Machine sucks up a fair amount of dirt during the vacuuming process unfortunately the shredder vac is not up to dealing with this. I've had two of these die in less than two years in homeowner use. If this were used as just a blower it would probably be fine, but I would never buy another one of these to use as a shredder vac. Stihl claims that the dirt that it sucked up voids the warranty, May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall unit I have used this extensively as both a blower & shredder. It is very easy to use & works great in both roles. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected after reading past reviews I used this hard last fall and this spring....I have 3 acres+ and many deep garden beds to clean out. Also have a 300 ft drainage easement at edge of property that is a natural leaf collector.Has worked well on wet and dry leaves and can even take small sticks, straw, bark chunks, etc. It does jamb occasionally on wet leaves when you suck up a whole clump...and I mean clump....but clean out is simple and fast. 60 seconds and you are back at it.I have probably used 40 hours so far and it has jambed maybe 20 times. It looks like the three headed chopper has dulled from the occasional stone...will replace it in the fall.Would buy again. Only negative is bag size...but it is probably at the practical limit due to weight when full. You will empty often but compaction is probably 3-4:1 and results in great free mulch. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just out of warranty and crank bearing or similar is roaring This has been a great blower/vacuum until this week. I've always used quality premix oil and used it occasionally around my home but now it's got an awful "roaring" bearing like sound coming from the engine. At first I thought I put regular gas in it but it's my usual mixture and is doing fine in my Stihl edger, Stihl chainsaw and other 2cycle tools. It's out of warranty now but I'll make a trip to the dealer to ensure it's not a simple fix. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wore out I bought this to use for home. As a vacuum shredder it is disappointing and not very productive. I can bag leaves faster. It worked great as blower but wore out too quick. Had cylinder and piston failure right at 2 years. Had it repaired and it failed again in another 2 years for residential work. Used Stihl oil. Would not buy again March 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too unreliable, poor quality for residential use, even w/5 yr warranty This Blower is for my home use every week. It is hard starting, runs too lean, dies out when giving it throttle, & sometimes just dies out of the clear blue @ full throttle. This is not the great product Stihl claims it to be. I own a Stihl weed eater as well & it seems to work o.k. I use fresh gas w/ Stihl oil + stabilizer in my blower as well. I'm sorry but the blower does not perform well at all !!!!!!! This has turned me off from buying any more Stihl products. The blower is less than 1yr old, as well ! February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower even in winter Bought SH86-CE after X-Mas. First use was blowing snow off guest cars New Years Eve. It worked great. Been using it to clear light snow from driveway & walk easier & sometimes quicker than shoveling. I'm amazed on how well it starts, even in -5deg F temps, and easy start takes so little effort getting it running. Looking forward to use it this season to clear leaves & grass clippings. If it works half as well on leaves as it does on snow I'll save hours on yeard clean up. Used many other blowers over the years and the efficiency of air movement is well above others. Spent more than I really wanted to, but it looks like it will be worth it. February 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great addition to the collection I have 2 acres and as a blower and vac combo it is great. Blow the leaves out of tight spaces into a pile then switch over to the vac side and clean up the mess. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of Power I use this product for vacuuming and shredding only. I have not used it for blowing.I have used other brands of vacuum/shredders and the Stihl has more suction and virtually no clogging. I have also had cases crack with other brands and so far the Stihl has not had that problem. December 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for small areas I bought this for a specific purpose - to get leaves out of small areas like garden beds and my deck, where blowing leaves isn't feasible. It works great for those areas but that's it, in my opinion. I can't speak to how it works as a blower, only as a vac. For that purpose, suction is good and shredding is helpful. The bag holds more than I expected but this is too slow and small to suck up all the leaves from my 1/2 acre (surrounded by trees) yard. For my deck, garden beds, etc. this is a very helpful tool in addition, not in place of, my backpack blower. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool! A big problem I've had with other brands is when they are warm, they won't restart. You'd have to let them sit and get cold again before they would start. I can't have that, the works got to be done, no going back 1 to 2 hours later to finish. This machine starts back up every time, any time. I doubt if lose my temper and slam this one into the driveway. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this produdc is great in almost all respects I love all the Stihl products I own and have owned for several years, but I would like to comment on one small difficulty with the SH86 C-E blower. I have a difficult time fooling around ,twisting, and jiggling, trying to get the locking collars on for blowing and especially the suction tube. I would like to see these attachments redesigned for greater ease is attaching them to the base unit. December 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sluggish throttle response, otherwise great Works great with one exception. The throttle response is sluggish, like it's running too lean. If you squeeze the throttle quickly sometimes it will die, but accelerate a little slower and it runs fine. Bought new this way, and I've tweaked on the carb, then completely readjusteded the carb and the best it will run is how it came from the factory. This is my only issue, otherwise a very good machine so far. November 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality - But not great Quality I am a huge Stihl fan and have more products then my wife probably knows I have. I find this shredder vac to be pretty useful and can really suck up a lot of leaves and pine cones. As I live in the woods, I assume I put this through tougher trials then most. The quality of the machine is good and the results are pretty good also. My main complaint is that I am now on my third blade and it seems that the machine is slowly loosing its suction. But at the end of the day, would I buy this again? The answer is yes. