Find a Specific Product: Blowers & Shredder Vacs

BG 56 C-E

An easy-to-use handheld blower with a simplified starting system.

BG 56 C-E
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 101reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by a little hard to. start but maybe I just need to read up on it Took me a while whild figure out that buying the best is a lot cheaper. May 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frequently does not start Heavier than other handheld gas blowers that I have used in the past. Others have said that this is "finicky" on up, I would say that this is an understatement. At least 1/2 of the time mine will not start at all.I have had this for all of 2 months and it is going back to the store for a refund/exchange.Not recomended. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good performer at a poor price point This blower performs well when it starts but is finicky on starts. I don't know which stihl I am getting the poor performer or the champion. With a low EPA useful life rating a high price tag and issues with starting I feel like maybe the money spent could have got me a couple "throw aways" for the money or maybe an echo or husquvarna would have been a better purchase. My echo doesn't fail me at all and my husquvarna chainsaw never seems to fail either. When it works I love it April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and starts right up. This is the first blower I've owned . I've used other blowers that look similar but do not perform like this one. I've used it in the yard and also to clean up a wood project blowing sawdust. I am satisfied with it and believe it will last me a long time. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome blower I purchased this blower for my parents that are getting older. It's light weight, easy to start, and powerful! I would recommend this to any homeowner April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent Blower I love this blower. Easy to start, plenty of power and very light weight. It always cranks right up, without issue. I've had this blower for three years and it still runs like new. Before I bought this blower I'd go through a cheap box store blower every two years. There is no doubt in my mind that this blower will last beyond 10 years. Crank it, and let it run with the choke on for about 3 seconds, before you hit the trigger and you will never have to restart it. My 78 year old mother borrows it on occasion and she starts it without any problems, thats amazing.You will never go back to a big box store blower again. You get what you pay for. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love this blower Blower starts and runs fantastically. Just seems to be tuned down a little from the factory. I'm sure that is just to comply with emission laws. Would definitely buy this unit again February 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very powerful for a small blower The only downside is that the blower takes a couple minutes to warm up so that it can be used. Once it's warmed up, it runs fine, but sometimes it is frustrating and requires several re-starts.I use only alcohol free gas and the premium synthetic gas mix as recommended. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by More power than expected This blower was purchased as a replacement for another brand that lasted about 8 years. I was totally satisfied with the old one until it began to smoke and smell up my clothes, and took way too long for warmup and full power. The STIHL fired up at the dealers shop on first try. He showed me basic operation and the rest was a piece of cake. I did not expect the power to be as good as my old one, but it is deceiving how easy it is to clean up the routine grass and leaves. It won't dig a trench, but with the available attachment for fine sweeping, I would say it could do that too. Also, this blower is much quieter than my old one. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product This blower works very well. It is easy to start and has ample power. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is very dependable Very good blower starts easy just needs a bit more power February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for blowing snow! Appears to be well built, Model 56 CE has excellent starting! Very powerful, only drawback is large gas consumption. Otherwise great product! February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by not strong- not easy start I have always loved SHIHL products and my string trimmer has been a top performer for 10 years and still cranks almost first pull.... BUT this blower should not be labeled easy start... you prime and pull, and then pull some more. When it does crank it has less power than my old H blower that finally died (but I may bring it back to life and use both at different locations).I feel confident this will last for years, but honestly my old Stihl string trimmer is better than my Stihl chainsaw and lots better to use than my blower.Sorry to write a negative as STIHL means quality to me, but maybe they are cutting some corners these days. Suggest they pull a H lawnmower to learn what easy start means to a home owner. February 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A warm weather blower I bought the Stihl 56C to replace a blower I had for 15 years and worked wonderfully in all conditions. The 56C had great reviews and I had no issues during the summer months. In the fall while vacuuming leaves, it did get clogged several times and I found it only useful for smaller leaf pick up jobs. I'm not sure why, but there is no way to lock the throttle on for extended use and the suction port has a vented cover that allows the suction to catch your pants when using the blower left handed. Minor issues, but annoying at times. The main issue I have with this blower is that it does not start if it has been sitting in freezing weather. Every time I have taken it out to blow away snow, I've had to let it warm up in my house for a half hour. Once it's warm it starts on one pull. I use the premixed gas recommended by the dealer and I bought it from a Stihl dealer, not a big box. Good blower (strong, light, quiet) once started. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tool Time You would be very hard pressed to find a more reliable product anywhere. It is lightweight and very easy to handle. I now can keep the yard looking well manicured the year round. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you do your research, this is the one you will come back to In the end I decided to go with something that has a proven track record. You might try to save $25-$50 and be tempted to buy a more modern looking blower, but trust me this one moves more and works every time you need it. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONE OF THE BEST AAROUND I USE MYBLOWER FOR JUST ABOUT EVERY THING, NOW USING IT FOR BLOWING SNOW,WITH IT AS COLD AS IT IS (20s) I CAN BLOW UP TO 3 OR 4INCHES AND THE NICE THING IS IT TAKE IT RIGHT DOWN TO THE CEMENT ON THE DRIVE AND IT IS CLEAR WITH NO SNOW BUILD UP. December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great blower I've had this product for about 3-4 years now. It runs great and starts up without a problem. I wish it came with the nozzle attachment (about extra $20) for more forceful air. Overall works great without concerns. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent purchase I have multiple trees on my property and a large garage and deck. I bought this blower based on my experience with Stihl chain saws. All I can say is I can't believe I put up with a corded blower for this long. I am constantly using this thing for far more than blowing leaves. I use it to blow the dirt out of the garage, off the deck. I have blown snow off my car and walks in the morning and also cleaned debris from the bed of my truck . I love this blower. It could have more power but I bought the smaller size knowing it wasn't the most powerful blower in the Stihl lineup. I would buy this again in a heartbeat. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best one out there This blower is easy to start, quiet, and moves leaves with no problems. December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only brand we use Excellent product. One on every truck never a problem. Last bunch we bought are 2 seasons old.still going November 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome all i knew is that i didn't want an electric blower when i started shopping. i got on several websites and Stihl kept showing up as one of the best. I also worked part time at home depot and asked the garden supervisor to shoot me strait. would he buy echo or stihl. He said he already owned stihl products so that answered that.We've been in our home now for about a month and today was actually the first day i really got to use the blower. we have no one living behind us and never will so i have a lot of trees that loosing there leaves due to the season change. It worked like a champ especially on large piles of leaves. it was almost an art to get the pile to move. i kept pointing it towards the bottom and the pile would look like it was inflating. i started to skim the top of the pile and it took care of pushing everything within a 35 yard width back about 20 ft.My only sorrow is that i just have the blower. I am in desperate need of a weed eater, mower, and chainsaw. but as i mentioned earlier all i bought was the blower because fall just started and the grass has barely grown. it will be some time before i can keep adding to the collection. November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Half the weight twice the power This is my first Stihl product, it won't be the last.My last leaf blower was a Troy Bilt, it ran well for about 2 seasons, then nothing short of a defibrillator would get it to run for 15 minutes at a time and the handle cracked and fell off. Oh well, by cheap, get cheap.The Stihl is a workhorse, changing from a blower to a vacuum is EASY! pay no attention to any derisive comments left by others. If you can press with a screwdriver and then turn your wrist you should have no issues. This thing will blow a small mammal across your lawn also. It may be more expensive than the other "name brands" but you will be happy with the results. P.S. please do not try to move any small mammals with this tool. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy starting Starts easily and runs great. Very well balanced and feels like it's built to last. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Runs and works great I've had this for six months now and have nothing but good things to say about it. It starts easily and runs great. This has way more power than my old box store equipment had. I use it to blow out the gutters, blow leaves out of my beds, blow off lawn equipment and blow off the driveway. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great blower for the price Purchased the blower for light yard work. The dealer fired it up at the point of sale and it has been a great yard tool ever since. The right amount of power for any homeowners needs. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice machine Bought this after having good luck with my Stihl chainsaw. It is easy to use, has good balance and has been easy to start. Good reliable power for a hand held blower. I bought the gutter kit and it does a good job, no more climbing up and down ladders. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality for the money Purchased this blower after my 4 year old Poulan Pro died on me. It has great power and balance and cold starts on the third pull every time. The dealer was extremely helpful and gave a four year warranty with the purchase of Stihl oil. From now on its only Stihl for me. I know they make fine products because I have a 20 year old Wood Boss 028 that will out cut a big box store saw all day long. November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light weight . plenty of power, really easy to use We have used this blower for the last 2 months and it has preformed perfectly every time we have used it . We also have a Stihl blower?vac and changing the vacuume tubes around for my wife was a small job so now she doesn't slow down to clean her flower beds October 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Handheld Ive had this blower for 2 years now and so far its been a decent piece of equipment. I own a br430 along with this, and I simply use this blower for the deck/driveway. As a handheld it has decent power but for clearing larger yards you might want to upgrade to a back pack. The only problems I've had so far are vibration, long warm up times and it over heats in the summer every so often. Overall its a nice handheld and is probably the best one available for the price. I just wish it didn't vibrate so much as it tends to move around when set down . All in all I recommend this unit and for larger yards I would also get a backpack . October 4, 2013
<<prev 23 4 5next>>