Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 62reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product This is my first blower. I am very satisfied with this unit. October 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Conks out I purchased the Stihl BG 86 based on reviews. Perhaps I got a lemon. The brand new one I have bulks when you throttle it and when you let it idle over a minute, it shuts off.Very dissatisfied. October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good,dependable blower I have 2 of these blowers(1 is the easy start model)and they are really solid blowers.easy to start(3 or 4 pull cold,1 or 2 warm),good power,not to heavy and comfortable in your hand.I would recommend to anyone needing a good handheld blower. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a stihl !!!! I purchased the BG 86 this morning from the local Stihl dealer. He poured fuel into the tank and it started on the second pull. I got it home and it again started on the second pull. I used it for half an hour to move a lot of pine needles and leaves. It was comfortable to use, didn't kick to one side like my old Craftsman that was only 3 years old and stopped running. Hopefully this blower will continue to work as well as my Stihl chainsaw, grass trimmer and hedge trimmer have. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice tool The negative reviews reflected in some reviews are merely operator error , 2 strokes require maintenance , with fresh ethanol free gas mixed at 40:1 these blowers can certainly last a long time , im going on my 4th year with the current one and have not done more than a new plug , fuel filter and air filter every year and mine has seen well over 100 tanks of fuel , i pulled the muffler last week to have a peek at the piston and the machine marks are as they were when new. The muffler is very choked up on these and is easy to overcome which results in a cooler running machine and adding to its longevity , with proper maintenance and good fuel and oil these will see you out for quite some time , i recommend this blower October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start. Powerful. Effective. I bought this to replace a 20+ year old blower. That blower was a home-owner model of a formerly-reputable brand. My opinion is largely based on a comparison with that older blower. I've used the Stihl for a couple of months now and only with the "flat" nozzle. This unit is effective at all tasks for which I've used it. It starts exactly according to the instructions. When first started, it lacks power and runs a little sloppy until it warms up, then it runs beautifully. It is remarkably effective at moving long, stiff pine needles across the grass. I anticipate good performance on fallen leaves. I make fewer passes for a given area and can move material at longer ranges. It takes some care not to move topsoil under some conditions. It's great at blowing off the lawn mower, including under the pulley guards on the deck. Some magazine reviews call Stihl blowers loud, but I always use hearing protection with lawn equipment, so this is not relevant to me. I miss having a shoulder strap and may have to invent some way to add one. The Stihl seems a little thirsty or may have a smaller fuel tank, but that is subjective. It's easy to fuel and didn't spill when briefly overturned in the SUV. It's a bit unstable when riding in a trailer or vehicle. This is one of the few gas tools I've used that locks the throttle at a true wide open position. When I use the blower in my left hand the suction inlet pulls my pants or jacket on to the grill, limiting air flow. A good sign, but I have to keep this in mind when using it left-handed. I purchased a less expensive model of another brand before this one, then read the reviews and returned that one. I rated the Stihl a 4 on value because I'm cheap (I mean thrifty) and haven't decided about the price. I bought it though, and I'm pleased. This unit is still new -- time will tell. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is awesome I was a little hesitant at first to purchase this leaf blower because of the price but I am very happy with the over all performance. I bought my house a few months ago and I first bought a stihl weed wacker. When it was time to buy a leaf blower I went right back to the store to purchase again. The power is great and it is so nice not to have to worry if it will start. I definitely will continue to purchase all of my tools from Stihl. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor running I purchased this unit a few months back and have had several different manufacturers of blowers. I have never had one run this poorly straight "out of the box". August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the on/off switch is awesome Love stihl products my family and i will buy nothing but sthil products June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by just bought it. I must say that my ratings are early but can say that the first time I used it I was amazed at how quiet it was, and I used the flat nosile worked very well. I am done with home depot homelite products that last a yr or 2 waste of money. I hope this last and from reading reviews it sounds like it will. I like knowing where to go if I have a problem my local stihl dealer 2 miles from my house. The weed eater is my next purchase.oh and its starts very easy. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blower I purchased this blower 3 years ago for fall leaf cleanup and general homeowner use. It gets used at least once a week for cleaning grass clipping from garage, driveway and street.One of the things I appreciate about the blower is that it starts very easily. When the engine is cold, I can always start the blower with three pulls. The blower idles well and has a lot of power for moving leaves and debris-even when wet.I've read other reviews about hard starting and rough running but honestly, I have had no such issues. I am very pleased with this blower and have had zero issues. May 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product was very disappointing Of all the Stihl equipment I own, over 12 pieces, I must say that I am most disappointed in this piece. I bought it new about two weeks ago and have already had it back in for repair. It doesn't seem to have the power that my old 85 had. I was told that they had to put a new carb in it. I tried it again after the new carb and it still doesn't have the power that I am accustomed to in a hand held blower. