Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 64reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of blowing power, but really sucks gas. Paid extra to get the BG86 blower versus the BG55 to get the additional anti-vibration features. Have only been using it a couple weeks now, but seems to start OK - usually about the 3rd pull when cold. Then it takes about a minute for it to warm up to full power. At full power, it seems like I empty a tank of gas in 15-20 minutes. Have gone through a gallon of fuel so far and there are still a lot of leaves left on the trees. The round nozzle seems to provide better blowing force versus the funneled nozzle. I also have a high powered electric blower, but this is nice to be free from having to drag a cord around. I'll save the electric blower to do my spring dusting inside my house - works good to get all those cobwebs out of the ceiling corners. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best blower I've owned This blower is lightweight, easy to start, and powerful. I've used it for one full season now and couldn't be more happy with my purchase. It has me looking at additional products by STIHL. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best handheld blower you can buy! I went back and forth between the bg55 and the bg86. I ended up coming home with the bg55 but took it back the next day to get the bg86. There's nothing wrong with the 55 I just thought for the extra $90 was worth it for the extra power, vacuum option, the nice grip and anti vibration. I'm very glad I did. This is the best handheld out there. If the bg86 doesn't fit your budget the bg55 would be great too but if you don't mind forking out a little more cash this is your blower, well worth it! October 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The second BG 86 I have owned and it has the same issues as the other one. It is hard to start, even after running for 20 minutes it takes 3 pulls to get it going. 5 pulls to start it when cold. None of my other yard tools are this hard to start; power pruner, lawn mower, weed eatter etc. For a commercial product that is advertised as much easier to start I am disappointed in it. Homeowner that has around .5 acre of yard. The first one wore out in 5 seasons. I expected more out of a commercial line. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best handheld on the market The BG86 is the best handheld on the market. It has the most ergonomic design and the combination of speed and volume makes it a very effective blower. We use Echo backpacks because we don't like the 4 mix engines and the Echo PB770 is the best backpack when looking at reliability, power and comfort, but Echo or anyone else does not make a hand held that comes even close to the BG86. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality This not my first dealing with Stihl. I always prime mine about six or seven pushes. It take about three to four pulls before starting. I recommend that it idles a short time before powering up.I feel the quality is the best on the market today, bar none. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a product you can rely on Bought the BG 86 and I love it, it starts eveytime and I can blow the leaves off the beauty bark at idle without blowing all the bark off the ground. Then once I get the leaves on the driveway I can throttle that baby up and do some serious clearing. It's not too loud and doesn't smoke either. Also bought a chainsaw from Sthil for a big clearing job and it was great also, performed the way I wanted it to. Last year I bought a brand name trimmer from the big box store and after a couple of times useing it pieces started falling off the piece of junk, I'm going to buy a Sthil to replace it. September 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not run OK, so I see nobody else has had any issues with their unit. I received this blower as a gift so no money spent on buying it. How ever I must have received a LEMON. This blower right out of the box did not seem to have the power (blow as strong) as my father in-laws unit that is 10 years old. After about three times of using it, it now takes for ever to start (choke off and on) and once it starts I can not pull the throttle wide open as it will stall and die. I have confirmed the oil is mixed right and have checked and clean the plug with no change in performance. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Looked at mainly two blowers after making my decision on this one it was between echo and stihl main reason why I ended up with the stihl was the pull start technology which some of the guys can not start a machine I know its silly to say but with this machine it really helps them but non the less great machine and happy I went with it July 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Still in the shop part backordered My blowers last about 2 years I bought this one almost a month ago. It ran good for 7 days then lost power and was hard to start and then it quit completely. Since it was brand new I took it back and they cant get the part from Stihl as it is backordered it has been in the shop for over 2 weeks now and they don't know when they will get the part. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best After reading reviews on many brands Stihl Blowers seemed to be rated the best. I purchased this model and it has been A+++. It starts fast and easy, runs and performs smooth. Does everything with ease. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally I own a blower that works! Starts easy, runs quiet, low vibration, and moves a lot of air. No more big box blowers for this guy. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Gets the Job Done Great blower. Stihl is always top of the line on power tools and this blower does not fall short. Great product and has plenty of power and is very reliable. June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and easy to use This product is very lightweight and easy to start. Very pleased with this purchase. June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Stihl makes good quality, hard working machines. I use it almost every day and it never leaves me hanging. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always very easy to start. I bought this blower in 2010 because I wanted a good quality, reliable blower for around the house. It has never failed to start. Never had a problem with it. June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy this one! Hurricane in your hand. Ok... A bit overstated but not much. And as a side note please ignore the domesticated version of all Stihl products. They are orange and white but they are not Stihl. May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes my lawn duties enjoyable I considered the BG55 at first, but I'm really glad I went with the 86. This blower is light, easy to use and my wife loves how clean our walkways and patios are. This product is easy to start and makes my clean up much easier. The spring engine casing also makes the handling easier while I'm blowing out for long stretches. I have a Stihl trimmer as well and have no doubt that if I keep this as well maintained as my trimmer it will last. May 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great features but difficult to start The only negative thing about the BG 86 is the design of the start throttle/choke setting that creates more confusion then necessary and wasted time trying to get the engine started.After 10 minutes of trial and error you sometimes find success starting the unit by pulling the chord 20 times in full choke until partial turn-over then adjust the throttle and move choke to 1/2 position - if your lucky it may start before the neighbors finish laughing. May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by worth every penny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just an awesome blower. powerful, reliable and dependable!!!!!!!!!! dont waste your money on other junk. get a STHIL !!!!!!!!!!! May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first gas blower I love this blower. It starts easy, is light, has no cord, and plenty of power! May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wise decision Nice power, solid construction, and a real workhorse. I use this to clear gutters on my home and rental properties, amongst other things. One rental in particular has a 120+ year old pin oak that drops flowers in the spring and acorns in the fall. I should post a video of those little acorns flying out of the gutter! The flowers in spring are no joke wet. Wish the throttle could be locked at 50% and 75%, not just 100%. I am confident this is the only blower I'll ever own. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BG-86 Review The BG-86 is powerful, easy starting, and a great step up from what I had before (not a Stihl). The "elastostart" pull cord handle is nice, and it isn't too hard to pull over the engine when starting. I like the semi-automatic choke system, and although it takes a bit of getting used to, I pretty much have the method down for starting. The auto return stop switch is nice, but I wish the throttle lock was more of a cruise control for locking the throttle at any desired speed, but I can live without that. This is a very powerful blower, although I do wish there was the "rotational control" feature that some competitors have, as this blower is very powerful, and it does try to rotate on you. The anti vibration system is awesome, and the rubberized handle is great. This is a great product, and I may even add a BR-200 to our Stihl collection in the near future! February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Get What Yo Pay For! I am glad that I went with the commercial grade BG 86 product even though I only use it around my house. Its vibration dampening really reduces fatigue. It is great for blowing leaves out of tight places and, if conditions are right, I use it to blow snow off of my car and side walks. I have owned it for over 2 years and use it alot. Only routine maintenance so far. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome blower awesome blower it is very strong and quite at the same time this blower will not disappoint you starts easy and is so much lighter then a backpack blower January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall product. Everything I expected from a stihl product. Well made, easy starting, exceptional performance. Have had several less expensive blowers in the past with marginal and short term utility. I have only used the Stihl 3-4 hours but I am very optimistic that I will receive years of service from it. January 2, 2013
<<prev 23