Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 54reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by the on/off switch is awesome Love stihl products my family and i will buy nothing but sthil products June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by just bought it. I must say that my ratings are early but can say that the first time I used it I was amazed at how quiet it was, and I used the flat nosile worked very well. I am done with home depot homelite products that last a yr or 2 waste of money. I hope this last and from reading reviews it sounds like it will. I like knowing where to go if I have a problem my local stihl dealer 2 miles from my house. The weed eater is my next purchase.oh and its starts very easy. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blower I purchased this blower 3 years ago for fall leaf cleanup and general homeowner use. It gets used at least once a week for cleaning grass clipping from garage, driveway and street.One of the things I appreciate about the blower is that it starts very easily. When the engine is cold, I can always start the blower with three pulls. The blower idles well and has a lot of power for moving leaves and debris-even when wet.I've read other reviews about hard starting and rough running but honestly, I have had no such issues. I am very pleased with this blower and have had zero issues. May 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product was very disappointing Of all the Stihl equipment I own, over 12 pieces, I must say that I am most disappointed in this piece. I bought it new about two weeks ago and have already had it back in for repair. It doesn't seem to have the power that my old 85 had. I was told that they had to put a new carb in it. I tried it again after the new carb and it still doesn't have the power that I am accustomed to in a hand held blower. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl is the best on the market with value I'm in Nebraska and was tired of using a shovel or broom to remove SNOW off the walks and driveway... I bought the BG 86 for the highest MPH blowing andit cut my snow removal time in half.. The bonus is the walks are cleaner than usinga shovel.. I also use it to blow off my truck instead of brooming it off and scratching the paint.. Can't wait to see how far it will blow the leaves... Lol March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best blower on the market This is the first blower I have owned. I did a lot of research and it really paid off.Lots of power. Not too loud. Starts every time with a few pulls. Light and easy to handle.I would recommend this blower to any homeowner or professional landscaper. February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficlt to start and does not run smoothly From the beginning of using this blower, was difficult to start, after starting the motor would often stall and run rough. Used the correct gasoline and oil mix too, did not seem to have the power it was supposed to have. January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs different place for air intake. Starts well, no vibration, like speed control. I don't like when I switch to left hand and blower sucks to your pants leg. Doesn't throttle all the way up but after I use a few more hours I'll get carb ajusted. Only used maybe 3 hours so far, weedeaters and chainsaws from Stihl have always done well for me. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far a great product. Quick start, runs great. I haven't used the blower for too long, but so far it's a great purchase. Overall, more expensive than most blowers, but seems worth it. Used it to clear the driveway of the first few snows as well. Looking forward to using the gutter attachment that I asked for this xmas. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. no regrets on purchase. got the BG 86 just at the beginning of leaf season. this year they all seamed to dump at once. I have an acre and half of wooded property. This blower took care of my needs. I was wanting a back pack blower due to the size of area and volume of leaves, but wanted handheld for the rest of the year. I decided on this handheld and was very pleased with the performance and the volume of air this thing puts out. it even moved the wet leaves. highly recommend if your looking for a handheld. I have had no problems with it starting. Look forward to many things I will find uses for this powerful blower December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS PRODUCT IS LIKE A TIMEX WATCH TAKES A LICKING AND KEEPS ON GPNING BG 86 NOT TO MUCH TO BY . WE ARE LANDSCAPERS AND USE THEM EVERY DAY. THE BG86 BLOWER LASTSAND LASTS December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed consumer have a BG55 blower and worked great but had trouble with it so took it to a dealer to fix , parts and labor were as much as a new blower so decided to get the BG86 since it had more power then mine but when i got home i tore it down and worked on carb and fixed it , so just out of curiosity turned them both on to compare power and was surprised that the old BG55 blows harder then the new BG86, starts easy and quick , its lighter but i was disapointed with itsblowing power. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs like a champ! At first it was dying all the time. I took it in and they found that an air intake hose had been kinked during manufacturing. Since they fixed that it has been a real trooper! November 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor product Runs ruff and it's hard to start. Does not have nearly as much power as previous BG85's I have owned. The only thing I can say has improved is it runs quieter. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect blower for the homeowner Even though this falls under the professional category, this is the perfect blower for the homeowner with 1/2 acre+ yard.For a handheld unit this blower is great. Lots of power, lightweight, and it doesn't vibrate you to death. It's quiet compared to the big box store options. Ergonomically it's very comfortable, I've used it for over an hour non-stop on multiple occasions and it was not tiring at all.I climb a ladder to the roof and use this to blow out my gutters and I plan to use this throughout Winter to blow snow on those days of dusting/ light snow accumulations.I did need to make a small carb adjustment after approx 2-3 hours of total use to fix a minor stall issue. Nothing trick about the procedure as it's fully detailed in the manual. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for getting the job done! Very happy with the product, reliable and easy to use. November 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smooth running and reliable. This blower BG 86, was purchased this year and put to work with my two other blowers. I also own a five year old BG 85, which has performed flawlessly year after year. They are both great hard working machines. The 86 has less vibration, is a little quieter, but seems a little less zesty. I sometimes use them together, one in each hand to move the wave of leaves across my lawn. The engines sound beautiful rev-ing up together in harmony. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower/vac I purchased the BG86c 3 yrs ago. Bought the gutter kit with it. I use the blower all year and the vac during the fall for leaves. When starting it cold, after priming the carburetor, three pulls and I'm off and running. The only issue I've had was a regular maintenance issue of carbon buildup on the exhaust screen. The Stihl dealership cleaned off the carbon while I waited and showed me how to do it myself. I've used the gutter kit to clean gutters and blow snow off my TV dish when snow on the dish interfered with reception. It all worked great. It is really interesting how you have to be prepared to balance yourself when using the power of the blower with the gutter kit, but this blower really puts out some air. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower This blower is easy to start. Not too heavy. Performance is exceptional! November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BG86 Having a fairly large wooded backyard surrounded by trees, many others told me I'd need a larger commercial backpack blower. Not true, after some wonderful help from my local Stihl dealer, I managed to knock out an entire neglected backyard and patio in less than one tank of gas. Never had to crank it more than twice to start it and the warranty was far better than any other offering. Despite other Stihl products being a higher pice, I'll definitely have them on my short list for future purchases. November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of blowing power, but really sucks gas. Paid extra to get the BG86 blower versus the BG55 to get the additional anti-vibration features. Have only been using it a couple weeks now, but seems to start OK - usually about the 3rd pull when cold. Then it takes about a minute for it to warm up to full power. At full power, it seems like I empty a tank of gas in 15-20 minutes. Have gone through a gallon of fuel so far and there are still a lot of leaves left on the trees. The round nozzle seems to provide better blowing force versus the funneled nozzle. I also have a high powered electric blower, but this is nice to be free from having to drag a cord around. I'll save the electric blower to do my spring dusting inside my house - works good to get all those cobwebs out of the ceiling corners. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best blower I've owned This blower is lightweight, easy to start, and powerful. I've used it for one full season now and couldn't be more happy with my purchase. It has me looking at additional products by STIHL. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best handheld blower you can buy! I went back and forth between the bg55 and the bg86. I ended up coming home with the bg55 but took it back the next day to get the bg86. There's nothing wrong with the 55 I just thought for the extra $90 was worth it for the extra power, vacuum option, the nice grip and anti vibration. I'm very glad I did. This is the best handheld out there. If the bg86 doesn't fit your budget the bg55 would be great too but if you don't mind forking out a little more cash this is your blower, well worth it! October 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The second BG 86 I have owned and it has the same issues as the other one. It is hard to start, even after running for 20 minutes it takes 3 pulls to get it going. 5 pulls to start it when cold. None of my other yard tools are this hard to start; power pruner, lawn mower, weed eatter etc. For a commercial product that is advertised as much easier to start I am disappointed in it. Homeowner that has around .5 acre of yard. The first one wore out in 5 seasons. I expected more out of a commercial line. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best handheld on the market The BG86 is the best handheld on the market. It has the most ergonomic design and the combination of speed and volume makes it a very effective blower. We use Echo backpacks because we don't like the 4 mix engines and the Echo PB770 is the best backpack when looking at reliability, power and comfort, but Echo or anyone else does not make a hand held that comes even close to the BG86. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality This not my first dealing with Stihl. I always prime mine about six or seven pushes. It take about three to four pulls before starting. I recommend that it idles a short time before powering up.I feel the quality is the best on the market today, bar none. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a product you can rely on Bought the BG 86 and I love it, it starts eveytime and I can blow the leaves off the beauty bark at idle without blowing all the bark off the ground. Then once I get the leaves on the driveway I can throttle that baby up and do some serious clearing. It's not too loud and doesn't smoke either. Also bought a chainsaw from Sthil for a big clearing job and it was great also, performed the way I wanted it to. Last year I bought a brand name trimmer from the big box store and after a couple of times useing it pieces started falling off the piece of junk, I'm going to buy a Sthil to replace it. September 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not run OK, so I see nobody else has had any issues with their unit. I received this blower as a gift so no money spent on buying it. How ever I must have received a LEMON. This blower right out of the box did not seem to have the power (blow as strong) as my father in-laws unit that is 10 years old. After about three times of using it, it now takes for ever to start (choke off and on) and once it starts I can not pull the throttle wide open as it will stall and die. I have confirmed the oil is mixed right and have checked and clean the plug with no change in performance. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Looked at mainly two blowers after making my decision on this one it was between echo and stihl main reason why I ended up with the stihl was the pull start technology which some of the guys can not start a machine I know its silly to say but with this machine it really helps them but non the less great machine and happy I went with it July 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Still in the shop part backordered My blowers last about 2 years I bought this one almost a month ago. It ran good for 7 days then lost power and was hard to start and then it quit completely. Since it was brand new I took it back and they cant get the part from Stihl as it is backordered it has been in the shop for over 2 weeks now and they don't know when they will get the part. July 13, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>