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl is the best on the market with value I'm in Nebraska and was tired of using a shovel or broom to remove SNOW off the walks and driveway... I bought the BG 86 for the highest MPH blowing andit cut my snow removal time in half.. The bonus is the walks are cleaner than usinga shovel.. I also use it to blow off my truck instead of brooming it off and scratching the paint.. Can't wait to see how far it will blow the leaves... Lol March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best blower on the market This is the first blower I have owned. I did a lot of research and it really paid off.Lots of power. Not too loud. Starts every time with a few pulls. Light and easy to handle.I would recommend this blower to any homeowner or professional landscaper. February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficlt to start and does not run smoothly From the beginning of using this blower, was difficult to start, after starting the motor would often stall and run rough. Used the correct gasoline and oil mix too, did not seem to have the power it was supposed to have. January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs different place for air intake. Starts well, no vibration, like speed control. I don't like when I switch to left hand and blower sucks to your pants leg. Doesn't throttle all the way up but after I use a few more hours I'll get carb ajusted. Only used maybe 3 hours so far, weedeaters and chainsaws from Stihl have always done well for me. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far a great product. Quick start, runs great. I haven't used the blower for too long, but so far it's a great purchase. Overall, more expensive than most blowers, but seems worth it. Used it to clear the driveway of the first few snows as well. Looking forward to using the gutter attachment that I asked for this xmas. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. no regrets on purchase. got the BG 86 just at the beginning of leaf season. this year they all seamed to dump at once. I have an acre and half of wooded property. This blower took care of my needs. I was wanting a back pack blower due to the size of area and volume of leaves, but wanted handheld for the rest of the year. I decided on this handheld and was very pleased with the performance and the volume of air this thing puts out. it even moved the wet leaves. highly recommend if your looking for a handheld. I have had no problems with it starting. Look forward to many things I will find uses for this powerful blower December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS PRODUCT IS LIKE A TIMEX WATCH TAKES A LICKING AND KEEPS ON GPNING BG 86 NOT TO MUCH TO BY . WE ARE LANDSCAPERS AND USE THEM EVERY DAY. THE BG86 BLOWER LASTSAND LASTS December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed consumer have a BG55 blower and worked great but had trouble with it so took it to a dealer to fix , parts and labor were as much as a new blower so decided to get the BG86 since it had more power then mine but when i got home i tore it down and worked on carb and fixed it , so just out of curiosity turned them both on to compare power and was surprised that the old BG55 blows harder then the new BG86, starts easy and quick , its lighter but i was disapointed with itsblowing power. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs like a champ! At first it was dying all the time. I took it in and they found that an air intake hose had been kinked during manufacturing. Since they fixed that it has been a real trooper! November 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor product Runs ruff and it's hard to start. Does not have nearly as much power as previous BG85's I have owned. The only thing I can say has improved is it runs quieter. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect blower for the homeowner Even though this falls under the professional category, this is the perfect blower for the homeowner with 1/2 acre+ yard.For a handheld unit this blower is great. Lots of power, lightweight, and it doesn't vibrate you to death. It's quiet compared to the big box store options. Ergonomically it's very comfortable, I've used it for over an hour non-stop on multiple occasions and it was not tiring at all.I climb a ladder to the roof and use this to blow out my gutters and I plan to use this throughout Winter to blow snow on those days of dusting/ light snow accumulations.I did need to make a small carb adjustment after approx 2-3 hours of total use to fix a minor stall issue. Nothing trick about the procedure as it's fully detailed in the manual. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for getting the job done! Very happy with the product, reliable and easy to use. November 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smooth running and reliable. This blower BG 86, was purchased this year and put to work with my two other blowers. I also own a five year old BG 85, which has performed flawlessly year after year. They are both great hard working machines. The 86 has less vibration, is a little quieter, but seems a little less zesty. I sometimes use them together, one in each hand to move the wave of leaves across my lawn. The engines sound beautiful rev-ing up together in harmony. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower/vac I purchased the BG86c 3 yrs ago. Bought the gutter kit with it. I use the blower all year and the vac during the fall for leaves. When starting it cold, after priming the carburetor, three pulls and I'm off and running. The only issue I've had was a regular maintenance issue of carbon buildup on the exhaust screen. The Stihl dealership cleaned off the carbon while I waited and showed me how to do it myself. I've used the gutter kit to clean gutters and blow snow off my TV dish when snow on the dish interfered with reception. It all worked great. It is really interesting how you have to be prepared to balance yourself when using the power of the blower with the gutter kit, but this blower really puts out some air. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent blower This blower is easy to start. Not too heavy. Performance is exceptional! November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BG86 Having a fairly large wooded backyard surrounded by trees, many others told me I'd need a larger commercial backpack blower. Not true, after some wonderful help from my local Stihl dealer, I managed to knock out an entire neglected backyard and patio in less than one tank of gas. Never had to crank it more than twice to start it and the warranty was far better than any other offering. Despite other Stihl products being a higher pice, I'll definitely have them on my short list for future purchases. November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of blowing power, but really sucks gas. Paid extra to get the BG86 blower versus the BG55 to get the additional anti-vibration features. Have only been using it a couple weeks now, but seems to start OK - usually about the 3rd pull when cold. Then it takes about a minute for it to warm up to full power. At full power, it seems like I empty a tank of gas in 15-20 minutes. Have gone through a gallon of fuel so far and there are still a lot of leaves left on the trees. The round nozzle seems to provide better blowing force versus the funneled nozzle. I also have a high powered electric blower, but this is nice to be free from having to drag a cord around. I'll save the electric blower to do my spring dusting inside my house - works good to get all those cobwebs out of the ceiling corners. October 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best blower I've owned This blower is lightweight, easy to start, and powerful. I've used it for one full season now and couldn't be more happy with my purchase. It has me looking at additional products by STIHL. October 7, 2013
<<prev2 3next>>