Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 56 C-E

A fuel-efficient shredder vac/blower with the convenience of the Easy2Start™ System.

SH 56 C-E
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 44reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just won't start This is by far the worst piece of yard equipment I have ever owned. I have owned many brands and this is the least reliable ever. It just won't start on a regular basis. It will never start if you keep it stored below 30 degrees F, you have to warm it up first. I have met others with the same problem. I use the pre-mix fuel recommended by the dealer, too. The blower is fine and it isn't very loud, but the shredder is weak and clogs easily. My old blower/vac "blew" this one away. So disappointed. No more Stihl for me, despite good reviews. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have now free time to write this! I was skeptical after all the reviews written about the shredder. Just bought this today and it started after the second pull, took about 20 seconds to heat up before it went to full throttle, the air stream was well controllable and it tool me little time to get everything in a pile. leafs, little twigs even and paper that people have thrown in my yard . surprisingly replacing the blow nozzle with the vac nozzle took less than a minute which contradicts what others claim, simply press a screw driver in the hole at the end of the tube and rotate the nut, it comes right off. installing the other nozzle is simply aligning the arrows that are clearly visible on both parts, put the nut in place and rotate it until it clicks. the holes are this big that if you haven't got a screwdriver handy a key or even a twig (1/4" thick) would do just fine. And if you are using this tool you probably have no shortage of twigs!! Very impressed as the vac did not clog up at all. Leafs usually fill me sidewalk gutter and I vacuumed them up at normal walking speed. The fine dust comes out of the pores of the bag. Don't wear any pretty clothes, they will get dirty. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light but strong I needed something for my driveway and patio and this blower is perfect. Easy to crank and saves time.I recommend this blower for the need something strong but light ! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's great being cordless! I love not having to deal with an electrical cord. I am a small, older female, and needed a vac/blower that wasn't too heavy & started easily. This product accomplishes these requirements for me. I do have a little difficulty in pushing the tabs with a tool to change the tools! But can live with it. I think if you were stronger & had bigger hands this might not be an issue, just an annoyance. My husband likes using this product, except push tabs, too. Haven't had/used enough to know about the maintenance aspect. July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's been great so far I bought this shredder/vac about 2 months ago and it has been great. The only thing is that when I first got it the blower would start on the second pull every time. Now it take three pulls and I hope the number of pulls doesn't increase. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great blower/vac for the price The SH56 C-E is one of my favorite tools as a homeowner. I love the blowing power, but most of all I love the vacuum/shredding capability. It makes short work of a pile of dry leaves, sucking them up, shredding them and bagging them. Too bad it isn't capable of doing the same with pine needles!My only complaints are that converting between blower/vac can be a bit tedious and there's no great way to hold it in vacuum configuration. When you're holding it in vac config, it's a bit awkward and gets more so as the bag fills up.Also, the bag developed a hole after no more than 3 uses. I'll have to take it into my local dealer and try to get it replaced. The bag NEEDS TO BE sturdier.Otherwise, highly recommended. May 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Starts and runs good but that is about it Cheep plastic push in locks on fittings that you need to carry a screwdriver for(provided). Good bag and clamp system for ease of emptying. Discharge clogs frequently when leaves are wet/damp. Muffler not fully shielded. Beware. Dependable starting and runs good. Ergonomics could have been better engineered. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a bad job stihl did on this one I think it's one of the worst pieces of machinery stihl ever made. Every couple minutes you have to take the whole thing apart to pull the little twigs out. I only use a handful of times and it's not even worth using. It's faster to use a rake. Just saying if you go ahead and buy it you'll be sorry May 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as other Stihl products I have a Stihl chainsaw and weed eater, and both are great. I have a lot of trees in my back yard and thought I could manage the leaf problem with a vac shredder.I already have a different brand leaf blower so didn't need another.Pros: Mainly as a blower- very powerful, not very noisy. Not too heavy.Cons: Mainly as a vac/shredder Pretty slow in the amount it can pick up. Usually when sucking up leaves you get other debris as well. This can often jam the impeller or block the suction tube at the base. In addition when picking up leaves that are not completely dry the debris will get stuck in the tube between the bag and the unit. When either tube is blocked it's a laborious task to take it apart and clean it out. In addition the bag doesn't seem to hold very much so you spend a lot of time emptying the bag. Basically, I broke down the time in thirds. One third vacuuming, one third cleaning out stuck debris, and one third emptying the bag. I think you would be twice as fast just blowing or raking then bagging. The vac just doesn't cut it. May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The SH 56 is an overall good value. The SH 56 is an overall good value. The balance is a little off when used as a vacuum but the ease of use as a blower makes this unit the go to tool when you need to clean up the yard in the fall. It also works well in the wood shop for clean up where a vac system doesn't get. I will recommend Stihl products whenever I hear of someone looking. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of power very impressed I do all my own yard and landscaping at my house and my rental house this thing is twice the power of the electric suckers ive bought over the years even pulls up wet compacted leaves with ease and mulches much finer than electric modles April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts, Vacuums, Blows like a Dream!! Best Blower/Vacuum I have ever owned. Worth the price. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome features, easy to start and handle, slick design Bought this product after looking at several other models and brands. Excellent choice light weight, chomps leaves and small twigs like nothing and my 6 year old can even start it. Overall awesome product just wish it came with a larger leaf bag or trash can attachment of some sort. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by does not have the vacum and blower power I expected from a Stil product. I expected more vacum and blower power from a Stil blower/ vac. I should bought the professional model. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Product This is well worth the investment.I also have a BG56 blower and decided that it was such a great unit....I purchased the mulching vac as well. I would highly recommend this product and would purchase another one if I had to. It is also built in the U.S.A. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Blower EVER I got this a few weeks ago and it is very dependable. It is great for vacuuming because it is strong and has a metal blade in the impeller compartment. It is very easy to start. I have recently bought the craftsman 25 cc blower and it broke after 1 hour of mulching the leaves. I would get another Stihl product no questions asked! November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by does all i want easy on gas This machine does all I bought it for. Easy starting, light weight and powerful. My only complaint is changing from a vacuum to the mulcher I find it difficult to make the change, but this could be because I have not changed it very many times. Also some directions in a user manual would be nice. These are minor complaints and as I use the machine I am sure changing the vacuum to mulcher will become easier.I would by this machine again and would recommend it to friends. Well worth the money. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is very reliable I have owned my shredder vac for a little more than a month. It truly is the best machine, very dependable, and will run without problems. It is worth the money to purchase since it will outlast and outperform cheaper models. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vacuum/Shredder bag This product is easy to start and to use. The only negative is that the plastic mesh liner inside the shredder bag deteriorates causing debris to bunch up and clog. This has happened twice to me thus far. A non-mesh liner would be much better for this product. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Easy to start but runs roughly and changeover not as easy as you think The unit starts easily enough but it doesn't run very smoothly and often varies in power. Plus I have arthritis in one hand so changeover to vacuum is very difficult for me. Pressing the release tab while trying to spin the large collar is very difficult. And fuel capacity is a bit small-ish. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts everytime chows leaves and sticks love it ! LIke I said Starts every time Chows leaves and sticks Love it November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very versatile machine After reading some reviews concerning decoupling of the tubes, I was somewhat leery of buying this machine. Using a T15 Torx makes releasing the locking nut simple and easy. The throttle has great response to allow me to suction leaves off of #57 limestone in my window wells and near the foundation. The machine is lightweight and easy to handle. I've only used the machine twice, once as a vacumm, and once as a blower, but I have no resrvations concerning long-term use since I own several other Stihl machines including a 25 year old chainsaw. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has proven to be a good value I own three Stihl products for home use. This blower/vac will be very useful around the home and I am sure it will prove to be as dependable as the other products that I have had for many years. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does exactly what I expected it to do Was originally looking at just a blower, but I'm glad the dealer pointed me toward this model. Maybe the manual's been updated since the prior reviews, but I just looked at a couple of the illustrations in it and it was pretty obvious from that point how the shredder vac attachment is assembled. You do need to carry a small screwdriver or punch with you.Although I had little hope that anything would work in this particular application, this thing was able to pull I don't know how many years of wet, decomposing leaves from the river rock around my house. It has enough suction power to pull a 3" diameter stone part way up the pipe, so have to be careful. Mulch is very similar to what I've gotten from rented garden chipper/shredders. Surprisingly quiet, light, engine starts on the first pull.As a blower, I don't even need full throttle to blow most leaves. Blipping the throttle from idle often gives me better control and plenty of force. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start; great reliability This is just about the easiest starting gas power tool I own, and I've had no problems whatsoever with it! October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Starts easy, runs great, super versatile, Easy to switch from blower to vac October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding product This shredder is being used as a blower so far. It is easy to start and works like a champ. Everybody in the family remarks on how much quieter it is than our previous blower.. I love it! July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The power needed Most blower/vac units pale in the power dept. This one doesn`t! It not only has the power, but is light enough to be used all day. From sucking up the leaves AND sticks,acorns yard debris to blowing soaked leaves end over end without issue. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What I was looking for. I read the reviews before buying and was disappointed to read it was hard to switch between vacuum and blower, and that it struggled with sticks and other things. My experience was very different. I put a small punch in my pocket and had no trouble changing operational modes. I didn't experience any problems with sticks or anything else. I accidentally sucked up a piece of stout nylon rope and immediately shut down the machine. I expected to find it wrapped around the cutting blades, but they had shredded and spit it into the bag without a problem. I got right back to work. April 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vac Issues 1, bag got two holes in it after only one use-bag shoukd be allot stronger2.very hard to switch over from vac to blower-forget about a quick changenot sure if I am going to keep it - not worth the money and not up tp Stihl reputation April 15, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>