Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 86 C-E

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

SH 86 C-E
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 87reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower, ok shredder vac This blower/shredder combo is a great tool. The blower is top notch, starts on 3rd pull every time. It is easy to maintain like all STIHL products. Quality is very high on this model. Only 2 cons I have on this product. The shredder seems under powered and doesn't really shred. If there were more blades or possibly a different configuration of the blades it may work better. I'm not an engineer though. Also the bag could be a bit larger for longer shredding periods. This could be also because the leaves don't really get fully shredded. Overall I am still very happy with the purchase and would recommend to others. Even though the shredder imo is not top notch the ease of only having to maintain one motor along with the ability to convert back and forth is huge. October 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tool in conjunction with backpack blower This shreader vac is a must have for any landscaper but can not replace and become a primary leaf removal tool. It is perfect for small touch ups and tight corners. It is however much slower than a backpack but works great for getting small sticks and leaves out of trap rock or river rock. Don't over work the tool and it will be fine. I wish the fan blades were metal rather than plastic because I know over time a small rock will break a blade. Great value when compared to the BG86 since for $40 more you get a vac system and still have the same hand held leafblower. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice job Stihl! Just gave my new Stihl SH86C it's first workout, and it gets 5 stars. Light, easy to start and with plenty of power.There is no replacement for good quality products, and I'm very pleased to see Stihl makes these right here in Virginia USA! I will pay extra for superior quality! August 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Upgrade over the 56 is worth it One of the main differences between the 86 and 56 is the anti-vibration handle. After blowing and vacuuming my yard for about 2 hours, I am glad I went this route.When vacuuming, it is best to ensure the material is very dry as wet material has a tendency to accumulate in the shredder blades. The conversion from blower to vacuum could be improved by simplifying the door latch release. This is honestly my only complaint.Starts easy, runs well, more than enough power to blow and vacuum. After using the product for a few weeks, it is still to early to rate dependability, but I suspect no issues as long as you maintain the equipment. July 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by good as a blower but lacking as a shredder vac blower function works well but poor in the shredder vac operation.1) bag to small and zipper at end requires you to pull out debris by hand. needs bigger bag and zipper that continues around bottom of bag2) does not shred into small pieces, output looks like complete leaves.3) difficult to manage end of shredder because it tends to grab the ground needs a spacer or small roller to prevent ground contact. need to be able to zoom in and out the length to match people of different heights. My wife very short and I am tall.4) how could you possibly use it a ground level without picking up a lot of dirt and dust.5) bag sprays dust everywhere when in use. I do realize that bag needs to be porous to let pressure out but porous portion could be near bottom of bag.6) seems to clog easily even with dry leaves.7) needs to be redesigned as far as the attachment system for the various parts when changing from blower to shredder vac. takes to long and is hard to align parts. a clamping system would seem to work faster and better. June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far works very good. I've only had my blower/vac about a month but has worked well thus far. I have used it in both modes and had good results. Vacuum has plenty of suction and mulches leaves and small twigs very well. Blower is great with plenty of power. May 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Debris bag too small. Good machine. Bought mine largely to vac and shred leaves. However, the debris bag is small requiring frequent shutdowns. Suggest a flex hose system similar to that used with a popular electric vac/blower so the debris could be blown into a large trash can. May 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl products live up to the legend. Have had the SH86c shredder blower for 3 years and it performs perfectly and gets the job done. Have used the Stihl synthetic pro oil since day one and have never experienced a fuel problem. An added bonus was it doubled the Stihl factory warranty. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must have yard tool . I have had this tool for 3 years and have nothing but good to say about this product.This Stihl blower/vac. along with the other Stihl products I use are awesome.Have owned other brands, Stihl worth the extra $. