Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

SH 56 C-E

A fuel-efficient shredder vac/blower with the convenience of the Easy2Start™ System.

SH 56 C-E
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 35reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The SH 56 is an overall good value. The SH 56 is an overall good value. The balance is a little off when used as a vacuum but the ease of use as a blower makes this unit the go to tool when you need to clean up the yard in the fall. It also works well in the wood shop for clean up where a vac system doesn't get. I will recommend Stihl products whenever I hear of someone looking. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of power very impressed I do all my own yard and landscaping at my house and my rental house this thing is twice the power of the electric suckers ive bought over the years even pulls up wet compacted leaves with ease and mulches much finer than electric modles April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts, Vacuums, Blows like a Dream!! Best Blower/Vacuum I have ever owned. Worth the price. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome features, easy to start and handle, slick design Bought this product after looking at several other models and brands. Excellent choice light weight, chomps leaves and small twigs like nothing and my 6 year old can even start it. Overall awesome product just wish it came with a larger leaf bag or trash can attachment of some sort. December 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by does not have the vacum and blower power I expected from a Stil product. I expected more vacum and blower power from a Stil blower/ vac. I should bought the professional model. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Great Product This is well worth the investment.I also have a BG56 blower and decided that it was such a great unit....I purchased the mulching vac as well. I would highly recommend this product and would purchase another one if I had to. It is also built in the U.S.A. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Blower EVER I got this a few weeks ago and it is very dependable. It is great for vacuuming because it is strong and has a metal blade in the impeller compartment. It is very easy to start. I have recently bought the craftsman 25 cc blower and it broke after 1 hour of mulching the leaves. I would get another Stihl product no questions asked! November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by does all i want easy on gas This machine does all I bought it for. Easy starting, light weight and powerful. My only complaint is changing from a vacuum to the mulcher I find it difficult to make the change, but this could be because I have not changed it very many times. Also some directions in a user manual would be nice. These are minor complaints and as I use the machine I am sure changing the vacuum to mulcher will become easier.I would by this machine again and would recommend it to friends. Well worth the money. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this product is very reliable I have owned my shredder vac for a little more than a month. It truly is the best machine, very dependable, and will run without problems. It is worth the money to purchase since it will outlast and outperform cheaper models. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vacuum/Shredder bag This product is easy to start and to use. The only negative is that the plastic mesh liner inside the shredder bag deteriorates causing debris to bunch up and clog. This has happened twice to me thus far. A non-mesh liner would be much better for this product. November 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Easy to start but runs roughly and changeover not as easy as you think The unit starts easily enough but it doesn't run very smoothly and often varies in power. Plus I have arthritis in one hand so changeover to vacuum is very difficult for me. Pressing the release tab while trying to spin the large collar is very difficult. And fuel capacity is a bit small-ish. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starts everytime chows leaves and sticks love it ! LIke I said Starts every time Chows leaves and sticks Love it November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very versatile machine After reading some reviews concerning decoupling of the tubes, I was somewhat leery of buying this machine. Using a T15 Torx makes releasing the locking nut simple and easy. The throttle has great response to allow me to suction leaves off of #57 limestone in my window wells and near the foundation. The machine is lightweight and easy to handle. I've only used the machine twice, once as a vacumm, and once as a blower, but I have no resrvations concerning long-term use since I own several other Stihl machines including a 25 year old chainsaw. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has proven to be a good value I own three Stihl products for home use. This blower/vac will be very useful around the home and I am sure it will prove to be as dependable as the other products that I have had for many years. November 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does exactly what I expected it to do Was originally looking at just a blower, but I'm glad the dealer pointed me toward this model. Maybe the manual's been updated since the prior reviews, but I just looked at a couple of the illustrations in it and it was pretty obvious from that point how the shredder vac attachment is assembled. You do need to carry a small screwdriver or punch with you.Although I had little hope that anything would work in this particular application, this thing was able to pull I don't know how many years of wet, decomposing leaves from the river rock around my house. It has enough suction power to pull a 3" diameter stone part way up the pipe, so have to be careful. Mulch is very similar to what I've gotten from rented garden chipper/shredders. Surprisingly quiet, light, engine starts on the first pull.As a blower, I don't even need full throttle to blow most leaves. Blipping the throttle from idle often gives me better control and plenty of force. October 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start; great reliability This is just about the easiest starting gas power tool I own, and I've had no problems whatsoever with it! October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Starts easy, runs great, super versatile, Easy to switch from blower to