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my needs Have spent between 10 and 12 hours this fall with the Stihl SH 86 C-E. I have a 1 acre lot in town with 5 large maples, 1 oak,2 magnolias and 1 mulberry and a ton of leaves. I use the blower to clean out my gutters and create leaf mountains in my yard. i have no trouble converting from blower to vac. vac has only plugged once in 10 or so hours of use due to a stick about 1 inch by 3 inches log. I have use the vac also to collect leaves laying on my roof and in the landscaping beds. works great. the dryer the leaves the finer the shred.I am very happy with my purchase November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Works great and the anti vib handles work like a dream Ive had the BG55 for a year before getting the SH86c-e and the anti vib is a super nice plus. The bag does fill rather quickly maybe they can make an extra large one in the future. Over all its the nicest blower Ive had and its much nicer then the BG55 i wish i would have just gotten the SH86 from the get go November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is a great product THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT , I OWN A STHIL WEED EATER AND I WANTED A GOOD BLOWER AND THIS IS A GREAT BLOWER I WOULD REC-MINED THIS TO ANYONE THAT NEEDS A GOOD BLOWER . STHIL SELLS GREAT PRODUCTS AND ANYTIME I NEED A OUTDOOR MACHINE I CHECK OUT STHIL BEFORE I DO ANY-OTHER PRODUCT November 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by i love it I really like the vac. One thing I would suggest is to have different options for collection. The bag is spacious but I load my leaves into a garbage can, it would be nice to have a way to go from the vac straight to the can. November 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great unit replaced a B&D electric model. blower is good, but the best part is the shredder, it is a metal blade construction. the previous unit it was made of plastic and the twigs and stems mulched the impeler. people who complainded about the mulching must not have previous experience as this is the best unit so far. yes in a pile you may need to shake it to unclog it. just picked up wet leaves and it was all fine. November 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Biggest wast of money I ever spent on a Stihl product Would not recommend it to anyone. I have worn out shop vacs that have 10 times more suction than this thing,No rpm's and they change speeds whenever you tilt it one way or another September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Runs great Bought this to replace a big box store machine that was 2 years old that very hard to start even after a tune up. Bought the gutter cleaning attachment also. Good power but a little heavy. Need a shoulder strap. September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bought 5 in the last 3 years I am a professional landscaper in Tucson, AZ. We have used the SH 86 C to make sure we keep our yards as clean a possible. However, in the last 5 years, all of our SH 86 C are now spare parts. The first 3 we bought lasted 2 1/2 years. The most recent 2 only lasted 1 1/2 years. All of them had a seal problem around the piston. We always maintain our filters, tune ups and use the HP Ultra oil mix recommended by STIHL. We use all STIHL products in our fleet, however, this is one machine that I will not buy again. June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I'm a property manager on a large estate. Needed a quality vac/shredder for cleaning up clipping. flower beds, and fish flies. This exceeded my every expectation. Handles cedar, arb, grass, and boxwood clippings very well, even large wet piles of them. Also takes care of small sticks, dirt, and wood chips.Turns large piles into small bits very well. I was impressed on what it could shred. Not sure if the new model has a better bag then the others, But I get no dust blow through at all with this.Worth every penny for yard clean up and touch ups. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine and excellent buy the vibration reduction aspect is one of the best feature. It tremendously reduces the vibration felt. The vaccum shredder function works great to vaccum/clean up tighter conners on my deck. May 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product Owned this product for about 4-6 weeks now and I really enjoy this blower/shredder vac. First and foremost because of the vibration reduction aspect. It tremendously reduces the vibration felt. I used it for nearly 4-5 hrs straight and still felt my hands! My only complaint is the ability, of the bag, to retain smaller dust and dirt particles...it doesn't do it! Apart from that its great! May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is the perfect addition to my yard maintenance arsenal, powerful and time saving Purchase this model a year ago and I am very pleased with its prefomance. The transition from blower to vac is a pain the first few times but after a while it becomes second nature. The blower is excellent!The vacume shredder has more than exceeded my expectaions. Once you learn its capabilities through trottle control and proper distance from targeted leaves you will appreciate this product even more. April 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome blower/vac Very impressed with the power and versatility. Easy to use. Starts every time. Would recommend to anyone interested. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blower / Vac The blower is nice and powerful. It's also lighweight and comfortable to grip. The vac work well as well. (the vac works best on dry material) April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NICE BLOWS GOOD FOR ITS SIZE AND SUCKS UP LEAVES AND DEBRIS VERY GOOD. GOOD AND USEFUL PRODUCT March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good. Great at sucking up leaves in pile. Great at piles of leaves. Great sucking power. Bag fills fast though. March 27, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>