Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 86

Our most powerful handheld blower, designed for landscaping professionals.

BG 86
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 69reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed-hard to start-wont stay running 2 tanks of gas kept dyeing hard to start had to run full throotle to stay running-i have several sthil products most are good - January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Leaf Blower! I've had a BG86 blower for 2 years now and love it. I've owned the cheap box hardware store blowers in the past and they've all broken too quickly.This STIHL BG86 is really reliable and very easy to start no more than 2 pulls every time!If you have a lot of leaves to deal with then this is THE blower for you. The features are handy including the throttle lock so the throttle trigger doesn't have to be constantly pulled.Do your self a favor and buy one! November 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by so far so good This is a very nice little blower; plenty of power, starts easy and is very lightweight. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very powerful, easy to use Blower is very powerful, vacuum attachment and chopper blades make small work of mulching up leaves out of flower beds November 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Power & Quality. Very easy to start. Lighter to use than I expected. Don't have to worry about getting burned at all from equipment at all. Was exactly what I expected it to do & was pleased with the performance should of purchased this sooner.Cleaned up my yard it record setting time & was a great purchase which I would recommend for reliability. Excellent service & staff demonstrated product how it works before purchase to make sure it worked properly. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great design and reliability My Stihl professional blower is quiet, powerful and almost vibration free. It cost a bit more, but it's worth the extra money. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have about an acre and a half with lots of oak and maple trees. Lots of leaves. With my BG 86 I can clean up my yard in half the time that it took with my old blower. Light weight, easy to start, lots of power and low vibration. I like the way the throttle locks full on. Well worth the price. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product This is my first blower. I am very satisfied with this unit. October 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Conks out I purchased the Stihl BG 86 based on reviews. Perhaps I got a lemon. The brand new one I have bulks when you throttle it and when you let it idle over a minute, it shuts off.Very dissatisfied. October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good,dependable blower I have 2 of these blowers(1 is the easy start model)and they are really solid blowers.easy to start(3 or 4 pull cold,1 or 2 warm),good power,not to heavy and comfortable in your hand.I would recommend to anyone needing a good handheld blower. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a stihl !!!! I purchased the BG 86 this morning from the local Stihl dealer. He poured fuel into the tank and it started on the second pull. I got it home and it again started on the second pull. I used it for half an hour to move a lot of pine needles and leaves. It was comfortable to use, didn't kick to one side like my old Craftsman that was only 3 years old and stopped running. Hopefully this blower will continue to work as well as my Stihl chainsaw, grass trimmer and hedge trimmer have. October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice tool The negative reviews reflected in some reviews are merely operator error , 2 strokes require maintenance , with fresh ethanol free gas mixed at 40:1 these blowers can certainly last a long time , im going on my 4th year with the current one and have not done more than a new plug , fuel filter and air filter every year and mine has seen well over 100 tanks of fuel , i pulled the muffler last week to have a peek at the piston and the machine marks are as they were when new. The muffler is very choked up on these and is easy to overcome which results in a cooler running machine and adding to its longevity , with proper maintenance and good fuel and oil these will see you out for quite some time , i recommend this blower October 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy start. Powerful. Effective. I bought this to replace a 20+ year old blower. That blower was a home-owner model of a formerly-reputable brand. My opinion is largely based on a comparison with that older blower. I've used the Stihl for a couple of months now and only with the "flat" nozzle. This unit is effective at all tasks for which I've used it. It starts exactly according to the instructions. When first started, it lacks power and runs a little sloppy until it warms up, then it runs beautifully. It is remarkably effective at moving long, stiff pine needles across the grass. I anticipate good performance on fallen leaves. I make fewer passes for a given area and can move material at longer ranges. It takes some care not to move topsoil under some conditions. It's great at blowing off the lawn mower, including under the pulley guards on the deck. Some magazine reviews call Stihl blowers loud, but I always use hearing protection with lawn equipment, so this is not relevant to me. I miss having a shoulder strap and may have to invent some way to add one. The Stihl seems a little thirsty or may have a smaller fuel tank, but that is subjective. It's easy to fuel and didn't spill when briefly overturned in the SUV. It's a bit unstable when riding in a trailer or vehicle. This is one of the few gas tools I've used that locks the throttle at a true wide open position. When I use the blower in my left hand the suction inlet pulls my pants or jacket on to the grill, limiting air flow. A good sign, but I have to keep this in mind when using it left-handed. I purchased a less expensive model of another brand before this one, then read the reviews and returned that one. I rated the Stihl a 4 on value because I'm cheap (I mean thrifty) and haven't decided about the price. I bought it though, and I'm pleased. This unit is still new -- time will tell. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is awesome I was a little hesitant at first to purchase this leaf blower because of the price but I am very happy with the over all performance. I bought my house a few months ago and I first bought a stihl weed wacker. When it was time to buy a leaf blower I went right back to the store to purchase again. The power is great and it is so nice not to have to worry if it will start. I definitely will continue to purchase all of my tools from Stihl. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor running I purchased this unit a few months back and have had several different manufacturers of blowers. I have never had one run this poorly straight "out of the box". August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the on/off switch is awesome Love stihl products my family and i will buy nothing but sthil products June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by just bought it. I must say that my ratings are early but can say that the first time I used it I was amazed at how quiet it was, and I used the flat nosile worked very well. I am done with home depot homelite products that last a yr or 2 waste of money. I hope this last and from reading reviews it sounds like it will. I like knowing where to go if I have a problem my local stihl dealer 2 miles from my house. The weed eater is my next purchase.oh and its starts very easy. June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blower I purchased this blower 3 years ago for fall leaf cleanup and general homeowner use. It gets used at least once a week for cleaning grass clipping from garage, driveway and street.One of the things I appreciate about the blower is that it starts very easily. When the engine is cold, I can always start the blower with three pulls. The blower idles well and has a lot of power for moving leaves and debris-even when wet.I've read other reviews about hard starting and rough running but honestly, I have had no such issues. I am very pleased with this blower and have had zero issues. May 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product was very disappointing Of all the Stihl equipment I own, over 12 pieces, I must say that I am most disappointed in this piece. I bought it new about two weeks ago and have already had it back in for repair. It doesn't seem to have the power that my old 85 had. I was told that they had to put a new carb in it. I tried it again after the new carb and it still doesn't have the power that I am accustomed to in a hand held blower. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stihl is the best on the market with value I'm in Nebraska and was tired of using a shovel or broom to remove SNOW off the walks and driveway... I bought the BG 86 for the highest MPH blowing andit cut my snow removal time in half.. The bonus is the walks are cleaner than usinga shovel.. I also use it to blow off my truck instead of brooming it off and scratching the paint.. Can't wait to see how far it will blow the leaves... Lol March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best blower on the market This is the first blower I have owned. I did a lot of research and it really paid off.Lots of power. Not too loud. Starts every time with a few pulls. Light and easy to handle.I would recommend this blower to any homeowner or professional landscaper. February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficlt to start and does not run smoothly From the beginning of using this blower, was difficult to start, after starting the motor would often stall and run rough. Used the correct gasoline and oil mix too, did not seem to have the power it was supposed to have. January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs different place for air intake. Starts well, no vibration, like speed control. I don't like when I switch to left hand and blower sucks to your pants leg. Doesn't throttle all the way up but after I use a few more hours I'll get carb ajusted. Only used maybe 3 hours so far, weedeaters and chainsaws from Stihl have always done well for me. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far a great product. Quick start, runs great. I haven't used the blower for too long, but so far it's a great purchase. Overall, more expensive than most blowers, but seems worth it. Used it to clear the driveway of the first few snows as well. Looking forward to using the gutter attachment that I asked for this xmas. December 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. no regrets on purchase. got the BG 86 just at the beginning of leaf season. this year they all seamed to dump at once. I have an acre and half of wooded property. This blower took care of my needs. I was wanting a back pack blower due to the size of area and volume of leaves, but wanted handheld for the rest of the year. I decided on this handheld and was very pleased with the performance and the volume of air this thing puts out. it even moved the wet leaves. highly recommend if your looking for a handheld. I have had no problems with it starting. Look forward to many things I will find uses for this powerful blower December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS PRODUCT IS LIKE A TIMEX WATCH TAKES A LICKING AND KEEPS ON GPNING BG 86 NOT TO MUCH TO BY . WE ARE LANDSCAPERS AND USE THEM EVERY DAY. THE BG86 BLOWER LASTSAND LASTS December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disapointed consumer have a BG55 blower and worked great but had trouble with it so took it to a dealer to fix , parts and labor were as much as a new blower so decided to get the BG86 since it had more power then mine but when i got home i tore it down and worked on carb and fixed it , so just out of curiosity turned them both on to compare power and was surprised that the old BG55 blows harder then the new BG86, starts easy and quick , its lighter but i was disapointed with itsblowing power. November 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs like a champ! At first it was dying all the time. I took it in and they found that an air intake hose had been kinked during manufacturing. Since they fixed that it has been a real trooper! November 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor product Runs ruff and it's hard to start. Does not have nearly as much power as previous BG85's I have owned. The only thing I can say has improved is it runs quieter. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect blower for the homeowner Even though this falls under the professional category, this is the perfect blower for the homeowner with 1/2 acre+ yard.For a handheld unit this blower is great. Lots of power, lightweight, and it doesn't vibrate you to death. It's quiet compared to the big box store options. Ergonomically it's very comfortable, I've used it for over an hour non-stop on multiple occasions and it was not tiring at all.I climb a ladder to the roof and use this to blow out my gutters and I plan to use this throughout Winter to blow snow on those days of dusting/ light snow accumulations.I did need to make a small carb adjustment after approx 2-3 hours of total use to fix a minor stall issue. Nothing trick about the procedure as it's fully detailed in the manual. November 18, 2013
<<prev2 3 4next>>