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have compared this unit with some others, The SH 86 beats them hands down. I am very pleased with this unit. It is very easy to change from Vac to Blower. I like the fact that it comes with the steel shredder blade. This helps when the small twigs and some of the tougher leaves go through the intake. I am very pleased with this unit. Also I like the warranty program STIHL offers. March 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Based on vac function only Used to vacuum yard full of sycamore leaves. Initially would have to constantly disassemble the bag and elbow assembly to unclog the elbow. Discovered on 2nd day of use that I needed to run at higher RPM to maintain a forceful airflow thru the elbow. Never clogged again. Looking forward to using the blower this spring/summer.One con, based on the elbow/bag assembly, the adjustment of the bag sling is critical to maintain an open airway into the bag. Being critical of a great tool, otherwise I give it 5 stars. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts easy, dependable I am very pleased with this shredder-vac, it starts easily, has good power and shreds the leaves to a fine mulch so it doesn't take up much space in the trailer. The vac tube is the right height for me, 6' 2", my old one had a shorter tube which caused me to lean over to use it and gave me a sore back. The Stihl is just right for me. The only draw back is the zipper on the bag needs to be on the long side instead of the end, to make it faster and easier to empty. You need to really shake it to empty it. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The product performs according to my needs. It is easy to convert from blower to vacuum shredder. I use both operating modes. I also find the engine easy to operate, and it seems to be suitably powerful. February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy I have had a couple bargain model blowers, finally tired of replacing them every couple years so decided to take cost out of the equation and get something that I believe will last many years. It makes small work of shredding leaves, has ample wind power to move leaves and l light weight snow. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice unit Powerful and easy to start.The zipper on the bag should be several inches longer which would allow easier emptying of the bag. The bag slightly chokes the contents and you have to shake the bag vigorously to empty a full bag. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have my fall back! Wife and I spent the better part of two days raking leaves last fall. Five big truckloads to the city compost. This year we're doing our own composting, so I bought this to really shred the leaves (and hopefully save time). A two day, two person job is now a few hour, one person job!I was worried about twigs and little bits of gravel messing up the machine, but didn't seem to phase it at all. It even sucked up some dog poo I didn't see...stunk for a few minutes. So watch out! :)Switching from blower to vac is easy. Took me a while to get the hang of starting it, but now I can usually get it started in 3-4 pulls from a cold start, 1 pull when warm. My only gripe is the bag fills pretty quickly even though it shreds most types of leaves to near dust. With dry leaves it's not like it's that heavy when I wish the bag held twice the volume so I wouldn't have to stop as often... But, overall, excellent! January 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Good Product Have owned this blower/vacuum for several years. As a vacuum, it works best sucking up material from like a drive way. Use in flower beds and the like is problematic because if you pick up a stick, it is likely to break the plastic blower blade. This is the only drawback about the machine. If the blade was metal, it would be a great machine. What it does chop up, is small enough to add to the compost pile. This a good feature, unlike other vacuums I have used.As a blower, it is great. Easy to use and works great around the yard/garden. Strong enough to move leaves/etc, but not do a lot of damage to plants. December 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works well as a blower, but doesn't function well as a leaf vac I'm on my 4th season using this product for massive leaf pickup from our 75yr old Red Oak tree. As in previous seasons, it works well for blowing leafs around, but not so great as a leave vaccuum. Unit clogs and jams very easily. Even the smallest of sticks, which the leaves are sometimes attached, get jammed very easily. Clogs occur frequently when to much material is funneled through the narrower right angle tube. One solution to the jamming and clogging problem in vacuum mode, is to NOT use the right angle tube. Just connect the leaf bag directly to the output hole, and the jams and clogs will happen less frequently.And, I'll have to agree that It's difficult to change from blower