Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BR 550

A low-emission backpack blower for professionals that combines fuel-efficiency and an affordable price.

BR 550
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 24reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Blower for My needs that I could find. First I observed which brand the professionals use. Then I read all internet reviews I could find. Finally I visited a retailer and asked for a demonstration. Only after it passed all those tests did I purchase a BR 550. While it is not a full out professional model, nether am I. A rack to help mount the blower on my back would be nice but otherwise I am thrilled with this machine. I even volunteered to clear the next door widow woman's gutters and whatever.I love this machine. It starts, it runs well (still getting used to the non 2-cycle sound), and should the rest of my life. February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "I look forward to yard work because I get to use my backpack blower!" I love my backpack blower for leaves, garage cleaning and even during the winter for light snow removal from decks, porches and driveways. Starts right up and is light enough to not be cumbersome.I would like to say that I think you guys at Stihl could come up with some better designs for shoulder straps. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by alwayssuper powerful This is my first back pack type blower and I have to say first time I used it in the woods I could hardy believe how powerful it was! It blew leaves that were wet,sticks and limbs like nothing I have ever had..Fantastic piece of equipment. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This blower has exceeded my expectations. I purchased the BR550 backpack blower to blow the leaves & fir needles in my yard as well as the yard at the church I attend. I have been able to blow leaves & needles in a shorter amount of time and with less effort on my part.I am a 79 year old man.I also found it works well for blowing dry snow. I have been able to blow off my driveway (which is 500 feet long) and my parking area by the house very efficiently. We had a snow event a couple of days ago and it has exceeded my expectations of what I can do with this blower. It has been the best purchase for me. I recommend this blower highly to anyone who has a lot of leaves, needles or maybe a light dusting of dry snow to remove. I have also used it to blow out my garage of dust and the like. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This blowers a dependiple blower I own a lawn care business and love this product. It rocks December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by best blower i've ever used I bought my first ever stihl br 550 blower. It is very powerful and it runs great. November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very powerful and easy to use. Excellent product when used and maintained properly. To address the complaint from the "professional" landscaper about it never running right, maybe taking it back to the dealer immediately, as it does have a warranty, would have been the intelligent thing to do. Also, this unit requires the same process of gas/oil mixing as a two-stroke so comments about two-strokes being easier to fuel have zero validity (unless you own a unit that meters oil from a separate tank, which has not yet been marketed). This unit has the power and quietness of a four-stroke without the weight of crankcase oil. A very well designed and easy-to-use Stihl product. And "No", I do not work for Stihl, I just believe that they make excellent products. Unfortunately, not everyone who buys one knows how to use and maintain it, hence some of the negative comments. And "Yes", there was a fuel cap recall. Handled very professionally by Stihl and was easy for the customer to get a replacement cap. I'm curious, how many people that complained about the fuel cap recall own a Toyota vehicle and will likely keep purchasing that brand, in spite of several major automobile recalls? It's hard to find a better unit for the money than this. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you have land and need to save on time you need this product! We purchased this blower and we have been extremely happy with it. One reason I could'nt decide if I wanted to purchase it was because I was unsure if was going to be too heavy or too loud for me to handel. It is just the opposite. It runs really quiet for a backpack, it is much lighter than I expected, and is very fuel efficient. After the recall on the gas cap, the product ran great with power to spare! It also cranks easily. I would recommend the BR 550 to anyone who is looking for a blower that has plenty of power for any job. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by light weight and powerful I purchased this blower and I have been extremely happy with it. I could not decide if it was going to be too heavy and too loud. It is just the opposite. It runs really quiet for a backpack, it is much lighter than I expected, and is very fuel efficient. There is power to spare with this machine. It also cranks very easy. I would recommend the BR 550 to anyone who is looking for a blower that has plenty of power for any job. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the comfort This unit is very comfortable great on fuel. Just make sure to use stihl synthetic and premium fuel. Use on golf course, use for more than leaves its a powerhouse. Strong enough to blow cores from aerification. Will have to use longer to see about durability so far so good. May 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by never ran right from the first time I started it. never ran right always acted like it was running out of gas, then after about a year didnt want to shut off diesel out then today at three years lost compression, do yourself a favor and buy anything but and you will be much happier trust me. April 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes leaf cleanup easy I have had my BR550 for over 4 years. It has never let me down. I live in an area with lots of trees and this blower gets a major workout every year. I wouldnt use anything else after having it. The gas cap was a problem, but after the recall it works great. I changed the nozzle to a curved one that my stihl dealer had in stock and it made it even better.My neighbor is buying one after trying mine. December 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Eats valves This machine doesn't last and the 4 mix is VERY annoying. It requires way to much maintenance. Spend your money on REDMAX blowers, true 2 strokes. December 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONLY a Stihl for me And you should ONLY consider this manufacturer when thinking about outdoor power equipment. Since April 2009 "Katrina" (my BR550) has proven to be worth every penny of the $499 I spent for it. Sure that's a lot for outdoor power equipment, but not when you consider that the machine (when taken care of) will practically last you forever. The gas cap problem someone from Connecticut complained about has never affected me. There was a recall on the cap and the dealer replaced it promptly and without cost to me. The machine generally starts on the first pull and really impresses. I bought it for my house, but EVERYONE I know...even those whom I don't...ask me to perform their fall yard cleanup. I even cleared my driveway of dry snowfall last season! When I say ONLY a Stihl for me, I'm not just blowing smoke. I've owned two chain saws from Stihl and would never consider another name. My BR550 is my favorite toy and rides around in the car with me all season long. Thank you, Andreas, for your incredible vision. November 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by product fails despite its great power, and general ease of use, the gasoline filler cap makes this product substandard. Stihl spent all their efforts into making the product look crisp, clean and modern but took their eye off of the ball in making it easy to use. The gasoline filler cap routinely does not seat properly and depending upon your frustration threshold can take up to an hour to get it functional. October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blower I replaced my BR320 with the BR550. The new "smart" carburetor works exceptionally well so that startup is simple, and the engine usually fires on the first pull. Power is sufficient for me to move leaves and clean out grass clippings from underneath my mower deck. The locking trigger is a nice feature carried over from earlier blower variants. I have yet to use the BR550 to clear light snowfalls but it should work well as the BR320 with much less power did a fair job at that task. The quality of the BR550 meets the expectations I have for my Stihl products. October 22, 2012
<<prev2