vac October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding product This shredder is being used as a blower so far. It is easy to start and works like a champ. Everybody in the family remarks on how much quieter it is than our previous blower.. I love it! July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The power needed Most blower/vac units pale in the power dept. This one doesn`t! It not only has the power, but is light enough to be used all day. From sucking up the leaves AND sticks,acorns yard debris to blowing soaked leaves end over end without issue. April 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What I was looking for. I read the reviews before buying and was disappointed to read it was hard to switch between vacuum and blower, and that it struggled with sticks and other things. My experience was very different. I put a small punch in my pocket and had no trouble changing operational modes. I didn't experience any problems with sticks or anything else. I accidentally sucked up a piece of stout nylon rope and immediately shut down the machine. I expected to find it wrapped around the cutting blades, but they had shredded and spit it into the bag without a problem. I got right back to work. April 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Vac Issues 1, bag got two holes in it after only one use-bag shoukd be allot stronger2.very hard to switch over from vac to blower-forget about a quick changenot sure if I am going to keep it - not worth the money and not up tp Stihl reputation April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by BG 55 Vacuum attachment Just purchased the BG55 Vacuum attachment from my local hardware store. First, let me say I love the blower. Have had it 2 years - works great! But then thought it would be good to vacuum the leaves, mulch them, and use what I can, and bag the rest. Well, the picture directions that come with the attachment are very difficult to understand - no explanation - nothing is written - just pictures and diagrams. And it was difficult to assemble - took me about 30-45 minutes, and I still did not get it right. I was able to test it out on some leaves to vacuum, and the vacuum jammed on an acorn that got mixed up in the leaves. I think it may have busted one of the blades in the vacuum. I'm going to take the attachment back to the hardware store and hope they give me a refund of the $39 it cost. I doubt they will - what are they going to do with a slightly used attachment? Anyway - save yourself the trouble. STIHL has some work to do on the vacuum, but the blower is great! December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the price I was amazed at the power of the vac. Very dependable. Easy to start. You can't beat stilhl for quality. November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product.....with a few features that could be improved! First, this is the latest of four Stihl power tools that I own and I like them all. I bought this in the spring of 2011, so I'm in the middle of only my second leaf shredding season.However, there is room for improvement:1. The shredder bag has an inner, loose liner at the bag entrance. This liner material has been destroyed by the incoming shredded leaves, and as a result the bag intake is constantly jammed. I plan to attempt to replace the liner with a more durable material. The point of this review is that Stihl needs to use a more durable material for the bag liner, two seasons is less than I expect for equipment of this price and quality.2. Mounting the tubes and elbow are not simple or intuitive, it shouldn't be as difficult and complicated as it is. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I recently bought this item because it was a great deal and my old electric blower quit. Once i brought it i started it i couldnt stop useing it i really recomend this blower to everyone. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Machine! I purchased this recently to replace a 10 yr old WeedEater that self destructed.The Stihl starts easily, has great control of the speed and the vacuum/schredder works beautifully. This tool compliments my Stihl chain saw, and my Stihl trimmer. They all work in an excellent fashion. Hard to find better outdoors/homeowner tools! November 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Redesign Required Let me start by saying I have used a multitude of Stihl products including handheld blowers, commercial back pack blowers, weed eaters, edgers, pole saws, and chain saws up to the 660. I have always loved using a Stihl product over anything else as they run hard, do what they are supposed to do, and are incredibly reliable.I just moved into a new condo and instead of blowing off my drive into the street like everyone else I decided to purchase this shredder vac. I figured 2 mins of blowing the leaves in the pile, 2 mins of shredding, and the drive way is clean. Boy was I wrong.Ive used this shredder vac at least 5 times now. As a blower it works fine. While using it as a shredder vac it is horrible. Problems include....-The suction pipe is hard to get seated correctly (set it on the ground upside down and hope the gas doesn't all run out# and once you do get it seated it's difficult to get off in case of a jam.-The shredder guard needs a catch to keep it in place #open# to allow easier seating of the suction pipe and removal in case of a jam. Yes I know safety safety...what if somebody takes off the suction pipe without turning the motor off and cuts their finger off....its called Natural Selection! Keep a screw driver in your pocket because every time you have to pull the suction pipe the guard flips closed #need a flat head screw driver to open it).-The worst thing however is the shredder blade. It can't handle a stick larger than a very very small twig or it jams. Basically you got to try to shred the leaves while not sucking up the sticks in the pile. Dont even think about using it near a mulch flower bed. If it picks up a piece of mulch it's a guaranteed jam and you need your screw driver to pry it out of the blade after you pull the suction pipe off.In the end the blower is great but as a shredder vac the motor and blade are woefully underpowered and underdesigned. You will spend more time fixing it then you would blowing everything in the pile and raking it into a trash can.My only consolation....the dealer couldn't move it so he let me have it for ~50% off. Basically I bought the blower which is all it is going to be. October 26, 2012
<<prev2