to vacuum.My suggestion to Stihl is to redesign the steel chopper blade (maybe also called an impeller) to more thoroughly shred the leaves and chop the smaller sticks. I'm Stihl a Hopeful Customer, it's a good product that just needs a bit of improvement to make it a top notch great product.Sincerely, Stihl a Hopeful Customer December 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a Great Design I've used this blower/vac twice. As a blower it works great. Changing over to a vac is not difficult, but not easy either. The impeller guard is spring loaded, so it must be held back when attaching the vacuum suction tube. If you turn it loose, it will lock back in place requiring you to release it with the screwdriver again. The vacuum tube is too long unless you're seven feet tall. It tires you having to hold the vacuum up. The bottom of the tube is shaped so that it will grab the ground until you back off the throttle. The bag only has a zipper on the end instead of on around the side. This makes it difficult to empty since the vacuum packs in the leaves. You have to reach in and pull the packed leaves out. The bag strap will not stay on your shoulder. The blower/vac starts easily and vibration and heat are minimum. November 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lack of basic troubleshooting guide I bought an SH 86blower/shredder today. It shredded well for 2 bags full, then when attempting to restart, the pull rope in it does not move at all. I triple checked all settings, ensured unit was in start mode. Then I removed intake tube and ensured nothing was stuck in the impellar area. It was clear, but pull starter still did not budge.I sent a message to customer support, and am hopful we'll get this resolved. However it is very disapointing that there is no troubleshooting guide in the product manual or on this website. November 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Satisfied Purchased my SH-86C today. Used it for an hour or so and enjoyed it as much as I can say I enjoy blowing leaves. My comparison is with an Echo ES-210. The Stihl has about 76 percent more cfm. Plenty of power for my purposes. Only used blower function so far. Like being able to get parts and service from local dealer. This is one reason why I chose Stihl. I wish I'd bought Stihl products year ago. November 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SH68 a good blower/vac My short experience this late into the fall found the SH86 to be a good performer, as a blower or shred/vacuum.The plus’s:The unit has started very easily. Throttle response is very quick/good and the throttle detent control allows for a hands free consistent speed.As a shred/vac, the extra blade on the turbine chops up leaves and twigs into a fine material.The unit is light at 12lbs and is comfortable to handle, even with the bag. The bag is somewhat larger than previous vac’s I’ve used, but like all bags always seem to fill up fast.The units’ power does fill a bag up completely and material is compacted.An internal liner in the bag help keep the dirt away from the user.I was able to adapt the unit to a 25’ drain tile tube I’ve used for blowing the vacuumed leaves directly into the re-cycle bin, thus avoiding the bag altogether. The blower power and shredding capability has not resulted in the drain tile plugging up.A few minus’s:Changing the blower/vac tubes requires the user to have a tool (pocket universal tool works) to release the ‘catches’ which lock-in the tube collars or intake cage.The gas tanks empties fairly quickly; which is somewhat a known trade-off as compared to the SH56. November 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great power but small bag The tubes are difficult to put on and remove but not a huge problem after you get the hang of it.Power is the best I've seen in a gas blower/vac.The most frustrating thing is the coming up to a yard full of leaves with a vac that has such a small bag. There should be an optional accessory that has either a MUCH larger bag or attachment to a large garbage can.The bag is also hard to empty. The zipper should come around the corner and up the side a ways. November 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tube assembly dis-assembly incredibly diffiicult I've only used the vacuum shredder portion of the SH 86 C machine and was satisfied with the job it did. However, switching the machine to a blower is incredibly difficult and shouldn't be. Using the manual directions and tools supplied by Stihl with two seniors working on it we could not get the union nuts to release at the blower tube or elbow locations. I brought the entire unit back to the dealership and the mechanics there also had difficulty with dis-assembling the attachments.I appreciate the machine is light weight and pretty easy to handle as a senior aged female. The dis-assembly part of it is very discouraging for me and my husband. I feel I've got to choose one part of the unit.... either vacuum or blower and keep it that way. October 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It Sucks But it sucks in a good way. I have used it three times now with no issues It works way better than electric one. Getting rid of the cord is a huge plus. I do recommend getting this as a vac and have a separate blower. Changing over the tubes is kind of a pain, but doable if you don't want to spend the money on both. So this has made my life easier in the yard and I do recommend it. I added a con not due to the machine, but to the fact that it grinds the leaves so much it creates dust. So wear a mask. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than meets home/cabin clearing demands I read reviews of all the major leaf blowers/shredders available. I have a large lot at my home In Minnesota, with large volumes of leaves to clear every Fall. In addition I have a cabin in NW Wisconsin with large amounts of leaves, pine needles and pine cones that need clearing every year. Getting tired of all that raking, piling and hauling.The SH 86 CE was my choice for a durable, hand held professional level blower shredder. I cleared my lawn at home in about 2 hours (1/2 acre). Piled leaves up with the blower first, then vacuumed up the piles. The vacuum is not as fast as the blower but if you take your time it does a great job. Others expressed concerns about difficulty attaching and removing the blower and/or vacuum tubes. All it takes is a small screwdriver to depress a plastic tab, about 30 seconds and good to go. I had no jams after using over 3 tanks of gas on the first usage. All dry leaves, and very small sticks, nothing larger than 1/4" diameter. The vacuum bag compacts the mulched leaves so tight you have to pull the debris out with your hands if you fill the bag too full. I quit filling the mulch bag when it was 2/3 to 3/4 full, Keeps the suction high until ready to empty the bag. I also left the zipper open after attaching the bag to the elbow attachment and ran the motor for 30 seconds before zipping it up after emptying the leaf mulch. This blew a lot of dust out of the bag and appeared to keep the suction strong during the next fill up. I put the shoulder strap over my neck and not just let it hang on my left shoulder as recommended by Stihl. Otherwise, as the bag fills it tends to slide off your shoulder all the time. The dealer said he uses this model to blow snow off his steps/deck/driveway in the winter rather than use a snow shovel/snowblower. Great idea and I plan to consider that this winter.Although I just purchased this blower I gave it a good first trial and expect it to more than meet my needs for many years. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My First Impressions I bought the SH 86 C-E on a Friday, and used it on a Saturday. The bad,1st: Yes, the machine will clog. But, I find that the debris has to be hard as a rock to do this.2nd: The bag fills up fast. Sometime that's good; Sometimes that's not.3rd: The shredding/vac process is slow.The good,1st: The power is great. As a landscaper we were shredding not only leaves, but a mixture of different type leaves, small sticks and pine straw. It clogged twice on us, but the machine handled it all.2nd: light weight.3rd: It's comfortable. I'm 6ft tall. I thought I would have to bend over to use the machine. I can stand straight up and use the machine.4th: Easy to use. My guys learned to use the machine without any problems.These are my first impressions. Hopefully next year, if I do not forget, I'll post a long term review of the machine. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Product is GREAT for leaf pickup! We bought the SH 86 C-E only for the shredder vac. I already use a STIHL BR600 Blower for blowing needs. The SH 86 C-E was bought for my wife who uses it only for leaf pick-up. She is very small, 5ft 110 lbs. We looked around to try and find a good quality vac for leaf pick-up and this unit is perfect. If my wife can easliy use this unit for a hour at a time and it work great then I would think almost anyone would be very happy with it as well. As I read the reviews I noticed the couple low ratings were for sticks getting caught in the impeller. We use this stricly for leaf pick-up which is what I think this unit is suppose to be built for. It does shread leaves GREAT! We are very happy and continue to be a huge STIHL Customer! We also own a Stihl Trimmer. October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Vac/Blower with power to spare! I purchased the SH86C-E early this past Spring and used it weekly all Summer long. I have four other STIHL Hand Held blower/vacs and they keep getting better. I run Premium Gasoline with STIHL HP Ultra Oil and it starts first or second pull every time! I use mine mainly as a Vac, and it picks up everything I have tried it on,even wet leaves. I HIGHLY recommend the SH86C-E Blower/Vac to anyone that appreciates PREMIUM QUALITY equipment that only comes from owning a STIHL! October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower/vac Easy to start, easy to use, high quality Stihl product. September 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4next>>